Layout Extinct

Marietta, GA
Oregon Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #12
3 / --   3 / 290ft.   3 / 158ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Blue Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Great Course

1    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Mike B.
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course to play, good for both beginners and pros. A good combination of hilly, wooded and open holes.
Cons: None of the tees are marked with a hole number, I could see how someone could get confused on this course.
Other Thoughts: A really nice course, I think a few reviewers have confused this course with the one adjacent to it at the old driving range (a temporary course see Bullard Stockton DGC) Though none of the tees were well marked ( some spray paint or stakes with numbers painted on, or even mailbox stickers work great, hint hint local disc golf club.) after playing many un marked mountain courses in CO, Wyoming and Montana, with a course map it was fairly easy to navigate ( 7 and 9 can be tough to find, and make sure you find the right basket on 8 it's not the visible one, the basket is further down and to the right) I don't live in the area but enjoy playing the course when I come and visit, All this course needs is for the local Disc Golf Club to make some labels and perhaps offer course maps by hole 1 and it really could be a great course. Disc Golf is a growing sport and to keep these courses from being turned into playgrounds and tennis courts we have to stop leaving trash on them and do our part to make them accessible to everyone who has interest. Local DG club I know you like the course to yourself but it's imperative to keep your course maintained or you may lose it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating Potential.

1    3/20/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: jdominy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great potential to have two 18 hole courses side by side. Second course has some well designed holes, great open holes, and some technical wooded holes. Nice long 17th hole.
Cons: Old course was slam packed, kids running all around and through the course. People were rude, unfriendly, and it was hard to tell where to go next with no markers. So, we went to the second course. Started at 1, walked to 2, nope, 2-8 are closed. So, we tried to figure out where 9 was. After running into another group that couldn't figure out where to go either, we joined up and tried to figure it out together, using the map on the forum page on my iPhone. The other group had just been making up tee pad and basket layouts, frustrated at no markers anywhere. Finally figured out where 9 was. Couldn't figure out where 10 basket was. The rest was easy to figure out. But, running into so many people scratching their heads, asking one group that confused us greatly about some temporary course layout that we couldn't remember and wasn't marked, left us playing 10 holes and leaving frustrated at the potential.
Other Thoughts: All it needs is markers and info about the 2-8 status, and directions to 9. Seems like if this is the only course in Cobb County, it could at least get some markers, or heck, mark the concrete tee markers in the ground with a number and direction. Just a bloody mess. I won't go back until then, and I hate it, it's the closest course to me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  What he said!

2-4    2/7/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: HeyBeerMan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Close to home, all par-3
Cons: Like others have said, this course is very poorly marked. No course map. I had to ask to find #7 after wandering around for 10 mins and getting frustruated. Never played past 9 holes as I was spending more time trying to find the baskets than actually playing the course. Many tees hard to find as well. Course needs some TLC.
Other Thoughts: I feel that I should just take up the lead and make signage, paint the tee markers and make the basket numbers CLEARLY VISABLE FROM A DISTANCE. I don't know who's in charge of this course but it looks abandoned.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A course with potential

5+    11/14/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: Karatemoonsuit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The potential for a really great casual course is definitely here. Oregon Park has undergone a lot of changes in a short time, moving from 9 holes to 18 in early 2009, and as of November 2010 a second full 18 hole course is on the adjoining park property.

The space and layout of the original 18 holes are a good mix of open holes (1-6,10-12) and wooded more technical holes along the creek (13-18). The course is sized well for players just beginning to play disc golf, as almost all the holes are under or around 300 ft. and provide simple/straightforward approaches. Few holes finish right meaning most right hand back hand throwers shouldn't need anything other than a basic throw.

The course is really open and most of the holes provide easy visibility to the rest of the course. The park as a whole is really well maintained and the start of the disc golf course and parking is (sorta) easy to find.

Cons: As good as this course could be it's got a lot of little things wrong with it. First off, finding the holes, even with a map on your first time out can be difficult, and finding both white and blue tees on every hole is a challenge (I still don't know where about half of them are even with a map). The baskets really don't help as many don't have the hole number on them and they seem to be mix of DGA and Discraft catchers with nothing bright to help pick them out at a distance.

While the layout itself makes good use of the available space, it makes for some awkward holes and (mostly) natural tee placement that can be problematic. After a good rain many of the tees are dugout muddy messes, and the back 9 holes along the creek can get really slippery and muddy making finding a good foothold a hassle. Of course these problems aren't unusual, but the course has a good deal of erosion and wear probably due just to the amount of traffic it gets.

Unfortunately the course can get really crowded quickly, and not all of the players I've encountered are polite disc golfers. Despite how easily visible all the baskets are from the pins other players don't always wait for before throwing, and with such a crowded layout it's easy to hit someone on the same hole, or even one of the other holes since some holes (3,4,10,11,13,14) overlap a little.

Signage is almost entirely non-existent, and some that's left over from when it was a 9 hole course is downright confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and though I've only been playing since Summer 2010, I'm on the course weekly. I really enjoy the course but it's quite a ways from the best course it could be.

Improvements as simple as signage, a definite layout (holes occasionally change for "tournaments" and some tees are just impractical) and better tees (concrete, or even simple gravel) would all go towards making Oregon Park a really good disc golf course.

Now with a second course on the property I'd like to see the original course become an easy to navigate, concise course, that's great for beginners.

Since Oregon park is the only disc golf course in Cobb county, and therefore it gets a lot of players everyday, it really should be at least a well maintained, thought out course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners but thats about it!

5+    10/14/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Quest_
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Only thing I can think of it being a great course for begginers
Cons: Where to start: There are so many inconsiderate people at this park it almost boarder lines on offensive. Parties on 6-10 people throwing 3-4 disc a piece to only have to wait to find so said discs. People don't follow the course layout and bounce from hole to hole based on if they see anyone playing that hole. Absolutely no respect from multiple aspects of this course. The time before last when I was there, come highschool kids were throwing fireworks at each while taking there dear sweet time advancing through the course. You should AVOID this place like the plague if you want a relaxing day of golf. The only decent time to go to this course is while school is in session and during scholl hours because once that bell rings it seems like half of the Cobb County school district is out there jerking off and wasting peoples time. There was a time not to long ago when this course was one of my favorites and its a shame that I'm bashing it in this review but I feel this is a fair warning for all out there and maybe if people read this it might change there demeaner out on the course. On an ending note also these children that play out there also need to clean up after themselves because trash is skattered all about when you can see trash cans throughout the course
Other Thoughts: I would like to see maybe some sort of Marshalling going on over there. Or perhaps build a smaller course sort of like a bunny hill for the kids who just want to dick around and have an advanced course that I would have no problem paying a small amount to play if the course rules and regulations were followed. I hope OP can turn things around or else I will refuse to play at this course until that happens.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: UPDATE: Recently they have moved some of the baskets out at OP, and that was a good surprise. While this course is small, I do think that you get a good variety of shots. It seems that the front 9 is a lot more open, minus hole 7, and the back nine is tighter and more wooded. Mixed layout (open, and wooded),
Cons: Can get crowded, I would have to agree with Quest, that the kids in this area take forever, and don't care about what is going on around them, or think that other people are even there!
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I play regularly, and it is has a good variety. My favorite hole is 10, it is wide open and a good elevation change. I would also say that I enjoy the back 9 more on this course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 O.P.

5+    9/1/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: disccaddie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Simple course with easy access. This course is not hidden within the park as many are in the area. Pin placements change from time to time to give you a different look.
Cons: Difficult to navigate as very little if anything is "marked" properly. Extremely large groups can be found playing very slow from time to time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Taka
Played: 54  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured park with elevation changes. Good variety of shots needed to score well. There is a creek which comes into play on a few holes which makes things interesting. The back nine has some tight wooded holes. Previous reviewers have made negative comments regarding the tee pads but I though they were fine as the holes are short and you don't need a run up to reach most of the holes.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate as there are no signs. I could see the possibilities of getting hit by discs as the holes are very close together. Lots of big groups which can make it a lengthy round. Very short course. Can play most of the course with a roc/buzz.
Other Thoughts: Stopped and played this course on the way home from Jazzfest. Kind of a pain to get to from I-75 but I really needed to stretch my legs. Found it very difficult to navigate this course but two cool locals offered to show me around on the back nine. Good thing as I was so frustrated that I was about to leave. This a decent course which has potential to improve. The locals said that the park has some more land and they were looking to expand the course or possibly putting in 18 more holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great First Course

5+    3/11/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: haier2
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The atmosphere at this park is welcoming and open. The course itself has evolved to 18 holes over the past year or two and is only going to keep improving. The holes themselves tend to be on the short side but they are great for a game for beginners, intermediates or even some advanced players to score a great round. There are now a few technical shots with numbers 7, 8, 9 and some others on the back 9 which really add to the original holes. The community which runs the weekly doubles tournament is great, the people here are awesome to players of all levels. The creek adds a bit of strategy to about 6 holes while you can still get your discs out of the water easily unlike lakes.
Cons: The teepads do often need some work and I believe that the park is working on this. The hole length is a little too short to really open up but the park is under construction and longer holes are in the plans I do believe. There tend to be large groups which seem to take up the entire course especially on the weekdays after three and om weekends. Sometimes these groups are too slow to manage and you have to skip over holes.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course and I think it is a great park for anyone who needs a relaxing round of disc golf. I think that not every park should be about throwing as far as you can on every hole though OP could have a few more long shots. If you're looking to stop by and play a quick game of golf this course is what you need.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Busiest Course in Georgia

1    3/19/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a beautiful multi-facility park that is currently expanding. I'm not sure on the date, but this course is definitely one of the older ones in the Atlanta area. If you're in the Kennesaw area then this one is definitely worth checking out.

There was a decent mix of elevation changes, but a great diversity of open to wooded holes. Also, both the wooded and open holes had great diversity within their own categories. What I mean by this is that I never felt like I was playing the same hole twice. Water comes into play on a good amount of the holes, but it's normally shallow so there's not much risk of losing plastic. Some of the baskets were older, but they still caught excellently. The course also has dual tees, that differ in length. Sometimes the blue tee is longer, sometimes the white tee is longer. Sometimes the longer tee is the easier shot. I liked this aspect, because you could play the different tees and feel like you were playing a completely different course, instead of just a harder course.
Cons: The park is located around a ton of highschools. If you come after 3 on a week day expect to find a group of about 8 highschoolers on every hole. On top of being the busiest course I've ever seen, the course also lacks signs and concrete tees. The course flows alright, but a guide or map is best. The lack of concrete tees is the biggest problem because people are wearing out the natural tees very quickly. Some of the holes do play long, but big arms might get bored here after a few rounds. There was also some litter on the course, but that's kind of hard to avoid with so much traffic.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a very enjoyable time playing this course. Some difficulty on the wooded holes, but enough ace runs to build your confidence. If you schedule a good time to play and come prepared then you can have an amazing time here. If you come on a weekday afternoon then your opinion will probably differ.

On a side note, some of the locals told me that the park is expanding soon and that the course will be expanding as well. This is great news because the park doesn't really feel cramped as it is. More space will only improve the diversity and length of the holes. Once this happens, I see this course's overall rating going up.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.