Layout Extinct

Marietta, GA 
Oregon Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Lewis Hole #14 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / --   3 / 285ft.   3 / 228ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Fun but busy course

5+    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: atl scott
Played: 152  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Low scores possible
Good for beginners (not much risk)
Reasonable elevation change
Opportunities for aces!
Cons: Relatively short - can be played with a roc and putter
Strange mix of old baskets
Dirt tee pads (more like mud)
Usually lots of waiting involved (if not look around... you may be the one causing the wait ;)
Other Thoughts: Oregon Park is a fun course that has become heavily used in the last few years. This is made worse by the compact nature of the course. It now has baskets but many holes are parallel to each other and can easily put you in harm's way, especially with the newer caliber of player that usually frequents the course. The course is relatively easy to navigate (you can see half of the course at any given time) and some arrows have been recently added (but you could easily follow or join one of the many groups playing). I recommend playing during non-peak hours if possible. Often there is no one there if you get up early (see: daybreak... not kidding).

There is not a whole lot of risk/reward but there are multiple routes on some tees so you can learn to throw different shots such as anny, low tunnel, and hyzer consistently. I like the variety of the two different pads per hole. Usually one is a little farther to force you to throw a longer disc although some holes are "completely" different (hyzer vs. anny).

The teepads are worse and worse all the time. With all the rain we've had this year the pads have been practically unusable. Be prepared to adjust on the fly!

There are a good number of seasoned players here (regulars) and many more beginners so the chance of having a disc returned if left by accident is probably around 10%. I will note that I left a rare disc lying in the open and had it returned to me recently! (thanks!)

This course is the closest to my house and is the one I have played the most. One thing I hate/love about this course is that to score well you need to putt well. It teaches you to count every putt. The difference between a 54 and a 47 can be razor thin.

The new 9 holes are generally shorter than the old 9 but are more challenging since they are more wooded or use close proximity to the creek (baskets 5-10 feet away in a few cases). This is fun for me to work on my accuracy and short game but could be frustrating to a newer player who doesn't want to fish his disc out of the creek all day. My favorite hole is hole 7 which is very narrow (basically what used to be a walking path is now a hole). I also like hole 16 which requires accuracy to avoid early trees and stay out of the creek to get a birdie. I'm not a big fan of hole 8 as much more "beating down" of the elements are needed on this hole and it is an unneccesarily long walk to the next pad.

There are plans in the works to add more baskets on more property although it seems this could take years to accomplish. Same with the concrete pads.

Overall this is a mediocrely-designed park that stays incredibly busy but can be thoroughly enjoyed... as long as you know what to expect.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Now with 18 baskets!

5+    7/25/2009   9/29/2008
Review By: Lewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oregon Park's disc golf course has the advantage of having its parkland space devoted strictly to disc golf. You won't have to compete with joggers or picnickers for the fairways, and the occasional dog walkers are no problem at all. Most peole here are friendly, and the local dg community is active and committed to improving the course and grounds. The weeds and brush are always kept at bay.

The course has two dirt tee pads for most of the holes, marked with a pair of concrete blocks in either blue and white. #1, #2, #5, and #9 all have concrete pads. There are also alternate pin positions that the local club uses to mix things up during events.

There is a good local gear shop, called Disc Caddie Golf, a few minutes away on the Marietta Square, in the building with BP Sports Collectibles. They sell several major brands, including fundraiser discs for metro Atlanta tournaments. You'll also find plenty of places to eat within a mile of the course.
Cons: There is a lot of traffic on the course, so several of the tee boxes and basket areas have seen serious erosion. Long-term plans to install concrete pads on all holes have been put on hold while the new layout is developed. The other tees are marked with white and blue concrete blocks, but you'll be driving from hard-packed dirt most of the way around the course. You may also find yourself waiting to tee off. Although slower groups will almost always offer to let you play through, you may find yourself waiting for a teebox on a particularly busy day.

You will probably be disappointed by the lack of signage on this course. We (the Cobb Disc Golf Club) have put signage on hold while our course designer redesigns the course (no need to waste money on signage that will have to be replaced). The result is a very confusing course for those who are unfamiliar with it. Adding to the confusion is the set of 11 new Innova Discatcher baskets that are in a semi-permanent layout on adjacent park land that is even more poorly marked than the old course. You can add as many of the 11 Discatchers as you like to your round, but they'll be safari holes until the new layout is installed.
Other Thoughts: Counting the semi-permanent installation of 11 Discatchers, this park currently has 29 holes in the ground. The only navigable set of 18 baskets is the old course, but the Discatchers can add a few extra holes to your round, especially if you want to unleash your arm on some big field bombs. All of the land that the disc golf baskets now occupy is going to be used for a new layout, pending the completion of our course designer's plan.

It's nice to see the popularity of this course among high schoolers and younger players. The younger we're hooked, the better for the sport!

The lengths of the holes are mostly around 250-330 feet. The front 9 are mostly open, with distinct clumps of trees to play around, while the back 9 is mostly wooded with water in play on several holes. You will find moderate elevation changes throughout the course. In my experience this course gives lots of birdie or ace chances to skilled players, and is probably best suited for the recreational game. For the stronger arms, this is a great place to work on your accuracy and "mid" game.

The lack of signs and the lack of concrete tee pads can be traced to this course's gradual maturation process. Once it's settled in its final 18+ hole layout, better signs and better tee pads will follow. In the meantime, if you're feeling a bit lost, ask a local. We'll be happy to show you around.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Short Course

7/30/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Short par3. Some complain about the short courses, but if you only have an hour (or small children with short attention spans) a short course is great
- Terrific design. Dog legs left and right. Trees and open fairways.
- Great elevation changes.
- Manicured fairways. Look liked a golf course when there.
Cons: - The baskets are aging
- Natural tees have been worn deep in some places
- Potential to be busy. Had folks in front and behind us around midday
Other Thoughts: - A large portion of the course is under trees, making it a good course for hot sunny days. Even the open fairways have shade on one side or the other depending on the time of day.
- Trash bins, very clean park
- Friendly county employees
- Restrooms picnic areas, playgrounds

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid three discs!

5+    5/22/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great layout.
- Open and moderately wooded holes.
- Nice hill shots up and down.
- Great disc Golf community.
Cons: - Only 9 holes.
- Dirt tee pads with wear.
- Aging baskets.
Other Thoughts: I know that many homers will disagree but Oregon should be rated no better than three discs for several reasons. First, this very used course is only 9 holes. Duel tee placement will make some say that the course plays like 18 but this is only the case for a handful of holes. More times than not, the experience from the blue and white will be the same from the drive and no one will disagree that the second shot and putt will be exactly the same. Second, is with the exception of hole one, you are teeing off in the dirt. Because of the heavy play some of the dirt tee pads are so warn you will honestly be throwing out of what will remind you of a WWI fox hole. The third problem is the basket condition. The Mach 3 baskets have seen better days and are mounted too high on level ground. You will also notice that a couple of areas around the baskets have eroded. You can see the concrete pour floating above a couple fo the basket poles and a couple of holes have huge natural ditches warn in below the baskets.

I mention the negatives first to counter the higher reviews. But on the positive side this course will provide you with a very enjoyable time. The flow of the course is very good and this course takes great advantage of its given terrain. You will find most holes will involve either going downhill or uphill. You will not find heavily wooded holes but the moderately wooded holes will provide you will the risk reward you desire. I find the length of the holes to be well laid out. It will give the beginner the ability to make up for a bad drive and provide the advanced player several ace opportunities. One of the biggest advantages of this course is its player community. Some may think that the crowds are a disadvantage, but having an opportunity to watch or play with others should be a benefit to anyone in this sport. I would recommend this course to anyone living in the area or anyone that wants to participate in a great disc golf community.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Small but good

3/26/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: Ricemossj
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Home course, it's close to my house and its the only course in Cobb County. Its a challenging course, with all par 3's. No water hazards and no real place to lose your disc unless you have a really awful shot and are too lazy to go look.
Cons: Only nine holes, I know everyone says it plays like 18 because it has two tees for each hole. But if you use that logic, East Roswell has 54 holes! It can also be very busy at times.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Busy but wonderful

3/26/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: Crossed Reality
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a variety of shots and it plays like an 18 hole course. It's the only course in its immediate area as well. It's rough enough to make shots interesting but it's almost impossible to actually lose a disc here.
Cons: The main downside to this course is how busy it is. The disc golf section of the park is off on its own, but there are players there almost all the time.
Other Thoughts: My home course. I've played it more than any other. It could use a few more holes and a less dense layout, but there are no major flaws to it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

1/1/2008   2/24/2008
Review By: Skaggdaddy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I am new to Disc Golf. I have been playing 2-3 times a week for a couple of months. Yea, I caught the bug. Although the course has a little of trouble to find yourself in, I have not lost any disc. I have played other courses that could cost a you a fortune in lost plastic. The course offers a variety of tee shots (both Hizer and Anhizer) off the tee. The course is extremely easy to navigate. I have played courses that need GPS, yahoo maps, and a woman in the passenger seat to navigate through.

The course is 9 holes but the duel tee boxes (and their positions) allow the course to play more like 18. I like the elevation changes in the course. There are a couple of "grip it and rip it holes" followed by some careful tee shot holes.
Cons: Only 9 holes! The course can be busy at times. Due to the elevation changes, the wind seems to vary between holes.
Other Thoughts: The baskets don't like my putter.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Location, location, location...

11/15/2007   11/27/2007
Review By: Steve C
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to metro ATL... That means the difference between "squeezing in 9 holes after work", and not playing... A nice variety of hole shapes requires above average execution. The blind tee shot at #8 is cool. The shot must go up, over a hill through a tunnel of privet hedges and tree branches overhead and out into an open fairway. The gigantic downhill shot at #7 is very challenging with the tree tops 200' away at eye-level on the tee, and a creek running down the left side.
No conflicts with walking trails or other-use areas. Plenty of parking (they need it!) Concrete tees on #1.
Cons: Busy! Occasional waits for other groups are a regular occurance at busy times. The people are always nice though. The tees for #3 and #9, and the the holes for #4 and #8 are all very close together. Keep your head on a swivel there...
Other Thoughts: Cobb county needs 10 more just like Oregon Park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.