St. Nazianz, WI 
Oschwald Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Small park 9 with some elevation.

1    5/17/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 148  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: The course is set in a multiuse park. The disc golf stays away from other activities nicely and it wouldn't seem to be to busy ever. The baskets are Mach 2s and these caught just fine. The tees are crushed gravel. These are ok. There's a good uphill shot on hole 4 and the pin is on a hillside on hole 1. This uses the terrain well. The last holes are more open and bland. The distances here are all pretty similar but nothing is really too short or too long. There's signs by most of the holes with the basic info on them. There's a nice board with any disc related info on it before hole 1. There is a practice basket before hole 1 which is nice to have.
Cons: These crushed gravel tees aren't the best. It'd almost be better to just have grass. There's a small stream that runs through the later holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a typical park nine hole. There's nothing that really makes it worth coming back to play again or really go out of your way to play. If you're in the area give it a shot. We played it with the 2 nines in kiel and new Lisbon. This made all 3 more enjoyable.

 

2-4    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets
This course can be played by any skill level
Good mix of short and long shots
Good use of the little water that is there
Some technical shots
Good tee signs
Cons: A little tricky finding hole one
Gravel on tees can be loose
Lots of bugs
I wish the hill would have been used more
Tee signs missing on holes 3 4 and 6
Other Thoughts: A nice course for a little town

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Did the best they could with a small park

1    10/15/2010   3/6/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over 110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(The course starts off GREAT with a steep and long incline on the left the entire lenght of the curving fairway. It does great at punishing bad shots. After that, however, you really have not much to punish you other than a couple mid-fairway trees. There is no decision making on this course as to what route to take from tee to basket other than a couple illogical choices you could take on a couple of holes. BUT.....when all the small trees that were recently planted around the course fill out in 10-15 years, things will be a LOT better in this area.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == D+
(There are just 2 holes (6 & 7) that I find mildly challenging/rewarding due to length. 6 is wide open and the incline the basket is on is not dramatic enough to affect much. 7 has a narrow-ish gap to hit to make that hole a little more challenging.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(Not a wooded course at all. Very little variety of shots requied. Hole 2 is a little 157' anhyzer with the basket tucked into the woods. Hole 3 takes this theme to the next level - more wood and more anny…..but only 124'!? I normally do not gripe in my reviews, but after this hole you walk DOWN hill to throw an UPHILL shot….and then you walk right back DOWN the fairway you just threw up (har har har - he said threw up) to the flat portion of the course. I do not know the constraints placed on the designer or the park boundaries, but I was very disappointed that the fun terrain that is available went unused. Downhill throws are just so much fun!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(The park is presentable, but it is a very small multi-use park with houses all around. So, no seclusion. Beauty is OK and the park is well maintained. But, if anything things feel a little tired and scraggly…..the beauty is not an upper.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

PS: I grade courses on a school grading system…60-100 with no F's and the average/center point being a B-….been doing that for a long time and started transferring my ratings list to the similar 11 level rating system here when this cool/amazing site came online.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice small town course

1    7/23/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tee signs at each tee with distances listed and hole #. Also a nice large sign at the entrance welcoming us to the park and displaying the course map.

2) Tees arent the worst gravel I have seen. They must hae been compacted well, but they are still a little rutted. At least the gravel is tight and hard so there isn't worry about loose footing.

3) Practice basket availble between parking lot and first tee.

4) Nice variety of shots needed on this course. There are a couple open bombers, there are the two shorter but tight wooded holes. One massive uphill hole and the rest are fairly level but they all have at least one obstacle to avoid. There are a couple decent basket placements too, which really helps to add a little challenge to a fairly simple short course.

5) The course does a pretty good job to avoid going near the other activity areas. There are a couple spots where errant beginner dries could cause problems, but all in all a pretty well design course for safety.

6) Course is pretty much beginner friendly, but there is enough challenge that seasoned veterans might nejoy this course from time to time also. I love it when a course can accomodate people of all skill levels.

7) Distance varies significantly from 124' all the way up to 324'. The shorts holes are the tighter ones so they play tougher than it sounds and the longer ones are the more open holes. There still are obstacles to think about though on all holes. I just like seeing the need to throw different discs on different holes.
Cons: 1) Following a mulch path isn't always enough to keep people from getting lost or confused. The transition to #3 is not the easiest to deduce and also the transtion to #4 is also not the easiest.

2) Looks llike Poison Ivy is rampant in the wooded areas by #3 and #4. Please be careful especially since it is such a tight hole you very well may end up there.

3) The last 3 holes were virtually underwater. I know they had recently gotten a lot of rain, but it had been a couple days and the water still hadn't receded. It was still walkable, but my feet were still somewhat wet.

4) The water on the course just doesn't come into play except for the very beginner. It basically is halfway up each of the 225-250' fairways on #6, 7, 9. #8 runs along it but is far removed from the water. I would have liked to see it used more.

5) tallpaul is right that the teepads are small, possibly because grass has grown over and into the gravel overtime. They are the best gravel pads I have played on, but still subpar in my mind.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed myself, but the bugs got bad by #3 and 4 so my wife had to run along to the truck. I stuck it out because I need to keep adding courses to my played list of course. I basically ran the last 5 holes in about 15 minutes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Okay short 9-holer

1    10/16/2009   10/16/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice neat and quiet city park. Has small town charm and is set within a neat "bowl" depression area park with wooded ridges along 75% of the perimeter of the park.
Hole #4 is probably the best, but I bet a lot of people don't like the green. The hole plays uphill for a good 50-60' elevation change and then the basket is perched on the edge of the woods - the SHARP edge of the woods! This is a great risky (almost ridiculous) green.
There is a slight water hazard creek which adds some variety but nothing to really worry about unless the design was changed with a pin closer to it.
Cons: The design and flow is fairly lackluster. Most of the course is crammed near the main park area that includes playground, swings, ball diamonds, and tennis courts. With this course catering to beginners over pros, I bet there are conflicts between users here when beginners inevitably shank drives (when I played it was cold, rainy, and empty though). The wooded holes (2&3) are just far too ridiculously short (~150 and ~120). They could be vastly improved with added length into the woods, or just a longer tee. The woods left of hole 4 and right of hole 5 should be utilized more in my mind, maybe a tight uphill and another downhill, or shooting into and out of these woods. I also think the elevation from the road above pin #5 should be used as a tee for #6 to shoot down at the basket (that's how I played it). Since 5-8 are cramped anyway, #6 could be made into a nice downhill bomber. There appears to be an access road between the park and the bordering cemetary - that would make a great fairway or two.
The crushed gravel tees are poor, not because of the gravel, but they are only 3' wide by 8' or less long. Plus they have a huge chunk of 4x4 laying across the front as an ankle jammer. They need to be much longer. And since they are just gravel, why not lay two sets?Rather than the "in-between" intermediate level single tee now, a shorter pure beginner tee and a longer pro tee would do wonders for this course.
The tee signs for 3, 4, and 6 were missing.
The 5 pin, 6 tee, 7 pin, 8 tee are crammed a bit too close to one another.
The design does not do a good job of truly bringing water into play.
Despite the decent elevation here, there is only one uphill shot, and no long downhill. The design favors cross-hill shots like #1 and #5.
Mach 2 baskets, with 18 chains in 2 layers are JUNK! There are so many holes in the arrangement that I'm surprised they catch at all. Discatcher sports catch better than these.
Other Thoughts: Relative to the other 9-holers I have rated, this one only measures up as a 1.5. It is simply not a very well designed course. There are too many flow, traffic, unused area, short holes issues to be anything more than 'passable'. I did however ace #5 here today! Broke my curse of being stuck on lifetime ace #13 since October 2007. Hole #5 is pretty wide open but slopes uphill the entire right side. I tossed a nice RHBH S-curve surge and it faded back into the front of the chains and dropped in the bucket! WooHoo!!! I thought I'd be skunked two years in a row. If you happen to be in the area and have time to kill, you could play here. Don't go out of your way. This needs some redesign, talk with me or jhgonzo, we're both in the area and could really step up this course by utilizing more woods, more elevation, better tees, and longer holes (or at least 2 tees per hole which could make this playable as an 18-holer).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 If You Can Only Sqeeze in 9, This is How To Do It!

2-4    7/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Great variety. Opening shot on a hilltop into the wind, sharp drop-off to the left. Hole #2 short and sweet into a slightly elevated pin. Hole #3 is a narrow corridor 124' to the right, sharp drop-off into the woods. Hole #4 is a steep uphill shot to a tucked-away pin position; very scenic hole with old church and cemetery on top of hill. Hole #s 5-7 somewhat open, but wind and creek come into play.
2. Good use of the existing features. This course is located in a multi-use park (baseball, tennis, playground, picnic) and manages to utilize the surrounding woods and elevation to their best potential.
3. Creek usage. Three holes cross a small creek (pretty dried up), and Hole #8 plays alongside it...potential trouble for LHBH or RHFH shots.
4. Lots of fun ace runs and the chance to see how much the wind can really toy with your tee shot/approach.
Cons: 1. Navigation issues. Finding where to even start can be a problem (walk past the north side [road side] of the tennis court and up the hill to find your tee. The tee signs have an arrow showing the direction to the next pin; however, with the sign missing on #3, you may get confused (walk down through the woods back to the bottom of the hill). After finishing #4 (the uphill shot to the church), I think the best route is to simply backtrack along the same fairway to find #5, at the bottom of the hill. Hole #9 finishes a bit away from the parking lot, but you won't get lost since it's 100% visible.
2. Basket/tee proximity. In the open holes (5-8), the baskets and tees are awfully close to one another (#6 tee and #7 basket are a good example). Hole #8 also plays up to a horseshoeing area, but fortunately nobody was playing when I was out here.
3. Teeing surfaces. I don't mind packed gravel, but when they're rutted out and with exposed timber sticking up at the front of the tee, certain safety issues arise. The tee boxes were also very short, but not too much of a run-up is needed for the majority of these holes.
Other Thoughts: A pretty fun little 9-holer, definitely worth playing through twice if you're already making the drive out here (pretty rural, which I'm used to). Easy to find; just follow County C off of I-43 (St.Nazianz/Newton exit) and head west...Oschwald Park is located on County C after you drive through St. Nazianz a bit.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.