Ottawa, OH 
Ottawa Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good course nice park

1    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not much land to work with but it does a good job of not feeling crammed even though most of the holes are pretty close together
Pretty good mix of open to wooded to moderately wooded.
The creek that comes into play on the first half of the course is the perfect disc golf creek. It's there and it provides a challenge but if you do end up in it, it's shallow and small enough to easily recover it.
Good flow
I came when this course was not in season but it looks like it's well taken care of
Cons: No one was there when I was but you can tell that on a busy day non-disc golf traffic could make the back 9 of this course nearly unplayable.
This place can hold a ton of ankle deep still water in the rainy season. In an odd way it made it better. Sort of unofficial water hazards but your feet will be wet and cold.
Had a little trouble locating hole 9 and a few others but the do provide yellow paint on the catchers and signs with arrows
Other Thoughts: Nice little course it starts out wooded and around a shallow creek and then goes around some tennis courts and back into the park. After hole 8 walk around the building down the nature trail, Across the bridge and up the hill to find the next hole, Other then that the flow is fine. The back nine plays mostly through some small rolling hills and around some shelter and playground areas so look out for pedestrians.
On hole 15 my disc made a B-line straight at a squirrel climbing a tree, I missed him and the tree by inches and just as I was laughing about his good fortune I noticed that my disc had a chance at the basket and Bam! My 4th ace in the last 8 months. I came away very happy so my rating may be a little inflated as a result. But it's definitely a nice course if you live in the area. But it's not a road tripper. I live almost 2 hours away and this one will not be on the list for a return visit.
But good job on this course guys, I enjoyed playing it!


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 short but fun

1    8/20/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of trees and available land

the creek on the first few holes adds risk to your shorts while still being shallow and easy to get disc back out of the water .

Some long and some short it has a little of everything

nice tee's and signs ,the even have arrow signs pointing towards the basket on a few holes if there blind shots .
Cons: playing would be trouble on a busy day as more the a few holes have shelters and other actives right in the fairways .

hole 3 was just stupid,the holes doglegs left after 150 feet and there a creek 10 feet behind the start of the dogleg ,just no good way to shot it as there's no over the top are a way though the thick woods .


Tees and fairways overlapping each other on several holes with tees dangerously to others fairways and add the risk of being hit be a disc

hole 11-14 (i think ) was way to short and boring every shot was a putter backhand shoot that was between 150-220 it's nice to have some ace runs but these holes just don't seem to fit with the rest of the layout
Other Thoughts: I like the course it was fun

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, Good Design, Short

1    6/23/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 95  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course in a park setting. I had fun here but it is definitely a pitch and putt extravaganza with some fun shots mixed in there. Most of the holes are very short. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course but if I lived in Ottawa, OH then I wouldn't be too disappointed to play here in a regular basis. On the surface it appears dangerous as many of the shots play in and around picnic areas, pavilions, tennis courts and playgrounds. However these shots are generally really short so erratic throws at innocent bystanders should be kept to a minimum. There are a few longer holes where you have to thread through some trees and deal with a little bit of OB. The walks between holes aren't too bad and the course seems to flow good other than the walk from 8 to 9 which was long and confusing. Not a great course by any means but the design is well thought out and it seems to be a course that fits the park very well. Most of the drives are "fun to throw" and the putting areas are "kinda cool" which are two big factors for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A little this a little of that..

1    5/9/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All concrete tees !! This park is well maintained when not soaking wet..The course offers a little of everything from tight and technical to big bombers !! I have always enjoyed throwing this course and find it worth the 45 mins. to get there !!
Cons: When the season is wet this park holds some serious water ! Not unplayable by any means but prepare to get your feet wet ! some of the back 9 run real close to the playgrounds and pavilions ...
Other Thoughts: Love throwing this course !! Had led to some GREAT games within the PDF !!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/5/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: -nice community park
-lots of shot variety
-mix of shot difficulties
-nice baskets and tees
Cons: -lots of bugs in the summer
-poison ivy
-nasty creek along first 5 holes and then comes into play on 3 holes later
Other Thoughts: this can be a fun course and is well liked by most players, but it's just not my cup of tee. i will likely play this course many times in the future.....but i cringe thinking about it

 Home Course

5+    8/30/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: Nice variety.
Some holes are nearly un-birdiable
Some elevation (by NW Ohio standards.)
Cons: Some areas are not well kept.
Unclear and intermittent water hazards often have close calls questioning OB.
Other Thoughts: Long walk from basket #08 to tee pad #09. This walk is not clearly marked.

 

1    12/27/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course now has cement tees, and on the longer holes the tee pads are longer.

Very descriptive tee signs. Also liked the message on the bottom of every tee sign" don't throw unless the coast is clear" or something of the same facsmile.

Course right next to swimming pool (so it has good visability within thew community, and if you want to go for a swim after playing you could do that as well).

Though I'm left handed, I' liked # 5 as it's definatley a turnover shot for me, plus the begining of the fairway is much narrower than the end of middle fairway. Lot of birdie opportunities.
Cons: (major) LONG walk between # 8 's basket and # 9 's tee. when creek is up, course tends to play a bit harder (like it did the day I played it) as most baskets that water comes into play are near the creek.
Other Thoughts: Didn't know if there's a mando for # 3. Tee sign doesn't say anything of the like, so I played through the woods. Watch your speed as park is in a close knit neighborhood

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.