Austin, TX
Our Savior Lutheran Church Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent place to bring a beginner or practice

2-4    10/5/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a relaxing, quick 9-holer that is a good place to introduce new players to the game.

The course is never crowded and can double as a nice practice area with options to make up alternate lay-outs.

Each tee has a bench and the holes have next-tee arrows on cement medallions in the ground near the baskets.

The first tee is obvious as soon as one enters the parking lot.
Cons: The course is very short and every hole, except hole 1, can be played with a righty hyzer.

A wooden gazebo is very much in play on hole 4. Holes 4-8 have some pretty thick schule areas and crowd each other with hidden baskets.

Tee areas are dirt, which is slippery when wet.

The baskets are single chain models.

Other Thoughts: This course is on a church property. Please help keep the place free of litter, particularly beer cans.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of time

1    9/10/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: Chain_Smoker
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can't say there are many with this course. The nicest thing about it was the scenery and the church which had really nice stained glass windows. Short of that, there wasn't much excitement on this course. It is easy to find your disc on almost every hole, I will say that.
Cons: Where do I start? It's EXTREMELY short, probably best if you're looking to take your kids or something. It was a little tricky to find and also difficult to navigate once you got there. Short of a few random stones pointing the way, there isn't much for the newcomer to figure out where to go. With holes #3 & #4 missing, it's very easy to skip right by them and move on to #5. I could have put a similar course together in a backyard somewhere, very disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Not planning on going back until they make it bigger and maintain their baskets. This course is only good if you've never played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Too much Poison Ivy

5+    5/9/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: TheConnection
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course
Easy to follow
Benches
Distance Markers
Cons: Poison Ivy
Snakes
Tee Boxes are slowly eroding and have no maintenance
Other Thoughts: I've been playing disc golf for about a year now. This course was fun when I started, and even when I've thrown in the woods (especially easy on #3) I've never lost a disc.

However, all of the wooded areas are absolutely packed with poison Ivy. I've removed this from the courses I will play due to the overgrowth.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner and Amateur course.

2-4    11/14/2002   10/11/2008
Review By: Dude
Played: 116  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner and Amateur course. There are some trees that provide hazards/shot selection but otherwise basically flat and shortish straight shots.
Cons: Very open on some holes. Some holes are pretty overgrown and very heavily infested with poison ivy. I caught PI so bad there one summer I had to take the rest of the summer off. So if you do play here make sure it's in the winter.
Other Thoughts: Very nice thing that the church put this here for the community and that it is a public course. Great for newer players and kids.

Update: This also makes a nice 2nd round after playing Manor...it's not a bad self confidence booster. lol

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Too Short

1    5/2/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners or kids due to it's short distances. It is a free gift to the cummunity from Our Savior Lutheran Church.
Cons: The course wraps around the church. The church has a daycare which uses the playground which has a low fence. I was afraid to throw very hard because I could just see my disc going over the fence and decapitating a young Lutheran.
Other Thoughts: Great place to go Saturday morning with the kids.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.