Austin, TX 
Our Savior Lutheran Church Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 nice beginner course

1    10/23/2011   10/31/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -short and open with a few small obstacles, great for kids and beginners
-great place to bring the family
-well marked with signs on each hole and next tee markers in the ground near each basket
-hole 1 is a fun skip hyzer shot
-dirt tees in decent condition, good enough for the kids and beginners
-easy to find, quick to play, plenty of parking
Cons: -too easy for most players
-single chain baskets
-TRASH - it was disappointing to see how much trash, including beer cans/bottles and cigarette packs, was thrown about in the bushes near the tees. such a shame and a bad mark on the disc golf community
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole rec course fulfills its purpose well: introduce kids and new players to the game. There are no frills and there don't need to be.

The shots are mostly open with minor obstacles on just a few holes. Hole 1 is actually a really fun tee shot: basket is behind a couple of trees and the hyzer route is complicated by a telephone pole. Good practice for a short skip hyzer.

Most players can skip this course but it is perfect for the family, introducing the game to beginners, and the church crowd. That said, even experienced players could play here and have a fun time trying to shoot a 18.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for family and beginners.

5+    3/10/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Laid out well considering the available land.
Some legitimate ace possibilities on holes #2 and #5.
The course has a very nice gazebo between holes #3 and #4.
Cons: Poison Ivy as others have mentioned. Some holes are located next the playground area of the church.
Throwing towards and around power lines.

Other Thoughts: Overall this course is in fair to good condition and is laid out well taking into account the little land the church had to work with, There are some wide open holes that cater to big arms and some holes that weave through the trees surrounding the power lines.
If you enjoyed this course then check out Wells Branch course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect for Beginners.

1    11/22/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect for beginners.

The course's very easy to navigate. There's stone markers marking the hole numbers and where the next tee box is. That's not too shabby. That's more than most courses can offer. Many oft he tees have wood benches you can sit on.

Cons: The course is extremely primitive compared to the more advanced courses around Austin that have well-developed layout with various obstacles coming into play.

Plenty of the seasoned players would find this a bit too easy, boring, or whatever adjectives you might think appropriate.

#2 is way too easy. 138 feet?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9 holes in under 30 minutes

1    6/19/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to follow, and every hole is pretty much wide open. Some care was put into this course, with nice benches at every single hole.

Signs look trashy at first, but turns out they have hole # and distance at each tee, with a stone marker with a bright blue hole # painted on it at each hole also. There are bright blue directional arrows in the ground also after each basket.

Each basket is marked clearly with a large number.

Parking is really easy, close, and plentiful. There's a Sonic and 2 gas stations immediately adjacent to the course.

The course flows very well, and even playing for the first time we warmed up a few tosses, played all 9, got in the truck and back to I-35 in 30 minutes.

The map on here is of course helpful, but you won't need it. It's very easy to get from one hole to the next with the marker stones in the ground.

It cracks me up that #9 makes you throw through or around the 3 crosses they have planted out there. My buddy thinks it's on purpose to make you look at them. I threw over thief #2's cross and almost aced it.
Cons: The teepads are dirt, which isn't awful since it's on a hill and collecting water is unlikely even when it rains. Each one has a board across the front, which I'm not a fan of.

The baskets are one layer of chain types, and the tension on them will reject a disc if you're not careful.

We did not have any trouble with the overgrowth, because the course is so wide open, but it is very thick if you griplock one.

We did not have any trouble with poison ivy, but you could see it if you looked way off the course over in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing 3 months or so, and even I shot par the first time out here. It is an EASY course. I don't mean that in a bad way, it's designed to be family friendly, after all. Three holes have an obstructed view of the basket, and five of them can be aced by anyone who's been playing long.

It's a very short course. If you're new, on a quest to play every course in Austin, or bringing along kids or newbies, this course will not disappoint. Given the land they had, they did a fine job, and the thoughtful touches on a small budget show nicely here.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center