Austin, TX 
Our Savior Lutheran Church Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Don't Waste Your Time

1    7/11/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: snevets
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: Short with a few obstructions.
passable for beginners; boring for intermediate/advanced
Cons: short; nothing very interesting going on
no maps and basket indicators are chancy at best
the only poison oak is where the church is WATERING the lawn. WHY?
Other Thoughts: if you only have an hour or want to work on throwing styles with midranges go ahead and give it a shot.
if you are new: do not treat this as standard. it isn't.

Boring course, nothing to recommend it

5+    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's short and extremely easy.

There's a little outdoor praying area at 2's tee, and the church's crosses come into play (particularly for lefties or forehand shots) on 9, so I guess that might be an appeal.

If you've never aced a hole in your life, this is certainly a course that can help you fix that.
Cons: It's short and extremely easy.

And even if you are looking for a very easy course, like if you're bringing kids or non-disc-golfers along, I'd say Block House is still the better option.
Other Thoughts: Why do baskets seem to get taken from church courses? Zilker's been up for decades, and I've only seen one hole get stolen. Cactus Patch and Our Savior have lost four between them. It drives me nuts. Every hole that gets stolen means future courses that aren't going to get built because they're worried about theft. The thieves are damaging their own hobby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent place to bring a beginner or practice

2-4    10/5/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a relaxing, quick 9-holer that is a good place to introduce new players to the game.

The course is never crowded and can double as a nice practice area with options to make up alternate lay-outs.

Each tee has a bench and the holes have next-tee arrows on cement medallions in the ground near the baskets.

The first tee is obvious as soon as one enters the parking lot.
Cons: The course is very short and every hole, except hole 1, can be played with a righty hyzer.

A wooden gazebo is very much in play on hole 4. Holes 4-8 have some pretty thick schule areas and crowd each other with hidden baskets.

Tee areas are dirt, which is slippery when wet.

The baskets are single chain models.

Other Thoughts: This course is on a church property. Please help keep the place free of litter, particularly beer cans.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Glad it's there.

5+    4/8/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: slicemaster
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I know every course has its' "perfect" time to be played and Old Saviors is during wildflower season. This course is a simple yet pleasant 9 holes. As I stated when the wildflowers are in full bloom the majority of the course is covered and it is beautiful. Play at sunset you will be happy. This is a course to play when you do not want to be bothered by other golfers or want a place to introduce young children to the game. I also like to use this as "cool down" round after playing all day.
Hole #1 and #4 are the best IMO, and while no holes are extremely challenging if you miss long or left on a few you will be in trouble.
Cons: Watch out for poison ivy as many have stated, but if you make accurate shots this won't be a big issue. Don't know why but #5 stinks. Seriously smells like @ss. It is a bit overgrown right now, and it can be difficult to find discs in tall grass, but they won't cut the field while the flowers are in bloom obviously.
#7 and #8 play into each other. This isn't a big deal here as this course rarely has multiple groups playing on it.
Other Thoughts: This course is nothing to write home about but if you catch it at the right time it can be very enjoyable. The majority of the year it is just a simple, boring P & A course. However, when it is in bloom like it was recently it is worth playing for sure. Looking for a place to stick your kids in a bluebonnet field and not be bothered for pictures, stop by #6 as it is a perfect area. I know I emphasized natural beauty but I feel it is this courses' redeeming quality. Not to mention being surrounded by nature is my favorite aspect of the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice beginner course

1    10/23/2011   10/31/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -short and open with a few small obstacles, great for kids and beginners
-great place to bring the family
-well marked with signs on each hole and next tee markers in the ground near each basket
-hole 1 is a fun skip hyzer shot
-dirt tees in decent condition, good enough for the kids and beginners
-easy to find, quick to play, plenty of parking
Cons: -too easy for most players
-single chain baskets
-TRASH - it was disappointing to see how much trash, including beer cans/bottles and cigarette packs, was thrown about in the bushes near the tees. such a shame and a bad mark on the disc golf community
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole rec course fulfills its purpose well: introduce kids and new players to the game. There are no frills and there don't need to be.

The shots are mostly open with minor obstacles on just a few holes. Hole 1 is actually a really fun tee shot: basket is behind a couple of trees and the hyzer route is complicated by a telephone pole. Good practice for a short skip hyzer.

Most players can skip this course but it is perfect for the family, introducing the game to beginners, and the church crowd. That said, even experienced players could play here and have a fun time trying to shoot a 18.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Baskets on holes 3 & 4 have been replaced

2-4    9/1/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: Old Fuz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very easy to follow and every hole is pretty much wide open. It is an easy course which is good for beginners.
Cons: Poison Ivy as others have mentioned.
Other Thoughts: FYI. The baskets on holes 3 & 4 were replace this week.

 Waste of time

1    9/10/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: Chain_Smoker
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can't say there are many with this course. The nicest thing about it was the scenery and the church which had really nice stained glass windows. Short of that, there wasn't much excitement on this course. It is easy to find your disc on almost every hole, I will say that.
Cons: Where do I start? It's EXTREMELY short, probably best if you're looking to take your kids or something. It was a little tricky to find and also difficult to navigate once you got there. Short of a few random stones pointing the way, there isn't much for the newcomer to figure out where to go. With holes #3 & #4 missing, it's very easy to skip right by them and move on to #5. I could have put a similar course together in a backyard somewhere, very disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Not planning on going back until they make it bigger and maintain their baskets. This course is only good if you've never played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Bad Beginner COurse

1    9/10/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: mavjr24
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: This is a very good short short course. The tee boxes are really nice with cool marking stones that point to the next hole.
Cons: The course is missing baskets for #4 & #6. Terrible course layout and really bad maintenance.
Other Thoughts: This is an alright course. Definitely won't be going back there EVER. Played with only my putter the entire course and still hit 8 out of 9 birdies. This course is probably the worse short course in town. Falcone Pointe & Wells Branch made more since than this course did.

 Boring

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: cfmack
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Quick course
- Easy birdies
- Not crowded
Cons: - Boring - it is basically a "L" shaped field with few trees
- Short - I would guess the average hole length is 250 feet
- 2 baskets were stolen and replaced with poles
Other Thoughts: If I need to play a short 9 hole in the area, I would recommend Catcus Patch

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Over Grown

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: gek76
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly open holes.
Good for beginners.
Cons: Grass hasn't been cut in a long time.
Baskets on 3 and 4 are missing
Had trouble finding some tees
Other Thoughts: Nice attempt to have a course at a church. Needs more maintenance to be a course I would want to play regularly.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.