Austin, TX 
Our Savior Lutheran Church Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 JCO PICK

5+    4/21/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: jco2jco
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: not too many people to play around, every hole is reachable for the birdie. very quick rounds, 30 minutes easy.. to play 9,,,
Cons: short, low lying (sometimes floods a few holes)
has a school , so behave,,hehehe
Other Thoughts: i lived down the street from OUR SAVIOR dgc and played it often,,it is a decent course..
THX to the church,,,aswell...very nice neighborhood deed,,,God Bless

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  "Quickie"

1    4/9/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: Slightly Removed
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Almost all t-offs are near the previous baskets and easy to locate. Decent short drives for someone new to the game.
Cons: Not really any challenging parts. Grass was knee high in some places.
Other Thoughts: Over all ill be back because it was not crowded and a good place to fit in a short game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for family and beginners.

5+    3/10/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Laid out well considering the available land.
Some legitimate ace possibilities on holes #2 and #5.
The course has a very nice gazebo between holes #3 and #4.
Cons: Poison Ivy as others have mentioned. Some holes are located next the playground area of the church.
Throwing towards and around power lines.

Other Thoughts: Overall this course is in fair to good condition and is laid out well taking into account the little land the church had to work with, There are some wide open holes that cater to big arms and some holes that weave through the trees surrounding the power lines.
If you enjoyed this course then check out Wells Branch course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect for Beginners.

1    11/22/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect for beginners.

The course's very easy to navigate. There's stone markers marking the hole numbers and where the next tee box is. That's not too shabby. That's more than most courses can offer. Many oft he tees have wood benches you can sit on.

Cons: The course is extremely primitive compared to the more advanced courses around Austin that have well-developed layout with various obstacles coming into play.

Plenty of the seasoned players would find this a bit too easy, boring, or whatever adjectives you might think appropriate.

#2 is way too easy. 138 feet?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhh....

5+    8/16/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: zrg34
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fast course to play, makeable ace on every hole...and thats really true
Cons: POISION IVY (especially on 3), and i ran across a 4ft snake(which was really scary), dirt teeboxes
Other Thoughts: I have played this course alot since i live in a neighborhood close by...that is the only reason i play it, but besides this, i would avoid this course at all cost

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 9 holes in under 30 minutes

1    6/19/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to follow, and every hole is pretty much wide open. Some care was put into this course, with nice benches at every single hole.

Signs look trashy at first, but turns out they have hole # and distance at each tee, with a stone marker with a bright blue hole # painted on it at each hole also. There are bright blue directional arrows in the ground also after each basket.

Each basket is marked clearly with a large number.

Parking is really easy, close, and plentiful. There's a Sonic and 2 gas stations immediately adjacent to the course.

The course flows very well, and even playing for the first time we warmed up a few tosses, played all 9, got in the truck and back to I-35 in 30 minutes.

The map on here is of course helpful, but you won't need it. It's very easy to get from one hole to the next with the marker stones in the ground.

It cracks me up that #9 makes you throw through or around the 3 crosses they have planted out there. My buddy thinks it's on purpose to make you look at them. I threw over thief #2's cross and almost aced it.
Cons: The teepads are dirt, which isn't awful since it's on a hill and collecting water is unlikely even when it rains. Each one has a board across the front, which I'm not a fan of.

The baskets are one layer of chain types, and the tension on them will reject a disc if you're not careful.

We did not have any trouble with the overgrowth, because the course is so wide open, but it is very thick if you griplock one.

We did not have any trouble with poison ivy, but you could see it if you looked way off the course over in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing 3 months or so, and even I shot par the first time out here. It is an EASY course. I don't mean that in a bad way, it's designed to be family friendly, after all. Three holes have an obstructed view of the basket, and five of them can be aced by anyone who's been playing long.

It's a very short course. If you're new, on a quest to play every course in Austin, or bringing along kids or newbies, this course will not disappoint. Given the land they had, they did a fine job, and the thoughtful touches on a small budget show nicely here.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Too much Poison Ivy

5+    5/9/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: TheConnection
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course
Easy to follow
Benches
Distance Markers
Cons: Poison Ivy
Snakes
Tee Boxes are slowly eroding and have no maintenance
Other Thoughts: I've been playing disc golf for about a year now. This course was fun when I started, and even when I've thrown in the woods (especially easy on #3) I've never lost a disc.

However, all of the wooded areas are absolutely packed with poison Ivy. I've removed this from the courses I will play due to the overgrowth.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 our savior

5+    3/19/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: produce guy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's not very crowded,has benches at every hole,easy to follow,has hole distance markers,has a Sonic and jack-n -a box close by
Cons: Yes it has poison ivy in the rough and has some snakes seen and has 2 big power poles on the 5th hole.
Other Thoughts: Great little 9 hole course always has Tx.wild flowers on it,wish they could make it into an 18 hole.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner and Amateur course.

2-4    11/14/2002   10/11/2008
Review By: Dude
Played: 139  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner and Amateur course. There are some trees that provide hazards/shot selection but otherwise basically flat and shortish straight shots.
Cons: Very open on some holes. Some holes are pretty overgrown and very heavily infested with poison ivy. I caught PI so bad there one summer I had to take the rest of the summer off. So if you do play here make sure it's in the winter.
Other Thoughts: Very nice thing that the church put this here for the community and that it is a public course. Great for newer players and kids.

Update: This also makes a nice 2nd round after playing Manor...it's not a bad self confidence booster. lol

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Too Short

1    5/2/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners or kids due to it's short distances. It is a free gift to the cummunity from Our Savior Lutheran Church.
Cons: The course wraps around the church. The church has a daycare which uses the playground which has a low fence. I was afraid to throw very hard because I could just see my disc going over the fence and decapitating a young Lutheran.
Other Thoughts: Great place to go Saturday morning with the kids.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.