Ukiah, CA 
Lake Mendocino - South Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lefties will love this course

2-4    8/17/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice little course that initially winds through a hilly forested area, opens up a bit then dives back into some thick forest. Good mix of terrain and lines. Course finishes on its signature hole where you throw across a gully onto a plateaued green
- 11 is a fun little dogleg right through a V-shaped tree and out into a sloped opening.
- There are some nice longer holes (12, 13 & 18) where you need to shape some longer throws off the tee
- Solid rubber tees. Level and clean
- Nice views of the vineyard and reservoir. Great little park overall with good amenities
Cons: - Lots of a blind pin placements with no indication of position at the tee
- There are similar holes (2, 3, 6-10 & 15) where you're throwing ~250ft slightly uphill or downhill through tan oak forest. Many of these holes weren't distinctive enough to keep me engaged
- 14 & 17 are both super-tight tunnel shots where the only "fairway" is a small 8ft wide trail through a forest. I had trouble finding a reasonable line and ended up chucking my putter 80ft from the tee, praying it didn't clip a tree along the way
- This course design heavily favors lefties/RHFH. There are no holes where a traditional RHBH throw really helps your game. Most are dogleg right. Mr Course Designer: WHY U HATE RIGHTIES SO MUCH? I wish it were a bit more balanced
- Not many scary or dangerous putts. Trees & brush are pretty much the only putting hazards here
Other Thoughts: I'll admit that I have a deficiency in my game in that I don't have a great forehand throw. My main gripe is that without this in my arsenal, well over half the holes on this course do not suit my play. In many cases, the traditional RHBH line is punished severely. I wish it the design had more balance. A handful of holes delight me here. Most are A-OK and some just confuse and frustrate me. I'll skip this course until I've developed a better forehand throw.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Little Longer And More Scenic Than The North Course!

1    8/17/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Mendocino South has the same general feel as it's sister course, North, but after playing South, you realize that it's longer and has more traditional disc golf shots and holes. It also features beautiful scenery throughout the course and some lovely views of the lake.

The course has the same DGA baskets, concrete pads and the same state park campsites tee signs made out of hard, almost indestructible hard plastic. You really have to expend some effort to trash these signs and some punks did just that, somehow working hard and breaking two ( # 6 & 7) off at ground level.

I thought # 11 was probably the prettiest hole on the course. It's 250-269' with a natural curving fairway and a tree with a V about halfway down the fairway forcing you to throw right or left.

# 12 was scary with a long sloping downhill on the left. Stay on the uphill side on this hole.

# 18 is a very cool finishing hole which has you throwing over a ravine with a deep gorge on your left. Just a great finisher to this course.

Cons: I think navigating this course alone the first time would have been difficult. Luckily, I met up with a group from Minnesota who had played it before.

Poison oak seems to be a big problem for some players.

A couple broken tee signs need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: Just a very solid intermediate level course. It's just long enough, rugged enough and challenging enough to provide an enjoyable experience for most any player. There's a nice variety of holes here from wooded technical to more open to some more rugged ones on hillsides.

Lovely scenic course with a nice challenge makes for a nice complimentary course to the ultra rugged technical nature of the North course. Play the two for a full pleasurable day of discing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lake Mendocino South

1    1/25/2013   1/30/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 4'x8' cement tee pads on most holes. Basic post style signs next to tees with hole number and distances to pin. Nice baskets with hole numbers. Lots of elevation change throughout the area. Multiple pin positions. Moderately to heavily wooded. Beautiful view of the lake near hole 2's basket, and great views of the mountains and lake in other spots on the course as well. Great scenery throughout. Well placed 'next tee' signs throughout the course where needed. Hole 4: 200' blind uphill shot. Hole 14: nice downhill tunnel shot forcing you to keep your disc low and straight. Hole 18: 350' slightly downhill shot over a deep ravine; need to throw about 325' to safely clear it. After hole 5 and until hole 16 the course feels very secluded. Low traffic. Fairly easy to navigate. There is an old car door by 11's tee; looks like it's from the 50's (kinda cool). All holes are birdie-able but the rough is very thick in spots and bad shots can be hard to recover from. Hole 5's basket is pretty close to 14's tee so you could play a quicker round by skipping 6-13. Restrooms on site. There is a sign for the disc golf course on the road. A few garbage cans scattered throughout the course. Clean, well maintained course.
Cons: A lot of holes play pretty flat despite the elevation change in the area. The course could use a couple more next tee signs around holes 6-14. There are a few longer walks between holes. Rubber tee and only one pin position on hole 6. Hole 7's sign is broken and laying on the ground next to the tee. Holes 13&16's signs are missing. Most holes seemed to favor LHBH/RHFH with late right turns required (at least in the positions when I played). Only holes 13&17 turned left.
Other Thoughts: The thick trees on this course catch discs pretty well so keep your shots low when possible. Heavy gusts of wind come through often but inconsistently as well; use spotters if possible. The hills can make for long random rollers too. There is an old barbed-wire fence about knee high to the left and in front of the basket on hole 18, so if you come up short left, be careful. This is a very fun course and I enjoyed playing it very much. Moderately challenging. The views and scenery are great and there is surprisingly low traffic on the course. I saw one car that had just arrived as I was leaving with 2 disc golfers; other than that I was the only one at the course mid-afternoon on a Friday. The course could use a little TLC in a few spots and with a few tweaks here and there I would rate it a 3.5. Very nice course and I would recommend it and the North course if you've never played (play the North first though).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, short, & Techy

1    1/17/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: Peterb
Played: 69  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - a lot of fun little shots on a small piece of land.
- great elevation changes
- great trees
- easy on/off hwy 101
- nice facilities (bathroom, parking, etc)
- not crowded
- nice tees and pins
- decent signage
- great in winter
Cons: - most of the tee pads are too close to the pins of the previous hole, which in many cases are also blind...a potential safety hazard

- short. Bring your putter for many of the drives.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this little gem of a course. It was super fun and despite the short distances on most of the holes, the trees and elevation changes more than make it challenging. Lots of potential roll aways and tree blockage. Nice little spot!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good times at the lake

1    7/27/2008   2/2/2009
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good Variety of lefts and rights
-Maps and score cards available at first tee
-Great views of the lake, though not close enough to loose a disc in there.
-Elevation Change.
-Rubber teepads in good condition.
-Baskets are in good condition
Cons: -Poison Oak can be a bit thick in spots
-Long walks from one hole to another in a couple spots
-Tee Signs only tell length, not direction, or pin position, so a couple of holes you need to walk it out on your first time through.
-Some holes have a steep drop off neer them or thick bushes, that you can loose a disc down if your not carefull
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course, but if you get PO make sure to wear long pants and long sleeves. Definatly some fun holes, Hole 18 sticks out in my mind as a signature hole, but it does have a bit of a walk from hole 17.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course with a view

7/18/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is fun, fairly wooded and slightly hilly making for a little challenge. The fairways are a little tight so it requires more aim than strength. The maps are vary helpful and the course is marked.
Cons: There is a few shots near a steep edge down below, be mindful of this. The holes are kind of short so, you can birdy if your drive is aimed correctly.
Other Thoughts: You can hear the water sports going on down on the lake, it is an awesome place to check out.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2/3/2008   2/6/2008
Review By: Shrek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: beautiful course, long and short shots make for good variety. near the lake, but you have to be throwing with a huge, huge arm and the wrong direction off the tee to come anywhere near the lake.
Cons: A few blind holes that are poorly placed, the tight shots are really tight. Some shots have only one realistic window, makes for monotonous holes if you play the course more than once or twice. very technical, hard for the pros, miserable for beginners trying to do anything more than go for a hike.
Other Thoughts: I try to play this one every chance I get in order to get better at it. The weeklys here have been won with 1 and 2 over par lately, and we've got an innova sponsered player locally. It's rough, but it's fun.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.