Ukiah, CA 
Lake Mendocino - South Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Course Between the Bay and Humboldt

2-4    3/10/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Changeling shots
-Good elevation change
-Nice mix of par 4 holes
-Fun tunnels
-Not very crowded
-Easy off and on to 101
Cons: -No tee signs
-Some blind shots
-Some hiking up and down hills
Other Thoughts: A very fun course built on the same model of Stafford Lake and Highland Springs. A good course that will challenge long time players but also short enough for new players with good risk and reward shots. The course was easy to navigate and pretty empty even on weekends and easy to got to from highway 101. If in the area or driving through its worth the stop.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun

1    6/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very cool location with great views. Ups and downs, left and rights....a little of everything. Good risk=reward shots.
Cons: Some pins are tough to locate without a stroll down the fairway, and at one point I couldn't figure out which way the fairway was off the tee pad. I found my away around all by myself though, so it's ok.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course to play

5+    7/27/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: jtiedemann6
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent length
Trees make for an interesting challenge
Many different shot varities
Nice technical course
Change in elevation makes for a good calf workout
Stairs and benches are a nice touch
Cons: A ton of poison oak
Hard to find discs on some holes
No tee signs
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course. When I lived nearby, I played this course close to everyday. Good place for a fun game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-great elevation changes.
-this course is set on a lot of land, so it would flow nice even if it was busy
-it wasn't busy... we played on an overcast sat and on sun, but i don't remember seeing more than 2 other groups. easy to navigate with signs directing you and well beaten paths
-low ground cover that won't soak you legs when wet.
-many pretty long holes that are hard to get to in 2. hardly any straight fairways at all.
Cons:
-some baskets are set on slopes that can turn a good shot into a 100ft roller, so that seemed a bit overdone
-some holes seemed too protected. such small windows off the drive that i'd basically just throw and hope...
-pretty easy to lose discs in that you drive blindly to places with big drop offs. a couple times we ended up searching for discs having no idea where it could be... that can be a buzz kill.
-some crackhead bitch screaming at the bushes
-lots of garbage even though there were several trash cans.
Other Thoughts:
-there was quite a bit of poison oak.
-the parking lot is next to some bathrooms (that don't have soap) and seems like a good place to chill out after a round. The park, not the bathrooms.
-I imagine that people who like the difficulty level of DeLaveaga will like this course. its a bit out of my skill range, but I throw 300 max backhand. Most of this course reminds me of the forested shots at DeLa...

Jaco's Tacos on N State Street in Ukiah was seriously some of the best mexican food i've had. This isn't some BS ad for them. It was GOOD.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.