Elkhart, IN
Ox Bow County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  --

5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: leop229
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thanks to the work of a local man the course is looking better that I've ever seen it.
1. Good baskets and concrete tees
2. In my opinion a well layed out course
3. Short but challenging holes.
4. Several longer holes. Hole 8,12,13,14.
5. Cost is only $2
6. They have put out more trash cans, SO USE THEM!
Cons: 1. It can get very muddy after a good rain. Best to wear some hiking boots or shoes you don't care about.
2. The bugs.
3. The idiots that vandalize the course (signs and benches). I would really like to meet these punks.
Other Thoughts: Its overall a good course. Deffinately not the best one ever but a course worth playing. It will test your control

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A nice little course

1    1/5/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: ox bow is a nice course ,that plays though a large park.
Most holes our short technical holes ,though thick wooded areas .
park is well kept and clean .
The baskets were in good shape and the tees were also good,and the navigation was fairly easy .
water comes into play on a few holes and saves this course from being a boring wooded course .
I can't remember what hole it was but it plays though thin trees that heavily guarded the basket ,I really liked that hole .
Cons: course is really short and plays pretty easy .
some of the wooded holes are mostly the same and hard to tell one from the other .
Other Thoughts: Liked playing here and hope to play it again sometime

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 recent play

5+    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: i think others have layed out great reviews, so i'm just adding the fact that a couple of us are tryin hard to clean this course up, handful of trees (mostly off sides of fairways) alot of brush,thorns, burrs and stuff are being cleaned out. we've started putting in more benches, tee signs, info sign ect. overall this is still a tight course, mostly short still (working on longer tee locations) but overall its been made playable, and continuing to get better, by spring this place will be worth the drive from out of towners
we are workin hard, but only a few of us are actually doing work so its slow
if its been months since you've played i hope you check out to see the improved upkeep, rangers are tryin to work things into next years budget so we'll see how far we can take it
Cons: i wish it had a couple open bomb holes
wish they'd let us use chainsaws to clear certain holes,
its a work in progress, was a great technical course, just needed (still needs more) TLC
Other Thoughts: dont have to pay to park, free parking in 2nd lot (1/4 mile west of entrance)
its only a 1, its an honesty box in which we wish more were honest with... but the park doesn't mind so much, but i'd like to see more folks pay the dollar

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/12/2009   12/13/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun mid-range play, with a couple of slightly longer (400+) holes. Lots of challenging narrow fairways, with some nicer grassy areas (Holes 7-10). Short cement tees are not that big but are wholly adequate for most drives, and way better than rubber or grass. Older chainstar-type baskets on all 24 holes. Nearly every hole has a viable pathway despite some holes being tightly wooded. Hole 17 has an unusual tee from a wooded platform that could be considered a signature hole, along with a long straight along the river (Hole 12). Has signs along the way that help navigation. Good course design that effectively utilizes limited area.
Cons: Park is generally flat, more so than most courses. Some holes are a little too close to each other, others a little too short (Hole 6 is a tight RHBH anhyzer that could use a redesign). Other holes (3-5) run through lowlands that are a little too marshy to be enjoyable, and would likely be mosquito breeding grounds in summer. Park rangers seem a little bored and unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course, but a surprisingly underrated course that scratches a disc golf itch and is good for play in cold weather. Easy access in one hour from Kalamazoo, offering a cold weather alternative that's sure to please Coldbrook fans. However, parts of the park were closed to traffic, making a long walk to the northwest corner of the park necessary.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.