Elkhart, IN 
Ox Bow County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
5 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Back Open for Business!

1    9/2/2015   9/3/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -24 holes
-All of which have their own challenge. Very few are "gimmes". Hole 1 is very simple but it is just to tease you before the shots in the woods come up!
-Massive amounts of trees/bushes that lead to really picking a good line on your tee shots.
-Most holes here are TIGHT. Beginners and even some rec players will hate this but it will help improve your game by playing here often.
-Variety of left and right turning tee shots. I was surprised that most of the tee shots were right turning which made it a challenge for my pal and I as we are RHBH. Lots of anhyzer throws and use of understable drivers for RHBH throwers here.
-Going off of that, some of those right bending shots were out of the ordinary in my eyes. A few of them were types of tee shots I had never encountered in 3 years of playing so that was nice! Especially hole 6, short but bends right VERY quickly.
-Nice big scorecards you can get at the front gate.
-Water fountain near the disc parking lot.
-Lots of benches, albeit small ones.
-Most of the tees are located fairly close to each other.
Cons: -No true "bomber" holes. There are a few that go beyond 400 feet but they are so compact withing the woods that I can't justify using a 13 or higher speed driver at this course at all. Which really disappoints me. If there were like 2 open bomb holes at this course where you could rip a max distance driver this place would be amazing.
-This place has TONS of those annoying prickly plants as well as those plants that get little green and brown spurs all over your clothes. It takes forever to get them off too!
-The signs are okay but they can be a bit misleading in terms of how much a tee shot bends.
-Pay to play. Only 2 bucks (as of right now) but many people view that as a con so I will too.
-Lots of mosquitoes around the stretch of holes near the water. Bring bug spray for sure.
-For a first timer here the park in general can be hard to navigate. Not the course itself, just the park because it is very large! My best advice: ask the front gate and if you cross the road "over the water stream" you are going the right way!
-After holing out, a few times you have to backtrack to get to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: -Play It Again Sports is very close in Elkhart. They have a solid selection of discs, mainly Innova but basically they have all of that brand there. You can sell discs there as well.
-I was very pleased with Ox Bow. Was a little worried about playing here because I had seen some iffy reviews and since it had been closed for awhile. But it is a challenging yet fun course. Played two rounds here in the SCORCHING heat but still had fun and played fairly well for my first time here!
-I just wish there were a few more open holes as I love courses that have that perfect mix of wooded and open. As well as some 450+ tee shots.
-But other than that and all the damn prickly things I got all over me, it is worth the trip and I really recommend trying this spot out. Nice park and a terrific place to work on finesse and tight drives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  --

5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: leop229
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thanks to the work of a local man the course is looking better that I've ever seen it.
1. Good baskets and concrete tees
2. In my opinion a well layed out course
3. Short but challenging holes.
4. Several longer holes. Hole 8,12,13,14.
5. Cost is only $2
6. They have put out more trash cans, SO USE THEM!
Cons: 1. It can get very muddy after a good rain. Best to wear some hiking boots or shoes you don't care about.
2. The bugs.
3. The idiots that vandalize the course (signs and benches). I would really like to meet these punks.
Other Thoughts: Its overall a good course. Deffinately not the best one ever but a course worth playing. It will test your control

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A nice little course

1    1/5/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: ox bow is a nice course ,that plays though a large park.
Most holes our short technical holes ,though thick wooded areas .
park is well kept and clean .
The baskets were in good shape and the tees were also good,and the navigation was fairly easy .
water comes into play on a few holes and saves this course from being a boring wooded course .
I can't remember what hole it was but it plays though thin trees that heavily guarded the basket ,I really liked that hole .
Cons: course is really short and plays pretty easy .
some of the wooded holes are mostly the same and hard to tell one from the other .
Other Thoughts: Liked playing here and hope to play it again sometime

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 recent play

5+    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: i think others have layed out great reviews, so i'm just adding the fact that a couple of us are tryin hard to clean this course up, handful of trees (mostly off sides of fairways) alot of brush,thorns, burrs and stuff are being cleaned out. we've started putting in more benches, tee signs, info sign ect. overall this is still a tight course, mostly short still (working on longer tee locations) but overall its been made playable, and continuing to get better, by spring this place will be worth the drive from out of towners
we are workin hard, but only a few of us are actually doing work so its slow
if its been months since you've played i hope you check out to see the improved upkeep, rangers are tryin to work things into next years budget so we'll see how far we can take it
Cons: i wish it had a couple open bomb holes
wish they'd let us use chainsaws to clear certain holes,
its a work in progress, was a great technical course, just needed (still needs more) TLC
Other Thoughts: dont have to pay to park, free parking in 2nd lot (1/4 mile west of entrance)
its only a 1, its an honesty box in which we wish more were honest with... but the park doesn't mind so much, but i'd like to see more folks pay the dollar

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/12/2009   12/13/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 86  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun mid-range play, with a couple of slightly longer (400+) holes. Lots of challenging narrow fairways, with some nicer grassy areas (Holes 7-10). Short cement tees are not that big but are wholly adequate for most drives, and way better than rubber or grass. Older chainstar-type baskets on all 24 holes. Nearly every hole has a viable pathway despite some holes being tightly wooded. Hole 17 has an unusual tee from a wooded platform that could be considered a signature hole, along with a long straight along the river (Hole 12). Has signs along the way that help navigation. Good course design that effectively utilizes limited area.
Cons: Park is generally flat, more so than most courses. Some holes are a little too close to each other, others a little too short (Hole 6 is a tight RHBH anhyzer that could use a redesign). Other holes (3-5) run through lowlands that are a little too marshy to be enjoyable, and would likely be mosquito breeding grounds in summer. Park rangers seem a little bored and unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course, but a surprisingly underrated course that scratches a disc golf itch and is good for play in cold weather. Easy access in one hour from Kalamazoo, offering a cold weather alternative that's sure to please Coldbrook fans. However, parts of the park were closed to traffic, making a long walk to the northwest corner of the park necessary.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.