Elkhart, IN 
Ox Bow County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

2-4    11/18/2015   11/19/2015
Review By: comeonbro73
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
Pros: I really like this course for a couple of reasons. 1. There is a good mixture of holes. It doesn't favor any specific shots or handedness. 2. The course layout makes a lot of sense and is easy to follow. 3. This place is well maintained (at least when I've been there)
Cons: It's a little boring. There are no signature holes, nothing especially unique about it, and a lot of the holes feel the same. You could get by with just a couple of different shots and as long as you can execute them well, you can play well under par. Which leads to my next point, par is really generous. I was playing here with no prior knowledge of the course and was able to shoot a -14 with no problems. And I am nothing special. As long as you keep it in the fairway, you're usually looking at a birdie.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course better early or late in the season. The trees and such in the rough can be brutal in the summer. The bugs are generally nasty, and it can be really hard to find if you don't know where you're going. Be sure to ask for directions at the gate. My fav course in the area, but it does have some flaws.

Back Open for Business!

1    9/2/2015   9/3/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -24 holes
-All of which have their own challenge. Very few are "gimmes". Hole 1 is very simple but it is just to tease you before the shots in the woods come up!
-Massive amounts of trees/bushes that lead to really picking a good line on your tee shots.
-Most holes here are TIGHT. Beginners and even some rec players will hate this but it will help improve your game by playing here often.
-Variety of left and right turning tee shots. I was surprised that most of the tee shots were right turning which made it a challenge for my pal and I as we are RHBH. Lots of anhyzer throws and use of understable drivers for RHBH throwers here.
-Going off of that, some of those right bending shots were out of the ordinary in my eyes. A few of them were types of tee shots I had never encountered in 3 years of playing so that was nice! Especially hole 6, short but bends right VERY quickly.
-Nice big scorecards you can get at the front gate.
-Water fountain near the disc parking lot.
-Lots of benches, albeit small ones.
-Most of the tees are located fairly close to each other.
Cons: -No true "bomber" holes. There are a few that go beyond 400 feet but they are so compact withing the woods that I can't justify using a 13 or higher speed driver at this course at all. Which really disappoints me. If there were like 2 open bomb holes at this course where you could rip a max distance driver this place would be amazing.
-This place has TONS of those annoying prickly plants as well as those plants that get little green and brown spurs all over your clothes. It takes forever to get them off too!
-The signs are okay but they can be a bit misleading in terms of how much a tee shot bends.
-Pay to play. Only 2 bucks (as of right now) but many people view that as a con so I will too.
-Lots of mosquitoes around the stretch of holes near the water. Bring bug spray for sure.
-For a first timer here the park in general can be hard to navigate. Not the course itself, just the park because it is very large! My best advice: ask the front gate and if you cross the road "over the water stream" you are going the right way!
-After holing out, a few times you have to backtrack to get to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: -Play It Again Sports is very close in Elkhart. They have a solid selection of discs, mainly Innova but basically they have all of that brand there. You can sell discs there as well.
-I was very pleased with Ox Bow. Was a little worried about playing here because I had seen some iffy reviews and since it had been closed for awhile. But it is a challenging yet fun course. Played two rounds here in the SCORCHING heat but still had fun and played fairly well for my first time here!
-I just wish there were a few more open holes as I love courses that have that perfect mix of wooded and open. As well as some 450+ tee shots.
-But other than that and all the damn prickly things I got all over me, it is worth the trip and I really recommend trying this spot out. Nice park and a terrific place to work on finesse and tight drives.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Flying Disc Sanctuary at Ox Bow Park

5+    7/25/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: Joshua Longs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -No one's mentioning the biggest pro of this course - VERY little wind. Since almost all of the holes are in a basin, the wind is minimal making for extremely fun, consistent putting.

-People are getting pretty good at using the trash cans.

-24 diverse, quality holes (some very long, some short, some have pines, some deciduous, there are open holes, treacherous holes, easy holes, river holes, plains holes, twisting holes, etc).

-Toughest course in the area

-Really nice people!
Cons: -Skeeters. (Bring OFF in the summer, for sure)

-Errant throws can be hard to find if you don't track well as the rough can get pretty hairy.
Other Thoughts: HEAR YE, HEAR YE:
This course is now OPEN (all 24 holes) and FREE for the rest of 2015.

Ox Bow is an adventure and a mildly strenuous hike. Bring some water, and have fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potential on the horizon (?), but not playable as of 6/16/15

1    6/16/2015   6/16/2015
Review By: MGroothuis
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Several of the holes are intact with actual baskets, not ghost baskets. Potential for a challenging, if not borderline ridiculous, course is there since there seems to be orange flags for future basket placement.
Cons: WAY too many holes are missing currently. If my memory is correct from this afternoon, holes 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14,15, 17, 18, and maybe 20 have no baskets. Hole 2 has a smashed basket. And hole 4 was a "fairway" of 2 inches of swampy water. Even the tee pad of 4 had mulberry branches at eye level forcing you to duck and dodge while driving. This course has been closed for a couple years and is technically open, but one or two mowings down the center of the fairway doesn't mean it's playable. The rough is super-rough. Years of neglect while the ash trees were cut down has turned any astray drive into an expedition bordering on a rescue mission in the Amazon jungle. Bring the Tecnu and poison ivy soap.
Other Thoughts: When I paid the $2 entry fee at the gate saying "I'm here for some disc golf.", it would have been nice to be told that the course is over half incomplete, especially after driving 34 miles from reading a "good" review of course conditions on DGCR saying the course was open. The dead woodchuck covered in flies, ironically dead-center of the fairway of hole 2 was a telling sign of the rest of the round.

On another note, I haven't played this course in 20 years, so I tried to reignite my memories for this course and give it a try. Now I remember why it's been so long. Many of the holes are horribly designed. Strange, short, tight anhyzers are rampant throughout where there are no actual flight routes. Sure, challenging is ok, but when it becomes a poke-and-hope thru the trees or forced layups because the corners are too tight for an honest approach or drive, it makes for some dumb holes.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Potential Abound

5+    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: cedur
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/13/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - great place to grow your skills in a creative course layout.
- great area to hike around in
Cons: not enough folks actually use the trash cans, but the same can be said for all courses
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to it being open again. It's taking a while to cut down all the ash trees...sounds like it wont be open until Spring 2015 now.

Gladly spent $30 for the annual pass at nearby Ferretie/Baugo.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a goodie

5+    9/30/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: stoltzjl77
Played: 116  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unforgiving, will challenge all skill levels.
Course is well kept and worth the price of admission.
Nice mix of elevation changes, open and tight fairways, water hazards and deep brush hazards.
Signage and baskets in good condition and course is well-marked.
Cons: Older tee pads are concrete but on the small side.
Mosquitos are terrible in spring and midsummer. Poison ivy all over - typical of heavily-wooded courses so not really a con, just a reminder!
Some holes come close to flooding out during wetter springs.
Other Thoughts: Ox Bow is the course I learned to play on so it has a special place in my memory. It is a technical course so leave your distance drivers behind and get ready to thread the needles.
The course does not favor a particular throwing style or handedness - whether you are right-handed or left-handed, throw BH or FH or OH you will need to do a little of everything to make your way through it under par.
This course has aged well - very few holes have significantly different lines from when it was first installed (the exceptions being #3 and #15/old #13, and updated #9 and #16/old #14). It is a very well-designed course that is standing the test of time.
Happy throwing! When you are looking for a disc, may you find two!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: leop229
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thanks to the work of a local man the course is looking better that I've ever seen it.
1. Good baskets and concrete tees
2. In my opinion a well layed out course
3. Short but challenging holes.
4. Several longer holes. Hole 8,12,13,14.
5. Cost is only $2
6. They have put out more trash cans, SO USE THEM!
Cons: 1. It can get very muddy after a good rain. Best to wear some hiking boots or shoes you don't care about.
2. The bugs.
3. The idiots that vandalize the course (signs and benches). I would really like to meet these punks.
Other Thoughts: Its overall a good course. Deffinately not the best one ever but a course worth playing. It will test your control

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best, but could be worse

2-4    4/17/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Challenging terrain. Quality baskets. Well landscaped (which it better be since it's pay to play). Not overcrowded, although the locals I did run into were standoffish. Good signage and easy navigation.
Cons: Whoever designed this course clearly didn't know what they were doing. Some of the lines are non-existant (hole 6?), and a few baskets are buried in trees. I don't mind guarded baskets, but a few of these were ridiculous. And they try to make up for it by setting a course par that's insanely easy? I'm looking at you 8, 18, and 22. I did enjoy the challenge of throwing through the woods, but unless you play it as pro par you're going to have a crazy low score.
Other Thoughts: The par needs to be lowered considerably (I threw poorly and still beat my best score of all time by ten strokes), and a few of the baskets need to be moved. Although it's worth a visit if you're passing through the area, I'm not sure if it's worth paying $4 to play. I played in the spring when it was clear, but I hear that the rough is insane in the summer and I could definitely see myself losing a few discs in there. Also, don't follow the lines given on the signs. Walk out and find the basket first. 18 is a prime example. It shouldn't be a par 4 regardless, but if you take the line they show you you're going to lose at least one stroke.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice little course

1    1/5/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: ox bow is a nice course ,that plays though a large park.
Most holes our short technical holes ,though thick wooded areas .
park is well kept and clean .
The baskets were in good shape and the tees were also good,and the navigation was fairly easy .
water comes into play on a few holes and saves this course from being a boring wooded course .
I can't remember what hole it was but it plays though thin trees that heavily guarded the basket ,I really liked that hole .
Cons: course is really short and plays pretty easy .
some of the wooded holes are mostly the same and hard to tell one from the other .
Other Thoughts: Liked playing here and hope to play it again sometime

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice wooded course

1    10/10/2009   6/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a disc golf exclusive area in a larger park. It is flat and nicely wooded, with fairways cut through thick trees and underbrush. There is good punishment here on most holes for errant shots, missing the fairway will often cost you a stroke. There is a nice variety of lengths, with several fun ace runs if you hit your lines through the trees, and a couple long tough holes including one that plays along the river for over 400'. You'll need to shape different lines through the woods to be successful here, there's a good variety of hole shapes that force different shots.

There are concrete pads that were in pretty good shape. The signage is adequate, and the next tee signs help make navigation here pretty easy. The elevated deck for one tee adds a little bit of extra fun and variety, it's a nice touch.
Cons: Despite being in the woods, this course isn't all that challenging. Too many of the holes are shorter and don't offer enough risk that they'll cause too many bogeys. Because so many holes are similar lengths, the course feels a bit repetitive in spots.

The concrete tees are small, not a big deal on the shorter holes, but they don't offer very much room on the longer holes. The course felt a bit unkempt in general, with some areas of brush encroaching on the fairways. Several holes held standing water and there were lots of swampy spots on the course even though it hadn't rained recently.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course at all, and adds a nice shorter wooded option for the area. It's not worth driving way out of your way for, but if you're in the area it's worth playing a round. Beginners will find the distances approachable, and will get to try out different shot shapes, though the rough can be a little much for a new player. More experienced players will find some challenges, but not enough difficulty or variety to keep them coming back too often.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.