Disc Golf Store
Elkhart, IN 
Ox Bow County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Potential Abound

5+    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: cedur
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great place to grow your skills in a challenging environment. Some folks say its short, but try throwing with either hand straight for 175 feet on the regular. any sooner and you'll be in the woods.
Cons: not enough folks actually use the trash cans, but the same can be said for all courses
Other Thoughts: course would be great if it was actually open. They're taking a while to cut down all the ash trees...sounds like it wont be open until Spring 2015 now. This is news to me and differs from the last 2 times I asked them, and they told me it would be open later in the winter 2013 and sooner in the spring 2014. Starting to lose faith in the staff that run the place, nevermind the $1000 fine if found on disc golf course now. Talk about off-putting and irritating! Gladly spent the $30 year pass at nearby Ferretie/Baugo.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oldie but a goodie

5+    9/30/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: stoltzjl77
Played: 111  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unforgiving, will challenge all skill levels.
Course is well kept and worth the price of admission.
Nice mix of elevation changes, open and tight fairways, water hazards and deep brush hazards.
Signage and baskets in good condition and course is well-marked.
Cons: Older tee pads are concrete but on the small side.
Mosquitos are terrible in spring and midsummer. Poison ivy all over - typical of heavily-wooded courses so not really a con, just a reminder!
Some holes come close to flooding out during wetter springs.
Other Thoughts: Ox Bow is the course I learned to play on so it has a special place in my memory. It is a technical course so leave your distance drivers behind and get ready to thread the needles.
The course does not favor a particular throwing style or handedness - whether you are right-handed or left-handed, throw BH or FH or OH you will need to do a little of everything to make your way through it under par.
This course has aged well - very few holes have significantly different lines from when it was first installed (the exceptions being #3 and #15/old #13, and updated #9 and #16/old #14). It is a very well-designed course that is standing the test of time.
Happy throwing! When you are looking for a disc, may you find two!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  --

5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: leop229
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thanks to the work of a local man the course is looking better that I've ever seen it.
1. Good baskets and concrete tees
2. In my opinion a well layed out course
3. Short but challenging holes.
4. Several longer holes. Hole 8,12,13,14.
5. Cost is only $2
6. They have put out more trash cans, SO USE THEM!
Cons: 1. It can get very muddy after a good rain. Best to wear some hiking boots or shoes you don't care about.
2. The bugs.
3. The idiots that vandalize the course (signs and benches). I would really like to meet these punks.
Other Thoughts: Its overall a good course. Deffinately not the best one ever but a course worth playing. It will test your control

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best, but could be worse

2-4    4/17/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 45  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Challenging terrain. Quality baskets. Well landscaped (which it better be since it's pay to play). Not overcrowded, although the locals I did run into were standoffish. Good signage and easy navigation.
Cons: Whoever designed this course clearly didn't know what they were doing. Some of the lines are non-existant (hole 6?), and a few baskets are buried in trees. I don't mind guarded baskets, but a few of these were ridiculous. And they try to make up for it by setting a course par that's insanely easy? I'm looking at you 8, 18, and 22. I did enjoy the challenge of throwing through the woods, but unless you play it as pro par you're going to have a crazy low score.
Other Thoughts: The par needs to be lowered considerably (I threw poorly and still beat my best score of all time by ten strokes), and a few of the baskets need to be moved. Although it's worth a visit if you're passing through the area, I'm not sure if it's worth paying $4 to play. I played in the spring when it was clear, but I hear that the rough is insane in the summer and I could definitely see myself losing a few discs in there. Also, don't follow the lines given on the signs. Walk out and find the basket first. 18 is a prime example. It shouldn't be a par 4 regardless, but if you take the line they show you you're going to lose at least one stroke.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice little course

1    1/5/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: ox bow is a nice course ,that plays though a large park.
Most holes our short technical holes ,though thick wooded areas .
park is well kept and clean .
The baskets were in good shape and the tees were also good,and the navigation was fairly easy .
water comes into play on a few holes and saves this course from being a boring wooded course .
I can't remember what hole it was but it plays though thin trees that heavily guarded the basket ,I really liked that hole .
Cons: course is really short and plays pretty easy .
some of the wooded holes are mostly the same and hard to tell one from the other .
Other Thoughts: Liked playing here and hope to play it again sometime

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice wooded course

1    10/10/2009   6/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a disc golf exclusive area in a larger park. It is flat and nicely wooded, with fairways cut through thick trees and underbrush. There is good punishment here on most holes for errant shots, missing the fairway will often cost you a stroke. There is a nice variety of lengths, with several fun ace runs if you hit your lines through the trees, and a couple long tough holes including one that plays along the river for over 400'. You'll need to shape different lines through the woods to be successful here, there's a good variety of hole shapes that force different shots.

There are concrete pads that were in pretty good shape. The signage is adequate, and the next tee signs help make navigation here pretty easy. The elevated deck for one tee adds a little bit of extra fun and variety, it's a nice touch.
Cons: Despite being in the woods, this course isn't all that challenging. Too many of the holes are shorter and don't offer enough risk that they'll cause too many bogeys. Because so many holes are similar lengths, the course feels a bit repetitive in spots.

The concrete tees are small, not a big deal on the shorter holes, but they don't offer very much room on the longer holes. The course felt a bit unkempt in general, with some areas of brush encroaching on the fairways. Several holes held standing water and there were lots of swampy spots on the course even though it hadn't rained recently.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course at all, and adds a nice shorter wooded option for the area. It's not worth driving way out of your way for, but if you're in the area it's worth playing a round. Beginners will find the distances approachable, and will get to try out different shot shapes, though the rough can be a little much for a new player. More experienced players will find some challenges, but not enough difficulty or variety to keep them coming back too often.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The New Ox Bow

5+    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Greck
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is looking better than it has in many years! The local club is alive and active starting in 2010. The park recently approved new sign markers and two new tee signs for hole 22 & 23. The course does flow now if you park inside the park. If you are using the free or secondary lot it could seem a bit confusing. The local club has been working to clear the over growth as well as the fairways are being mowed wider and it really shows.
Cons: This course is a staple in the area and the change or improvement is happening but it is going to be a work in progress.
Other Thoughts: I used to play this course when I lived in Ft. Wayne we traveled to Ox Bow and it was always fun. I am pleased to say it is back and alive. And I would disagree with the other comments that Ox Bow is not one to travel to. It is a course that requires skill and thought in your throwing decisions. If you are wanting to through bombs then this is not the course for you! But if you want to develop your driving accuracy and ability to throw a straight shot, them this is the place to be. Please do your part to support this wonderful sport and Pay the very reasonable fee of only $1.00. It keeps the parks staff feeling that all players are not a bunch of cheep individuals, and they are more likely to feel better about keeping the course looking nice for all to enjoy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ox Bow Flying Disc Sanctuary

2-4    4/28/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 192  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This 24 hole, mostly-wooded course challenges accuracy, power, and decision-making on the longer holes, while providing several reasonable ace runs on the shorter ones.
-Fun risk/reward opportunities. Many holes have several possible lines, each of varying risk.
-Water in play alongside a couple of fairways.
-Mostly flat but with great use of available elevation, including an elevated deck-style tee pad on #17.
-Mostly concrete tees, one wooden, and one irregular-shaped concrete tee. Accurate hole representations on tee-signs. Decent "next hole" signage. Trashcans and benches located throughout course.
-Located in an absolutely gorgeous park with tons of activities. All the typical park amenities and facilities are provided, as well as an archery range and self-guiding nature trail.
Cons: -Several holes often experience significant flooding. Even when playable, some of the course is muddy.
-During summer, the mosquitoes are unbearable. Bring repellent.
-Mowed sporadically, with occasional ticks in underbrush and taller grasses.
-Scattered thorn-bushes and -trees.
Other Thoughts: -This is a course you'll want to come back to, provided the water, mud, and insects don't render it impossible to enjoy. Rangers and some locals can provide the stories behind the individual hole names, which are worth inquiring about.
-Forces lots of decisions on whether to play the safe shot or go for the narrow openings between trees. Great pin placements and a good balance of hole types, although lacking in wide-open "bomb 'em" style holes.
-The flow is a little tricky, but nothing a quick peep at the detailed map (adjacent to #1 tee) won't remedy.
-The rough is thick in areas, but not unmanageable.
-$1 pay-to-play due either at gate or drop-box by 1st tee. $2 for parking; free lot outside of park...go past park entrance to small gravel lot on right.
-Baskets of various makes, although all in good condition.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to Medium Difficulty---Efficient 24 hole course

1    12/13/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -
-24 holes
-Good baskets
-fair tee pads
-#17 unique tee pad
-pretty landscape
-course is taken care of
-not busy in winter
-excellent area with more then disc golf
-hole 12 is probably the sig hole, and the hardest on the course, and for an added bonus it is considered a water hole!
-good signs
-good markers
Cons: -
- somewhat similar holes
- nothing extraordinary (other then the teepad on 17)
-updated signs and markers would make it better
-not many benches or places to sit
-not much in terms of variety
-little elevation changes
Other Thoughts: -
-fun course that has 24 holes---which in my opinion is a bonus!
-would be hard to get lost or confused due to excellent signage
-seems like a nice park to take the family with many hiking trails and other activites to choose from
-I enjoyed playing this course. I did play it in the winter so luckily I did not have to put up with bugs, but the location of the course is condusive to many bugs in the season!
-I'd play this course again on the winter months when Kalamazoo is snowed in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 recent play

5+    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: i think others have layed out great reviews, so i'm just adding the fact that a couple of us are tryin hard to clean this course up, handful of trees (mostly off sides of fairways) alot of brush,thorns, burrs and stuff are being cleaned out. we've started putting in more benches, tee signs, info sign ect. overall this is still a tight course, mostly short still (working on longer tee locations) but overall its been made playable, and continuing to get better, by spring this place will be worth the drive from out of towners
we are workin hard, but only a few of us are actually doing work so its slow
if its been months since you've played i hope you check out to see the improved upkeep, rangers are tryin to work things into next years budget so we'll see how far we can take it
Cons: i wish it had a couple open bomb holes
wish they'd let us use chainsaws to clear certain holes,
its a work in progress, was a great technical course, just needed (still needs more) TLC
Other Thoughts: dont have to pay to park, free parking in 2nd lot (1/4 mile west of entrance)
its only a 1, its an honesty box in which we wish more were honest with... but the park doesn't mind so much, but i'd like to see more folks pay the dollar

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.