Disc Golf Store
Chapel Hill, TN 
Henry Horton State Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #14 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Course to yourself!

2-4    5/5/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: Speedballer4life
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Course is very VERY quiet. I don't think I've ever seen more than MAYBE a dozen players on this course at once. This is not what I would call a challenging course by any means. Most holes are in the 300 ft with trees lining every fairway but one. Course winds back and forth through a rather large wooded area, however only a few of the holds could really be considered "tight." Has a couple of 400 ft holes down the middle and only 1 hole under 200 ft. Great place to learn to control your drivers/long mids. While many consider the old school domed baskets a con I really see them as a bonus, both for their old school feeling and for the fact that if you can put on these things new baskets will seem like cake!
Cons: Would like to see "next tee" signs put up on the course, as of now you have to pay VERY close attention to the tee signs before you tee off. This leads to a bit of confusion finding the next hole on a couple occasions. Would like to see the course expanded/redesigned a bit to take better advantage of the open space nearby.
Other Thoughts: Very quiet course which allows for a lot of practice shots and personal development. Also a FANTASTIC place to take new/learning players.

Where's the next tee?

1    1/18/2014   2/11/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight hole placement while offering some good distance. Ample tee space and descent signs for the holes. Well wooded to enhance the challenge a bit.
Near camping, cabins, an Inn, fishing, canoe float, hiking. Makes a great family and friends time.
Cons: Poor markings to lead you to the next hole lends to confusion on next tee location. The confusion created from lack of being able to determine the next tee at one point had a pair of players searching tee to tee for the next shot.
Other Thoughts: Rates for a return to play again sometime but not high enough to be a favorite course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/20/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: Jmorri67
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Overview- This course is fun, but definitely not that much of a challenge for any serious player. Worth a play if you live in the area or are passing through, but not one that you'd want to go out of your way for.

The tee pads are pretty small, but thankfully just about all of them are flush with the ground so a run up (if needed) is possible.

Few trashcans in the park itself, but the course is very well taken care of by the park crew, and I've never seen trash on the ground.

Tee signs are great at this park, which is a definite plus, and in addition every 3 or so holes there are nice wooden benches.

As to the Golfing itself, there's really not much to say. There are a few reasonably challenging holes that require good line shaping (hole 14 immediately comes to mind; par 4, 380 feet, with two large trees forming a gap about 10ish feet wide about 20 feet infront of the Tee), but for the most part the course is fairly short and to the point.

Left Handed or predominantly forehand right hand players will find themselves in a bind on this course, since most of the holes are obviously designed with a right hand strength in mind.

The course is on a fairly small piece of land, so while a lot of the holes are decently long, they seem to crowd each other a bit. Also, the land is extremely flat, so none of the holes have significant changes in elevation.

My biggest issue with this course is the baskets; Many of them are old and small, and a few of them are pretty beat up. It's still definitely possible to make your putts, but you might find yourself with a lot of chain outs. It can get very frustrating at times.

The thing I like most about this course is the views; It's in a fairly low population area, so it doesn't get played much, and it's absolutely beautiful.

One last PSA: WATCH OUT FOR POISON IVY. It's no worse here than on most courses, but I figured I'd mention it.

Overall: This is a pretty fun course if you're a newish player, but won't offer much challenge to a lot of players (I'd say most players will shoot 5 or so shots better on this course than your "average" course).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perpetual Ace Run

5+    8/21/2012   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This little gem can be played in a blink of an eye. Majestic hard woods tower over the completely level course, & it's surprisingly well kept. Pick a line, any line, folks! I shot my 1st under par round here. You'll enjoy ace run, after ace run, even though many holes require drivers. If you have a challenging home course, this one you'll welcome for self-esteem building & reprieve. It's sweet parking it w/o much effort once in awhile so why not every hole once in awhile too?
Cons: You can see almost every basket from #1, and some of the holes aren't clearly designated--make sure you're aiming at the right basket. The holes are packed like sardines so crossover is inevitable. Although fun, I wouldn't want to play this course weekly. A tourney here would be a nightmare.
Other Thoughts: Plan on playing 2-4 rounds bc you won't be satiated otherwise. Be VERY CAREFUL with any extracurricular activity bc not much privacy exists. A park ranger patrols periodically.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasure Cruise

1    4/10/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a beautiful place to be on a perfect spring day. Mostly flat and wooded ..yet grassy below the large trees. The fairways are mowed in...leaving just tall grass as the rough...I enjoyed not encountering thorns and spiderwebs if I missed my line. This course is not very difficult...I think of it as more of a pleasure cruise. That being said...it does require you to accurately throw 250-300ft shots of varying shapes. If you can do that...you can birdie most of these holes easily. There are a couple that stretch into the 350-400+ range...and of course they are marked as par 4 or 5 (I still played them as 3's though)
Cons: Lots of ancient baskets with a funny retro dome top. Kind of vintagey cool at first until you putt at them. Had to slow my speed to make them stick....you can tell they were meant to catch frisbees. Lack of variety of holes..starts to feel like you are throwing the same holes over and over again.
Other Thoughts: If they redesigned it or added another nine to provide more variety with open, longer holes...this would be a complete course. But then again..I like it for what it is. It's a classic beauty...sure it's a little dated and past it's prime...but it's simply a beautiful, calm setting to enjoy a round of disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/13/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice green grass very neat and clean long easy to get to baskets I mainly made a bunch of huge mid range shots from technical places and did well I'll wait to go back it'sa real cool course
Cons: Old baskets but still work good got to pay attention to the outdated signs tho you will get turned around and get off track.some fairways cross paths so watchout for some players on other holes, or you will get hit Yu

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT practice course!

1    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Scott P
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice small area under large pines. Hole one is a great place to practice long straight drives. There's plenty of benches here. My kids could watch me play the entire course from any bench in the park!(see cons)

This is also located in a state park so there is plenty here for a family to enjoy especially in summer months. There's cabins, camping, playgrounds, swimming pool, tennis, basket ball, walking trails, etc.

With concrete tee pads and signs on every hole, I would strongly recommend introducing a beginner to the sport at this park. The ease of walking distance for a full 18 hole course just makes this one really enjoyable! And using the old outdated hole signage makes for a real boost to your confidence!
Cons: The hole signage needs updating. You cannot read the distance to the basket on many of the signs and the pars on a few seem outdated. Hole 5 which is undoubtedly the longest hole on the course was a par 5 if I read the sign right. Unfortunately I couldn't read the distance! I'm pretty sure it would still play as a par 3 by current standards. And pretty much anything over 400 ft was considered a par 4?! But that's another good reason to take newbies to this course! Using the old outdated signage is a real confidence booster!!

I played this course on a very nice sunny day with temps nearing 70 and no one was out but me and my kiddos. Granted it was a monday though around lunch time. If the course was even slightly busy with players I would really watch out especially if kids tag along cause the holes really are close to one another as others have said. A person could easily be bopped in the head with a disc if this course was ever busy.
Other Thoughts: Oh, and the old worn out baskets as a con?...well they held my discs just fine! :-)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A forgotten course!

5+    1/21/2010   1/21/2010
Review By: jacob2918
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course thats long ben forgotten by most, its in a state park and the fairways are ALWAYS perfectly cut and they leave the ruff abit longer so its easy to know the boundarys. theres benches every 2 holes and they added at least a dozen trash bins. this course doesnt favor right or left turns more then the other. theres many differnt ways to take and different shots to be thrown.bathrooms are close by and the locals are all very nice and most times will stop to shoot the breeze and often ask you to play if you come alone.hardly neone but locals out there so theres plenty of room to play unrushed
Cons: main con---on rainy days or previously rainy days you can forget holes 10,15,and 16 cuz its not happening!
Other Thoughts: the first course i learned on, i love other harder courses but its a very nice well kept and mostly overlooked course. more people should come out and play here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 semi good course

5+    5/12/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging for beggining player and even for some more experienced players. not many people are there at one time. the fairway grass is always cut. resembles a standard ball and club course. good for large groups because it is such a small area... not much walking.
Cons: the grass in the rough sends you on a disc hunt evertime you get an off kilter throw. the courses criss-cross way way too much. if it even slightly rains some of the holes on the back nine get flooded. no waste baskets. signs are mostly unreadable.
Other Thoughts: a nice little course. it was where i first played and it got me hooked. if you live nearby have a look at this one. if you live far away dont waste your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/12/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: ChangeJD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginning players. You have to use a variety of throws to accurately get through the course. Fairways are always well-defined and cut frequently. The trees seem to be nicely planted throughout the holes, creating a nice challenge to the player. The holes run smoothly together and connect right back to the beginning. The course mainly has its own area except for a road around holes 10 and 11.
Cons: Almost all of the holes are in the woods. There is only one open hole on the course. The course isn't much of a challenge for pros. Baskets have been there for some time and are worn out and bent. It is hard to see many of the signs, as they are worn out. One hole doesn't have a sign at all. I didn't see any trash bins, which is strange for a state park. Some of the rough is high enough to spend a couple of minutes disc searching. My biggest complaint with this course would have to be how close all of the holes are to each other. On some occasions, we didn't know what basket to aim for, and on others, someone would throw and it would end up on the fairway a hole or two down.
Other Thoughts: If you live nearby, it is worth coming to this course to get a few rounds in. If you live more than half an hour away, it wouldn't be worth your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center