Palm Desert, CA 
Palm Desert DGC Share
Uploaded By: JonnyHyzer Hole #3 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 394ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    4/22/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: garrettfreberg
Played: 57  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.6 Years
Pros: Well marked.
Easy to find your way around.
Clean park.
Baskets were in great condition.
Very well manicured
Cons: Same basic holes over and over.
Lots of hazards with soccer goals, public use , rights of way, very slippery concrete pads and children using it as a cut through from school to home. Strangely it was not wet, but still slippery. Just a lot to deal with if anyone else is in the park using it. Private land on the perimeter which comes into play often as a right handed back hand thrower.

Really?

1    11/28/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: vondog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs. Some longish holes and a couple protected baskets. Wide open fairways for the most part to let people really grip it and rip it. The baskets are in good working order and play fair.
Cons: Most of the pad areas are slippery even when dry. Every hole presents a potential conflict with other park users. graffiti is making its way onto the baskets. Plenty of people to help you retrieve your disc when you park a good shot and they think you might want it back. RHBH hyzer shot will get you by on 7 of the 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This is not really the park for disc golf. When we played we had a park user conflict at every basket. Although their are 10 or so fields the soccer users played all of the perimeter goals right next to the baskets while the middle remained empty. This is an instance where everyone gets equal use of the park, dg'ers just need to make sure their equal usage occurs when nobody else is around.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Palm Desert can Do Better

1    4/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Clean
-Good Distance
-Nice Baskets
-Labeled Tees
Cons: -You share space with park goers
-Not a creative layout
-Similar Holes throughout
Other Thoughts: For a community with so many resources, I was disappointed in this course.

Because of the proximity to park-goers, there's confusion and someone may try to "help" by picking up your disc and tossing it back at you. "Thanks!" ...a bit inconvenient.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terrible idea

1    4/3/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays around the edges of a well groomed soccer park. The park was free of any trash or vandalism, and the grass was mowed short and in nice shape. The holes used the available trees to make some reasonably technical lines in a mostly open park. The signage was good, and made the course easy to follow. The tees are all on sidewalk, so the surface is fine to throw from.
Cons: The course is very repetitive. A RHBH hyzer suffices for every hole, and almost all are in the 320-380' range. I threw the same hyzer shot every hole, it just doesn't offer any interesting challenges. On top of that, the safety issues here are quite bad. Every shot plays over or along at least one soccer field. Most also play over or through pavilions, horseshoe pits and sidewalks. Three of the holes bring parking lots into play. There just isn't enough room in this park for a safe design, conflicts are unavoidable and the course is unplayable with soccer fields in use.
Other Thoughts: This course is too long for beginners, most of the holes are in the range that many players won't be able to get close enough for a 2 but there aren't enough obstacles that most players can't get an easy 3. More experienced players won't find any variety. The conflicts and safety issues here make a merely poor course into one I would not recommend stopping at.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with a couple drawbacks

2-4    4/21/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: ralbrecht
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting layout.
Good signs to tell you where you're going.
Nice park setting
A couple of challenging tees and basket placements
Cons: Some holes are unplayable when soccer is going on.
Sometimes you have to wait for people to clear so you can throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. My advice is to go early to beat the soccer players to the park. When soccer is going on you can't play some of the holes but I was creative and played a few holes backwards. Weekdays at sunrise are the best time to go since you'll probably be the only one there and it's much cooler. Most of the walkers I met were polite, no bad vibes. I'll be playing here a lot since my family and my wife's family both have houses in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for a park

2-4    3/2/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: Jmart007
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good channeling course for being setup at the parameter of a park. Good use of obstacles and mandos keep you in check if you think your too good for the cousrse because of it's size
Cons: Play is right next to sidewalks and people if it's a busy day
Other Thoughts: Good course overall and I will be playing it again when I'm in the area again

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Under rated

2-4    2/20/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: Leroy
Played: 128  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course circles a large group of soccer fields, which made me think based on other reviews that it was going to be minimal and lame. BUT who ever designed this course did an excellent job. Trees and mandos are used on every hole to make things a challenge. Really nice signs at each tee area. Tee boxes are the sidewalk that circles the area which isn't ideal but still it is pavement to tee from.
Cons: Shared space with other park users.
Other Thoughts: I really thought this course was challenging. I did have to skip a couple of holes my second time around due to soccer games being played pretty close, but if you go during an off time it shouldn't really be a problem. Hole 7 has a really nice fairway feel in between the trees and the cinder block wall. If you're not too wild of a thrower you should enjoy this course and the different shots required to zig zag the perimeter trees. I would be glad to play this many times if I lived in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Below Average Course w/The Best Signs Ever!

1    4/1/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 613  Exp: 36.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays clockwise around the perimenter of a park used primarily for soccer. If you are a RHBH thrower, the course is quite a bit easier for you. If you are left handed or throw forehand, watch out. It's a very clean park in a high end city. Great SoCal dessert temperatures. Has lights allowing for night play when the temperature drops. Water fountains around the course. And finally, the best, prettiest, most indestructible signs ever. All the disc golf courses in the world that are in remote or ghetto neighborhoods need signs like these.
Cons: Although this course is needed in this area, this just isn't a great park to try and squeeze it into. Soccer is what this park is designed and mainly used for. I fortunately played in the AM and didn't have to contend with the soccer hordes. As with a couple other courses I've played that play around the perimenter of a park like this, all the holes were basically the same, very repetitive. And holes 5,6, and 7 play along a tall fence with apartments on the other side. If you hyser your throw here, you risk have to scale this fence, if you throw right, you're disrupting the soccer game or practice.
Other Thoughts: The designers of this course did about all they could here considering the obstacles and obvious problems they had to work around. I applaud them for their time and effort. I hope the disc golfers and the soccer community can co-exist here in some sort of peaceful, harmonious relationship. Maybe burn some candles or incense together!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 only one in palm springs

5+    2/4/2010   2/16/2010
Review By: jpelham
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: clean, good sigins, very challenging for a RHF. It has lights so you can play at night, helps alont for the good ol Southern Cail summer temps. Nice uesage of the trees, most holes are behind or very near trees There are water fountians around the park,.. Just in case you forget your water....like me. Nice veiw of the mountinas, real peacfull for being in the middle of the city.
Cons: This is the only one in the area, and is not THAT great of a course, for being compared to nearly 100 ball golf courses in the area. With that this is only a 9 hole
Other Thoughts: best time to paly is week days before 4:00pm, it is a ball feild for kids, bathrooms and water around the course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

5+    12/6/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: JonnyHyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course to play when soccer is not in session. Good use of trees and other obsticals to make options for a variety of shot types. Can be played clockwise or counter clockwise from various tee locations. Wide open areas with a big retention basin for practicing those big bomb shots. Having a place to play at night under the lights is always good!
Cons: Best time to visit the couse is during the weekdays before 4:00 pm. Otherwise you will be contending with soccer players.
Other Thoughts: The club has the field exclusively on Sunday evenings from 6:00 pm to 10 pm. Contact the local club if you are coming down to see if they are holding any tournaments or club days at other local ball golf course or parks in the area: www.pddgc.com

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.