Palm Desert, CA 
Palm Desert DGC Share
Uploaded By: JonnyHyzer Hole #9 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 232ft.   3 / 328ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Unimpressive

2-4    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: LHSharpie5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice green park
- Good signage on all holes
- Men's and women's tee boxes
- Free with ample parking
Cons: This course is set up around the outside of a public park that appears to be used primarily for soccer. The first time I went there were people on the soccer field and basketball courts, which made about half of the holes unplayable. I found the holes fairly repetitive, with the only difference being the degree of hyzer needed. Holes 5, 6, and 7 play directly next to about a 9 foot tall brick wall and a bad shot will put your disc over the wall and into the apartment complex on the west side of the park.
Other Thoughts: Being primarily a RHFH thrower I found this course particularly challenging since most of the drives call for a RHBH throw. Soccer goals that are moved around provide additional obstacles. With all of the great ball golf in the desert, I would hope that in the future they will add a nice disc golf course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 bummmed

1    5/23/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice grass..ob and mandatory. free. clean park. nice neighborhood. night play(but not on may 24th i was bummed)
Cons: could get busy, hot hot weather in summer.
Other Thoughts: seemed to be a good place to learn and play early in the morning or late at night when there is less people there. if your in the area check it out.. holes 6 and 7 are fun

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of limited facilities

1    1/22/2007   1/23/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean and well-kept facility. Great signage and tee markers. From what it looks like the local club is very dedicated.
Creative use of the elevation changes caused by the different levels of the soccer fields.
Seems to be the only course in the area.
The wind kicked up on the day I played and added a nice challenge to the course.
Cons: Although I played on a day where the park was almost empty it is easy to see how difficult it would be to play there when it is crowded.
The course runs in a clockwise direction around the perimeter of the soccer fields. This means almost every hole is right-to-left.
Other Thoughts: The local club's website says they hold weekly events at night thanks to the existing soccer lights. I would kill for a lighted facility.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Busy

5+    12/25/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Women and men tee boxes (orange and black, respectively)
Signage is great
The park is clean and green
Plenty of amenities like for a picnic
Cons: The course is designed around several soccer fields, and if any are in use, it will affect your round. If you have a good arm then it's possible to fly it over, but regardless hove good you are, you will play through the middle of the field on 8
You also have to contend with families using the park for other means. On hole 2 you play right through a busy bbq pit that always seems to be in use.
For right hand throwers: beware hole 7. If not thrown correctly you will have to jump a cinder block wall which will often leave you with bruised forearms.
Other Thoughts: The course gets a 1.5 solely because its the only course in the desert. I have heard that another course is in the works but nothing has been constructed. Like I said, the course is often extremely busy and makes it difficult to play. I find it easier to play early in the morning or during the summer when you can cook an egg on the sidewalk. If you do play in the summer remember to take water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shoe-horned into a park

6/3/2008   6/3/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice signage
Nice tees
Nice baskets
Well kept grounds
Cons: Built around the perimeter of a very busy looking park
Some fairways go right down main sidewalks
Somewhat redundant
Other Thoughts: Right now the main parking lot is chained off and it says closed du to rennovation on the soccer fields.
I drove around the side and found a place to park and enter the park.
Fortunately, I was the only one there--but if there were soccer games going on or people using the park I would not have risked it...too close to activities and people,,,just asking for trouble.
That being said, since no one was here, I had fun practicing various pinpoint techniques...holes are short and the course is full of birdies...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Had fun at 7am

1/10/2008   1/13/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. Perfect concrete tee areas. Perfect ground conditions thanks to constant irrigation. Plenty of parking and nice playground/picnic/bathroom facilities. Many hidden baskets, so it will take a big drive to set you up for a bird. Managable length for newbies.
Cons: Built into a playground / jogging / soccer area, so I imagine you can only play here in the wee hours. Anyone at all using the facilities will be in the way of the shots. Every shot seems to be built for hyzer. It was actually very wet in the morning thanks to irrigation.
Other Thoughts: There's lots of desert out here. Can't someone build something closer to downtown Palm Springs?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.