Owensboro, KY 
Panther Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Not as bad as it's rated

1    12/25/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 276  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course with open fields and some wooded holes. Easily navigable and beginner friendly. Besides the cross-country course, this section of park is dedicated to disc golf. Lots of nature and some great signage for tree species and wildlife if you're a nerd like me. A couple of serious butthole puckering short wooded holes with that ditch and steep hill to the right. Hole 11? is a tree protected ace run with a hill for a backstop behind the basket. Just rip it as hard as you can. If you don't hit an ace, it'll smack the hill and be laying there for a drop in deuce!
Cons: There's 2 tees that are natural tee pads. A couple of crazy lines in the woods on the ridge. Definitely not as bad as previous reviews state.
Other Thoughts: I've been avoiding this course for years due to the bad reviews. Almost skipped it on my trip home for Christmas. Glad I finally played it. There was no chance of getting lost from hole to hole. Very easy to navigate. Not much of a chance to lose a disc either. Fun course and there was also a married couple playing the course. So, maybe this course will not be so hidden anymore!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Hidden Gem

5+    6/8/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: maxhz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Panther Creek has a good variety of holes from long and open, to short and technical. There's a good enough variety to play well for all players. This makes it a great equalizer. I have witnessed from first-hand experience in my disc golf group that scores are much closer to par here than they are at nearby Yellow Creek. Players who can shoot -10 on average there, shoot around -4 or so at Panther. It is not a simple course.

A lot of holes at first glance may seem very easy, for example hole 1. It is not very long and wide open. What makes it a tough hole that I struggle to get par on is the OB. Panther Creek has a good amount of OB that makes even the wide open holes very technical.

There is lot of wind at Panther as well. A round there with average winds of 15 mph is a lucky break for you. Most of the times I have played at this course, there are sustained winds of 20-30 mph. This makes these open holes even more challenging. This really comes into play on a lot of the front 9 holes and hole 18.

Hole 13 is an incredibly short hole that you can dare to ace run, but can punish you if you go long as there is a steep drop past the basket. When the creek is up, your disc could easily fall into it. The same comes into play on your up-shot/putt on hole 15. This makes things a bit more fun.

I also love some of the little hikes in between holes.
Cons: There are a few holes that you must throw down the trail of the walking path. You should be able to see somebody walking, but I worry about a runner or little kid showing up out of nowhere and getting hit.

There are some holes without a tee pad, but there is a consensus in the local group where the pads are. For out-of-towners, though, there could be some confusion.

Some signs pointing to where to go next on some holes might be needed in the future. You're not as required now to follow someone who plays the course often to know where you are supposed to go, but there could be some confusion there as well.

I have not played the course in the fall yet, but apparently the field next to park grows tall. I can imagine that's frustrating to lose a disc in.
Other Thoughts: Panther Creek really is a hidden gem. It's in the middle of nowhere pretty much, and you have to go into the 2nd, lesser-known, entrance of the park to find the course!

There is usually not many, if any, players at the park. So if you show up to play, you pretty much have the course to yourself.

When I started out playing was the tail-end of the crappy Panther Creek. Over the past year or two, the Daviess County guys have really worked hard to get tee pads, new baskets, paint the baskets, trim up some, and really just make it a legit disc golf course. Most recently they've made an improvement to draining the water so the course doesn't get as wet after a big rain.

If you are in the area for whatever reason, it is worth the drive out to Panther Creek. And give a good review if you enjoyed it because the current rating deserves to be a lot higher after all the improvements.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Panther in Progress

5+    3/10/2014   3/13/2014
Review By: KyLefty
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Panther Creek has come a long way in just the past year. I'm a local so when I started playing I always went to Yellow Creek. (Excellent local course) and began to wonder what else was out there locally for a change in scenery. I was informed of Panther Creek, but warned of its rough condition. it was truely rough! Recently however many improvements have been made. Tee pads were added to 12 and 14. Signs for all holes have been added or improved. Also baskets have been painted and numbered. The course design offfers many oppertunities to get birdies along with a lot of variation in distance with OB always lurking nearby. After many hours and rounds played I can honestly say I prefer what this course offers over Yellow creek.
Cons: Wooded areas could use some clean up. Saplings and fallen branches are an unneeded annoyance. Trash cans are few and far between. Navigation can be confusing the first time around but after you play once its fairly simple.
Other Thoughts: Still needs a lot of work but a great course in the making.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    11/13/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: bballr4567
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: -Pretty decent for beginners
-Good variety
-Some really fun holes.
Cons: -Even with better signage I still couldn't find 3, 13 or 14's tee pads.
-Tee pads are very inconsistent. Dirt, long and short concrete, some are way too narrow (4) and raised lumber platforms that are also really short.
-County parks could do a little maintenance to make it easier to navigate.
-Stairs would be a very welcome addition on the holes that play along the spoil.
-Some holes play literally on top of a walking path. Could be really dangerous on busy days.
Other Thoughts: I'll probably only play this one again if I'm in a tournament unless some improvements are made. It certainly has a ton of potential and if the local DG club continues to work on it it'll be a fun course.


1    9/7/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: natmance
Played: 70  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The folks in Owensboro are doing a good job getting this course in shape! Keep up the good work! The new signs help tremendously and the addition of the concrete tee pads is a big plus. Way better than it was when I played over a year ago!
Cons: The wooded holes and the holes that play into the woods could use some trimmimg.
Other Thoughts: As soon as this course has 18 full-sized tee pads, it will be great for players of all levels. Regardless of the complaints that people have about this course, it is still pretty fun to play!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 wasted potential

2-4    10/16/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: sean24seven
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -parking
-beautiful area
-seclusion, dedicated to disc golf
-great fishing nearby
Cons: -no signage
-impossible to navigate without being shown
-no numbers on baskets
-teepads, or lack thereof
Other Thoughts: it's just so much wasted potential. at the very least, someone could number the baskets. It's part of a fantastic county park, but seems to have been left out of the maintenance schedule.

Panther Creek would be a very scenic place to play if given just a little TLC.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Its just okay

1    10/15/2011   8/15/2012
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some fun throws here and there.
Great open bombs with some cool tree navigation.
Cons: Terrible pads if there is one. Weird tee locations. Flat areas hold water.
Other Thoughts: Fun when its dry but I'd never play it if left to my own decisions.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Close to being a GOOD course.

2-4    1/29/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A fair balance of open and wooded holes.
-OB comes into play adding challenge.
-Several basket positions offer risk/reward, including a couple ace runs that could drop you into the drink.
-Apart form cross country, this part of the park is dedicated to disc golf.
-Plenty of room for parking.
-There is a port-a-john.
Cons: -Limited signage, and the signs in place are mostly wrong. Navigation is next to impossible without a local.
-There are not tee pads on every hole.
-While there is a balance of shots, a few of them will start to feel repetitive. It seemed as if the wooded holes all followed this formula: 200' RHBH hyzer tunnel with the basket below the ridge. This hole would be followed by a throw from in the woods out into an open field. The next hole would then take you from the field back into the woods.
-The course is rough around the edges. It really needs to be cleaned up. I have no problems with rough roughs, but these border on dangerous. Lots of downed branches and logs that can cause footing issues, tripping hazards, etc. While walking up a hill to the next tee pad, I was warned not to grab the post at the top because there is an exposed screw sticking out of the top.
Other Thoughts: Here's the thing with Panther Creek. It has plenty of potential to be a good course. Based on the current design, it's not a great course. When signs are mounted and pads put in place, I cannot imagine giving it more than 3 stars.

It's a fun course that will allow you to bomb some shots while working your control in the woods, but it isn't near top notch.

On a side note, the Daviess County Disc Golf Club is working very hard to bring this course together.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Is this really a course?

1    7/20/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 36  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are baskets. There are some defined holes. There are SOME markers as to where holes begin. There is a nature trail on one side, a corn field on the other.
Cons: I could write a Dark Towers type epic about the cons of this course, but I will stick to a simple defamation. This is NOT a course, at least not one by my standards. Baskets were not numbered right, and most were just spray painted over. The gravel pads were no bigger than a couple tiles on a kitchen floor, and most had weeds and crap growing through them. We safaried hole one, then continued on to hole 2, but by the pictures on this course, it appears hole 2, even with the basket saying 2 on it was 1?! It zig-zagged in and out of woods and open fields, never really staying put with either shot and using both as defined holes. The place is garbage, thank goodness we played Yellow Creek too or the 45 minute drive would've been completely wasted. Stay away from this "course."
Other Thoughts: The highlight of the course was AFTER we left, we stopped at a local pizza joint called 54 Pizza Express in Owensboro. One of the best strombolis I've ever ate in my life. Check it out, fantastic. Play Yellow Creek, Hawesville or Hartford in this area, don't even bother with this haphazard of a course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Panther Creek Park

1    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Dixie Boy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There is nothing positive to say about this course except I was the only person there. Now I know why.
Cons: This was the most frustrating, poorly marked course I have ever played. It was not even possible to back-track from the second basket to find the beginning of the course. Don't waste your time going there

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.