Southington, CT
Panthorn Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Challenging Course with some minor location issues

5+    4/14/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: chikago12
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a beautiful park in Southington. Lots of activities after you're done golfing, if you just wanna hang out and grill or whatever.
-Pin locations are excellent. Usually tucked away behind some rocks or trees. Hole 17 in particular is awesome, the pin is behind this rock wall and makes for a very interesting hole. Hole 2 has the basket on top of a little hill which gives an elevated basket feel. You can tell course designers went out of their way to make sure pins were in cool places.
-Fairways are very clearly defined and wide open. Never really a question of where you're throwing.
-Challenging! Not an easy course at all. Very punishing when you make a mistake, but very rewarding when you hit your lines.
-Awesome elevated teepads. Very smart, considering that the land is very swampy.
-Tee signs, where they have them, are excellent, with distance, local route, and the more conservative route. Pars aren't on there, but that's less important (Just count everything as a 3! Strokes are all that matter anyways)
-Ample parking
-A lot of bombers. You don't usually get very long holes out here in CT in the woods, but there are some monster here, including 9, a 500 foot behemoth of a hole.
-Relatively easy to find your way from one hole to the next. A few places where this could be improved (10 to 11) but for the most part the signage is great.
Cons: -As was mentioned in pretty much every other review, this place is a swamp and gets very very wet and is difficult to play within a week of rain. However, it's not as bad as a lot of people make it out to be - there are walkways here and there. It is admittedly really bad in some places, and a few nice bridges could go a long way.
-Right alongside a highway. Not super relaxing.
-Nowhere to really warm up, no practice basket or practice field.
-A lot of holes are missing tee signs. This is made even more depressing because the tee signs they do have are really cool.
Other Thoughts: I really like Panthorn. It's a nice sister course to Page in Bristol, Page being more technical and Panthorn being a bombers course. I do think this course gets unfairly scrutinized because of its location, but the holes that are here are a lot of fun. I would much rather go to Page, but definitely try this place out as a change of pace if it hasn't rained in a week or two, and you're have a blast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A frustrating challenge

5+    12/26/2013   12/26/2013
Review By: jmadersky
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NEVER BUSY. I play here several times a month and rarely see more than 2-3 players on the course.
Layout: The course has a good variety of holes, though it is nearly 100% wooded. The fairways are well defined and range in difficulty. There are some score-saving short holes that nicely contrast a few frustrating card-busting holes, I am talking about you #14. The course is flat and plays relatively quickly. I find myself playing at least 36 here every round.
Cons: This course can eat discs, you need to keep your disc in play.
It is difficult to get around the first few times you play. Once you get it, the play is a great pleace to work on all aspects of yoor game.
I have not experienced "wet" play here, but I did play here all summer and never had a problem.
Highway noise on the first 6 holes
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to play. Thanks to many rounds here my scores have improved dramatically at the other area courses. This is a tight course that forces you to make good decisions and execute them well, otherwise your score suffer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 saturated beauty

5+    4/6/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: leviathanman
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nicely laid out course, wooded but even as far as elevation is concerned so you won't get fatigued from the up's and down's...
Cons: get's real wet all the time making the lack of elevation irrelevant. meaning you'll get real tired just from walking through the mud and dodging mud holes and such...
Other Thoughts: an otherwise beautiful course plagued with moistness. there is a "dry 9" consisting of holes 1,2,3,4 (skip thru the woods to) 9,10,11,12,13. but even the end of that gets a little mucky from time to time

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not much good to say

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: goober
Played: 75  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: you know the old saying "if you don't have anything good to say ...." searching for positives. Actually, the hole signs were nice.
Cons: Wednesday it rained a bit; we played it on Friday and it was viruatually unplayable due to the water/mud. I have played about 60 courses so far - not a great player but also not a beginnner. I'm trying to think of other courses which were as poor; I have played a number of courses which get water logged at times, but today was ridiculous. If you live in CT (where I grew up but no longer live); travel the 1/2 hour to Wickham Park
Other Thoughts: a shame because the park the course is located in is nice and expansive but they chose to locate the course in a heavily-wooded, super-saturated area.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 No sun to speak of

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: FrechetteDL
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well organized course with tees easy to find - well marked. Technically challenging. Heavily wooded. Great for hot days because it is entirely shaded and very flat.
Cons: Never a chance to just throw it as hard as you can because the woods will swallow you up. Some baskets are really hard to see. Someone put orange cones on them, but they faded over time.
Other Thoughts: Lots of wildlife. I saw a snake before I even teed off on # 1. Then I stopped looking. The ground is rough - a rock cut a hole through my sock and left me bleeding.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Get Ripped Wide Open

2-4    9/11/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses in all of Conneticut. Not only is the course itself amazing the amentities are great as well. There are two sets of tees on most of the holes. There are clean and easy to understand tee signs at every hole and next tee signs where needed. The course itself doesn't cater specifically to one kind of thrower but will punish you if you don't have multiple styles available. The rough is some of the thickest I have ever seen. This is good because it forces you to stay on the fairway. The fairways are clear of fallen debis and there are only a few small piles of scattered brush throughout the course. There is a good use of OB and clearly marked by colored rope. The teepads are made of rubber and level! Benches are available on most of the holes; even the ace races. There is ample parking and bathrooms and athletic fields across the way, Hole nine comes out right next to one. A welcome board and scorecards are on the way to the first tee. There are also wooden planks on the low boggy areas.
Cons: After a little rain the course could become soaked. Some of the recreational tees are in rough condition ( wood chips recently put down to help with this). Some of the rough is almost too thick to the point it is easy to lose a disc. A few of the holes are slightly overgrown. The possibility of a lost disc is a little higher here than most other non-water courses.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Nice wooded course

2-4    8/1/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, hand-painted signs on all holes (except 1, which was missing), with distances noted for Pro and Rec tees. Well marked Rec tees on all of the longer holes make a good option for novice players. Course is very challenging from the Pro tees, but fairways are well-defined and generous enough in most cases. Although in heavy woods, the rough to either side of the fairways is relatively sparse and easy enough to play out of when your disc is misbehaving and avoiding fairways.
Cons: Although dry this time (due to major drought conditions), the course is built on swampy ground and is very muddy a lot of the time. However, there are many wooden paths built between holes and up the middle of many fairways to keep you from continuously walking in the mud.
Next Tee signs are everywhere on many holes, but non-existent on many others. When the course was expanded from 9 holes to 18, there were 4 holes added between the original holes 4 and 5 (with the other 5 holes being added on to the end of the course). Finishing hole 4 is confusing, as there are now 2 clearly defined paths leading away from the hole and no signs indicating which way to go (to the right, btw). Also, baskets for holes 9 through 13 still are marked 5 through 9, respectively, which might be a little confusing.
The course itself is difficult to find if you haven't been there before. Drive to the back of the park until you are dumped into a parking area which seems like the end of the road. But at the back left corner of this lot is another road shooting up and around the corner into another lot that again, seems like the end of the road. But in the back left corner of this lot is a gravel road that leads into a large gravel parking area, where the course begins (where else) at the back left corner.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice course, just try to hit it during dry periods!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Terrible

1    6/26/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Axl69
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
Easy on/off
I like to play in the woods and this course certainly offers a few fun woodsy holes.




I'm still trying to think of more pros
Cons: At one point I was sure we'd have to tee over the interstate. It was way too close to the highway there was alot of road noise. With the other local options I'm not sure I'll comeback.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 WORST COURSE EVER!

1    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: leemurr6208
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: easy to get to, right off 84, somewhat good signage leading to the holes. The rubber tee pads were nice, a great way to find the next tee
Cons: The course is way to close to the highway, very distracting and not relaxing or enjoyable @ all. The high brush after hole number 3's tee you need a machete to find your disc in. It was full of thorns and bushes that stick you, OUCH! Each hole was the same thing over & over again, very flat & boring, no elevation changes at all.. There is no par listed on the tee signs, and some of the signs were missing, there were almost no "next tee" signs so good to have a map with you or be ready to get lost.. The baskets were very difficult to see, not visible from the tee @ all, and until you're on top of them, it's hard to see them.
Other Thoughts: I tried this course for the first time today, my gf and I will never come back, there is little to no good things about this course. The baskets need to upgraded to the ones with yellow markers @ the top so they are easier to spot & throw to. Every hole had a "chilling spot" at the tee, perhaps to sit & party? I was there for DG, not to party.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a Good Course

1    4/2/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right off I-84, Panthorn Park is very easy to find. The main park is massive and well manicured.

Once you make it to the DG course, the course signs are great. The signs are hand-painted (which shows some dedication) and show tee locations, OB, expected lines (and the locals route), and distance. Further, "Next Tee" signs and arrows are all over the place making it difficult to get lost going from the last basket to the next tee.

The heavily-wooded layout of the course forces a technical approach over a power approach. Most holes have two different tees with shorter, easier lines for rec players. The mix of left-to-right, right-to-left, and tunnel holes in combination with the variety of hole lengths keeps you on your toes and requires a refined skill set.

One signature hole is a < 200' potential ace run with a 12-foot round OB water feature (called the "Hot Tub") within 3 feet of the basket. The layout of the fairway and OB on this hole really pushes the risk vs. reward aspect of the game.

The vast majority of the baskets and tee pads were in great shape.
Cons: Park signage pointing to the DG course would helpful for anyone that hasn't played Panthorn.

Panthorn is easy to get to because it's right off of I-84, but the disc golf course is right next to the highway. The highway can be heard the entire time you're on the course. The danger to motorists is of concern as there are a few holes where it's entirely possible for an errant throw to drop a disc on the thruway.

Although the hole lengths and layouts change, there are nearly zero elevation changes. Panthorn Park itself has numerous hills, but these were not incorporated into the course design (might not have been able to use this land for DG though).

Having an almost entirely wooded course is great for fine-tuning controlled throws, but the lack of any real wide-open spaces to uncork a disc is a detracting factor to the course overall.

There were numerous fairways where the adjacent rough/brush could be trimmed back.

By far though, the biggest drawback to the course is the ground underfoot. The course appears to be built on a bog. Most holes were swamp-like, sloppy, and extremely/excessively muddy. Just when we really started to really have fun on the course, the muck could come into play and act as a big buzz kill. Luckily, it was cold enough that the insects hadn't come out, but I'm almost positive that mosquitoes are a major problem during the warmer months. To give the local DG community credit, over some of the most seriously messed up trails/fairways, there were objects that you could step on to cross the bog. Unfortunately those were few and far between and a large portion of these planks, logs, and pieces of fence were half buried in the mud.

On several of the holes throughout the course there was a fair amount of litter that took away from the natural wooded beauty of the course.
Other Thoughts: I really, really want to like this course. If the some of the underbrush could be cut back, it would be a big help. If something, anything, could be done to help mitigate the muddy mess throughout the rest of the course, I would be happy to rate this course a 4.

The next time I'm in the area, I'd like to play Panthorn Park again, however, it's going to have to be pretty dry month before of my round.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.