Disc Golf Store
Southington, CT
Panthorn Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 10/2008)
3 / 375ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice wooded course

2-4    8/1/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, hand-painted signs on all holes (except 1, which was missing), with distances noted for Pro and Rec tees. Well marked Rec tees on all of the longer holes make a good option for novice players. Course is very challenging from the Pro tees, but fairways are well-defined and generous enough in most cases. Although in heavy woods, the rough to either side of the fairways is relatively sparse and easy enough to play out of when your disc is misbehaving and avoiding fairways.
Cons: Although dry this time (due to major drought conditions), the course is built on swampy ground and is very muddy a lot of the time. However, there are many wooden paths built between holes and up the middle of many fairways to keep you from continuously walking in the mud.
Next Tee signs are everywhere on many holes, but non-existent on many others. When the course was expanded from 9 holes to 18, there were 4 holes added between the original holes 4 and 5 (with the other 5 holes being added on to the end of the course). Finishing hole 4 is confusing, as there are now 2 clearly defined paths leading away from the hole and no signs indicating which way to go (to the right, btw). Also, baskets for holes 9 through 13 still are marked 5 through 9, respectively, which might be a little confusing.
The course itself is difficult to find if you haven't been there before. Drive to the back of the park until you are dumped into a parking area which seems like the end of the road. But at the back left corner of this lot is another road shooting up and around the corner into another lot that again, seems like the end of the road. But in the back left corner of this lot is a gravel road that leads into a large gravel parking area, where the course begins (where else) at the back left corner.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice course, just try to hit it during dry periods!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a Good Course

1    4/2/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right off I-84, Panthorn Park is very easy to find. The main park is massive and well manicured.

Once you make it to the DG course, the course signs are great. The signs are hand-painted (which shows some dedication) and show tee locations, OB, expected lines (and the locals route), and distance. Further, "Next Tee" signs and arrows are all over the place making it difficult to get lost going from the last basket to the next tee.

The heavily-wooded layout of the course forces a technical approach over a power approach. Most holes have two different tees with shorter, easier lines for rec players. The mix of left-to-right, right-to-left, and tunnel holes in combination with the variety of hole lengths keeps you on your toes and requires a refined skill set.

One signature hole is a < 200' potential ace run with a 12-foot round OB water feature (called the "Hot Tub") within 3 feet of the basket. The layout of the fairway and OB on this hole really pushes the risk vs. reward aspect of the game.

The vast majority of the baskets and tee pads were in great shape.
Cons: Park signage pointing to the DG course would helpful for anyone that hasn't played Panthorn.

Panthorn is easy to get to because it's right off of I-84, but the disc golf course is right next to the highway. The highway can be heard the entire time you're on the course. The danger to motorists is of concern as there are a few holes where it's entirely possible for an errant throw to drop a disc on the thruway.

Although the hole lengths and layouts change, there are nearly zero elevation changes. Panthorn Park itself has numerous hills, but these were not incorporated into the course design (might not have been able to use this land for DG though).

Having an almost entirely wooded course is great for fine-tuning controlled throws, but the lack of any real wide-open spaces to uncork a disc is a detracting factor to the course overall.

There were numerous fairways where the adjacent rough/brush could be trimmed back.

By far though, the biggest drawback to the course is the ground underfoot. The course appears to be built on a bog. Most holes were swamp-like, sloppy, and extremely/excessively muddy. Just when we really started to really have fun on the course, the muck could come into play and act as a big buzz kill. Luckily, it was cold enough that the insects hadn't come out, but I'm almost positive that mosquitoes are a major problem during the warmer months. To give the local DG community credit, over some of the most seriously messed up trails/fairways, there were objects that you could step on to cross the bog. Unfortunately those were few and far between and a large portion of these planks, logs, and pieces of fence were half buried in the mud.

On several of the holes throughout the course there was a fair amount of litter that took away from the natural wooded beauty of the course.
Other Thoughts: I really, really want to like this course. If the some of the underbrush could be cut back, it would be a big help. If something, anything, could be done to help mitigate the muddy mess throughout the rest of the course, I would be happy to rate this course a 4.

The next time I'm in the area, I'd like to play Panthorn Park again, however, it's going to have to be pretty dry month before of my round.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 sweet course

1    8/3/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very cool wooded course. Interesting holes that require different kinds of shots. Enough trees to make it interesting but not so many that it's ridiculous. Good mix of longer and shorter holes. A few memorable holes. Some minor elevation changes on the back 9.
Cons: Very poorly marked. The course needs new signs as it seems that it was recently expanded from 9 to 18 holes. There are some signs pointing the direction of the next tee but not always. A couple possible places to get lost so bring a map. Recently rained the day I played and was very muddy. Many fairways were not easily passable. Rubber mats in some of the tee boxes are very poorly laid. Course needs some work.
Other Thoughts: This is a really cool course but it needs a bit of work. I would rate it at least a half star better if the signage and tee boxes were improved.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A Course with Great Bones

1    3/20/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: blayton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is set deep in the woods and challanges your game with lots of trees but fair openings. Many of the holes are long so makes sure you stay on the fairway on your drive so your second shot isn't in the thick brush. I lot of fun and tricky holes.
Cons: Course is hard to navigate, I was lucky to have a local find me in the woods wondering around and offered to play the rest of the round with me. I course is this way because they just converted it from 9 to 18. Very Muddy, make sure to wear your boots
Other Thoughts: You can tell the local club has done a lot of work on this course over the winter. Once a little more work is done and fly pads are put in on the new holes this course will be awesome. I am looking forward to getting back and playing it again in 6 months.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    12/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 66  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little course in the woods. Lots of trees to make things interesting but there was always an obvious route to throw through. Good variation of hole lengths and shot selections. Does not seem to favor left of right handed players. Good signs made it pretty easy to find the next hole and the course seemed to flow well. There were a couple sets of tees on the longer holes.Tee-pads were rubber mats and generally well kept.
There appeared to be more than 9 baskets but I didn't see any more signs upon quick examination and didn't have time to really look into it. Easily accessed of off interstate 84.
Cons: Some of the tees seemed to be rubber mats that were simply thrown on the ground, and although the provided some traction they were very bumpy. Water can seem to be a problem on this course, although there are no water hazards it had rained about two days before I played and the course was still extremely wet, to the point where one tee pad was nearly submerged and there were many puddles on the fairways. I played in the winter but I can imagine in the summer the foliage could be extremely thick and the presence of ticks and poison ivy is not unlikely, this also presents the opportunity for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: The course appears to be in the process of expanding from 9 to 18 holes, as I saw at least 3 extra baskets while playing, but I couldn't find any signs or tee pads for these holes.
This was a fun course that provided plenty of challenges, yet not to the point of being frustrating. In you're in the area I would recommend it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.