Southington, CT 
Panthorn Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 400ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
When It's Dry It's Great

5+    7/8/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: cmoney2634
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course is challenging which is nice. While the course is entirely in the woods, there are both wide and narrow fairways.
2) Many holes are attack-able right off the tee box, but also require a variety of shots/approaches
3) Reasonably flat for a CT course makes doing 18 holes after work quicker and easier to beat the sunset
4) Secluded from the rest of the park
Cons: 1) When it has been rainy this course gets extremely muddy. If it has been a day or two since the last rainfall during the summer time you will be fine. Give it a few extra days if it is spring or fall.
2) There are 5 holes that run close to the highway. The noise isn't great, but I have never actually been distracted by it. The other holes have a better woodsy feel
Other Thoughts: This course if fun with some challenging aspects to it and is a decent distance for a 100% woods course. It is also in the center of the state and easy to find, I strongly suggest it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

forgotten course

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: elcapitanmas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course layout is great, each hole is challenging in its own way, old growth forest with some awesome tall trees, plenty of parking
Cons: very few hole layout signs leaving you to guess or walk half of the holes to see where the basket is. not enough "next tee" signs to know where you're going next. basket numbers are incorrect leaving you to guess what hole you're on because there was no sign at the tee pad. course seems to have been forgotten about, overgrown on many holes. highway is directly next to many holes
Other Thoughts: this course was probably an AWESOME course in the past, all it really needs is an overhaul, new tee signs, new next tee signs and a minor amount of landwork

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Swampy Highway

1    4/8/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: SnowSerf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some longer holes, with tight, but visible fairways. Pretty new baskets.
Cons: There was standing water every where, and not just some puddles, but large expanses of submerged land. The only time I could see this course truly dry would be in the middle of a severe drought. Also, there are two tee boxes literally right next to the highway. One is about 20 feet from tractor trailers doing 70mph down 84 with no guard rail. It actually seemed pretty dangerous. If you pay attention you can see the tee box from the highway in your car. The highway noise is noticeable on almost every hole. Confusing navigation and lots of missing signage as well.
Other Thoughts: Whoever let this course be built where it was is crazy.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course with some minor location issues

5+    4/14/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: chikago12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a beautiful park in Southington. Lots of activities after you're done golfing, if you just wanna hang out and grill or whatever.
-Pin locations are excellent. Usually tucked away behind some rocks or trees. Hole 17 in particular is awesome, the pin is behind this rock wall and makes for a very interesting hole. Hole 2 has the basket on top of a little hill which gives an elevated basket feel. You can tell course designers went out of their way to make sure pins were in cool places.
-Fairways are very clearly defined and wide open. Never really a question of where you're throwing.
-Challenging! Not an easy course at all. Very punishing when you make a mistake, but very rewarding when you hit your lines.
-Awesome elevated teepads. Very smart, considering that the land is very swampy.
-Tee signs, where they have them, are excellent, with distance, local route, and the more conservative route. Pars aren't on there, but that's less important (Just count everything as a 3! Strokes are all that matter anyways)
-Ample parking
-A lot of bombers. You don't usually get very long holes out here in CT in the woods, but there are some monster here, including 9, a 500 foot behemoth of a hole.
-Relatively easy to find your way from one hole to the next. A few places where this could be improved (10 to 11) but for the most part the signage is great.
- Hot tub hole, #6, is an interesting short hole with OB in the form of, well, a hot tub, just short of the basket.
- Big Lacrosse fields right next to the course for warming up, although I don't think you're technically supposed to be on it.
Cons: -As was mentioned in pretty much every other review, this place is a swamp and gets very very wet and is difficult to play within a week of rain. However, it's not as bad as a lot of people make it out to be - there are walkways here and there. It is admittedly really bad in some places, and a few nice bridges could go a long way.
-Right alongside a highway. Not relaxing to play like some other courses around.
-A lot of holes are missing tee signs. This is made even more depressing because the tee signs they do have are really cool.
- Some holes are really frustrating. #16 might be my least favorite hole in disc golf because, unless I'm mistaken, there doesn't seem to be a realistic way of getting a 2, and you basically have to make 2 short upshots and just try to save a 3.
- A lot of very tight gaps. Some holes, especially #14, feel a lot like, 'Throw it and pray holes'. There is a definite line to hit, but it's so small you really have to be precise to get it through. I think to a certain extent this is good, but Panthorn goes a bit over the top here and there.
Other Thoughts: I really like Panthorn. It's a nice sister course to Page in Bristol, Page being more technical and Panthorn being a bombers course. I do think this course gets unfairly scrutinized because of its location, but the holes that are here are a lot of fun. I would much rather go to Page, but definitely try this place out as a change of pace if it hasn't rained in a week or two, and you'll have a blast.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A frustrating challenge

5+    12/26/2013   12/26/2013
Review By: jmadersky
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NEVER BUSY. I play here several times a month and rarely see more than 2-3 players on the course.
Layout: The course has a good variety of holes, though it is nearly 100% wooded. The fairways are well defined and range in difficulty. There are some score-saving short holes that nicely contrast a few frustrating card-busting holes, I am talking about you #14. The course is flat and plays relatively quickly. I find myself playing at least 36 here every round.
Cons: This course can eat discs, you need to keep your disc in play.
It is difficult to get around the first few times you play. Once you get it, the play is a great pleace to work on all aspects of yoor game.
I have not experienced "wet" play here, but I did play here all summer and never had a problem.
Highway noise on the first 6 holes
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to play. Thanks to many rounds here my scores have improved dramatically at the other area courses. This is a tight course that forces you to make good decisions and execute them well, otherwise your score suffer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 saturated beauty

5+    4/6/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: leviathanman
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nicely laid out course, wooded but even as far as elevation is concerned so you won't get fatigued from the up's and down's...
Cons: get's real wet all the time making the lack of elevation irrelevant. meaning you'll get real tired just from walking through the mud and dodging mud holes and such...
Other Thoughts: an otherwise beautiful course plagued with moistness. there is a "dry 9" consisting of holes 1,2,3,4 (skip thru the woods to) 9,10,11,12,13. but even the end of that gets a little mucky from time to time

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not much good to say

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: you know the old saying "if you don't have anything good to say ...." searching for positives. Actually, the hole signs were nice.
Cons: Wednesday it rained a bit; we played it on Friday and it was viruatually unplayable due to the water/mud. I have played about 60 courses so far - not a great player but also not a beginnner. I'm trying to think of other courses which were as poor; I have played a number of courses which get water logged at times, but today was ridiculous. If you live in CT (where I grew up but no longer live); travel the 1/2 hour to Wickham Park
Other Thoughts: a shame because the park the course is located in is nice and expansive but they chose to locate the course in a heavily-wooded, super-saturated area.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 No sun to speak of

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: FrechetteDL
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well organized course with tees easy to find - well marked. Technically challenging. Heavily wooded. Great for hot days because it is entirely shaded and very flat.
Cons: Never a chance to just throw it as hard as you can because the woods will swallow you up. Some baskets are really hard to see. Someone put orange cones on them, but they faded over time.
Other Thoughts: Lots of wildlife. I saw a snake before I even teed off on # 1. Then I stopped looking. The ground is rough - a rock cut a hole through my sock and left me bleeding.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Get Ripped Wide Open

2-4    9/11/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses in all of Conneticut. Not only is the course itself amazing the amentities are great as well. There are two sets of tees on most of the holes. There are clean and easy to understand tee signs at every hole and next tee signs where needed. The course itself doesn't cater specifically to one kind of thrower but will punish you if you don't have multiple styles available. The rough is some of the thickest I have ever seen. This is good because it forces you to stay on the fairway. The fairways are clear of fallen debis and there are only a few small piles of scattered brush throughout the course. There is a good use of OB and clearly marked by colored rope. The teepads are made of rubber and level! Benches are available on most of the holes; even the ace races. There is ample parking and bathrooms and athletic fields across the way, Hole nine comes out right next to one. A welcome board and scorecards are on the way to the first tee. There are also wooden planks on the low boggy areas.
Cons: After a little rain the course could become soaked. Some of the recreational tees are in rough condition ( wood chips recently put down to help with this). Some of the rough is almost too thick to the point it is easy to lose a disc. A few of the holes are slightly overgrown. The possibility of a lost disc is a little higher here than most other non-water courses.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice wooded course

2-4    8/1/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, hand-painted signs on all holes (except 1, which was missing), with distances noted for Pro and Rec tees. Well marked Rec tees on all of the longer holes make a good option for novice players. Course is very challenging from the Pro tees, but fairways are well-defined and generous enough in most cases. Although in heavy woods, the rough to either side of the fairways is relatively sparse and easy enough to play out of when your disc is misbehaving and avoiding fairways.
Cons: Although dry this time (due to major drought conditions), the course is built on swampy ground and is very muddy a lot of the time. However, there are many wooden paths built between holes and up the middle of many fairways to keep you from continuously walking in the mud.
Next Tee signs are everywhere on many holes, but non-existent on many others. When the course was expanded from 9 holes to 18, there were 4 holes added between the original holes 4 and 5 (with the other 5 holes being added on to the end of the course). Finishing hole 4 is confusing, as there are now 2 clearly defined paths leading away from the hole and no signs indicating which way to go (to the right, btw). Also, baskets for holes 9 through 13 still are marked 5 through 9, respectively, which might be a little confusing.
The course itself is difficult to find if you haven't been there before. Drive to the back of the park until you are dumped into a parking area which seems like the end of the road. But at the back left corner of this lot is another road shooting up and around the corner into another lot that again, seems like the end of the road. But in the back left corner of this lot is a gravel road that leads into a large gravel parking area, where the course begins (where else) at the back left corner.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice course, just try to hit it during dry periods!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.