Parma, OH 
Parma DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Love this course

2-4    6/28/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: mbradbourne
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Varied terrain
-Nice tees and well signed, plus baskets are marked with the direction of the next tee, look for orange tape on the rim
-Well maintained
-trash buckets are located around some of the holes
Cons: -Can be challenging for beginners, some tight lines and tough pin placements


Other Thoughts: This is one of the top courses in Northeast Ohio, IMHO. Elevated shots, uphill, down hill. The only thing really missing is a water shot or two. Front 9 is easier than the back 9, but both are great.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super-friendly locals. Mostly clean course. Great tee signs. All baskets have numbers on them. Cement tees. Easily accessed off of the freeway. Nice mix of holes and elevation.
Cons: Course was a bit dirty (broken bottles, beer cans and some other random garbage). A few hole-to-tee transitions were confusing and backtracked.
Other Thoughts: The review a few down by BogeyNoMore sums up my thoughts on this course. Challenging but not demanding. Beginners could easily play this, but seasoned players will find it enjoyable. Course is separate from the rest of the park, but not that far away from the rest nor from the surrounding neighborhood.

The "top of the hill" tees for holes 12 and 15 were my favorite area of the course. Most of the course is wooded, but it isn't dense and the underbrush for the most part is not going to eat any discs.

While I enjoyed my round, I would only play again (and will for sure) if I am already in the area. An hour's drive can take me to some much better courses.

Parma is a great local/multi-use park course. If you live in the area you should be playing here regularly. Hard to say if it's worth a local trip -- I enjoyed my round and was glad I made the trip, but any further away than the hour I drove and I probably wouldn't feel the same.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course with great elevation changes

1    10/24/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: gimpyninja
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked course. My first time there on my own and I had no trouble finding my way around the course. Fun use of the hills and elevation changes through the forest. With a good combination of distance and technical shots. Lots of wildlife. There were deer all around when we finished hole 18.
Cons: could use a clean up. It looks like some jerks broke some bottles throughout the course. I didn't see any trash cans or I would have picked them up myself.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to play this course again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

you control, or do the trees?

2-4    7/20/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park in Parma has a lot of really neat activities for the family: a great playground, mini golf, a little artificial lake for RC boats & fishing, a paved parcourse jogging trail, ball fields, shelters, and abundant parking. The disc golf course has 18 holes (some with multiple pin positions) essentially on two wooded hills. When the baskets are in some of the long positions, they set up some really challenging rollaway greens. The concrete tee pads are well sized for the length of the holes. The difficulty of the woods is decent for the Intermediate player, while most of the rough is forgiving enough to at least see the general area where your disc landed, and to allow lanes to get back out. Benches and trash cans are available where most needed. The course handles water very well, as evidenced by our playing immediately after a torrential downpour night (see below).

There are six holes that bend left, five that turn right, and the rest are either generally straight or present options. Elevation is used to great effect, from hole one going up over a ridge to a blind pin position to the left, all the way to eighteen, which runs down the hill to the OB parking and driveway. You won't be disappointed with the hills here, and you won't have to be a mountain goat on them, either. Big arms don't have a lot of opportunities to air it out on this course, although I've heard temp holes around the lake have been used to great effect in some tourneys here. The holes range from the ace run 180 foot #8 to the challenging 407 foot #3. The signature hole might be right in the middle of the back nine on hole 12, where you can -see-- lines through the trees to make the downhill 335 footer, and folks at the holes around can watch as you -try-- to hit your intended line.

Decent tee signs and indicators pointing the way to the next hole work well with the well thought out course flow, but you might want to hook up with a local or walk ahead your first time because many of the basket positions are blind from the tee. The second hole has a neat feature to compensate: they've placed a sunburst sign high in a tree (visible from the tee) above the blind basket position. It's a really neat idea that other courses might be well to emulate!
Cons: The rough, particularly on hole 15, can be covered with low level vine-like thorns that will wreak havoc on your lower legs if you thrash about in them. Other than that, and the fact that more advanced players usually like more 'D' with their trees, I don't have a lot of negatives here.
Other Thoughts: Just played four rounds here last weekend for the National Senior Games, and had a friend shoot 45 to the short pin positions (a pretty darn good round here…but then again, he's now a Gold Medalist!). The event was wonderfully TD'd and supported, and I wanted to publicly thank the local disc golf community and the NSG for putting on a fantastic tournament!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Thanks, I had a real nice time…"

1    7/6/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hits the basics: decent tees, tee markers, baskets, next tee signs as needed.
• Good shot variety, fair mix of fairway shapes and distances (but not fairway types).
• Elevation of some sort on pretty much every hole. No humongous hills, but I'd describe the terrain as more than moderately hilly.
• Technical course, emphasizes shot shaping.
• Challenging, but quite reasonably so. Fairly well-suited for beginners through advanced players.
• Fairly easy navigation from hole to hole.
• Plays through pretty secluded portions of the park; incidents with non-players not likely.
• Two 9-hole loops each start/end near parking; you're never really far from the lot.
• LOTS of paved parking: I honestly think a trucker could pull up in a semi for a quick round and not have a problem getting in/out or monopolizing things.
Cons: No serious flaws, but:
• Feels repetitive. No matter how well it does it, Parma's a one trick pony: up or downhill through the woods. By the back nine, you've already seen that trick.
• Posted distances and baskets seemed iffy at times (multiple pins perhaps?) Finding the next tee was pretty easy, finding the basket not as easy.
• I doubt Pros with reasonable control will be seriously challenged here (not a crime - stated more for info than as a factor in my rating).
Other Thoughts: I was going to title this review "Up, down and all around… through the woods." That describes Parma perfectly. If that appeals to you, (it usually ranks quite high with me), I wholeheartedly recommend you give it a whirl. Parma's solidly designed, fun to play - probably makes a great home course for some league.

That said, I'd never have thought a course that plays through the woods with such ever-present elevation, and no serious shortcomings could be merely "good," and that's exactly what Parma is: a good course. Jeez, I say that like it's a bad thing.

There's just something about Parma that felt a bit "soulless" to me. I definitely liked 17, 6 and 9 as well. Nonetheless, nothing really moved my thrill-o-meter. Parma left me satisfied, but not necessarily wanting more - no burning desire to come back.

Ever been on a date with someone who looks decent, seems nice enough, fairly intelligent, has no bad habits, but you're just not that into them? For me, Parma's that date. Nothing bad to say about her, and don't mind setting her up with a friend (who knows, the two of you might hit it off). I'm genuinely glad we met, but evening ends with a little kiss and "I had a real nice time…"

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Parma Location

5+    10/11/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: AwesomeArtie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 10/12/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: alot of parking, diverse holes, many challanges, cement tee's, and decent signage, good training course
Cons: ALOT of trees! Hard to have a decent drive without hitting a tree. Much brush with prickers also..
Other Thoughts: Over-all a good course. Has alot of Potential. Cut down few tree's, and rating would go up.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun links course.

5+    9/6/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: smcg
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is my home turf right now.

Equipment - There are concrete tees for all holes as well as a sign by each tee indicating the yardage and approximate flight path. Many holes have benches and trash buckets. Baskets are in good condition. There is a practice basket and a field right by the start to practice.

Lots of fun playing in the woods. Clever use of natural terrain and objects to shape holes (fallen logs for example). Very pretty underneath the tree canopies. Deer and squirrels abound. Nice variety of elevation changes on the holes.
Cons: Thorns and thick brush. Lots in the summer. Especially bad around 15, 16, and 17 and a big patch on 1 if you shank slightly right.

Some tees can be hard to find if you aren't paying attention (2->3, 4->5, 5->6, 10->11). Read the signs at the tees to find the next one.

Some vandalism (marker over one of the signs) and trash (broken bottles mostly). Kids have set several fires on hole 15. I found and put out one with a water bucket borrowed from a resident, and another one required the fire department (they were there when I got to the hole).

Not much signage on back 9 besides at the tees.

Only 2 holes that you can really air it out - 3 and 18. I prefer technical shots but still want more variety.
Other Thoughts: The baskets get moved relatively frequently. Hole 18 in particular probably had 150 feet added to it. Here is a hole by hole rundown:

#1 plays uphill, peaking at the BMX trail. Basket is in a little clearing. Approach shots can be fun depending on what obstacles are in the way.

#2 is long and downhill. Very hard to bomb it though due to the preponderance of trees.

#3 is the long bomb. Requires a clever throw to bomb it and stay left of the fence or away from the tree island on the left.

#4 The drive is sort of a crapshoot. Like playing pinball. Standard after that.

#5 is a nice dogleg with a fork near the end. It's pretty long though after they moved the basket back. Remember drive lengths are usually limited due to trees.

#6 is a great hole. You can choose to take the safe dogleg or risk it and go over the foliage on the left. If you make it over on your first drive you can get an easy birdie or par. This is one where I am glad they moved the basket because before you could get a par with bad throws and luck (I've done it, trust me).

#7 is somewhat open, but you can't air it out right and have it hook back due to trees (bad for my style). The fallen tree behind the basket is helpful.

#8 is the shortest and easiest hole currently. Just a simple anhyzer mando. Easiest lefty/forehand hole ever.

#9 is unique. First you drive straight to approach the hill. Then you need to avoid as many trees as possible down the hill. Basically a much harder version of #16.

#10 I hate the drive here because of the tree on the right. Requires a clever approach because of foliage hiding the basket.

#11 was created by cutting down an area of saplings. Easy to trip on the tiny stumps by the basket. The putt is steeply downhill and punishes a bad putt, but the fallen tree might save you. Might not be as interesting once the fallen tree loses its leaves.

#12 is very scenic. Fun drives and second shots here.

#13 has an intimidating stand of trees right at the tee. I hope your aim is good. Smooth sailings once you get past it though.

#14 is uphill and pretty standard.

#15 I feel like has some wasted potential. It has a huge area of unused land on the left. On the right are some extremely dense thorns. Nice elevation changes though.

#16 is a narrow straight shot down to the basket. If someone aces a hole at Parma it's probably this one. Lots of dangerous thorns on the right.

#17 is my least favorite hole on the course. First, drive over the sidewalk, next to the pavilion and children. Mando right. There is a second mando as well immediately after, but I think it's vandalism and not real. If it is, it makes the hole even worse. Once you deal with all that it's a long uphill climb to the basket.

#18 has been reworked extensively. Basket is far and to the right. The right side has been opened up to compensate. If you end up left of the large trees you'll have a bad time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Instant Parma's gonna get you

1    4/7/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean
Mostly wooded with perfectly opened up fairways
Good elevation changes
Easy to navigate
Not too crowded
Shady for the hot months
Good mix of shot types and distances
Cons: A little repetitous
New teepads but no signs on the back 9
One dimensional
Other Thoughts: Had a lot of fun on this course. You're never far from the parking lot but it feels like a bigger course than it is.

Most of the course winds through a wooded area of the park. Loved the fairways. It requires you to shape your shot but have cleared out enough space to provide you with a good line. It's not overly tight but you will pinball off trees if you don't navigate it correctly. There is alot of moderate altitude changes that I thought were fun.

Most of the holes are in the 250 to 400 foot range which is about perfect for my skill level. It can be tricky at times to figure out where the next hole is but there are normally signs that point you in the right direction.

If I were to complain about this course I would say that most of the holes are very similar. Moderate altitude change winding through the woods with a medium wide fairway. I love those types of holes but I also love for a course to mix it up a bit.

This is a must play if you live nearby. As for a road trip I would recommend nearby Roscoe Ewing over this one but it's definitely worth stopping by if you got the time for another round. There is a bar only minutes away that was the outside image and inspiration for the Warsaw Tavern from the Drew Carey Show. If your a fan of the show and would like to grab a beer afterwards it was neat to see. They don't serve lunch though. But I enjoyed this course and it would be a part of my regular rotation if I lived nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Accuarcy required.

5+    10/15/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 64  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located on a decent size chunk of wooded and hilly land. Front nine have tees signs with distance and elevation change. Concrete tees on all 18. Requires a wide variety of shots here. Every hole changes it up. Although wooded they've done a good job at opening up the fairways here. #1 being up-hill 280 maybe. #2 plays back down a less steep hill through a tight gap fairway. #3 really is a lot of fun. Low ceiling shot, or bomb out a hyzer over the fence into the baseball field and cruise back over is the best route IMO. #4 is another tight one and plays slight up hill. #5 you finally flatten out a bit and get a little longer being 320 or so. #6 is a bit strange unless you notice the route over top everything instead of following map. And I'll stop at #7 being one of my favorite. Tight at first then opens up a bit for being in the woods. Two pin positions here. Well I'm not gonna spoil all your fun here. Check it out for yourself.
Cons: Very tight in some spots, maybe not good for a beginner. On the other hand course is fairly short. So maybe good for a beginner wanting to play in the woods for first time. Vandalism has been a big problem here. Some tee signs are written on as well as some one hacking and bending down young trees, idk ha. Sure doesn't look like disc damage though.
Other Thoughts: Park also has a pavilion, baseball fields, big parking lot. As well as bathrooms open during summer. Small man made fishing pond too. This is one of my favorites around Cleveland and I think its worth the trip if your from Ohio. Or out of state and coming to play some course here put this on your list.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Was worth the Trip

1    5/26/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a fun challenge. It requires more accuracy than power but is a good mix of both. The course is completely wooded which was very nice to be in the shade on a hot and sunny day. The baskets were well maintained and the fairways were lined with mulch which helped to cut back on the mud.
Cons: The back nine of this course is still being developed. All the cages are in and some paths have been started. However there are not concrete tees yet and there are not clear directions to the next tee like the front nine.
While we were there we spoke to some of the members of the local DG club who maintain the course. They have big plans for this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course was worth the trip. We decided to stop by when were in town for a Cleveland vs Cincinnati baseball game. Since the Reds loss the trip became more about disc golf. This course is fun and challenging. I recommend you check it out sometime.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.