Parma, OH 
Parma DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Tight wooded course

2-4    5/23/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 120  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) concrete tees
2) elevation changes
3) cool and shady for summer
4) good course design
Cons: 1) Virtually all in dense woods...no open bomber holes
2) Some holes very close to each other
Other Thoughts: Scenery: 4/5
Difficulty v Fun factor (5/5 is best mix): 4/5
Tees: 3.5/5
Signage: 3/5
Navigation: 3/5
Course design: 4/5
_______________
Total/Average: 3.6/5

I played this course for the first time at The Beauty, which is a PDGA tournament. This course is in a beautiful setting. It is located in a mature forested area. There are a few holes that pop out into the open and/or shoot from the open into the woods. There are no holes that are completely separated from the woods.

The tees are adequate. They seemed kind of on the small side for my 6'5" frame, but I don't run on the tees on wooded holes so it didn't interfere with my drives at all, but if you do run on the tees and you're taller, I could see it being a problem. This is a bonus for a summer course as it stays nice and cool in here (as opposed to Tri-C which is pretty much all in the open and hot as hell).

The course has many elevation changes. Nothing too extreme, but enough to make it interesting.

The design is pretty solid. There's plenty of forehand and backhand holes alike.

Problems with the course as I see it:

There's no open holes. This is all in the forest. I personally like this aspect, but for review purposes I'm letting you know that it is unbalanced in this regard. If you're looking for a bomber course, play Tri-C. If you want to increase your accuracy skills, play here.

Also, the course is compact. There are a few holes where the fairways are close to eachother and/or the basket for one hole is very close to the tee for another. This could operate as an interference and/or a safety issue, but it's not a huge deal. Just noting it FYI.

I found this course to be highly enjoyable. It's one of the best if not the best course in Cleveland IMO. You won't be disappointed!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Beauty

2-4    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: kinger
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Excellent use of terrain, great variety.
~Concrete tee pads, baskets are in great condition.
~Ample benches, trash cans, park amenities.
~Wooded holes are cleared well, and manicured.
~Easy navigation, nice flow throughout the course.
Cons:
~Many of the concrete tees sit above the surrounding ground and should be backfilled.
~Thick, thorny underbrush right off the fairways.
~Midrange and fairway driver friendly, would like a few holes open to big drives.
~While there is good variety for a wooded course, it's all wooded....lot's of trees and tight fairways throughout.
Other Thoughts: My first visit to this great course was for The Beauty C-Tier tournament. Played two rounds, and walked away satisfied....this is a great wooded, technical course. Fantastic mix of uphill & downhill holes, some tighter than others. Nice concrete tees, defined fairways, and very challenging. Numerous blind holes which was tough for the first round, my second round went much smoother. Well maintained and groomed, the locals all indicated this is the best course in their neighborhood. The local club should be proud for the overall experience this course provides. Don't expect to bomb drives, and pars can be hard earned. Placement off the tee is critical. A challenging and very enjoyable layout providing ample shade. The course is located in a huge public park, but disc golfers are mostly excluded in their own wooded basket sanctuary (aside from some adjacent walking paths on a handful of holes). Big parking lot right by the entrance to the course, public restrooms, playground, ball fields, and many more park amenities provide entertainment for most anybody. Worth playing again and again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

"That would have been a great shot if that tree wasn't there!"

2-4    3/21/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 25  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parma DGC was really a pleasant surprise. The trees are very frustrating, but it's a fun type of frustrating. Every shot you want to avoid hitting these trees, which could be a game in itself. The navigation was very easy. It is a very fun course in a very nice area of Parma. The holes vary in distance, from 200s to 500s. This course would appeal to intermediate-advanced players due to the technicality of it. Many hills and changes of elevation throughout the course.
Cons: I'm not against heavily wooded courses, but I do like a like a little bit of variation. There aren't any holes here where you can throw for a ton of distance. This is NOT the course to bring a beginner to. All of the trees would really frustrate someone who is just starting out with the sport. I'm pretty sure the course is very muddy after rainfall due to the constant shade throughout the course, it was pretty muddy when I was there.
Other Thoughts: I think Parma DGC is the best disc golf course in the city of Parma. This is a really fun course, and I hope I will come back and play it again soon!

Overall grade: 4/5 (Would recommend)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Place to Fly, in Parma

5+    9/3/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: ZeroZilla
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Challenging, yet fair, terrain and elevation.
- Well-kept fairways, baskets, and tees.
- No water hazards.
- Not overcrowded.
Cons: - Some backtracking in course layout.
- Dense underbrush in OB areas.
- Every hole is wooded. Expect to encounter trees!
Other Thoughts: Playable by beginners, but challenging to even the intermediate player, Parma DGC is the best course in the Cleveland area. OTOH, it is not to be played alone, because of the aforementioned brush (you will need help to find a disc at some point, unless you plan on playing it safe the entire course...). Trees provide challenging obstacles, and interesting layouts...but even off-the-beaten-path areas are not unnavigable. A blast to play! 5.0

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

2-4    6/28/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: mbradbourne
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Varied terrain
-Nice tees and well signed, plus baskets are marked with the direction of the next tee, look for orange tape on the rim
-Well maintained
-trash buckets are located around some of the holes
Cons: -Can be challenging for beginners, some tight lines and tough pin placements


Other Thoughts: This is one of the top courses in Northeast Ohio, IMHO. Elevated shots, uphill, down hill. The only thing really missing is a water shot or two. Front 9 is easier than the back 9, but both are great.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super-friendly locals. Mostly clean course. Great tee signs. All baskets have numbers on them. Cement tees. Easily accessed off of the freeway. Nice mix of holes and elevation.
Cons: Course was a bit dirty (broken bottles, beer cans and some other random garbage). A few hole-to-tee transitions were confusing and backtracked.
Other Thoughts: The review a few down by BogeyNoMore sums up my thoughts on this course. Challenging but not demanding. Beginners could easily play this, but seasoned players will find it enjoyable. Course is separate from the rest of the park, but not that far away from the rest nor from the surrounding neighborhood.

The "top of the hill" tees for holes 12 and 15 were my favorite area of the course. Most of the course is wooded, but it isn't dense and the underbrush for the most part is not going to eat any discs.

While I enjoyed my round, I would only play again (and will for sure) if I am already in the area. An hour's drive can take me to some much better courses.

Parma is a great local/multi-use park course. If you live in the area you should be playing here regularly. Hard to say if it's worth a local trip -- I enjoyed my round and was glad I made the trip, but any further away than the hour I drove and I probably wouldn't feel the same.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course with great elevation changes

1    10/24/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: gimpyninja
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked course. My first time there on my own and I had no trouble finding my way around the course. Fun use of the hills and elevation changes through the forest. With a good combination of distance and technical shots. Lots of wildlife. There were deer all around when we finished hole 18.
Cons: could use a clean up. It looks like some jerks broke some bottles throughout the course. I didn't see any trash cans or I would have picked them up myself.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to play this course again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 you control, or do the trees?

2-4    7/20/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 230  Reviewed: 216  Exp: 4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park in Parma has a lot of really neat activities for the family: a great playground, mini golf, a little artificial lake for RC boats & fishing, a paved parcourse jogging trail, ball fields, shelters, and abundant parking. The disc golf course has 18 holes (some with multiple pin positions) essentially on two wooded hills. When the baskets are in some of the long positions, they set up some really challenging rollaway greens. The concrete tee pads are well sized for the length of the holes. The difficulty of the woods is decent for the Intermediate player, while most of the rough is forgiving enough to at least see the general area where your disc landed, and to allow lanes to get back out. Benches and trash cans are available where most needed. The course handles water very well, as evidenced by our playing immediately after a torrential downpour night (see below).

There are six holes that bend left, five that turn right, and the rest are either generally straight or present options. Elevation is used to great effect, from hole one going up over a ridge to a blind pin position to the left, all the way to eighteen, which runs down the hill to the OB parking and driveway. You won't be disappointed with the hills here, and you won't have to be a mountain goat on them, either. Big arms don't have a lot of opportunities to air it out on this course, although I've heard temp holes around the lake have been used to great effect in some tourneys here. The holes range from the ace run 180 foot #8 to the challenging 407 foot #3. The signature hole might be right in the middle of the back nine on hole 12, where you can -see-- lines through the trees to make the downhill 335 footer, and folks at the holes around can watch as you -try-- to hit your intended line.

Decent tee signs and indicators pointing the way to the next hole work well with the well thought out course flow, but you might want to hook up with a local or walk ahead your first time because many of the basket positions are blind from the tee. The second hole has a neat feature to compensate: they've placed a sunburst sign high in a tree (visible from the tee) above the blind basket position. It's a really neat idea that other courses might be well to emulate!
Cons: The rough, particularly on hole 15, can be covered with low level vine-like thorns that will wreak havoc on your lower legs if you thrash about in them. Other than that, and the fact that more advanced players usually like more 'D' with their trees, I don't have a lot of negatives here.
Other Thoughts: Just played four rounds here last weekend for the National Senior Games, and had a friend shoot 45 to the short pin positions (a pretty darn good round here...but then again, he's now a Gold Medalist!). The event was wonderfully TD'd and supported, and I wanted to publicly thank the local disc golf community and the NSG for putting on a fantastic tournament!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Thanks, I had a real nice time…"

1    7/6/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 184  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hits the basics: decent tees, tee markers, baskets, next tee signs as needed.
• Good shot variety, fair mix of fairway shapes and distances (but not fairway types).
• Elevation of some sort on pretty much every hole. No humongous hills, but I'd describe the terrain as more than moderately hilly.
• Technical course, emphasizes shot shaping.
• Challenging, but quite reasonably so. Fairly well-suited for beginners through advanced players.
• Fairly easy navigation from hole to hole.
• Plays through pretty secluded portions of the park; incidents with non-players not likely.
• Two 9-hole loops each start/end near parking; you're never really far from the lot.
• LOTS of paved parking: I honestly think a trucker could pull up in a semi for a quick round and not have a problem getting in/out or monopolizing things.
Cons: No serious flaws, but:
• Feels repetitive. No matter how well it does it, Parma's a one trick pony: up or downhill through the woods. By the back nine, you've already seen that trick.
• Posted distances and baskets seemed iffy at times (multiple pins perhaps?) Finding the next tee was pretty easy, finding the basket not as easy.
• I doubt Pros with reasonable control will be seriously challenged here (not a crime - stated more for info than as a factor in my rating).
Other Thoughts: I was going to title this review "Up, down and all around... through the woods." That describes Parma perfectly. If that appeals to you, (it usually ranks quite high with me), I wholeheartedly recommend you give it a whirl. Parma's solidly designed, fun to play - probably makes a great home course for some league.

That said, I'd never have thought a course that plays through the woods with such ever-present elevation, and no serious shortcomings could be merely "good," and that's exactly what Parma is: a good course. Jeez, I say that like it's a bad thing.

There's just something about Parma that felt a bit "soulless" to me. I definitely liked 17, 6 and 9 as well. Nonetheless, nothing really moved my thrill-o-meter. Parma left me satisfied, but not necessarily wanting more - no burning desire to come back.

Ever been on a date with someone who looks decent, seems nice enough, fairly intelligent, has no bad habits, but you're just not that into them? For me, Parma's that date. Nothing bad to say about her, and don't mind setting her up with a friend (who knows, the two of you might hit it off). I'm genuinely glad we met, but evening ends with a little kiss and "I had a real nice time..."

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Parma Location

5+    10/11/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: AwesomeArtie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 10/12/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: alot of parking, diverse holes, many challanges, cement tee's, and decent signage, good training course
Cons: ALOT of trees! Hard to have a decent drive without hitting a tree. Much brush with prickers also..
Other Thoughts: Over-all a good course. Has alot of Potential. Cut down few tree's, and rating would go up.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.