Parma, OH 
Parma DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Challenging and fun links course.

5+    9/6/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: smcg
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is my home turf right now.

Equipment - There are concrete tees for all holes as well as a sign by each tee indicating the yardage and approximate flight path. Many holes have benches and trash buckets. Baskets are in good condition. There is a practice basket and a field right by the start to practice.

Lots of fun playing in the woods. Clever use of natural terrain and objects to shape holes (fallen logs for example). Very pretty underneath the tree canopies. Deer and squirrels abound. Nice variety of elevation changes on the holes.
Cons: Thorns and thick brush. Lots in the summer. Especially bad around 15, 16, and 17 and a big patch on 1 if you shank slightly right.

Some tees can be hard to find if you aren't paying attention (2->3, 4->5, 5->6, 10->11). Read the signs at the tees to find the next one.

Some vandalism (marker over one of the signs) and trash (broken bottles mostly). Kids have set several fires on hole 15. I found and put out one with a water bucket borrowed from a resident, and another one required the fire department (they were there when I got to the hole).

Not much signage on back 9 besides at the tees.

Only 2 holes that you can really air it out - 3 and 18. I prefer technical shots but still want more variety.
Other Thoughts: The baskets get moved relatively frequently. Hole 18 in particular probably had 150 feet added to it. Here is a hole by hole rundown:

#1 plays uphill, peaking at the BMX trail. Basket is in a little clearing. Approach shots can be fun depending on what obstacles are in the way.

#2 is long and downhill. Very hard to bomb it though due to the preponderance of trees.

#3 is the long bomb. Requires a clever throw to bomb it and stay left of the fence or away from the tree island on the left.

#4 The drive is sort of a crapshoot. Like playing pinball. Standard after that.

#5 is a nice dogleg with a fork near the end. It's pretty long though after they moved the basket back. Remember drive lengths are usually limited due to trees.

#6 is a great hole. You can choose to take the safe dogleg or risk it and go over the foliage on the left. If you make it over on your first drive you can get an easy birdie or par. This is one where I am glad they moved the basket because before you could get a par with bad throws and luck (I've done it, trust me).

#7 is somewhat open, but you can't air it out right and have it hook back due to trees (bad for my style). The fallen tree behind the basket is helpful.

#8 is the shortest and easiest hole currently. Just a simple anhyzer mando. Easiest lefty/forehand hole ever.

#9 is unique. First you drive straight to approach the hill. Then you need to avoid as many trees as possible down the hill. Basically a much harder version of #16.

#10 I hate the drive here because of the tree on the right. Requires a clever approach because of foliage hiding the basket.

#11 was created by cutting down an area of saplings. Easy to trip on the tiny stumps by the basket. The putt is steeply downhill and punishes a bad putt, but the fallen tree might save you. Might not be as interesting once the fallen tree loses its leaves.

#12 is very scenic. Fun drives and second shots here.

#13 has an intimidating stand of trees right at the tee. I hope your aim is good. Smooth sailings once you get past it though.

#14 is uphill and pretty standard.

#15 I feel like has some wasted potential. It has a huge area of unused land on the left. On the right are some extremely dense thorns. Nice elevation changes though.

#16 is a narrow straight shot down to the basket. If someone aces a hole at Parma it's probably this one. Lots of dangerous thorns on the right.

#17 is my least favorite hole on the course. First, drive over the sidewalk, next to the pavilion and children. Mando right. There is a second mando as well immediately after, but I think it's vandalism and not real. If it is, it makes the hole even worse. Once you deal with all that it's a long uphill climb to the basket.

#18 has been reworked extensively. Basket is far and to the right. The right side has been opened up to compensate. If you end up left of the large trees you'll have a bad time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Instant Parma's gonna get you

1    4/7/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 151  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean
Mostly wooded with perfectly opened up fairways
Good elevation changes
Easy to navigate
Not too crowded
Shady for the hot months
Good mix of shot types and distances
Cons: A little repetitous
New teepads but no signs on the back 9
One dimensional
Other Thoughts: Had a lot of fun on this course. You're never far from the parking lot but it feels like a bigger course than it is.

Most of the course winds through a wooded area of the park. Loved the fairways. It requires you to shape your shot but have cleared out enough space to provide you with a good line. It's not overly tight but you will pinball off trees if you don't navigate it correctly. There is alot of moderate altitude changes that I thought were fun.

Most of the holes are in the 250 to 400 foot range which is about perfect for my skill level. It can be tricky at times to figure out where the next hole is but there are normally signs that point you in the right direction.

If I were to complain about this course I would say that most of the holes are very similar. Moderate altitude change winding through the woods with a medium wide fairway. I love those types of holes but I also love for a course to mix it up a bit.

This is a must play if you live nearby. As for a road trip I would recommend nearby Roscoe Ewing over this one but it's definitely worth stopping by if you got the time for another round. There is a bar only minutes away that was the outside image and inspiration for the Warsaw Tavern from the Drew Carey Show. If your a fan of the show and would like to grab a beer afterwards it was neat to see. They don't serve lunch though. But I enjoyed this course and it would be a part of my regular rotation if I lived nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Accuarcy required.

5+    10/15/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located on a decent size chunk of wooded and hilly land. Front nine have tees signs with distance and elevation change. Concrete tees on all 18. Requires a wide variety of shots here. Every hole changes it up. Although wooded they've done a good job at opening up the fairways here. #1 being up-hill 280 maybe. #2 plays back down a less steep hill through a tight gap fairway. #3 really is a lot of fun. Low ceiling shot, or bomb out a hyzer over the fence into the baseball field and cruise back over is the best route IMO. #4 is another tight one and plays slight up hill. #5 you finally flatten out a bit and get a little longer being 320 or so. #6 is a bit strange unless you notice the route over top everything instead of following map. And I'll stop at #7 being one of my favorite. Tight at first then opens up a bit for being in the woods. Two pin positions here. Well I'm not gonna spoil all your fun here. Check it out for yourself.
Cons: Very tight in some spots, maybe not good for a beginner. On the other hand course is fairly short. So maybe good for a beginner wanting to play in the woods for first time. Vandalism has been a big problem here. Some tee signs are written on as well as some one hacking and bending down young trees, idk ha. Sure doesn't look like disc damage though.
Other Thoughts: Park also has a pavilion, baseball fields, big parking lot. As well as bathrooms open during summer. Small man made fishing pond too. This is one of my favorites around Cleveland and I think its worth the trip if your from Ohio. Or out of state and coming to play some course here put this on your list.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Was worth the Trip

1    5/26/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a fun challenge. It requires more accuracy than power but is a good mix of both. The course is completely wooded which was very nice to be in the shade on a hot and sunny day. The baskets were well maintained and the fairways were lined with mulch which helped to cut back on the mud.
Cons: The back nine of this course is still being developed. All the cages are in and some paths have been started. However there are not concrete tees yet and there are not clear directions to the next tee like the front nine.
While we were there we spoke to some of the members of the local DG club who maintain the course. They have big plans for this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course was worth the trip. We decided to stop by when were in town for a Cleveland vs Cincinnati baseball game. Since the Reds loss the trip became more about disc golf. This course is fun and challenging. I recommend you check it out sometime.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: dkoz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -concrete pads front 9 , reflecters on tree to show the fairway which is very helpful!
-good layout , it uses the trees well to make it a tough course if your off on your shot.
-Good use of elevation , holes are shorter at times but the elevation makes up for it.
Cons: Back nine was alittle tough to follow, there is no concrete tee pads which is a disappointment!
-Tight course it will eat you disc if you dont throw good.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and iam not the most accurate thrower, this course will make you play better and smarter!!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. The tee pads and signs complement the layout. Being primarily wooded, it's nice to know throws that deviate from the fairway won't be necessarily "dead in the water" so to speak. The roughs are well worn and leave those who do throw off the fairway a more difficult shot, but not impossible, as is often the case on other courses. There's often more than one choice as far as where you want your drive to go, making it easier for players throwing both left and right a viable shot at the basket. Even during a day with more stiff wind, it's not always a factor due to the mature growth trees and solid shrubs lining the course.
Cons: Often wet, even when it hasn't rained for awhile. The course was constructed within a limited area, meaning holes often butt up to other tees, sidewalks, fairways. It's very compact. The cages are starting to show a little wear and tear and could use a bit of maintenance.
Other Thoughts: As of late it seems whatever group maintains the course has laid down a nice bed of wood chips along most of the fairways, paths to tees, etc. Nice call!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Wooded Course

5+    7/31/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded 9 hole course.
- Tees are small but concrete.
- Baskets are in good shape and level.
- Tee signs show accurate par, distance & elevation and are in decent shape. Some small vandalism on signs. There are reflectors showing direct to pin and signs to the next tee.
- Grounds/foilage are kept up for a heavily wooded course. Some people may consider this course as not being kept up because there is a LOT of foliage but then again, you are in a very heavily wooded area. Cleaning it too much would take away from this.
- There is a nice bench at #3 & #9 tee.
- Short walk from parking to #1. The tee is near the picnic overhang that you can see from the parking lot.
- Flow is nice and you end right at the parking lot and near #1 to so you can comfortably play this twice.
- Not very busy.
- Near a beautiful park with lots of baseball fields, a reservoir, v-ball, picnic areas and a paved running/workout path. After I play 9 holes twice, I throw in one of the baseball fields to get in practice and a workout.
- Elevation is a plus. Course has its' ups and downs and adds some difficulty
- Variety of shots required. You will need to turn left, right, and go over and under things. Your accuracy through trees is tested.
- #1 is an up hill shot to the left. I birdied once and I'm a poor player.
- #2 is a downhill shot. It has two choices; straight through tight spots then turn right, or, more open hyzer out to the right and hope you get through the trees. I just recently switched to straight and right curve.
- #3 has a school playground on the right tight against your fairway. If you accidently drop into the fenced in school grounds, there is a convenient hole cut in the fence halfway down to sneak in and out. Keep your drive as straight as possible! Paved trail is out of bounds on left.
- #8 is heavily wooded and the hardest hole. Sign says go straight and turn right. Ignore this, aim to the right of the path, there is an opening. Straight then left curve bomb. This hole will eat your disc!! Be careful.
- #9 rocket a low hyzer straight at the pin and let it slide down the hill. Another birdie hole.
Edit 10-25-10:
- #18 ends at parking, but be careful throwing AT the parking.
- Added more benches in the back 9.
Cons: - Small, tight course. You never get to rip any massive bombs here. I hope you can throw a thumber/tomahawk. You will at some point need to throw over something.
- Can be muddy, especially around tees
- No pro tees
- A lot of small thorny plants, especially if you turn right too much on your drive on #7. Searching for discs can cut your feet and calves up. Don't wear sandals.
- No practice pin
- BMX'ers have a few jumps at #2 tee but I have only seen bikers using it once.
- Wood chips needed on fairways to help prevent erosion.
Edit 10-25-10:
- No concrete tees on the back 9. They are mulch as of now and need work.
Other Thoughts: A fun 9 hole course. Narrow, wooded fairways add some challenge.

The signage and reflectors are well done and other activities to do around the park add a little something for the family. The park around the DG course is extremely well maintained.

Rumored to be adding 9 holes soon!

Edit 09-27-10: The back 9 construction is underway. It may be on hold due to the amount of recent vandalism on the front 9. Rumors also of a new path to #1 and a practice basket.

Edit 10-19-10: The back nine was installed yesterday! More to come!

Edit 10-25-10: Rating updated from 3 to 3.5.

Edit 04-05-10: There is more work planned for this course and once the tees are all finished and clearing is done, this will easily be a 4 out of 5 star course!

Edit 11-05-11: B Position Baskets added to Holes #2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 15 & 18.

Copy of O. B. Rules used in the 2nd Annual FTO for 2011:
#1 Over fence on right
#2 Over fence on right
#3 On or over walk path, Over fence on right
#5 On or over walk path
#6 Concrete pad behind, on or over walk path
#7 Concrete pad in front of tee pad
#9 Parking lot and on or over raised curb
#10 Cell tower fence "do not try to retrieve disc"
#12 Over fence behind
#13 Over fence left
#15 Over fence beind
#16 Road behind, DROPZONE
#A On concrete, over fence on left, over painted line left, lake DROPZONE
#B On concrete, sidewalks and road behind. DROPZONE "path by basket is in"
#17 MANDO, Road off tee, DROPZONE
#18 Parking lot, Painted line by basket

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    7/1/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Bright neon-green numbers on new baskets. Long-n-wide new concrete tees on all holes but #9. Really good signs at tees, showing distance, shape of shot, elevation change, location of next tee. "Next Tee" signs and reflectors high up on many trees - easy course to navigate. Lots of mulch on typical throwing lanes and walking paths between holes.
Single tee/single basket position. Could spend some time looking for tree re-directed discs.
Other Thoughts:
Plays up, down, and across a hill containing lots of very tall hardwoods, some small trees, and a bit of undergrowth. More up hill/slope than down, more left-turns, some quite sharp, than rights. Wooded and fairly tight throughout, except across a bit of open space on longest-hole #3, and starting in open space on sharp-turning #4. The map shows #8 as a sharp right-turner, but there appears to be enough opening of the right to try a longer, gentler, left-turner (worked for me, anyway).

A local told me city has nine more baskets and money for tees and signs - hopefully everything will be equal in quality as the front nine, and the maintenance will continue to be top-notch.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Closest course to home

5+    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A tight, technical course
18 heavily wooded distinct holes
Constant and noticible improvements and upgrades by course designers / caretakers
Well marked and mapped tees
Lots of elevation changes
I hang my head and have to do the "walk of shame quite" often on this challenging course, but courses like this WILL make you a better player
Cons: Very tight fairway - don't bring your distance drivers unless you have perfect control!
This course loves to eat discs
What is it about a field of poison ivy and thorns that makes a person say to themself "hmmm, seems like the perfect spot to put a disc golf course?!" (I kid, I kid)

Other Thoughts: **UPDATE**: I've now played Parma several times and have a great deal of respect for this course. While it is short it is extremely challenging to your technique and control. I don't think I've ever thrown a good round here, this course always kicks my behind. THIS COURSE HAS GREAT POTENTIAL TO EAT DISCS!!!!! While the entire course is forested, holes 7 and 8 seem to make me look all the time for lost discs, which get caught frequently in the heavy, thorny brush. Watch hole 3 on the right for two reasons: 1.) There is a high school field with a fence that hugs the fairway. Very easy to fly your disc over the fence. Fortunately there is a hole in the bottom that some enterprising disc golfer cut into it. 2.)The wasp nest that was on hole 3 in summer 2010 is now long gone.

This is a good course to work on technique. None of the holes are very open, and the fairway is extremely tight on many of them. Lost a Wraith and Champion Beast on hole 8, took an hour and a half to find them, but fortunately find them we did. I have to admit that for awhile in 2010 I avoided this course because of the awful scores I have at it. But the fact is that this is a great, great course that can only improve your game if you give it the chance. The back nine is settling in nicely; look for the wood chips on the ground to have an accurate idea of the tee locations. Holes 14 and 15 are uniquely challenging, and stand out in my mind, with 14 going up and to the right of a slight hill under heavy forest canopy, and 15 shooting down that hill, into a small valley, and up a much larger hill. After those two, 16 seems like sort of a relief, straight down the side of another hill through as generous and straight a fairway as you'll find at VMP.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    6/7/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: vinmoe73
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very well maintained public park.
family friendly park
dries quickly after rain. (good use of wood chips)
plenty of parking
Cons: short course.
little room for error.
Other Thoughts: it appears that there will be some expansion coming soon.

I'm a new player and fortunate to have Vets as my home course. Over the past couple of months, I've played (poorly) several courses in northeastern ohio. I really think that Vets deserves a much better rating that it gets.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.