Lambertville, MI 
Parmelee Park Share
Uploaded By: hoyle7780 Hole #14
3 / 173ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Really fun runnin’ ‘em!

2-4    10/9/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 177  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole park course in Lambertville, MI starts and finishes in a 'seasoned' park with holes ranging from 209 to 397 feet where you can choose a line amongst the larger trees and rip it at the 24 chain DGA baskets. The tees throughout are large enough, level, concrete, and mostly flush with the ground. On holes 4 through 14, you'll get to challenge your control in and amongst the wooded area of the park just south and east of the water tower. These holes are shorter (146 to 203 feet), and force more technical lines, but the woods are mostly cleared underneath and often lined with the fallen timbers, so you'd have a hard time losing a disc here. The shorter holes in the woods are mostly putter to mid runs for an Intermediate level player, but the entire course seems to get a good deal of casual to Recreational play…because it's actually fun to go for those aces! And if you clip a tree, you usually can have a mini-thrill seeing if you can save the par.

There is a practice basket by the gravel parking lot, and I saw a sign tacked to the tree that faces the first tee that was advertising a sanctioned event. The course flow is mostly intuitive and the tees are all marked by a small concrete sign indicating line and distance. There were a number of holes that featured the basket hiding just past a tree or two, but the shortness of the course means that your walk ahead to check it out isn't very long.

For the rest of the family, there is a very nice playground, ball field, enclosed skate park, a port-a-potty, a shelter, and other attractions to keep them busy while you play the 18 hole loop fairly easily in under an hour.
Cons: The one spot that wasn't obvious to a first-timer, was having to pass the 15th tee between holes 3 and 4. Some of the need to double back in the woods (like on holes 5 to 6 and from 12 to 13) are ameliorated by the lining of fairways and paths with the fallen timbers. I'll be adding a course map as soon as I get that drawn up, to help other first timers.

The course does play in a flat plain, and there isn't any grassy undergrowth in the woods, leaving me with the impression that it might get a little sloppy in there during the wetter seasons of the year. There are old, concrete foundations in and to the right of the 18th fairway which could eat into baseline plastic a bit (after it has hit some bark in the woods on 4-14), so expect your cheaper plastic to beat in quickly if you play here a lot.
Other Thoughts: Finally, if you are the type to 'need' longer holes to give you a challenge, Parmelee probably won't be your cup of tea. But if you are looking for a quick, fun round while traveling through just between Toledo and Detroit, it's a good little park to try out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Harmlesslee

2-4    8/9/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 102  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Can complete a round in 40 minutes
2) Ace runs
3) Good practice for learning mid-range and putter drives
4) concrete tees
Cons: 1) Way short
2) Holes too close to each other in woods - hazardous
3) Road leading to course is bumpy af - not going to knock the course rating for it though
4) No elevation
5) 1 set of tees
Other Thoughts: This is a little baby course. About 2/3 of the holes are crammed into a small, tightly wooded space. The rest of the holes are in an open area with mature trees scattered throughout.

Upon arriving at the course, I couldn't help but thinking....oh, one of these kind of courses. We have a couple where I'm from....Blendon Woods and Kinslow Park. Basically, these kinds of courses are only good for mid-range and putter action. Put your drivers away.

The course starts off in the open for a couple of holes and quickly goes into the woods for the next 11 holes or so. The holes in the woods are pretty much all ace runs if you hit the lines right. It's a deuce or die kind of course. Most of the holes in the woods are way too close together on top of being short and I could see people getting hit all the time in there, either from bad drives or from good drives that nick a tree and ricochet into you. The last few holes are in the open again, and hole 18 is a legit hole at over 300'.

This course would have been better suited as a 9 holer and could've been a good one at that because it's got some good property (albeit flat) to build some cool holes. Instead, they forced 18 holes in here when they shouldn't have. If you're a beginner, you'll probably really like the course, but if you've been playing 5 years or more, you're probably going to want to head to Vienna Park, which is only 15 minutes away.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

the Iron leaf is strong with this one...

1    3/10/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic/safety- course plays through a multi-use park and through a woods off to the side of it. Course comes dangerously close to other amenities and neighbors backyards.

Teepads- nice and in good repair. there is a great variety of lengths but they seem to be appropriate to the hole length. When we were here, they were shoveled/salted with heavy snow on the course.

Teesigns- from the pictures (as they were covered) they look nice. a map may be helpful for winter play.

Baskets- nice and visible in the heavier woods. orange necks help this out nicely.

Routing and nav- not too bad. It looks like someone had either snow blowed or shoveled the paths at some point this winter as the snow was relatively light and made it easier to nav through the woods.

Amenities- plenty of places to sit on the course and a practice basket are nice touches.
Cons:
Danger- As stated above, this course plays very close to other amenities and neighbors backyards. Some of the first 3 teepads are literally 3 feet from the fence line. Not sure how safe this is.

Teesigns- Much like Vienna park, the teesigns are flush to the ground. During the winter these are impossible to see (we saw zero). stand up signs would most likely be more helpful.

Challenge- Very little challenge. the open holes are very open. the woods holes are very short.

Woods fairways- a bit rediculously tight. I can't imagine what these are like in the summer when the leaves are in.

Other Thoughts: This course was just a whole lot of "meh." a fun short round during the summer, the winter was a bit longer (I'm sure) but not too bad.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Improvements Have Been Made

5+    6/26/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: DiscGolfJason
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like the way they have changed this course over the years. When I first came to it, it was missing several holes and since then it has been redesigned rather well. The section through the woods in some of the most exciting DG in the area. I really appreciate how they used logs to mark the paths and used wood chips to make a nice playing surface. The concrete tees and signs make finding holes easy. Practice basket for warming up.
Cons: Some of the course is open to a park and watching out for pedestrians can be a bummer. I imagine that bugs could be a real concern during certain parts of the year so plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: Great location for a day of disc golf. Love playing Vienna, Parmalee, Ottawa, and then Bowling Green in one day.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/9/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This short, mostly wooded course has a practice basket by the parking lot. There are concrete pads and next to them, there is a small concrete square with the hole number and distance listed on it.

The first three and last four holes have some mature trees to navigate. The rest of the holes are in the woods with tight but fair fairways.

There is good shot diversity here. Some holes have multiple routes to the basket and some holes force turnover shots for RHBH players.

Navigation is fairly easy and the path to the next holes in the woods are lined with logs.
Cons: This course is extremely short. Granted most of the course is very wooded, but ten hole are less than 200 feet long and there are only two holes over 300 feet.

Some of the holes are pretty close together so errant shots can land in other fairways.

On holes 1 - 3, the fence is rather close to the fairways. On hole one there is barely 30 feet between the basket and the fence to someone's back yard.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course but it's so short it doesn't present much of a challenge. This is a great course for newer players (with the exception of holes 1-3) and those looking to work on accuracy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    11/13/2010   3/28/2011
Review By: Nemer06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Playing this course will make you a good player. 9 holes wooded 9 holes open. Nice tees a very nice course
Cons: No course map. easy place to a lose disc.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoy this course its better in the spring than fall because of all the leaves that are on the ground make it very hard for you to find your disc.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little pitch'n'putt

1    7/14/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: cfair
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -You will work your short game. If you aren't a technical player this course will teach you to be.
-You will work putting. Being a pitch and putt course your score will hing on your ability to make 20'-30' putts.
-Its short so it is good for a quick round or if you want a lot of practice you can get a couple of rounds in quick.
-Well maintained despite the small DG community in the area.
-Lots of ace-able holes
Cons: -Because it is short and can seem monotonous. Drive, putt, putt... drive, putt... drive putt, putt.
-One of the baskets was stolen so you just have to pole it... no one's fault just kinda stinks...
-Tee signs aren't the best but I've been spoiled by some very nice ones. although the basket is never far from you.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, right next to an old park. Everything in the area is small. There is a PIAS 10 minutes away that you can check out. Also in the summer, remember your bug spray and germ-x for poison ivy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great for the ego!

5+    11/17/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: Canis Lupis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Ace-zilla! With the exception of 2 or 3 holes every hole is an legitimate ace opportunity.
- Short, compact course means quick rounds.
- Once you find the first tee you are pretty much set for the rest of the course. (with the exception of 3 basket to 4 tee, but its on the other side of the water tower.)
- While lacking in distance, this course offers a chance to work on every shot in your arsenal.
- Great practice for deep woods.
- Logs outline the heavily wooded holes.
- Tee signs with distance and hole shape at every hole.
- Good People.
- Adjacent skate park posers eating rail regularly offers some levity to your round
Cons: - Short
- Tight
- No garbage cans
- You could kill a small child on the playground by biffing on a drive on 18.
- Traffic jams are miserable in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course. It's somewhere that you can play, have a great time, and score well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always a Fun Round

5+    11/13/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of Ace Runs, so it makes for a fun round.
- Nicely marked paths through the woods.
- Once you play this course a few times get ready to shoot a low round.
- With a skate park on site you will occasionally catch a major wipe out!
Cons: - First time I played here the grass wasn't cut and the mosquitoes were horrible. Since then I have had no problems
- Watch out for dog poop, as many locals walk their dogs in this park. Especially in the fall when the leaves may hide it.
- In the fall the leaves cover most of the course so keep your eye on your disc.
Other Thoughts: - This is a great little course to perfect some midrange and unique shots. I enjoy being able to play 2-3 rounds in a reasonable amount of time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Charming woods trails

2-4    12/4/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A lot of finesse shots.
- The back woods section is quite pretty, with log-edged trails guiding you around.
- Good signs, etched concrete is hard to steal or vandalize, work well with the character.
- Good flow from shot to shot.
- In the shadow of the Lambertville watertower, yet not dominated by it.
- Good conditions, it seems the locals really love it.
- Great use of the land. Beautiful trees make you forget the terrain's limitations.
-Skateboard park right nearby, got to watch someone do tricks while walking up two fairways.
-Stump seating at nearly every hole in the forest.
Cons: - Very little distance. Most every hole is under 200'.
- Flat as a course could ever possibly be.
- Course is tight and folds back on itself, on crowded days you'd really have to watch out for shanked drives.
- May be a little confusing to find hole 4 after hole 3. After the third watertower hole, head to the woods behind the fence. The best part of the course is about to begin.
- No trashcans at the tees. But not much trash.
Other Thoughts: I had an absolute blast playing here. My distance has been suffering a little from a recent injury, so not having to throw as hard was not a problem. I wasn't expecting anything special from Parmalee, but I figured I ought to play it since I was down here for Vienna anyway. I pulled up at the parking lot, and outside the course the pavement and vacant lots and chain link fences stretched away, looking like an industrial zone. But I quickly located the first tee to the left of the entrance, and threw back to the corner. The industry was gone to me, and two quick holes later I was passing a water tower and entering an enchanted forest trail. The next 9 holes I spent finessing disc on interesting lines through cute little fairways, all the while, guided by logs. Trees were hit, but the roughs were forgiving and all my discs were easy to find. On a number of occasions I held my breath as I nearly hit aces. This was an exciting adventure, and I'm glad to see another quality course in southeastern Michigan.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.