Disc Golf Store
Plain City, OH 
Pastime Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: fender36 Hole #4
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
View from 4



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One for the campers?

2-4    4/19/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 177  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pastime Park nine hole course in Plain City, Ohio, has holes ranging from 190 to 284 feet in length, with massive old trees to force some line decisions off the grass tees. With good hole signage and Innova DisCatcher baskets, the essential elements for a basic course are in place. Using the driveways, paths, fences & buildings to define OB gives the casual to Intermediate disc golfer a chance to work on some precision. The design uses the limited spaces available fairly well for what they were given.
Cons: However, the fact that the course plays in the flat, camper hookup area of the fairgrounds/park means that there will be a lot of non-disc golfers in range when events are going on here. So the disc golfer needs to be extra cautious at such times. The holes had to be situated as best they could where throws could be made safely, so there are sometimes some long walks from basket to next tee, but there are no 'next tee' signs. I added an aerial schematic map you might want to take with you the first time.

The holes are all somewhat similar in range and in the fact that they are flat, with 2-3 obstacles to consider. None truly stand out as 'memorable'. And trying to park hole 6 with a rhbh hyzer puts the 7th tee area well within accident range (see map). Finally, the second basket was missing a (or had a loose) ring, so half of its chains were just hanging there.
Other Thoughts: It was interesting to note that the tee signs all had a line of flight drawn, with most of them fading to the right on approach, so I wanted to hazard a guess that the designer is either rhfh or lhbh. Just a fun guess, though (which might help in your decision whether a course like this is something you'd want to visit). If this park has an event, or if Pastime Park isn't your cup of tea, there are two other courses nearby, depending on which way you feel like shifting your game: down for the shortie (Balgriffen) over in Dublin, or up for the lengthier (from the long tees) 18 hole course just north (Glacier Ridge).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small Course

2-4    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Good Baskets
Nice Mature Trees Throughout
Tee Signs at Every Hole
Good Layout (Loops Through the Park)
Camping In Park (Summer Months Only)
Restaurant and Convenience Store withing Walking Distance
Cons:
Natural Tees Are Getting Ruts
Plays Through Other Park Traffic
Two Baskets Are Missing
All Holes < 300
First Holes Play Near Houses With Fences
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice little course located in a small park/campground on the edge of Plain City, OH. The park itself has walking trails, playgrounds, and picnic areas as well as campsites that are available during the summer months (Begins April 1st.)

Hole one is located near the main entrance to the park, across from the playground, and loops through the park back to the entrance. The course itself is definitely a beginner course and would be great for families to spend a day, but intermediate players would even call this one a pitch-n-putt.

While I wouldn't go out of the way to play this one, it might be a good place to camp with the family if you are wanting a place to stay close to Columbus. Glacier Ridge is about 10 minutes away and while not much longer has 18 holes and is a bit more challenging, so playing both with the family or beginner is do-able which adds to the appeal for families.

While I was out there the course was completely empty, but there were a couple of other park users and I did have to wait on them a couple times.Walking trails and roads come into play quite often so you do have to be on the lookout and wait for others to clear before throwing. Another problem is two baskets seem to be missing (7 & 8). I don't know if this is a temporary thing or what, but I know right now there are only seven baskets and nine tee signs. While its not really a huge deal, as it wasn't anything amazing to begin with and you could easily just play two of the holes twice, it is a bit of a downside to the already small course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice baskets
-in small secluded park
-great for beginners
-no wait to throw
-easy to navigate
-signs for every hole
-short course makes for a quick round
Cons: -too short for anyone aside from beginners
-signs need some maintenance
-a couple baskets too close to buildings
-has flyways that cross walking paths and near roads
-didnt see any trash cans or restrooms
-dirt tees forming ruts in them

Other Thoughts: it was ok, i would think it would be nice to have if you lived very close to the course, but nothing to go out of your way for. might be back if i'm in the area but i will likely not go out of my way to get back to this course since there are so many other great ones in the area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  My first love.

5+    7/1/2009   7/27/2010
Review By: jwilson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are good. Short course for a quick round.
Cons: Agree with other raters, there are safety problems with the course. Generally there aren't people on the course but occasionally someone will park a camper or a car right in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I was part of the team that installed this course as a community event before I even played disc golf. While the installation is a little on the cheap side, it is this course that made me fall in love with the sport so I just can't rate it below a 2. I worked close by and played this course just about every day of the summer for two or three years and rarely had a problem with people in/on the course - but that might be related to timing (lunch).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For what its worth..

1    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Nice park
-Low traffic (if you time it right)
-Good signage ++
Cons: - Layout is a little rough
- Course location intermixes with high traffic park areas.
- Little variation
Other Thoughts: Items to note that I dont necessarily consider cons but many players will probably dislike:
-short course
-poorly marked natural tees
-9 hole

This is another situation of where the city decided to put in the course as a draw for the park. Honestly, the main problem is that the course plays pretty much entirely over top of regularly used traffic areas of the park. Instead of the park building a DG course, they dropped in a course on top of the park. Like the other reviewer stated, there are picnic tables and such layed out in fairways.

I played around lunchtime on a Friday in May. Schools are still in session and the park was empty. In that case it was a very relaxing easy round or two of DG practice. During the summer when families are out all hours of the day and/or weekends will be a totally different story.

I enjoyed my round but proper timing is key to a unobstructed round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A plain course in a plain flat plain

1    5/27/2008   9/16/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NOTE: I rated this course according to how good it is for a Red level player.

Green grass and some nice old growth trees. Double chain DISCatcher baskets. I can't think of much else.
Cons: -Safety issues on 6 of 9 holes. Mix lots of safety issues with a busy multi-use park and a course best suited for newer players and you've got a recipe for lots of problems. The picture of the hole 9 fairway on DGCR tells you a lot. You'll see a car in the fairway, a bench you have to throw over, and some people who probably weren't disc golfers.
-The course is totally flat; there's no elevation change on any hole!
-There's very little length variety; all holes are 190-284 ft. (1 of 190/ 8 of 200-284.)
-The tees are dirt and grass and some are uneven.
-Very few amenities. No map, score cards, practice basketů
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Red (most suitable for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 825-875)

This course OK for Red level players, but it won't inspire them. Those who don't far-- new players, Juniors, some women-- might find it a good place to learn the game before moving on elsewhere. All but the shortest throwing adult males can safely skip this course.

You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.