Homewood, IL 
Patriots Park Share
Uploaded By: PSC_wicked_clown Hole #4
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quick Fun

2-4    11/5/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: KWK82
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Well kept park.
-Nice Flow
Cons:
-Too short.
-Risk of losing discs in peoples fenced yards.
-Some markers are missing.
-Some baskets are pretty beatup.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course for a warmup or on a lunch break if you are near by. This is not a course with anything special.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short Beginner's Course

2-4    6/8/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 192  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Patriots Park is a small, well-kept, family friendly, multi-use park facility catering to the surrounding neighborhood. The short 9-hole disc golf course runs along the perimeter of the park along with a walking path. Playgrounds, ball diamonds, portajohns on site.
- Mostly flat, the few minor dips and rises in terrain are put to good use.
- Mostly open, the course has just enough trees to make a couple of holes interesting after repeated plays. This is a great course to work on an approach and putting game, or for beginners to get a taste of what disc golf can offer. By no means bad, simply an entry level course designed to pique interest in our sport.
- Mixed tees. Decent fine white crushed gravel tees in some spots, and blacktop sidewalk in others. Mostly level and plenty long. Good signage (when present) depicts a map of the hole including OB, trees, and puddles of PP*, as well as distances and hole number.
Cons: - Short and open on many holes, honestly Patriots doesn't offer much for experienced discers other than a practice field or a chance to pick up aces.
- Single-chained baskets in poor shape. Some leaning precariously, others rusted or with loose tops or chains.
- The walking path and other park activity can definitely hamper a round here, although it seems people are used to seeing discers and willing to share the park.
- Private properties line the park, often with fences. Keep your discs on the fairway or risk losing them.
- Missing signs (#2) in places.
- Recent loss of two large trees severely hurt the awesomeness of a hole or two.
Other Thoughts: - Worth stopping by for a quick round if you're in the area, but don't expect to be "wowed."
* Seriously, they have what looks like puddles labelled simply as "PP*." Checking the asterisk shows this simply means "prairie plantings," which was disappointing: I wanted the risk of having to avoid pools of urine. :|

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown favorite

5+    1/8/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: Mbagnola1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open holes and a few with minimal tree cover. Easy and quick to play,a 9 hole round will take you 25 minutes. I enjoy this course as a warm-up or cool down or for a quick practice round. This is the first course i ever played and will be my go to for years to come.
Cons: Patriots park is a family park with a disc golf course in it. Watch out for children,dogs, and other park going people. Mid afternoon and evening hours are the most crowded
Other Thoughts: Great for practice and beginners.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    11/29/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set around a small park, and is pretty isolated except for a walking path.
- There are some holes with smaller trees to snag drives, and others with larger trees to get around. Usually there are a few ways to go, but some are pretty tricky with low hanging branches in tough spots. At least one hole doesn't have a clear hyzer route.
- Some smaller rolling hills are present, so there are some noticeable downhill shots and some mildly sloped greens.
- Good tee signs where present, tees in good shape, decent baskets. Navigation is brainless.
Cons: - The hole lengths are pretty limited in the small area, with a bunch of holes near 200'. There are a few around 270', but overall it is pretty short.
- Fair amount of holes are wide open or close to it, with little thought needed.
- Teepads painted on the path are slippery and sometimes awkwardly placed.
Other Thoughts: - Great course for beginners, or those trying to polish some things up. A few holes have good trick shot possibilities, and some interesting lines can be found. Other holes are basic ace runs or just solid putt/approach practice.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 It's a course

1    5/1/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads were well designated and none were natural. It was a mixture of what appeared to be crushed limestone (gravel) and some were on the black top. Access to the park was simple and there were bathrooms avialable as well. I didn't check for a drinking fountain but I assume there was one there.
Cons: The tee pads on the black top were dangerously slippery when they were wet. Some of the holes put you very close to baseball fields and the park which can be dangerous when congested. At least one of the baskets had been hit by a falling limb from a tree. The holes were very short in measurement and I am willing to bet as stated before they probably all werent distanced correctly. about half of the holes didn't have tee signs.
Other Thoughts: There is no way possible that I can write a long review and make this sound like a nice course. It was completely birdie runs (-8 when I played). The people at the park were very polite and were very concious of a person playing. Dont bother to go out of your way to play there, it isn't worth it. It would be a nice place to work on different mid shots but that is about it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 walkers on path at 8 a.m.

1    11/20/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 719  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Yardage says 1700 ft. total; I thought more like 2,000, my playing partner, thought perhaps 2,300 ft. (perhaps this is just because it was our 12th course in three days; and the first of the morning?)
Willow hole is a nice hole (#5). Gotta go low or a huge spike heiser (rhbh). Hole #6 also a good looking hole; with willows in play.
Signs on all holes, except nine missing.
Tees are sloped. I bet this is for drainage. Limestone....done well, if you don't mind the slope.
I took only a buzz and a putter along; and could have used the speed of a driver on 3 or 4 drives.
This is another of those nines, that if you use the walking path as o.b., you can add a level of difficulty to round. My playing partner was surrounded once, I was across once, and in a backyard, once. We didn't play any o.b. But, that would have been three o.b.s if we were.
Cons: Course short.
Course plain....no real variety.
Walkers on the paths at 8 a.m. Sometimes, in play. They were nice and we all smiled at each other, but we did have to wait slightly, twice.
Other Thoughts: My thoughts are empty....see mashnut's review for more....

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing special

1    10/18/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around the edges of a small multi-use park. There are some scattered small trees, and a few large willows come into play on one hole. These willows make that hole pretty interesting by creating a very low ceiling to throw under. There is a little bit of elevation on a couple holes, which adds a little bit more interest.

The park is very nicely manicured, with nicely mowed grass, and is generally a nice park. There was no trash or debris around, and no vandalism on any of the signs or baskets. There are decent tee signs, though I agree with the other reviewer who said the distances seemed a bit suspect. The tees were a mix of asphalt (on the walking path) and crushed gravel, both of which provide pretty good traction.
Cons: The park seemed pretty heavily used, and the course plays very close to baseball, soccer, a playground, and often throws along or over the walking path that goes around the park. The other park users seemed pretty aware of the course, but it seemed like a lot of safety issues, especially on such a beginner friendly course.

The tees that weren't on the walking path were very small, and often sloped in some way. They were a fine surface, but just didn't really provide a good teeing area, though the holes were short enough it didn't really matter.

There isn't a whole lot of variety here. Other than the hole with the willows, all the rest are straight, short, and open. There aren't any obstacles to force any specific lines, every hole is easy to reach no matter how you throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice beginner course, with no chances to lose a disc, and very reachable holes. More experienced players won't find much here to bring them back, there just isn't much challenge even if you leave your bag behind and carry just a mid and putter. Don't drive out of your way to play this one, but it's an ok place for a really quick round in a nice little park.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer

2-4    7/31/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2009
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners and youngsters. But, this review is based on what I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D+
(Holes 4 & 6 have a couple of trees to navigate and hole 5 has some low-hanging weeping willows to throw under, but other than that no real obstacles.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == D
(I shot a 9 down 18 with just a midrange first time out if that says anything.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(see #1 for obstacles that at least add a little variety)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(park is nice, clean and well maintained but you basically play around the perimeter of the park with a soccerfield in the middle. No seclusion from other park users in this multi-use park.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course

5+    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: blong
Played: 71  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good course for beginners. Not very technically demanding, despite what previous reviews say. The holes are very short, all under 300 ft with most around 250 ft. Good use of available land; considering I grew up here, it's probably the best layout they could come up with. Course flows well; you end close to where you start. Good tee signs (a couple of them don't seem accurate on the distance though). Not many disc golfers here. Playground can be busy with kids, but parents to a good job keeping them away from golfers. Residents are friendly. There is a walking path which circles the course, so be mindful. There are bathrooms, water fountains, and benches for relaxing in the shade. Park is clean with an adequate # of garbage cans. (the Homewood Park District has a great reputation). If your in the area it's a quick fun round, but not worth a special trip.
Cons: No elevation changes. Very open and flat. Not many mature trees; only a couple of mature Willows. Tees are crushed gravel, so they do get worn out, but appear to be replenished from time to time. Most holes are a straight throw, with few obstacles, only some small trees.
Other Thoughts: There is a baseball field at one end of the park. The outfield is large enough that it doesn't interfere with the holes. It's a decent couse. Sergeant Means Park is more enjoyable. Years from now, when the trees are bigger, the course will probably be a little busier, perhaps a little more challenging as well. Like the other reviewer said, it can be fun to create your own holes at this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the fam!

2-4    11/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: KG_MCDGC
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very family friendly, the longest hole was about 275. But the layout is still technically demanding.
Cons: Short, short, short holes. And the Discatchers don't have inner chains, so it spit out my discs a few times.
Other Thoughts: No one was at the park while I was there. So I made my own Alt. course. I had a blast.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.