St. Louis (Manchester), MO 
Paul A. Schroeder Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGoldenPutter Hole #6 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 337ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Golden Niner

5+    5/30/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: lbond
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: - Excellent variety for a nine hole course.
- Locals are always very friendly.
- Concrete Pads
- Multiple basket placements and extra set of natural alternate tee pads
Cons: - Tee pads can be short
- Can get congested between 7 and 1
- Lots of local teenage turds come out and mess with the picnic tables and benches.
Other Thoughts: I love Schroeder. This was the course I started on and is still the best 9 hole I have played. It has a great variety of shots both in and out of the woods, the baskets are changed regularly and the park setting is very nice. If I were traveling around playing, this probably wouldn't be on my list to visit, but as a nice local 9 it can't be beat.

Basket Switch-a-roo!

1    9/15/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Great course that has decent "flow." Good for beginners and noticed lots of veterans on the course as well. Seems to be a popular place, and even has a disc shop on site! Tees are interesting shape that gives you the option of taking some interesting approaches.
Cons: The flow is good, but still got lost briefly, many baskets are in view when teeing off, and hole 7/8 had the baskets swapped which was a little confusing at first, but got it sorted out.
Other Thoughts: Had fun, be careful of other players and pedestrians!

 

5+    7/12/2012   8/8/2010
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete teepads on all holes, and new signs (already have graffiti on them)

quick rounds

all of the holes except holes 1, hole 6(residents near by complained of discs in their yard), and hole 9 (sleeve got messed up) have new pin placements and get moved back and forth on occasion. These placements add a little length and difficulty to the course

Course is well kept and usually in great shape.

Mulch has been added around the baskets and along some of the trails to deal with muddy areas.

Underbrush isn't too bad, so losing a disc is difficult

good use of mature trees and some elevation makes the course somewhat interesting. with the woods coming into play on 6 of the holes.
Cons: if all the pins are in the original position there isn't a whole lot of challenge

only 9 holes, but locals have alternate tees for (1,2,3,5,6,9) to add some variety

hole 7 is a little tight and throws can end up in some tall brush easily or could end up by 8 basket. And tee shots on 8 can end up on 7's fairway if you over throw the basket

the basket for 1 is basically in the fairway for hole 6, there is a mando on 6, but the sign got stolen, and people disregard it or miss it, or flip something too much so heads up around 1's basket if there are people on 6
Other Thoughts: This course can get very busy in the afternoons and weekends.

Local random doubles league is on tuesday nights at 5:30

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9 Hole

5+    5/2/2012   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great elevation use
- tight wooded holes
- overall great variety of shots
- Softball fields within walking distance (other side of park) where you can practice your drives.

UPDATE 5.2.2012 - giving the course a half star upgrade.

-Tees seem to be brand new.
-Maps on tees are very helpful.
Cons: - 1, 6, and 9 seem to be dangerously close to one another... keep your head up when playing these holes.
Other Thoughts: This was the very first course I ever played disc golf on. I also got my first Ace on hole 1 here. The park also includes a public pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, sand volleyball courts, a playground, and a pair of softball fields. Needless to say, this park has a lot of teen traffic. Pranksters seem to have their way with Schroeder and it is no wonder why the locals are not huge fans of the course.

Apart from that, this course/park is a great place to learn disc golf. Lightly - heavily wooded holes can teach a disc golfer all sorts of shots that will translate well on many courses. Elevation changes present formidable challenges for all throwers.

UPDATE 5.2.2012

Tees have been vastly upgraded, and it seems the course is cleaner than ever. This seems to have made the course way more popular and therefore way more crowded - I will say that everyone I encountered had great etiquette and was very polite. Also the park office now sells discs when it is open. I am upgrading my initial rating of 2.5 to 3. Reason I don't think it is any higher is because the criss cross of 1 - 6 - 9 still bothers me, and the fact that it is in the end just 9 holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, 9 holer

1    8/24/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun layout and nice location. The course is situated on a hillside, which makes for some interesting shots. It has a nice mix of holes and the grounds are generally well maintained. My wife and daughter loved it.

The tee pads have been covered with wood chips and that really helps with the erosion problem mentioned above. And some of the wooded holes are also covered with woodchips, so they don't get muddy when it rains.
Cons: It's hard to find some of the holes. The maps on the tee boxes are inaccurate, so they're basically worthless.
Other Thoughts: I don't think I ever found hole 6. We ended up playing the hole 8 basket instead.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

4/25/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course that plays on a big hillside, it is well maintained. The first hole is a long downhill that you will want to throw every disc in your bag to see how close you can get. Offers a variety of terrain
Cons: Very busy course, short, some of the holes are hard to navigate, especially number 4 i think.
Other Thoughts: wish it was 18.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.