Manchester, MO 
Paul A. Schroeder Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGoldenPutter Hole #9 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 368ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Really Enjoyable 9 Hole Play!

1    10/22/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schroeder Park's DGC shows right from the start the amount of work that has been put into this course. First you see a very, impressive colonial looking course dedication sign. The concrete tee pads are shaped to be wider at the front. # 1 pad is a well engineered pad. The tee signs are basic fiberglass giving the usual information. There are plenty of garbage cans around. There's a sign at # 1 stating that the course is closed on Tuesday nights for league Play.

# 1 is just a pretty hole. It plays 262' slightly downhill through a natural looking fairway. 2 & 3 were both similar holes with visible baskets. # 4 was a pretty throw across a small valley playing 245-307' with a fairly tight window to hit, another pretty hole.

Matter of fact, all of the holes here were pretty. This was just a nice little park with very little underbrush. Just the right amount of rolling hills and enough trees for challenge. The course gives you a little bit of everything, some downhill, hysers, anhysers, uphills, some semi-technical. It doesn't have the dramatic downhill or any over the water shots.
Cons: I had a really difficult time finding this park. My GPS took me to totally different part of town. Then when I finally found the park, I drove in, looked around and saw no evidence of any disc golf course. So I left and drove all around the town, thinking there might be another entrance to the park. I finally came back, asked a maintenance worker and he directed me to the courses, saying, "oh yah, You can't miss it!" Buddy, I've been missing it for about an hour.

It's a little short for some players. I'd call it a nice little recreational course. Lacks challenge for many players.

There are some holes playing close to each other. As this course gets busy, players will have to be cautious.

Navigation is a little tricky around # 4.
Other Thoughts: Fun, easy, enjoyable course to play. You can get through it in 30-40 minutes, stress free with little worry of losing discs or falling off any ravines. Excellent courses for beginners or less skilled players but sill good fun but better players. I'd love to live near this course or better yet, wrap it up and take it back to Washington with me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

5+    8/25/2015   8/29/2015
Review By: CatPoopie
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good variety among holes
-Challenging for beginner and intermediate players.
-Multiple hole placements that can actually change your strategy.
-The park has caretakers on staff, so it never gets overgrown.
-Small area that really maximizes the available space
Cons: -Some of the baskets need to be replaced, and some of the wooded areas need to be cleaned up.
-There is a crazy amount of poison ivy and poison sumac just to the right of the fairway on hole 4.
-Holes 7 and 8 need to be clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: A lot of reviewers mention how crowded this place can be. I play here a lot and I suppose that's true to some extent, but I've never been concerned with that. This is a solid course layout with plenty of challenge.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Old Faithful

5+    8/21/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: blake13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete teepads
- Well-manicured grass throughout
- Ample trashcans
- Good use of elevation
- Nice mix of long and short drives
- Nice mix of open and technical drives
- Located in a nice park
- Multiple pin placements
- Quick to play
Cons: - Crowded at times
- Overlapping fairways (the basket for Hole 1 is in the line of the throw for Hole 6)
- Lousy tee signs
- Only 9 holes
- Lack of a permanent mando sign for Hole 6; keeps getting stolen
Other Thoughts: Schroeder is the best 9 hole course in St. Louis. It only takes about 35 minutes to get through the 9 holes, but I can easily play three rounds in a row. Despite the course being tucked into a relatively small area, the design allows for nearly every possible shot to be used. Trees become a factor for several of the holes, while others are pretty much wide open to bring out the high speed, high glide drivers. The multiple pin placements keep the course from getting boring and demand different approaches when they are in place. Don't let the low rating for this course fool you--Schroeder is a fantastic place to play even though it only has 9 holes. You will have a fun time and keep a pretty low score, too, as the pars are reasonable (locals play all par 3s).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Golden Niner

5+    5/30/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: lbond
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent variety for a nine hole course.
- Locals are always very friendly.
- Concrete Pads
- Multiple basket placements and extra set of natural alternate tee pads
Cons: - Tee pads can be short
- Can get congested between 7 and 1
- Lots of local teenage turds come out and mess with the picnic tables and benches.
Other Thoughts: I love Schroeder. This was the course I started on and is still the best 9 hole I have played. It has a great variety of shots both in and out of the woods, the baskets are changed regularly and the park setting is very nice. If I were traveling around playing, this probably wouldn't be on my list to visit, but as a nice local 9 it can't be beat.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/8/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schroeder offers quite a few different shots for only being a 9 hole course. It also varies due to multiple basket locations for each hole and for some of those locals..there are actually extra flagged tee pads that are used to play an 18 hole league on Tuesday nights.. of course you can play these other times as well. This course features concrete tee pads, metal tee signs, trash cans, park benches, bathrooms and small pro shop located in the park & rec center. This course is easily the best 9 holer i have played to date.. Also i really recommend checking out the tuesday night league that i had mentioned before.. It runs all year long with glow thru the winter. begins around 530pm.
Cons: Can get congested with new players who dont necessarily know the finer points of disc golf yet..

Also.. do not throw in the yard of the white house near hole 6..this old lady will take your disc and not return it.. she has a stack of a few hundred in her garage..
Other Thoughts: Awesome design by Dave Mac again.. Great job by course captain Grant Goodrich on keeping it clean up there

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Basket Switch-a-roo!

1    9/15/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Great course that has decent "flow." Good for beginners and noticed lots of veterans on the course as well. Seems to be a popular place, and even has a disc shop on site! Tees are interesting shape that gives you the option of taking some interesting approaches.
Cons: The flow is good, but still got lost briefly, many baskets are in view when teeing off, and hole 7/8 had the baskets swapped which was a little confusing at first, but got it sorted out.
Other Thoughts: Had fun, be careful of other players and pedestrians!

 Great way to squeeze a course in a park

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I gave this course a 'very good' partly because of the excellent signage. The maps proved to be pretty accurate. Although all the holes are pretty short there is plenty of variety in elevation and challenging squeezes through woods to get to the basket. A great park to bring your family to play on the excellent playgrounds and water park while you fit in some disc practice.
Cons: Although well laid out for the amount of space available, it might be even better to make it a 6 hole course to provide some longer tees. A little crowded, but fortunately stays out of the way of other park functions.
Other Thoughts: Excellent use of space. Just goes to show that its well worth it to fit in a well thought out course to any park that can find a few acres that are underused. Wish my hometown (Newnan, GA) could figure that out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Improving park

5+    3/29/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: TheGoldenPutter
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start out by saying this is the best 9 hole course in the area. A lot of new stuff has been done and the park has gone from sketchy to a good course.

+ NEW PIN PLACEMENTS ON EVERY HOLE. Each hole as gotten 1 new pin placement(except #1) which REALLY improves the quality of this park, and the local players love it. Also the new placements make it more difficult because most of the holes are longer and the baskets aren't staring at you for an ace.

+ Terrain-The course is on a large gradual hill with small valleys in the woods. Even in its limited area, the park used the terrain very well. There are
2 uphill-downhill shots
2 holes where you throw over a small depression
2 holes that have a sharp hill
3 holes in the woods
3 holes in the open(park style)
3 holes with woods and open area.
The set up of the course mixes the different terrains very well.

+ Maintenance-Grass is always cut, mulch around pin placements, mulch through cleared paths in the woods, trashcans at every other tee, benches on a few tees as well. The underbrush in the woods is mostly cleared out so if your disc goes into the ruff you aren't bushwhacking to find your disc.

+ The challenge to get deuces and a few aces bring you back for more.
+ Concrete tee pads

**UPDATE 7-19-12 **
Drainage issue on #3 and #4 has been fixed.
Cons: - The park is just on the short side. Only one of the holes could be considered "long" (#6). Even though theres diverse shots, none really allow you to "grip and rip"

- Hole interference- The park had to move holes #6 and #7 a while back because the residents in the houses close to the park were not happy about discs in their yards. This causes an interference with #6 and #1. The issue is #6's fairway passes right by #1's pin, so this causes you to wait if somebody is throwing on the other hole.
--- Not as big as an issue but discs from #7's tee can end up in #8's fairway.

- No par 4's or 5's that reward solid 3 or 4 stroke birdies. No holes have challenging approach shots.

- Because it's in a local area, the park can get very crowded, and in the summer the parking lot can get full because of people at the pool.

- Tee signs are hard to read for the first timers and marked on, but they give a general direction.

- Flow and navigation - for a new player to the course it might get confusing because of holes close together and you have to walk back down the hill on #4.
Other Thoughts: This park has come a very long way, it's never going to be a pro course, but calling it a beginners only doesn't really fit. I think the reviews should be re-done because of all the changes.
In a sum up, this is a shorter park but with good terrain variety, maintenance, and offers some fun challenge. The course can get a little crowded though, and it's definitely not a bomber course (most all holes can use a mid-range or putter) but it tests your technical shot skills. Very amateur and beginner friendly. If you want a fun, less challenging game of disc golf, come here. But if you want a true St. Louis challenge, there are far better courses ex. Carrollton or Jefferson Barracks. Let me end by saying again, the best 9 hole in the area.
If you did not find this review helpful, found a mistake, or want more info, please send me a personal message so I can update the review.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I like this course.

5+    7/6/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm a little unclear why so many of the reviews below give this such a low score. It may be "short", but with only a few exceptions, all the 9 hole courses in the area are short; some are shorter and most are in far less awesome condition.

The course offers really nice use of elevation change and gives a perfect mix of open greens vs. wooded shots. You may not have even noticed it, but every tee (except holes 1 and 9) starts under the shade of a large tree and ends in the shade of a tree or in the woods, which makes it really nice on a hot day. The grass is well maintained and so are the trails in the woods (mostly). You could make the course into a putter round, but there are plenty of opportunities to work on style with your fairway and midrange discs.

I've also found that bad throws that go into the woods are still easy to find because the underbrush is all cleaned out.

The park is mostly pretty clean too and has a trash receptacle at every other hole, so littering is minimal and impossible to excuse.
Cons: There are some spots on this course where a little runoff control is needed and parks & rec should do some build up around a couple of the baskets to cover the roots so folks don't trip and fall. Hole number 4 could use a real bridge instead of a bunch of rotting logs to stumble across to cross the creek-like area. I suppose one could also argue that some of the baskets are too close to other fairways, but I've never felt like that isn't obvious and have never seen anybody get hit or even come close.
Other Thoughts: A map for your first trip is a good idea, but it's not too bad.
Par is, like most of the 9's around, exagerated... but it feels good to get lot's of birdies and eagles :)
Sometimes this park gets really crowded in general because of the public pool right next to the course. During those times, you will have a lot of trouble finding a parking place and I've had to look for adults to get the kids off the course and out of harms way a few times.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice n easy

1    9/5/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a grassy hillside with a few holes playing through the woods on either end of the course. This makes for a nice mix of park style holes with mature trees and wooded holes with tighter lines and brushy rough. There are some different shot shapes here, and the variety is helped by the elevation changes on nearly every hole adding fun and some challenge.

There are nice concrete pads that seemed pretty new and are still in great shape. The tee signs were really basic, but had enough info to make the course easy to follow without too much extra walking to figure out navigation or where to throw. The baskets are in pretty good shape and catch ok.
Cons: This is a pretty short and easy course overall. Many of the holes are easily reachable with a putter and don't offer much in the way of challenge. There are some safety issues here, with some holes playing very close to one another. Hole 6 is the worst offender, playing almost directly over hole 1's basket. There are some erosion issues, especially in the woods but around some of the baskets out in the open too, it's a tough thing to prevent when you have lots of people walking in the same hilly areas.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a spectacular course, but it's a quick and fun round that will at least work on some of your approach game. It's a nice place for a putter round, and a great place to bring newer players. The holes are reasonable lengths and the brush isn't so thick that you'll lose discs. More experienced players just won't find very much challenge here to keep them coming back. If you're in the area and want a quick, stress free round this is an ok course, otherwise there are lots of nicer places to play around St. Louis.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.