Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (Manchester), MO 
Paul A. Schroeder Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGoldenPutter Hole #2 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 293ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Decent 9 Hole

5+    5/2/2012   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great elevation use
- tight wooded holes
- overall great variety of shots
- Softball fields within walking distance (other side of park) where you can practice your drives.

UPDATE 5.2.2012 - giving the course a half star upgrade.

-Tees seem to be brand new.
-Maps on tees are very helpful.
Cons: - 1, 6, and 9 seem to be dangerously close to one another... keep your head up when playing these holes.
Other Thoughts: This was the very first course I ever played disc golf on. I also got my first Ace on hole 1 here. The park also includes a public pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, sand volleyball courts, a playground, and a pair of softball fields. Needless to say, this park has a lot of teen traffic. Pranksters seem to have their way with Schroeder and it is no wonder why the locals are not huge fans of the course.

Apart from that, this course/park is a great place to learn disc golf. Lightly - heavily wooded holes can teach a disc golfer all sorts of shots that will translate well on many courses. Elevation changes present formidable challenges for all throwers.

UPDATE 5.2.2012

Tees have been vastly upgraded, and it seems the course is cleaner than ever. This seems to have made the course way more popular and therefore way more crowded - I will say that everyone I encountered had great etiquette and was very polite. Also the park office now sells discs when it is open. I am upgrading my initial rating of 2.5 to 3. Reason I don't think it is any higher is because the criss cross of 1 - 6 - 9 still bothers me, and the fact that it is in the end just 9 holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Won't hold the average player's interest

1    7/29/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: Adgeri
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You can easily play a round in half an hour or so.
Cons: The pars are ridiculously high (I shot nine under in my first round). There was really only one hole where you can really unleash your power without over-driving the basket. There were a few paths that looked like they should be followed in the wooded area that did not lead to the next hole. It was hard to tell (as a first timer at the course) exactly where to go after each hole as a number of tee boxes are visible but there are no signs pointing the direction of the next in the order. The tee boxes were in poor condition as well. On one hole you almost have to shoot over/around the basket for the first hole to get to the current hole's basket.
Other Thoughts: This should certainly be a par three course. The signs at the boxes need to be updated to provide accurate information.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 solid but not great

5+    12/25/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: FENTONflyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is short and quick. If you are looking for a couple of quick solid rounds come here. At this course you are able to practice on throwing your putter 150+ feet because you really only need a putter for this course, possibly a mid-range. This course has a lot of possibilities for aces.
Cons: The course is possibly too short. Also in fall and in winter it is very possible to lose track of a disc due to the woods.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course for a quick fix when i get the urge to play disc golf. Hole 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, and 8 are all possibilities for aces. If you are looking for a hard course this is not it but if you are looking for an easy confidence builder this is it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Just Bad

1    11/27/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cool layout that makes good use of the land given. Good mix of heavily and lightly-wooded shots. Elevation changes along the course are also nicely implemented.

The holes are so close together and short, you can play this course in well under an hour.

Great place to get newbies familiar with disc golfing.
Cons: Missing markers for tee pads

The course map at hole 4's tee sign points you in the completely wrong direction to get to 5. Myself and my buddy spent 20 minutes wandering through the forest before we found the path to 5.

Two baskets marked hole #7 (the righteous 7 and the basket for 8 was marked as 7)

Pars are GROSSLY overestimated. Hole 4 is a short uphill shot (less than 250 at best), and I holed out in 2. An eagle on a hole less than 300' feet??? I shot -8 for the round, for 9 holes, and it was the first time i've played there! Come on!?!?!

The other, much larger half of the park, is just being wasted.
Other Thoughts: Another 9 holes, competent par determinations and adequate markings for tees/pins/next pin location could make this a respectable course.

As it stands, this place is an atrocity for any but the newest players.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Just a note

1    5/8/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 147  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just an addendum, really, to the other reviews, which seem to sum up my thoughts on this course. I recommend playing Bluebird, Schroeder and Watson trails all in one day. They are close to one another (about 10-15 minutes), they are all 9 holes, and all have their strong points. The more they are played, the more attention they will receive.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/31/2008   8/31/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Schroeder Park is a pretty basic course. There are two uphill shots, three elevated tees, three heavily wooded shots and enough trees on the rest of the shots that you can easily hit one. All of the shots are in 180 ft-300ft range, so every hole is deuceable. It is not a championship course or a place where you can really air it out, but you can have a good time here.
Cons: The tees are bad. A lot of them are not level, and the tee sign for # 4 is in the middle of the tee. They have spread woodchips to keep them from washing out, but they are not good. There used to be multiple tees, but currently I can only find one set of marked tees.
There has been a long-standing dispute with the homeowners across the street for holes # 5 & # 6. They campaign to have the course removed on a regular basis. This spring both of those holes were moved up the hill to move them away from those homes, and as a result the tee for # 5 is dangerously close to the basket for # 2 and the fairway for # 6 runs needlessly close to the pin for # 1. # 8 is less than 200 ft with an elevated tee, and it is hard to throw that short from an elevated tee. The basket for # 6 is actually the original placement for # 8, but when # 6 was moved # 8 was shortened. If the course is not busy, I'll still shoot at # 6's basket as it makes for a much better shot than the actual basket.
The course itself is hidden behind a big aquatic park and hard to find if you don't know where to look. Once you play # 1, you can see holes in both directions with nothing to indicate which way to go, so a new visitor may end up wandering around. Hole # 4 shoots up a hill, and once you are done there is nowhere to go but right back down the fairway to get to # 5. It would be pretty easy to get lost at that point also.
Other Thoughts: This course was the first original course design by Dave McCormack of Gateway Disc Sports. The course was actually designed and installed for free to help build the GDS course design resume. For a short time the relationship with the City of Manchester and the local disc golf community was very good, and an expanded 18 hole layout was used here in for the 1997 & 1998 Gateway Open. That layout featured many heavily wooded holes and was a tournament-quality course. There was talk of that layout becoming a permanent 18 hole course, but problems with the behavior of some disc golfers quickly dashed those hopes. Nothing has been done to improve this course since it was installed, but it has survived repeated attacks by the neighbors to have the course removed.
As is stands there is no reason to go out of your way to visit this course. However if you are in West St. Louis County you can combine this course with the 9 holes at Bluebird Park (about 10 minutes to the West) and have an enjoyable day of disc golf. It may not be a championship-type course, but if every town in the US had a course like Schroeder Park disc golf would be in good shape.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, 9 holer

1    8/24/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun layout and nice location. The course is situated on a hillside, which makes for some interesting shots. It has a nice mix of holes and the grounds are generally well maintained. My wife and daughter loved it.

The tee pads have been covered with wood chips and that really helps with the erosion problem mentioned above. And some of the wooded holes are also covered with woodchips, so they don't get muddy when it rains.
Cons: It's hard to find some of the holes. The maps on the tee boxes are inaccurate, so they're basically worthless.
Other Thoughts: I don't think I ever found hole 6. We ended up playing the hole 8 basket instead.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course...

5+    8/15/2008   8/15/2008
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 143  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain of the course is great...lots of shot variety. Course plays along the side of a huge hill, several up-hill, several down hill, nothing to terribly complicated, but lots of pretty shots...some real nice trees provide shade throughout almost the whole course, and there's woods on 4 of the 9 holes..
Cons: -The tee pads, or lack thereof. They consistently get washed out since they are dirt and the rain flows straight down the hill.
-The neighbors, there was a petition to get the course removed entirely because 1 home owner thought that the course patrons were a nuisance and trouble makers, they live along the road at the bottom of the hill in the house closest to basket 5...so steer clear of going over there.
- the vandals/punks...most every tee sign has been vandalized/ripped out of the ground. and there are at least 3 trash cans spread out around the course that are emptied pretty regularly, but people still choose to litter their trash all over the course neither of these are really cons of the coures, more the people who use the course
Other Thoughts: -this is the course i learned on many years ago, i love this course. i used to be a lifeguard at the old pool there and would go squeeze in a quick round in just my trunks, i've since learned playing barefoot isn't a good idea.
-there's space here for plenty more holes, and it's been proposed several times, always shot down by the Parks & Rec manager, but she was recently fired so talks may be in the works to upgrade this park, it could easily fit another 9+.
-Great course, but it gets abused by the local high school punks who trash the course and ruin the reputation of DG for all of us...i don't live in the state anymore, but i've got friends who frequent this place and tell me the condition of the course. PARKWAY SOUTH KIDS, PLEASE TAKE CARE OF THIS COURSE, IT'S YOUR RESPONSIBILITY BECAUSE IT'S YOUR BACKYARD!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

4/25/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course that plays on a big hillside, it is well maintained. The first hole is a long downhill that you will want to throw every disc in your bag to see how close you can get. Offers a variety of terrain
Cons: Very busy course, short, some of the holes are hard to navigate, especially number 4 i think.
Other Thoughts: wish it was 18.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center