Royal Oak, MI 
Wagner Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 313ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Love this place

5+    8/2/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: MisterPO586
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's one of the first courses I've played at and I can never get bored of it. The holes are different everytime and for how small it is it's a lot of fun. I also like it because it's right by my house.
Cons: Trash and pros sitting on their fold-up seats.
Other Thoughts: Quit your fold up seat sitting.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite little course

5+    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: discin248
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent holes for a small course
short and long holes
good hill shots
quick play
Cons: One garbage bin in the hole park by play structure so there is trash everywhere
vandalism
can get a little crowded for a small course
Other Thoughts: Some disc golfers brought in a garbage can on one of the holes.
City removed some of the picnic tables
Fun course to play if your short on time
I live a mile away so i often squeeze a game in at lunch or right befor night fall

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/1/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: jmacphee9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: elevation, not too boring. this course is fine to play at but by no means a great course. the regulars are pretty cool guys most of the time and lines arent too bad for a popular course.
Cons: graffiti, trash, dirty old man steals discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Motor City Chain Gang !

5+    4/8/2007   2/20/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 29.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Dual tees makes this course an 18 hole course packed in a 9 hole park.
Cons: Emerald ash borers and vandalism to baskets & tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I won the 1989 MCCG Novice division here. Aced #2 back when there was bushes guarding the pin and aced the original #5

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dirty gem of a course!

5+    8/20/2004   1/18/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is surprisingly long for as small as it is with a couple holes that top 500ft. The shorter holes offer some heart racing ace runs. The tee placement is tricky and challenging in most cases with a fair amount of ellevation changes. Multiple tee pads keep it from getting to be boring and the same 'ol thing if you play it frequently. I really like the different tee pads because it changes the shot selection drastically in some cases, and makes it possible to play a full 18 holes without just seeming like you are playing the shorts and the longs. Unless you have no control what-so-ever you will not loose any discs.
Cons: Unfortunately, most of the con's of this course have little to do with the course itself.
Parking is non-existant! You must park along the curb, and on the weekends you can be looking for a while.
The course is a city park in a less than safe neighborhood so you should not bring anything valuable. That is a bummer because this course would be a great night golf course because of its size and the small chances of lost plastic. But, if you are playing here, you are familiar with Detroit and it's suburbs and if that's the case then its just an average neighborhood.
Course maintenance is bad. Litter and overflowing garbage cans are everywhere. The baskets and tee pads are old and dilapitated and could use to be updated.
Other Thoughts: This is where I played my 1st round of disc golf and I learned to love the course and the sport right here. It is a nice little course to get a quick round in and to bring beginners....in the daytime.
I love playing here and would give it a score of 3+ if the cons weren't so bad. I haven't played here in some time so, if it has been cleaned up since, someone leave an up to date review.

If the above mentioned cons do not bother you then do yourself a favor and bang out a round here.

Oh ya, favorite hole, #8
The hole plays about 375ft from atop a small hill down into a valley. Looks pretty straight forward except for the large bushy group of trees on the right just daring you to test them. Hyzer a shot in over top of those trees and you got a nice chance at a birdy, (or an Ace, if your arm is that big!)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Mostly open course, but still a decent amount of trees to alter your shots, even though a few of the trees in the pictures have been cut down. Also good use of small hills to make elevation shots on a couple holes. Theres no way to lose a disc here either.
Cons:
Course Maintenance--
Not the best, it has old baskets and small tee pads too.

Course Navigation--
Big map at hole 1 but its hard to navigate for the first time, signs are unreadable.
Other Thoughts:
Course Atmosphere--
Its a typical detroit suburban city park. One reviewer said its in a "less than safe neighborhood", but anyone from the area knows its alright.

Course Access--
There is no parking lot, your gonna want to park on the side of Detroit Ave, and Hole #1 is by the playground.

--Can be busy at times.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 83  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had a fun time here I would play it again, cement tee pads, course map at hole #1, nice use of area and elevation changes, Discraft baskets, good variety for a short course, practice basket, no place to lose a disc, great place to take beginners, pretty long holes for a short course, nice layout course plays in a cirlce through park so you could start on different holes,
Cons: No parking lot, most of the signs have been vandelized and there is 2 tees for each basket so I could see some trouble navigating for your first time, only obstacles are large mature trees providing little challenge you could have a horrible drive and still be able to lay up on most holes,
Other Thoughts: Sign with course map is near corner of Detroit st. and Rochester rd.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Best Suburban Course

5+    10/22/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: DiscoNater
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I live a mile from this course and have played it well over 100 times. I am STILL not tired of this course. There is everything from short to longer-mid distance holes. The hills in the park, although not large, are well incorporated into the shots.

For practice, this is a great course. There are shots short enough to practice Ace shots on, and the fairways are wide open. Even if you shoot way off, you won't lose your disc because there's no "deep woods" or tall grass. Once you get to know the layout of the course, you can play 18 holes in as little as 45 minutes with 2 people.

Another great thing about this course is the layout. Once you know the order of holes, you can start anywhere and skip holes if you're behind a big group. It's also easy to add extra holes, you can just keep "going around" the course playing whatever tee you like for each basket.

The more you play here, the more you'll love it!
Cons: If you start in the corner of the park by Rochester Road (where the sign is) your first shot is VERY long (485 ft) and the basket is not visible - it's down hill. When you get to this basket just at the bottom of the hill, the next tee is NOT apparent. You will have to turn around and go back up the hill. Your next set of tees is near there, look for the tee with the large black mat behind it.

Because of the 9 baskets and popularity with locals and out-of-towners alike, this course can become VERY busy.

I am used to the small tees, but a lot of people like to get a "running start" on their shots. Technically you do not need to do this, one or two steps will get enough momentum for a good shot.
Other Thoughts: This course DOES indeed have a full 18 fairways, even if it only has 9 baskets. Many of the shots on the "back 9" are MUCH different from the front 9. I always see new people here and they don't understand the layout of the course. Chances are you will see other people there almost any time you go. Many are veterans and will help you learn your way around.

I recomend starting from the tee that is nearest to the play structure. Park on Detroit and you'll see the newest biggest play structure and a tee that points at a basket by a big evergreen tree. Stand on the tee, and look up and to your left and you see another tee pointed at the hole. That will be your tee number 10 after you go around the course once. Just remember for all baskets, there is a "front 9" tee and a "back 9" tee. It doesn't matter which one you play first or second, just have fun!

After you play the hole near the play structure, there's a tee within sight. The "alternate" tee is on the other side of the sidewalk, right by Main St. Both of these tees go to a basket down the hill. Just remember that almost all of the tees point straight at the basket with no dog leg so if you can orient yourself, you'll get to the basket just by following the direction.

The easiest way to figure out what tee to go to is to look around after you get to a basket. There will be a tee on the left, and one on the right, and they will both be pointed at the same basket.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/27/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: Sean4287
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course when you don't want to spend the afternoon playing. I lived right across the street from this course and played it often. Good length on the holes for a shorter course.
Cons: If you don't know how to navigate this course it can be confusing due to lack of signage and the tees not being labeled.
Other Thoughts: I love this course as someone else said it needs some work and updating but it is worth playing

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Potential

1    8/11/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: Scookie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the set up is really quite nice. Enough tree's to be challenging but not too many.
Cons: There's two different courses here, and neither are marked out all that well. Also when I played it we hit all nine holes but I don't think we used all the baskets, their might be some extras?
Other Thoughts: If some one would go and clean up the signs, and make a clear course then this would be one of my favorite courses. I really think this COULD be good. I needs works.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.