Augusta, GA 
Pendleton King Park Share
Uploaded By: FAST Hole #11 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
P.K.

2-4    5/1/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Nice layout through a very clean and safe park. 2 restrooms along course route with one close to hole 1. Some open and some woods provides sufficient challenge. Cement tee pads and tee signs. Park & D/golf is free.
Cons: If I had a gun to my head and asked to come up with a con or else the only thing I could nit pick is I saw only 1 set of tees per hole.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing the course with locals. They are very friendly as advertised and welcomed our group of 3 to join them. The "Friendly" course did not eat any of our discs. The rough, although present on some of the open holes does not eat discs. Just rough enough to punish you with a tough next throw, not a lost disc. We were a group of 6 with 3 players new to the course and we did not have any delay looking for a disc. The trees have well defined lines and fairways. If you miss a line in the trees you are punished with more trees the further off-line but again not a lost disc. I only saw one set of tees per hole that I would rate as White level. Blue level players should come in around par. Gold players should be well under par.

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Tsunami Swami

2-4    4/11/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: jerryswain
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: The cleanest course by far. The maintenance crew seemed to be ever present. I believe I met Mike and Tom? He was actually filling cracks in the benches with wood filler. I am a beginner and this course allows me to make some pars but challenges me to improve. Honestly I'm impressed that Richmond County has a course. Alternate pin placements.
Cons: Like a lot of courses, it's incorporated with other activities and programs in the same venue. Some parents allow their children to run around with total disregard to the disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot potential and I truly believe if parks and recreation were afforded more money in the budget his course could be the best in Augusta.

3 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/9/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: jc_john1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 33 Not
Pros: - Nice course with a fair amount of up/down rolling hills - nothing too steep
- Fairways in the woods, while amply wide, often deceive and turn what appears to be a quick easy par into a par+1.
- There is a good mixture of normal and turnover shots available.
- Several holes have alternate pin positions
- No super-long crush holes, but there are a few 300+ footers to let you blast a disc out there (Holes 2, 16, and 17)
- Benches on each hole
- Trash cans at every hole
- Signage with hole number and par at each hole
- Good for a quick round
Cons: - Occasionally there are park goers/events that interfere with playing holes (weddings / photographers / picnickers IVO hole 18, picnickers near hole 4 pin)

1 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: cdodgen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: 1. Good mix of right to left holes.
2. Ace runs and Birdie opportunities.
3. Excellent tee pads.
4. Custom made benches at every hole.
5. Trash receptacles at every hole.
6. Distances to hole at each tee.
8. Great signage to "next tee" thru out course.
9. Restrooms and water fountain at hole 2 and restrooms at hole 8.
10. Water fountain at hole 9.
11. Very clean (except for a few cigarette butts.)
12. Friendly staff and park volunteers.
Cons: 1. Hole # 1 fairway is close to picnic tables (Could be a problem with a bad drive.)
2. Hole # 2 fairway is close to playground. (Could be a problem with a bad drive.)
3. Long walk after # 3 to official hole 4 tee.
4. Only two holes that the throw long.
Other Thoughts: I have played all the local courses; Jackson, Steady Ed and Warner at IDGC in Appling Georgia, Hogback, Old Glory and Moody Hills at the Hippodrome in North Augusta, SC, Riverview Park in North Augusta, SC, Patriots Park in Evans Georgia and Lake Olmstead, Augusta. Without any doubt Pendleton King Park (PK) is the "Cleanest and friendliest" course I have ever played. I do not know how to describe it exactly, but it is a beginner friendly course that has enough challenge to make me play it again and again. If you are coming to Augusta, make time to play PK, you will not regret it. There is something for the whole family to do while the disc golf members play. Playgrounds, bike paths, walking and jogging paths, nature trails, wetlands, bird sanctuary, very clean picnic areas, 5 flower gardens and much more. Just minutes away are supermarkets Kroger, Publix, and Food Lion and Augusta Mall and many Gas service stations. Plenty of parking and probably many other points I missed. Just come and enjoy the Finest.

9 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 P.K. Great Course

5+    1/6/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: injunjholton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 38 Not
Pros: Nice holes. Excellent pads. Beautiful custom donated benches. Great for beginners and pros
Cons: Hardly any! Maybe a couple of longer holes. And hole 2 being a lil too close to the kids playground
Other Thoughts: Alot of work has been put into this course lately and it has become a beautiful course to play

0 of 38 people found this review helpful.

 PK Renovations

5+    12/21/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: frogponddiver
Played: 105  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1. Large concrete tee pads on every hole. The tee pads are nicely placed and have been surrounded with M-10 crushed rock to provide nice run up and run off areas on the tees. Plenty of room for the longest run-ups.
2. Tee signs with accurate distances are visible from the tee pad on every hole.
3. Custom benches on every hole. Each bench was donated by sponsors and have a unique insert recognizing these sponsors inlaid in the benches. The benches are large and placed behind the tees.
4. Trash cans throughout the course. Large 55 gallon trash cans are conveniently placed so there is no reason to not use them.
5. Fairways are clear of obstacles. The fairways have been trimmed to offer fair shots. The odd "invisible limbs" have been removed to offer fair shots if you hit your lines.
6. Directional signage from hole to hole is very visible. Look for the white pained "hands" pointing to the next tee. This helps during a couple of the longer transitions.
7. Ruff is cleared of dead and fallen trees. The course plays through the woods on many of the holes, especially on the back nine. The area to the right and left have been trimmed back to offer good fairways as stated earlier in this post. The ruff is typically small trees and large scrub growth and going in there may result in some additional strokes, especially if you go deep. You won't find piles of trash or piles of limbs in there though. These have all been cleaned up.
8. Baskets have been painted for visibility. Each basket has an orange painted marker on top that can be seen from a distance. This helps clarify the basket locations for the thrower.
9. Course is maintained extremely well. Volunteer course maintenance is handled by Fast Eddie and his crew of volunteers. They have done a wonderful job on the course and continue to make improvements. I hear that bag hangers for each hole are in the works. Netting to stop errant discs from flying into the playground areas is also planned. If you have any other suggestions, post them on the kiosk near hole 1 and they will be considered.
10. Bathroom facilities are available near hole 2 and 8 for both men and women. The facilities have always been clean and open, which is rare for many courses.
Cons: 1. The playground area near hole two is open to an errant shot. Take care here until the netting gets installed.
2. Hole 18 is an ideal spot for picnickers that are unaware of their presence on a disc golf course. Be courteous and they will usually make way.
Other Thoughts: The course at Pendleton King Park (PK) plays around a children's play area and a fenced dog lot. It's in a community park. The layout of the course minimizes the interaction with these areas as much as possible but disc golfers must be respectful of others using the park however.

The City of Augusta Parks and Recreation Department has an on-site staff member on the property and it is obvious he is engaged with the property. This is rare for a city park.

The Pendleton King Foundation is very proud of this park and continues to be a supporter of disc golf as evidenced by their continued support of Fast Eddie's efforts to make course improvements. Having an outside supporter for a park is even more rare than having an on-site maintenance staff. Their continued support is something to be cultivated.

14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Very solid course that is improving.

1    12/7/2013   12/10/2013
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
12 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It is evident that they are putting a lot of work into improving the course. The tee pads are in great shape and the area around them has been recently leveled off. The course is somewhat short but was pretty challenging for me as a beginner. I thought there was decent variety to the holes. The park was very nice overall. Beautiful in spots with the trees flowering. There were garbage cans and new benches at most if not all holes. Very few places to worry about losing a disc. The course was very easy to follow with great new signage everywhere to help. The course seemed very accessible. We had a person who had recently had knee surgery walking with us and she seemed to do fine. The benches look great! Water bottle holders on a couple of holes and I hear bag hangers are in the works. I also heard they were going to be putting in some safety netting in the areas where the course comes close to the picnic areas... great work by the local crew to address concerns.
Cons: I heard the pond used to be more in play which sounded interesting. If there could be a couple longer holes added that would be nice. Also if there were a way to bring in more elevation change would be more to my liking.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the great work, I look forward to coming back and seeing where you take the course.

12 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly and active

5+    12/6/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: Devtholt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2014
8 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: -Fast Eddie and the group that have volunteered to improve the course have done an amazing job over the past few weeks. Many of the fairways have been cleared of debris.

- Pendleton King is very clean and well maintained. There are new benches and trashcans at every hole.

-This course is suitable for beginners or players who want to play a quick round.

-The baskets are in good condition and markers have been added to guide players from hole to hole.

-The tee pads have had some work and the new concrete has made them look good and function really well.

-Players on the course are friendly as well as the staff that maintains the park.

-There is plenty of parking available.

Cons: -There isn't a mix between technical and open shots. Most of the holes are straight shots with a little bit of curve to them.

-Holes 1 and 2 might make some players uncomfortable for being so close to recreational areas for children and picnic tables. However, I haven't seen anyone have problems with these two holes yet.
Other Thoughts: As far as free to play parks go, if you are looking for a course with a lot of elevation change, I suggest Riverview Park or Lake Olmsted. Patriot's Park is also a fair difficulty. Pendleton King found a place in my rotation, and with the work they have been putting into it I can tell it's going to stay a favorite of mine.

**I'm not sure why this has been so unhelpful, but if you find it so, write a review of your own and explain things about the course I might have missed.**

8 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course For All Ages

5+    12/7/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: Scott_92
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: I really appreciate the changes that have been happening here at this course recently. Fast Eddie has been doing a lot of work to improve this course. New benches, added dirt around the teepads, updated par and distance measurements, temporary signage guiding players to the next hole, and dead trees and sticks being cleaned up from the fairways. Thanks for the improvements. I'm looking forward to seeing the changes that are planned for Stage 2 of improvements planned for the spring of 2013. Keep up the good work!
There are a nice mixture of open/wooded holes at this course. It's easy enough for beginners to enjoy and difficult enough that seasoned players will appreciate playing here.
Cons: A few of the holes play too long for a par 3 and too short for a par 4. Since they are marked as par 4's it makes for easy birdies, but different pin locations would help. Hole 7 and the long pin placement at hole 17 would be two examples that come to mind. Picnic tables are pretty close to holes 1 and 2 and may be better served being moved to a less dangerous area.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see the pin for hole 7 being moved to the very far pin placement that is down the hill to the right of the fairway and down in that deep ravine. I've never played that hole before but it looks super fun and challenging! Overall, a fun course to play for all ages. I appreciate very much the improvements taking place recently.

3 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Good and Improving

5+    11/16/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: greg_t
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: - Reasonable level of difficulty. Newer players can get to par with a reasonable amount of practice and veterans can start hunting birdies all around the course.
- Good mix of open and tightly wooded holes.
- Improvements are always underway and the course is maintained by hard-working individuals.
- Vegetation is kept at a great level. Not hard at all to keep track of your discs throughout most of the court if they go astray or fade too hard.
Cons: - One or two of the holes labelled as par 4's really ought to be par 3's. This is great encouragement for beginners but it doesn't seem right.
- There are no very very long holes. I'm not very good at these anyway but including at least just one would be a good addition if it could have been fit into the layout.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the course and the fact that it is not extremely difficult to par the course. The difficulty and variation of hole styles provides for some stiff competition with whoever you bring along or a good time if you stop by on your own for a round. Go give it a try!

5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.