Augusta, GA 
Pendleton King Park Share
Uploaded By: FAST Hole #9 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Path to hole # 9



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Good for New Players

5+    6/22/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Warmoth
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: easy terrain, pretty flat overall, good combination of short/long holes. moderate woods and some open shots.
Cons: Hole 2 is close to a playground. Had a few kids pick up the discs. That's about it.
Other Thoughts: A great course for players just starting and a fun course for mid level players.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

P.K.

2-4    5/1/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 20.1 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice layout through a very clean and safe park. 2 restrooms along course route with one close to hole 1. Some open and some woods provides sufficient challenge. Cement tee pads and tee signs. Park & D/golf is free.
Cons: If I had a gun to my head and asked to come up with a con or else the only thing I could nit pick is I saw only 1 set of tees per hole.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing the course with locals. They are very friendly as advertised and welcomed our group of 3 to join them. The "Friendly" course did not eat any of our discs. The rough, although present on some of the open holes does not eat discs. Just rough enough to punish you with a tough next throw, not a lost disc. We were a group of 6 with 3 players new to the course and we did not have any delay looking for a disc. The trees have well defined lines and fairways. If you miss a line in the trees you are punished with more trees the further off-line but again not a lost disc.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/17/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: Bam14
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: There have been some really good improvements over the years and recently. Benches at every hole, basket locations, flags on baskets to gauge the wind, added a practice basket recently, & maintained clean course. I've heard rumors of adding alternate basket locations.
Cons: Although some cover has been planted on hole 1 and 2 picnic tables can come into play.
Other Thoughts: Course has come a long way from where it was a few years back, short and wide open. Course is maintained well and improvements are being made every time I go back it seems lately.

1 of 22 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/5/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: bsembach
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Custom made benches and holders at every hole.
signs point to "next tee" thru out course.
Friendly staff and park volunteers.
new position of the 6th hole adds a good twist to the course and it's difficulty
Cons: course crosses path with many picnic areas and play ground.
course is ever changing

0 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Tsunami Swami

2-4    4/11/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: jerryswain
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: The cleanest course by far. The maintenance crew seemed to be ever present. I believe I met Mike and Tom? He was actually filling cracks in the benches with wood filler. I am a beginner and this course allows me to make some pars but challenges me to improve. Honestly I'm impressed that Richmond County has a course. Alternate pin placements.
Cons: Like a lot of courses, it's incorporated with other activities and programs in the same venue. Some parents allow their children to run around with total disregard to the disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot potential and I truly believe if parks and recreation were afforded more money in the budget his course could be the best in Augusta.

3 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Great Improvements!

5+    1/3/2014   2/2/2014
Review By: jedro
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 49 Not
Pros: Wooded and open holes with birdie opportunities.More rights I think.Great tee pads.Trash cans every hole.Nice benches,good next hole signs.Very clean and restrooms
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Compared to Riverview,Patriots and Lake Olmstead,Pendleton King Park is the cleanest and easiest course.It is a beginner friendly course

3 of 52 people found this review helpful.

 The best

5+    1/11/2014   2/2/2014
Review By: jvh91667
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 49 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, clean. Tee signs with distance at every hole. Custom benches at every hole. Trash receptacles at every hole. Direction signs from hole to hole. Clean fairways and ruff. Public restrooms at 2 locations.
Cons: Hole 1 close to picnic area. Hole 2 is close to children's playground, caution with the drive. Several areas are close to pedestrian pathways. Examples are hole 4,5,18. This is a fair and objective rating.
Other Thoughts: This is the cleanest, friendliest course compared to New Jerseys South Vinland Park, Landis Park and Cape May County Park/Zoo.

0 of 49 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course, but no 5

1    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: heartman
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
51 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Kiosk near hole 1, with lots of Augusta disc golf info.

- teepad areas are very nicely done with LARGE new benches at every hole

- fairways cleared of debris

- map not needed: next tee signs throughout literally "pointing" the way (Signs are white and usually aren't a problem to see as they are quite close to the pins. A different color might stand out a little better, neon orange?, but the white works better for the overall aesthetics of the park)

- large parking area and bathrooms scattered throughout the park

- DGA baskets are in good condition and top circle part is orange which makes them easier to find

- I liked the transition between Holes 8 and 9: sort of a secret garden kinda walk ... kinda sketchy at first, but cool thinking about it now.

- I liked the various bushes/planters in the fairway of Hole 18. Many people would list them as a con, but I cheated and threw a thumber over all of it, so it kinda felt like playing in some type of large public garden.

- Hole 5 tee area was pretty cool. Sorta built into the side of the slope going down to the water of the pond.
Cons: - repetitive: lots of straight or dogleg right shots ... I lost count of the times I RHFH'ed a Firebird off the tee

- some teepads are not level, specifically some of the more uphill holes ... makes any type of runup a stumbling mess of feet (Hole 8 stands out specifically)

- teesigns don't show shape of hole, just distance

- some safety concerns: playground to left of Hole 2 (I hit a tree and kicked left and end ended up in the play area, luckily no kids were present) ... several holes throw over walking paths or the road (road on 3, path on 5, path on 18 all come to mind), throwing over path/road isn't a huge con for me, BUT throwers must be very aware of any oncoming pedestrians/cars
Other Thoughts: - I can't speak for any changes that might have occurred during the redesign, but overall PKP is a solid, not spectacular, course IMO.

- Apparently Hole 4 used to play from a pad that made it a funky "over the fence" RHBH hyzer shot? The new pad plays straight in the 300'ish range ... like a lot of other holes on the course. The old teepad would be a shot that I didn't use all day and something to change up the repetitiveness.

- Hole 7 has a ridiculously sweet natural, cleared opening on the right side of the fairway ~250ish off the tee that drops down into a ravine and then back up a hill. With a little more clearing here and there, 7 could be a verrrry cool par 4 with a pin that flows nicely to Hole 8's tee area (although it would be another hole that the tee shot would be left-to-right). However as I am not local, I am not aware of any issues that might be present in the ravine, like flooding or stuff like that. The people who have installed all the benches have shown that they don't mind doing work to the course, so some stairs down and then back up on the other side shouldn't be that big a deal to install (other than possible county safety/insurance issues).

- Of the Augusta area courses, this is the best beginner friendly course (as well as Steady Ed from the reds).

- I have played the IDGC, Patriot's, Lake O, and Riverview (when not overgrown) in the Augusta area, and would recommend any of those courses over PKP for travelers from out of town. PKP is solid for locals and I'd probably venture out for doubles/singles/league rounds only if I lived in the area.

- Honestly the only reason I drove down from Athens with some buddies to play PKP, was due to the flurry of 5disc reviews that seemed out of place from what I had heard about the course. I went in with an open mind and tried to objectively rate it compared to all of the other 51 courses I have played during the past 4 years.

- Overall a solid course: the repetitiveness of distance and shape of holes did start to take it's toll. It felt like a 3.25. I can't justify a 3.5, so 3 it is.

51 of 54 people found this review helpful.

 moosedg

5+    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: moosedg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: PK is a very fair course in that you make a decent shot and you can par the hole but more importantly, if you risk a more difficult one you can be rewarded with birdie.
The course is clean and at any given time you will often see someone working on improving conditions.
The course is undergoing planned phases of improvement and it will only get better.
This is a course you can feel safe and welcome on. My experience also tells me you will meet people of all ages and can usually find a game.
Cons: The only downsides to this course are the shots I can't make.
Other Thoughts: I have played a number of courses around and like PK the best even though it is not the closest. I realize that par for me will always be a great score on this course but the total experience and the friendly people will bring me back.

2 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your turnover/ under stable discs!

5+    1/19/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: Darthmerj
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
37 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It appears that there is a lot of pride taken in maintaining this course and the park itself.
There are trash cans all over the place, and you won't find trash on the ground.
There are new benches at each tee pad, with custom inserts that advertise sponsors.
Teepads are concrete and free from debris.
Length of course and layout provide the possibility of a very quick round- about an hour and ten minutes with no rushing.
Layout also never puts you too far from the parking lot (in case you left something in the car or need to leave mid round).
Old school course that is deceptively challenging, despite 14 holes under 300 feet.

Cons: Only a few holes allow you to open up off the tee. You will not be cranking 400' foot drives with your Force or Destroyer on this course.
Hole 2 has a fairway that runs parallel to a set of playgrounds on the left. As this is one of the few holes where you can/need to get some D off the tee, it presents a tough shot and a heaping helping of tension. Think of a tough water clearing shot, except if you mis-throw here you aren't just OB without a disc, you might injure a child. I have read somewhere that a net might be installed, although that is going to be a pretty long net.
I count 8 holes where you drive uphill. This is obviously a way to compensate for the lack of real distance, and I applaud the effort. The problem is that quite often you are throwing uphill while also needing to turn your shot right. In this regard it presents a similar shot a few too many times, hence the Con.
In many cases the tee pads slant upwards, as well.
There are now no holes on this course that I would consider "epic" or unforgettable (see Hole 4 description below).
Other Thoughts: In reference to my title, I figure there are around thirteen drives that will require you to shape a shot from left to right, to varying degrees. My initial thoughts on this course were that several of these holes were unfair in what they asked you to do to potentially achieve a birdie. I have sense softened that outlook, but only a little.
Hole 1: pretty average forehand shot, or take your chances through the trees straight at the basket
2: One of the few big drives, but alongside the playground. This hole requires a super straight 450 foot shot, or a shot that gently S-curves or fades right after about 300 feet. We all have that shot, right?
3: Standard hyzer shot with bad situations if you are straight or early.
4: This USED to be the signature/memorable hole. The tee pad is still there on the corner of the tennis courts, but there is a sign leading you to the "official" tee pad. The old shot made you resort to all sorts of disc trickery: rollers, super hyzers, forehand flexers, monster thumbers, etc. Now it is a 280 foot straight shot with no soul.
5: Tricky, tricky. Requires an uphill throw, again left to right. May be a lane straight up the gut, but that would be tight.
6: Thus begins the holes I think might be close to unfair. This one isn't as bad as the others, but you'll see what I mean. Requires a drive that arcs about 80 feet straight-ish, then fades the remaining 180 feet to the basket. Left to right, natch.
7: Uphill 261 feet. Deceptive length, pretty straight.
8: Uphill slope makes this 270 play like 350. Low tree branches lessen the optimal line.
9: Downhill 290 that requires shot to fade from left to right subtly.
10: Another drive that might seem difficult to achieve. Needs a shot to travel 75 feet straight, then arc left to right and glide 150 feet to the basket.
11: More flex shots needed. 292 feet. Can go semi straight at it, but will need something without a lot of fade or skip.
12: Just read Hole 10's description and add 40 feet to the "after the corner turn" distance.
13: Best example of my "who has this shot?" critique.
This left to right arc is quite shallow and wants you to travel around 100 feet to the corner, then turn 90 degrees right and travel another 138 feet.
14: 287 foot straight shot, but basket is tucked into the right side of the end of the fairway, requiring a shot that finishes straight or right.
15: Hyzer shot, 219 feet.
16: 329 feet, requires a shot that goes around 300 feet and stays low enough to pass under a guardian tree right before the basket.
17: One last shot that asks you to throw either laser straight with zero fade, or an under stable disc that works left to right. OB road on the left, with tree line on the right that creates a V with the basket in the rear point.
18: 305 downhill. The trees and planters and such may mess with your distance judgement. If you throw straight at the basket the fast green will carry your disc away.

I should say that all my hole descriptions are for a 900+ rated golfer attempting to attack a course that seems attackable. For instance, Hole 17 could easily be a 250 foot straight shot, 90 foot approach, and 10 foot putt for a 3. Every hole on the course is a relatively simple 3, but it is going to make you work and execute your shots to achieve 2's.


37 of 39 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.