Augusta, GA 
Pendleton King Park Share
Uploaded By: FAST Hole #16 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 329ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Course changes

5+    7/22/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: mothballs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 30 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Trash cans every hole & nice benches. Beginner friendly course. Good twist to the course from the 6th hole. This course is one of the best maintained courses we have ever played & improvements are being made continually. Park staff and volunteers are friendly and the park opens early. Flags to gauge the wind is a nice add. The shrubs and nets are very helpfull
Cons: Hole 2 is close to playground and bath room area.
Other Thoughts: Course has come a long way. The cleanest course I have been to in the Augusta area. Keep up the good work.

0 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Augusta's cleanest course

1    7/21/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: Treehugger2002
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 36 Not
Pros: Tee signs are on every hole with distance,
All tee pads are level around the edges , You don't have to worry about falling off pads, The Great folks over at PK have put in a lot of work to make this place a must play course if your in augusta area. Also a few alternate pin placements
Cons: I can't complain , great for beginners
Other Thoughts: The park is very clean of trash

0 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Good for New Players

5+    6/22/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Warmoth
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
5 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: easy terrain, pretty flat overall, good combination of short/long holes. moderate woods and some open shots.
Cons: Hole 2 is close to a playground. Had a few kids pick up the discs. That's about it.
Other Thoughts: A great course for players just starting and a fun course for mid level players.

5 of 25 people found this review helpful.

P.K.

2-4    5/1/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
2 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Nice layout through a very clean and safe park. 2 restrooms along course route with one close to hole 1. Some open and some woods provides sufficient challenge. The path to hole 9 cuts through a beautiful guarden. Course is not only very fun to play it is also a nice walk through guardens with sculpted bushes and flowers. Baskets in good shape, catch well and are highlighted with florescent paint to make them easy to spot. There is sufficient space between baskets, not cluttered, the basket you see is the one you are throwing to. Signature hole 18 finishes by a rose garden. Take time to smell the roses. Cement tee pads and tee signs. Park & D/golf is free.
Cons: If I had a gun to my head and asked to come up with a con or else the only thing I could nit pick is I saw only 1 set of tees per hole.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing the course with locals. They are very friendly as advertised and welcomed our group of 3 to join them. The "Friendly" course did not eat any of our discs. The rough, although present on some of the open holes does not eat discs. Just rough enough to punish you with a tough next throw, not a lost disc. We were a group of 6 with 3 players new to the course and we did not have any delay looking for a disc. The trees have well defined lines and fairways. If you miss a line in the trees you are punished with more trees the further off-line but again not a lost disc. I only saw one set of tees per hole that I would rate as White level. Blue level players should come in around par. Gold players should be well under par.

2 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/17/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: Bam14
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: There have been some really good improvements over the years and recently. Benches at every hole, basket locations, flags on baskets to gauge the wind, added a practice basket recently, & maintained clean course. I've heard rumors of adding alternate basket locations.
Cons: Although some cover has been planted on hole 1 and 2 picnic tables can come into play.
Other Thoughts: Course has come a long way from where it was a few years back, short and wide open. Course is maintained well and improvements are being made every time I go back it seems lately.

1 of 29 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/5/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: bsembach
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: Custom made benches and holders at every hole.
signs point to "next tee" thru out course.
Friendly staff and park volunteers.
new position of the 6th hole adds a good twist to the course and it's difficulty
Cons: course crosses path with many picnic areas and play ground.
course is ever changing

0 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Tsunami Swami

2-4    4/11/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: jerryswain
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: The cleanest course by far. The maintenance crew seemed to be ever present. I believe I met Mike and Tom? He was actually filling cracks in the benches with wood filler. I am a beginner and this course allows me to make some pars but challenges me to improve. Honestly I'm impressed that Richmond County has a course. Alternate pin placements.
Cons: Like a lot of courses, it's incorporated with other activities and programs in the same venue. Some parents allow their children to run around with total disregard to the disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot potential and I truly believe if parks and recreation were afforded more money in the budget his course could be the best in Augusta.

3 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Great Improvements!

5+    1/3/2014   2/2/2014
Review By: jedro
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 54 Not
Pros: Wooded and open holes with birdie opportunities.More rights I think.Great tee pads.Trash cans every hole.Nice benches,good next hole signs.Very clean and restrooms
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Compared to Riverview,Patriots and Lake Olmstead,Pendleton King Park is the cleanest and easiest course.It is a beginner friendly course

3 of 57 people found this review helpful.

 The best

5+    1/11/2014   2/2/2014
Review By: jvh91667
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 54 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, clean. Tee signs with distance at every hole. Custom benches at every hole. Trash receptacles at every hole. Direction signs from hole to hole. Clean fairways and ruff. Public restrooms at 2 locations.
Cons: Hole 1 close to picnic area. Hole 2 is close to children's playground, caution with the drive. Several areas are close to pedestrian pathways. Examples are hole 4,5,18. This is a fair and objective rating.
Other Thoughts: This is the cleanest, friendliest course compared to New Jerseys South Vinland Park, Landis Park and Cape May County Park/Zoo.

0 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course, but no 5

1    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: heartman
Played: 57  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
60 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Kiosk near hole 1, with lots of Augusta disc golf info.

- teepad areas are very nicely done with LARGE new benches at every hole

- fairways cleared of debris

- map not needed: next tee signs throughout literally "pointing" the way (Signs are white and usually aren't a problem to see as they are quite close to the pins. A different color might stand out a little better, neon orange?, but the white works better for the overall aesthetics of the park)

- large parking area and bathrooms scattered throughout the park

- DGA baskets are in good condition and top circle part is orange which makes them easier to find

- I liked the transition between Holes 8 and 9: sort of a secret garden kinda walk ... kinda sketchy at first, but cool thinking about it now.

- I liked the various bushes/planters in the fairway of Hole 18. Many people would list them as a con, but I cheated and threw a thumber over all of it, so it kinda felt like playing in some type of large public garden.

- Hole 5 tee area was pretty cool. Sorta built into the side of the slope going down to the water of the pond.
Cons: - repetitive: lots of straight or dogleg right shots ... I lost count of the times I RHFH'ed a Firebird off the tee

- some teepads are not level, specifically some of the more uphill holes ... makes any type of runup a stumbling mess of feet (Hole 8 stands out specifically)

- teesigns don't show shape of hole, just distance

- some safety concerns: playground to left of Hole 2 (I hit a tree and kicked left and end ended up in the play area, luckily no kids were present) ... several holes throw over walking paths or the road (road on 3, path on 5, path on 18 all come to mind), throwing over path/road isn't a huge con for me, BUT throwers must be very aware of any oncoming pedestrians/cars
Other Thoughts: - I can't speak for any changes that might have occurred during the redesign, but overall PKP is a solid, not spectacular, course IMO.

- Apparently Hole 4 used to play from a pad that made it a funky "over the fence" RHBH hyzer shot? The new pad plays straight in the 300'ish range ... like a lot of other holes on the course. The old teepad would be a shot that I didn't use all day and something to change up the repetitiveness.

- Hole 7 has a ridiculously sweet natural, cleared opening on the right side of the fairway ~250ish off the tee that drops down into a ravine and then back up a hill. With a little more clearing here and there, 7 could be a verrrry cool par 4 with a pin that flows nicely to Hole 8's tee area (although it would be another hole that the tee shot would be left-to-right). However as I am not local, I am not aware of any issues that might be present in the ravine, like flooding or stuff like that. The people who have installed all the benches have shown that they don't mind doing work to the course, so some stairs down and then back up on the other side shouldn't be that big a deal to install (other than possible county safety/insurance issues).

- Of the Augusta area courses, this is the best beginner friendly course (as well as Steady Ed from the reds).

- I have played the IDGC, Patriot's, Lake O, and Riverview (when not overgrown) in the Augusta area, and would recommend any of those courses over PKP for travelers from out of town. PKP is solid for locals and I'd probably venture out for doubles/singles/league rounds only if I lived in the area.

- Honestly the only reason I drove down from Athens with some buddies to play PKP, was due to the flurry of 5disc reviews that seemed out of place from what I had heard about the course. I went in with an open mind and tried to objectively rate it compared to all of the other 51 courses I have played during the past 4 years.

- Overall a solid course: the repetitiveness of distance and shape of holes did start to take it's toll. It felt like a 3.25. I can't justify a 3.5, so 3 it is.

60 of 63 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.