Disc Golf Center
Augusta, GA 
Pendleton King Park Share
Uploaded By: FAST Hole #10 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Finest of Augusta

5+    1/12/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: SGM Roc180
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 48 Not
Pros: This course has everything for the beginner and the experienced player. I agree with the previous reviews regarding all the improvements. What I like best, it is so clean. I also like the fact that it is golf cart friendly, I take my Club Car and breeze through 18 in no time flat. I guess the most important thing is that I am able to watch and help beginners...We were all beginners at one time and I see many of our local Pros play at PK. There are no other courses that can compare to PK. Now PK has replaced my other favorite course which was Crooked Creek also a very clean course.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Anybody who complains about the PK course does not have a clue what great is!

1 of 49 people found this review helpful.

 trix

5+    12/27/2013   1/13/2014
Review By: trix
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/18/2014
0 Helpful / 46 Not
Pros: Pendleton King Park is a good disc golf park if you are a beginner such as myself. It has wooded and open holes with birdie opportunities. What a suprise to all the "new" and improved changes since my last visit in 2011. Great tee pads and good next hole signs. Since my 6yr old plays with me it is nice to have the benches, trash cans, and bathrooms(very clean) available. Kudo's to whoever is in charge of the improvements and thank you!!! You did a great job!! I can't wait to visit again.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Compared to Riverview, Patriots, and Lake Olmstead, Pendleton King Park cleanest and easiest course. It is a beginner friendly course.

0 of 46 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/9/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: jc_john1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 33 Not
Pros: - Nice course with a fair amount of up/down rolling hills - nothing too steep
- Fairways in the woods, while amply wide, often deceive and turn what appears to be a quick easy par into a par+1.
- There is a good mixture of normal and turnover shots available.
- Several holes have alternate pin positions
- No super-long crush holes, but there are a few 300+ footers to let you blast a disc out there (Holes 2, 16, and 17)
- Benches on each hole
- Trash cans at every hole
- Signage with hole number and par at each hole
- Good for a quick round
Cons: - Occasionally there are park goers/events that interfere with playing holes (weddings / photographers / picnickers IVO hole 18, picnickers near hole 4 pin)

2 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: cdodgen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: 1. Good mix of right to left holes.
2. Ace runs and Birdie opportunities.
3. Excellent tee pads.
4. Custom made benches at every hole.
5. Trash receptacles at every hole.
6. Distances to hole at each tee.
8. Great signage to "next tee" thru out course.
9. Restrooms and water fountain at hole 2 and restrooms at hole 8.
10. Water fountain at hole 9.
11. Very clean (except for a few cigarette butts.)
12. Friendly staff and park volunteers.
Cons: 1. Hole # 1 fairway is close to picnic tables (Could be a problem with a bad drive.)
2. Hole # 2 fairway is close to playground. (Could be a problem with a bad drive.)
3. Long walk after # 3 to official hole 4 tee.
4. Only two holes that the throw long.
Other Thoughts: I have played all the local courses; Jackson, Steady Ed and Warner at IDGC in Appling Georgia, Hogback, Old Glory and Moody Hills at the Hippodrome in North Augusta, SC, Riverview Park in North Augusta, SC, Patriots Park in Evans Georgia and Lake Olmstead, Augusta. Without any doubt Pendleton King Park (PK) is the "Cleanest and friendliest" course I have ever played. I do not know how to describe it exactly, but it is a beginner friendly course that has enough challenge to make me play it again and again. If you are coming to Augusta, make time to play PK, you will not regret it. There is something for the whole family to do while the disc golf members play. Playgrounds, bike paths, walking and jogging paths, nature trails, wetlands, bird sanctuary, very clean picnic areas, 5 flower gardens and much more. Just minutes away are supermarkets Kroger, Publix, and Food Lion and Augusta Mall and many Gas service stations. Plenty of parking and probably many other points I missed. Just come and enjoy the Finest.

10 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Most Improved

5+    1/8/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: Aceman Augusta
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 47 Not
Pros: 1. Plenty of parking
2. Fair amount of right to left holes
3. Ace and Birdie opportunities
4. Best tee pads
5. Benches at every hole
6. Trash cans, very clean park
7. Next tee signs
8. Restrooms
Cons: 1. Hole 1 close to picnic tables
2. Hole 2 close to playground
3. No really long shots
Other Thoughts: It is a beginner friendly course that all level of players enjoy. Try PK, you will like it.
Cleanest course in the CSRA
Most Improved

0 of 47 people found this review helpful.

 P.K. Great Course

5+    1/6/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: injunjholton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/19/2014
0 Helpful / 40 Not
Pros: Nice holes. Excellent pads. Beautiful custom donated benches. Great for beginners and pros
Cons: Hardly any! Maybe a couple of longer holes. And hole 2 being a lil too close to the kids playground
Other Thoughts: Alot of work has been put into this course lately and it has become a beautiful course to play

0 of 40 people found this review helpful.

 PK Renovations

5+    12/21/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: frogponddiver
Played: 105  Reviewed: 1
15 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1. Large concrete tee pads on every hole. The tee pads are nicely placed and have been surrounded with M-10 crushed rock to provide nice run up and run off areas on the tees. Plenty of room for the longest run-ups.
2. Tee signs with accurate distances are visible from the tee pad on every hole.
3. Custom benches on every hole. Each bench was donated by sponsors and have a unique insert recognizing these sponsors inlaid in the benches. The benches are large and placed behind the tees.
4. Trash cans throughout the course. Large 55 gallon trash cans are conveniently placed so there is no reason to not use them.
5. Fairways are clear of obstacles. The fairways have been trimmed to offer fair shots. The odd "invisible limbs" have been removed to offer fair shots if you hit your lines.
6. Directional signage from hole to hole is very visible. Look for the white pained "hands" pointing to the next tee. This helps during a couple of the longer transitions.
7. Ruff is cleared of dead and fallen trees. The course plays through the woods on many of the holes, especially on the back nine. The area to the right and left have been trimmed back to offer good fairways as stated earlier in this post. The ruff is typically small trees and large scrub growth and going in there may result in some additional strokes, especially if you go deep. You won't find piles of trash or piles of limbs in there though. These have all been cleaned up.
8. Baskets have been painted for visibility. Each basket has an orange painted marker on top that can be seen from a distance. This helps clarify the basket locations for the thrower.
9. Course is maintained extremely well. Volunteer course maintenance is handled by Fast Eddie and his crew of volunteers. They have done a wonderful job on the course and continue to make improvements. I hear that bag hangers for each hole are in the works. Netting to stop errant discs from flying into the playground areas is also planned. If you have any other suggestions, post them on the kiosk near hole 1 and they will be considered.
10. Bathroom facilities are available near hole 2 and 8 for both men and women. The facilities have always been clean and open, which is rare for many courses.
Cons: 1. The playground area near hole two is open to an errant shot. Take care here until the netting gets installed.
2. Hole 18 is an ideal spot for picnickers that are unaware of their presence on a disc golf course. Be courteous and they will usually make way.
Other Thoughts: The course at Pendleton King Park (PK) plays around a children's play area and a fenced dog lot. It's in a community park. The layout of the course minimizes the interaction with these areas as much as possible but disc golfers must be respectful of others using the park however.

The City of Augusta Parks and Recreation Department has an on-site staff member on the property and it is obvious he is engaged with the property. This is rare for a city park.

The Pendleton King Foundation is very proud of this park and continues to be a supporter of disc golf as evidenced by their continued support of Fast Eddie's efforts to make course improvements. Having an outside supporter for a park is even more rare than having an on-site maintenance staff. Their continued support is something to be cultivated.

15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Pendleton King

2-4    12/26/2013   12/27/2013
Review By: awhit-thetall
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: Absolutely stunning park. Gorgeous landscaping, wonderful brick constructs, and the proper amount of water... all of which is off the course.
Cons: Would like to see at least one Par 5 and few longer holes. but as a casual player, I can't think of anything I don't like about it.
Other Thoughts: There are dogs barking in the park.... hahah if you here people complain about that just chuckle and enjoy being in a wondeful park.

Really well maintained, benches on every hole, and they are constantly improving it.

this is the place to play in Augusta.

0 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Really nice course

5+    12/15/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: Baughmanron86
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 52 Not
Pros: Very clean. Laid out really well. Great beginners course and tournament quality course. Well maintained. Trash receptacles at every hole and nice tee boxes. Beautiful fairways and pin placements.
Cons: Loud dogs barking in people's backyards on hole 1-3 and people always think the fairways are nature trails, but you can't really blame either of those on the course.
Other Thoughts: Great course. If you haven't played here before make sure you do you won't regret it.

1 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Very solid course that is improving.

1    12/7/2013   12/10/2013
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
13 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It is evident that they are putting a lot of work into improving the course. The tee pads are in great shape and the area around them has been recently leveled off. The course is somewhat short but was pretty challenging for me as a beginner. I thought there was decent variety to the holes. The park was very nice overall. Beautiful in spots with the trees flowering. There were garbage cans and new benches at most if not all holes. Very few places to worry about losing a disc. The course was very easy to follow with great new signage everywhere to help. The course seemed very accessible. We had a person who had recently had knee surgery walking with us and she seemed to do fine. The benches look great! Water bottle holders on a couple of holes and I hear bag hangers are in the works. I also heard they were going to be putting in some safety netting in the areas where the course comes close to the picnic areas... great work by the local crew to address concerns.
Cons: I heard the pond used to be more in play which sounded interesting. If there could be a couple longer holes added that would be nice. Also if there were a way to bring in more elevation change would be more to my liking.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the great work, I look forward to coming back and seeing where you take the course.

13 of 24 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.