Augusta, GA 
Pendleton King Park Share
Uploaded By: FAST Hole #9 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Clean and Friendly

1    8/2/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 275  Reviewed: 274  Exp: 5 Years
36 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the cleanest and friendliest course that I have ever played. Fast Eddie and the boys even managed to part the clouds and stop the rain for me. Seriously though, what I think is meant by clean and friendly is well-maintained. Partly that is due to the fact that much of the course traverses areas of the park that are multi-use. But partly, it's due to an intense maintenance effort that keeps the wooded areas of the course as pristine as the park areas.
There is a lot to like aesthetically in Pendleton King, from arboretums to gardens. Several elements do make the course stand out that aren't technically part of the golf. The walkway from 8's basket to the 9 tee feels like it belongs at Augusta National. The gated garden behind the 18th basket provides a truly memorable finish. These things do have an effect.
And it is clean. This is a course that is very well-suited to new players. There is little that will challenge the veteran but there is a great variety, from wide open holes to well-carved path from the woods but no fairway would be considered restrictive.
That back nine actually features some solid golf. If the front nine matched up, this would be a borderline 3.5 course. With the exception of 17 and 18, the second half is entirely in the woods. There is a good variety of lines, with some clear left holes, a few right holes and some very well designed RHBH anny shots. I wouldn't mind looping this nine a few times. It's a very solid play with vary fair, very well-cleared fairways. If there is a standout hole, it is 14, which is significantly longer than anything else and likely requires multiple throws through the woods.
I'd imagine the course plays very well on league nights. The later hours mitigate a lot of the problems with the front nine and on doubles nights, players are likely counting their birdies. Pretty much every hole here is eminently birdiable for intermediate players. The local league members probably have a blast at Pendleton, running for aces and trying for low scores.
Because of the maintenance, and the preponderance of navigation aids, it is indeed a clean and friendly play.
Cons: Before I start on the front nine, I should mention that while the back nine is solid, it is far from spectacular. There is nothing memorable. Solid wooded holes that are just too wide to be all that interesting. There is some elevation but not too much. The basic layout shapes are all there, but nothing stirs the imagination.
So the front nine. There are some problems. There a lot of facilities in this park. Probably a lot of traffic at times. So to begin. 1 runs parallel to the park road. Very close to the park road. 2 pretty much traverses a playground. 3 throws directly over the park road. 4, 5 and 8 don't force players to throw over any specific areas of use but there are jogging paths and open fields that are clearly used by pedestrians. These holes are dangerous and it is mind boggling that anyone would consider a course to be elite that featured these five holes.
Even if you took out all the interference issues, these holes would be a 2.5 at best. They just aren't interesting. Typically straight shots with little in the way of obstacles. (besides the children) Pretty, but very boring in a disc golf sense. Even 6 and 7 which make a mini woods loop, are bleh. 6 is a gimmicky nags, with a forced layup to get around a near ninety-degree bend too close to the tee. Honestly, on the walk to hole ten, I thought I would be rating this course a 2.0. There are just too many problem areas on what be a very bland course even if they were somehow corrected.
I just don't think the property could sustain an elite course. The terrain isn't there and too much of the space is already taken up by other park facilities. I think the most of it has been made on the back nine. Unless there is some space to create another nine like that back, this course is best left to appeal to beginners and players who don't want to be challenged, and ideally want to play when there are no other park-goers present.
Other Thoughts: I saw who I can only assume was Fast Eddie working on the alt basket for 7.....in the rain. With that kind of dedication, it is not hard to understand the loyalty of the locals to this course. Not hard to imagine someone paying respect by going online and overrating the course. (And while typically I don't even think about what other reviewers say when I write one, it's impossible to talk about PK without the context of what's been happening review-wise.
So no, in my opinion it is not a five. If I could be more specific, I'd give Pendleton King a 2.7. So consider this a high 2.5. It's a fun course. But it's not one that I would recommend players target in their journeys. Especially not in Augusta. I realize that I talked a lot about ratings here and typically I think the rating is the least important part of the review. But it is hard to disentangle the rating from this course, given all the hoopla. I think the back nine will eventually be a 3.5, given that it seems as if alternate baskets are being added that will make several holes more challenging. The front nine is going to be hard to improve without a substantial redesign though. 6 could be tweaked and it looks like 7 is going to be a sweet hole eventually but there just isn't much too work with on that part of the property.

36 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Course changes

5+    7/22/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: mothballs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 47 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Trash cans every hole & nice benches. Beginner friendly course. Good twist to the course from the 6th hole. This course is one of the best maintained courses we have ever played & improvements are being made continually. Park staff and volunteers are friendly and the park opens early. Flags to gauge the wind is a nice add. The shrubs and nets are very helpfull
Cons: Hole 2 is close to playground and bath room area.
Other Thoughts: Course has come a long way. The cleanest course I have been to in the Augusta area. Keep up the good work.

0 of 47 people found this review helpful.

 Augusta's cleanest course

1    7/21/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: Treehugger2002
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 54 Not
Pros: Tee signs are on every hole with distance,
All tee pads are level around the edges , You don't have to worry about falling off pads, The Great folks over at PK have put in a lot of work to make this place a must play course if your in augusta area. Also a few alternate pin placements
Cons: I can't complain , great for beginners
Other Thoughts: The park is very clean of trash

0 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Good for New Players

5+    6/22/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Warmoth
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
7 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: easy terrain, pretty flat overall, good combination of short/long holes. moderate woods and some open shots.
Cons: Hole 2 is close to a playground. Had a few kids pick up the discs. That's about it.
Other Thoughts: A great course for players just starting and a fun course for mid level players.

7 of 30 people found this review helpful.

P.K.

2-4    5/1/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 123  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 22.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2016
5 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Nice layout through a very clean and safe park setting. 2 restrooms along course route with one close to hole 1. Some open and some woods provides sufficient challenge for the rec player such as myself. A few of short woods holes have Long & Short permanent baskets to add some additional challenge. The path to hole 9 cuts through a beautiful garden. Course is not only very fun to play it is also a nice walk through gardens with sculpted bushes and flowers. Baskets in good shape, catch well and are highlighted with florescent paint to make them easy to spot. There is sufficient space between baskets, not cluttered, the basket you see is the one you are throwing to. Signature hole 18 finishes by a rose garden. Take time to smell the roses. Cement tee pads and tee signs. Park & D/golf is free.
Cons: Only 1 set of tees per hole. Short on challenge for advanced players. The wooded holes do not stand out much from one another and can seem a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: One of the easier courses in the Augusta area but still a very fun play that seems most suited for recreational players. The "Friendly" course did not eat any of our discs. The rough, although present on some holes does not eat discs. Just rough enough to punish you with a tough next throw, not a lost disc. The wooded holes have well defined lines and fairways.

5 of 26 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/17/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: Bam14
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 34 Not
Pros: There have been some really good improvements over the years and recently. Benches at every hole, basket locations, flags on baskets to gauge the wind, added a practice basket recently, & maintained clean course. I've heard rumors of adding alternate basket locations.
Cons: Although some cover has been planted on hole 1 and 2 picnic tables can come into play.
Other Thoughts: Course has come a long way from where it was a few years back, short and wide open. Course is maintained well and improvements are being made every time I go back it seems lately.

1 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/5/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: bsembach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 29 Not
Pros: Custom made benches and holders at every hole.
signs point to "next tee" thru out course.
Friendly staff and park volunteers.
new position of the 6th hole adds a good twist to the course and it's difficulty
Cons: course crosses path with many picnic areas and play ground.
course is ever changing

1 of 30 people found this review helpful.

  Tsunami Swami

2-4    4/11/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: jerryswain
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: The cleanest course by far. The maintenance crew seemed to be ever present. I believe I met Mike and Tom? He was actually filling cracks in the benches with wood filler. I am a beginner and this course allows me to make some pars but challenges me to improve. Honestly I'm impressed that Richmond County has a course. Alternate pin placements.
Cons: Like a lot of courses, it's incorporated with other activities and programs in the same venue. Some parents allow their children to run around with total disregard to the disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot potential and I truly believe if parks and recreation were afforded more money in the budget his course could be the best in Augusta.

4 of 31 people found this review helpful.

  Great Improvements!

5+    1/3/2014   2/2/2014
Review By: jedro
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 61 Not
Pros: Wooded and open holes with birdie opportunities.More rights I think.Great tee pads.Trash cans every hole.Nice benches,good next hole signs.Very clean and restrooms
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Compared to Riverview,Patriots and Lake Olmstead,Pendleton King Park is the cleanest and easiest course.It is a beginner friendly course

3 of 64 people found this review helpful.

  The best

5+    1/11/2014   2/2/2014
Review By: jvh91667
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 60 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, clean. Tee signs with distance at every hole. Custom benches at every hole. Trash receptacles at every hole. Direction signs from hole to hole. Clean fairways and ruff. Public restrooms at 2 locations.
Cons: Hole 1 close to picnic area. Hole 2 is close to children's playground, caution with the drive. Several areas are close to pedestrian pathways. Examples are hole 4,5,18. This is a fair and objective rating.
Other Thoughts: This is the cleanest, friendliest course compared to New Jerseys South Vinland Park, Landis Park and Cape May County Park/Zoo.

0 of 60 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.