Augusta, GA 
Pendleton King Park Share
Uploaded By: FAST Hole #9 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Path to hole # 9



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Really nice course

5+    12/15/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: Baughmanron86
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 49 Not
Pros: Very clean. Laid out really well. Great beginners course and tournament quality course. Well maintained. Trash receptacles at every hole and nice tee boxes. Beautiful fairways and pin placements.
Cons: Loud dogs barking in people's backyards on hole 1-3 and people always think the fairways are nature trails, but you can't really blame either of those on the course.
Other Thoughts: Great course. If you haven't played here before make sure you do you won't regret it.

1 of 50 people found this review helpful.

Very solid course that is improving.

1    12/7/2013   12/10/2013
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
12 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It is evident that they are putting a lot of work into improving the course. The tee pads are in great shape and the area around them has been recently leveled off. The course is somewhat short but was pretty challenging for me as a beginner. I thought there was decent variety to the holes. The park was very nice overall. Beautiful in spots with the trees flowering. There were garbage cans and new benches at most if not all holes. Very few places to worry about losing a disc. The course was very easy to follow with great new signage everywhere to help. The course seemed very accessible. We had a person who had recently had knee surgery walking with us and she seemed to do fine. The benches look great! Water bottle holders on a couple of holes and I hear bag hangers are in the works. I also heard they were going to be putting in some safety netting in the areas where the course comes close to the picnic areas... great work by the local crew to address concerns.
Cons: I heard the pond used to be more in play which sounded interesting. If there could be a couple longer holes added that would be nice. Also if there were a way to bring in more elevation change would be more to my liking.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the great work, I look forward to coming back and seeing where you take the course.

12 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/9/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: Beasy11
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2013
0 Helpful / 33 Not
Pros: They have done a lot of work on this course. Put up markers to navigate you throughout the course, trash cans and bench on all holes. For the most part course is flat and easy to walk. It's a great place to learn the game
Cons: Do not have a driving range
Do not have papers like you would get at golf course that tells you how long and gives you place keep score
Other Thoughts: All around a great course
Paint the chains so they stick out a little more
At some other parks they have layout of each hole at tee

0 of 33 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly and active

5+    12/6/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: Devtholt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2014
8 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: -Fast Eddie and the group that have volunteered to improve the course have done an amazing job over the past few weeks. Many of the fairways have been cleared of debris.

- Pendleton King is very clean and well maintained. There are new benches and trashcans at every hole.

-This course is suitable for beginners or players who want to play a quick round.

-The baskets are in good condition and markers have been added to guide players from hole to hole.

-The tee pads have had some work and the new concrete has made them look good and function really well.

-Players on the course are friendly as well as the staff that maintains the park.

-There is plenty of parking available.

Cons: -There isn't a mix between technical and open shots. Most of the holes are straight shots with a little bit of curve to them.

-Holes 1 and 2 might make some players uncomfortable for being so close to recreational areas for children and picnic tables. However, I haven't seen anyone have problems with these two holes yet.
Other Thoughts: As far as free to play parks go, if you are looking for a course with a lot of elevation change, I suggest Riverview Park or Lake Olmsted. Patriot's Park is also a fair difficulty. Pendleton King found a place in my rotation, and with the work they have been putting into it I can tell it's going to stay a favorite of mine.

**I'm not sure why this has been so unhelpful, but if you find it so, write a review of your own and explain things about the course I might have missed.**

8 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course For All Ages

5+    12/7/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: Scott_92
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: I really appreciate the changes that have been happening here at this course recently. Fast Eddie has been doing a lot of work to improve this course. New benches, added dirt around the teepads, updated par and distance measurements, temporary signage guiding players to the next hole, and dead trees and sticks being cleaned up from the fairways. Thanks for the improvements. I'm looking forward to seeing the changes that are planned for Stage 2 of improvements planned for the spring of 2013. Keep up the good work!
There are a nice mixture of open/wooded holes at this course. It's easy enough for beginners to enjoy and difficult enough that seasoned players will appreciate playing here.
Cons: A few of the holes play too long for a par 3 and too short for a par 4. Since they are marked as par 4's it makes for easy birdies, but different pin locations would help. Hole 7 and the long pin placement at hole 17 would be two examples that come to mind. Picnic tables are pretty close to holes 1 and 2 and may be better served being moved to a less dangerous area.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see the pin for hole 7 being moved to the very far pin placement that is down the hill to the right of the fairway and down in that deep ravine. I've never played that hole before but it looks super fun and challenging! Overall, a fun course to play for all ages. I appreciate very much the improvements taking place recently.

3 of 21 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/6/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: Dedicated maintenance in beautiful setting - gardens , arboretum and dog park . Half of holes through woods , mostly open shots though . Usually plays to 54 with 3 or 4 alt pins can go to 57 , no stress fun to play course great for beginners .
Cons: Gated park opens at 8 AM closes around dark . Tons of pedestrian traffic - but aware of the course and etiquette towards golfers .
Other Thoughts: Another must play in Augusta - ace runs and birdies are plentiful .

2 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 Good and Improving

5+    11/16/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: greg_t
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: - Reasonable level of difficulty. Newer players can get to par with a reasonable amount of practice and veterans can start hunting birdies all around the course.
- Good mix of open and tightly wooded holes.
- Improvements are always underway and the course is maintained by hard-working individuals.
- Vegetation is kept at a great level. Not hard at all to keep track of your discs throughout most of the court if they go astray or fade too hard.
Cons: - One or two of the holes labelled as par 4's really ought to be par 3's. This is great encouragement for beginners but it doesn't seem right.
- There are no very very long holes. I'm not very good at these anyway but including at least just one would be a good addition if it could have been fit into the layout.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the course and the fact that it is not extremely difficult to par the course. The difficulty and variation of hole styles provides for some stiff competition with whoever you bring along or a good time if you stop by on your own for a round. Go give it a try!

5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

vongripper

5+    11/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: vongripper
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/29/2013
3 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: Very fair course.You do not have to be able to throw 300-400 feet to shoot par.Very nicely maintained.Sometimes you will hear dogs barking in yards that border the park,but that is okay as this is not a library.Improvements/beautification is constant and ongoing.
Cons: It is located in a public park and sometimes(not often) people walk on the course on a couple of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Played today and it was beautiful.

3 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Underrated Course

5+    5/22/2014   10/15/2013
Review By: BCpreheim
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: -Rounds are typically under an hour
-Benches are new and trash cans are abundant
-Next tee signs point one in the right direction
-Birdies are available on 2/3 of the holes
-The course is fairly wooded to make it interesting but fairways are easily defined
Cons: -There is not a ton of elevation change
Other Thoughts: Especially if you are a beginner this course is the best course in the area. Although more experienced players will still have fun with the course, beginners will be able to obtain success that is difficult to find on other area courses.

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Nice Urban Course

2-4    7/24/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.2 Years
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: *Fairly easy to find navigate your way through the course, with one exception.
*Good mix of left and right curves
*Lots of trees, but there is always a defined and open fairway on even the most densely wooded holes.
*Once you get into the woods, you might not see anyone else in the park, and can easily forget you're in the middle of the city.
*Benches on almost every hole, which helps in the humid Georgia summer.
Cons: *Can be hard to find your way on a few holes. I'm thinking especially where you need to walk through the little flower grotto, and 18.
*Many holes are about the same distance, the only variation is the curve of the fairway or the location of the trees.
*Water on the course but it doesn't really come into play.
Other Thoughts: My son lives in Augusta, and this is a course I have played a lot when we visit. I like it better than any of the other courses we have played in Augusta without leaving the state (I haven't played Killer B yet).

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.