Augusta, GA 
Pendleton King Park Share
Uploaded By: FAST Hole #13 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Course For All Ages

5+    12/7/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: Scott_92
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: I really appreciate the changes that have been happening here at this course recently. Fast Eddie has been doing a lot of work to improve this course. New benches, added dirt around the teepads, updated par and distance measurements, temporary signage guiding players to the next hole, and dead trees and sticks being cleaned up from the fairways. Thanks for the improvements. I'm looking forward to seeing the changes that are planned for Stage 2 of improvements planned for the spring of 2013. Keep up the good work!
There are a nice mixture of open/wooded holes at this course. It's easy enough for beginners to enjoy and difficult enough that seasoned players will appreciate playing here.
Cons: A few of the holes play too long for a par 3 and too short for a par 4. Since they are marked as par 4's it makes for easy birdies, but different pin locations would help. Hole 7 and the long pin placement at hole 17 would be two examples that come to mind. Picnic tables are pretty close to holes 1 and 2 and may be better served being moved to a less dangerous area.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see the pin for hole 7 being moved to the very far pin placement that is down the hill to the right of the fairway and down in that deep ravine. I've never played that hole before but it looks super fun and challenging! Overall, a fun course to play for all ages. I appreciate very much the improvements taking place recently.

4 of 22 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/6/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 33 Not
Pros: Dedicated maintenance in beautiful setting - gardens , arboretum and dog park . Half of holes through woods , mostly open shots though . Usually plays to 54 with 3 or 4 alt pins can go to 57 , no stress fun to play course great for beginners .
Cons: Gated park opens at 8 AM closes around dark . Tons of pedestrian traffic - but aware of the course and etiquette towards golfers .
Other Thoughts: Another must play in Augusta - ace runs and birdies are plentiful .

2 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 Good and Improving

5+    11/16/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: greg_t
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: - Reasonable level of difficulty. Newer players can get to par with a reasonable amount of practice and veterans can start hunting birdies all around the course.
- Good mix of open and tightly wooded holes.
- Improvements are always underway and the course is maintained by hard-working individuals.
- Vegetation is kept at a great level. Not hard at all to keep track of your discs throughout most of the court if they go astray or fade too hard.
Cons: - One or two of the holes labelled as par 4's really ought to be par 3's. This is great encouragement for beginners but it doesn't seem right.
- There are no very very long holes. I'm not very good at these anyway but including at least just one would be a good addition if it could have been fit into the layout.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the course and the fact that it is not extremely difficult to par the course. The difficulty and variation of hole styles provides for some stiff competition with whoever you bring along or a good time if you stop by on your own for a round. Go give it a try!

6 of 25 people found this review helpful.

vongripper

5+    11/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: vongripper
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/30/2014
3 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Very fair course.You do not have to be able to throw 300-400 feet to shoot par.Very nicely maintained.Sometimes you will hear dogs barking in yards that border the park,but that is okay as this is not a library.Improvements/beautification is constant and ongoing.
Cons: It is located in a public park and sometimes(not often) people walk on the course on a couple of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Played today and it was beautiful.Very clean and friendly course.

3 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Underrated Course

5+    5/22/2014   10/15/2013
Review By: BCpreheim
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
2 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: -Rounds are typically under an hour
-Benches are new and trash cans are abundant
-Next tee signs point one in the right direction
-Birdies are available on 2/3 of the holes
-The course is fairly wooded to make it interesting but fairways are easily defined
Cons: -There is not a ton of elevation change
Other Thoughts: Especially if you are a beginner this course is the best course in the area. Although more experienced players will still have fun with the course, beginners will be able to obtain success that is difficult to find on other area courses.

2 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Nice Urban Course

2-4    7/24/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.9 Years
9 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: *Fairly easy to find navigate your way through the course, with one exception.
*Good mix of left and right curves
*Lots of trees, but there is always a defined and open fairway on even the most densely wooded holes.
*Once you get into the woods, you might not see anyone else in the park, and can easily forget you're in the middle of the city.
*Benches on almost every hole, which helps in the humid Georgia summer.
Cons: *Can be hard to find your way on a few holes. I'm thinking especially where you need to walk through the little flower grotto, and 18.
*Many holes are about the same distance, the only variation is the curve of the fairway or the location of the trees.
*Water on the course but it doesn't really come into play.
Other Thoughts: My son lives in Augusta, and this is a course I have played a lot when we visit. I like it better than any of the other courses we have played in Augusta without leaving the state (I haven't played Killer B yet).

9 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course, semi technicall

5+    6/18/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Wchopki
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: tee boxes are kept up with, they just put new dirt down in front and behind them.

fun course for all skill levels due to shorter distances

Cons: baskets are old and do not have the yellow top, which can make them harder to see

2 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Bland but not as bad as the rating would lead you to believe

1    5/10/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 220  Reviewed: 207  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2012
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pendleton King has the reputation as the worst course in Augusta but it's not actually too bad. There is a good mix of fairways curving left and right with the woods on the side of the fairways so if you go off course the rough can eat you up which I have categorized as a good thing because I like rough that challenges you since that is its job. Not a whole lot of elevation changes, just a couple on the course the throw slightly uphill or downhill; just enough to mess with your ability to judge distance because of the change. Most of the course plays on solid dirt so you have to judge your skips well and avoid rolling your upshots. No signs and we didn't follow the map but the course is fairly obvious and I'm surprised at previous reviewers complaining of navigational issues. Baskets are aging but still in decent shape as are the tee pads.
Cons: I liked this course but nothing stood out as something amazing or unique or interesting; I've seen everything here before. The course is a bit bland and runs together in my mind with the exception of a couple of holes in the front nine. The back nine looks almost exactly the same with the exception of the last two holes. There is a part where you play back and forth throwing almost the exact same throws as before so it's a bit boring. I wish there was a better mix of hole distances here as everything feels about the same distance whether it moves 50 feet or not.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't bad but there just isn't anything amazing here to go back to, that saying it's still a decent option as a new course to check out if you're in the area. There was one little pass I remember towards the back I think where you go through some sprinklers on your walking path which feel great in the heat, especially since I was in town for a week and not used to the heat being a Seattlite.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 The worst in Augusta . . .isn't so bad at all!!!!!

1    2/15/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 839  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.3 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, and distance. The holes are all named too . . . something I am seeing more of and something I greatly appreciate, it just adds to the feel (assuming the holes actually need to be named . . . a course with 9 150' wide open holes will not need to be named).

2) This course is pretty beginner friendly . . .the distance is not overwhelming and the shule/rough areas are not so difficult that you will lose a lot of discs or struggle to recover. Generally you can recover pretty easily from 1 errant shot.

3) Nice large concrete tees available here.

4) Some benches and garbage
cans around the course. They are not on every hole but there are a few. I am sure the benches are appreciated on a 110 degree Georgia day.

5) There is an arboretum on site and you can tell they take care of this old park. There are some really nice plantings and some unique concrete and brick structures on the property. I have said it a bunch, but I love it when these old parks keep the historic stuff and work the disc golf around it. I think it makes for such a unique feeling.

6) #17 is a great hole because of a design feature that I cannot say I have seen regularly. The basket is tucked into a lane between a row of trees and a fenced off area. The row of trees gets increasingly closer and closer to the basket as the basket can be moved further down the alley. I saw three pin positions and the longer the hole goes the tighter the lane. I thought this was unique and an excellent idea increasing the need for accuracy and length making the shot progressively harder at each position.

7) This is a really diverse property ranging from the moderately open park-like holes to some more densely wooded tunnels.

8) Elevation change was used effectively in the design to create some interesting and challenging shots. There are times you will have to adjust your shot because of the elevation.

9) The disc golf shots on this course are pretty good. You need to work the disc both directions and you also need to throw a couple of unique shots like on #3 and #4 and #17. Those are shots that you don't get on every course.
Cons: 1) No maps on the teesigns which is a real negative for the travelling disc golfer.

2) You throw over a road on #3, around a tennis court and across a field where I am sure picnickers will be hanging around on a nice day, you throw along a path a couple of times where walkers might get in your way, and then you throw awfully near the entrance road. All in all I would prefer if these interactions were minimized but here they seem to feel like the norm.

3) The course suffers all too much from the compaction/erosion issue. I know it is an old park and it has seen a lot of use over time, but there are many bare spots, both around the baskets and tees and also in some other areas. The tighter the woods the less turf they have (which is natural) and just points to the need for mulch or some sort of groundcover.

4) The course was confusing in a few spots because the routing didn't seem intuitive. Directionals in 3 or 4 spots would have made it all just fine, but we spent a couple minutes looking around a few times.

5) The distance variation is a little lacking. There are mostly a couple of different lengths that just get repeated so multiple holes have duplicates.
Other Thoughts: If this is the worst that Augusta has to offer I am jealous. This course was way more fun than the 2.68 average rating. I honestly feel like I had more fun here than I did at Lake Olmstead which was rated well over 3.00 discs. Sure the course isn't the most well maintained but I would argue it is more attractive as a course and park than Lake Olmstead mostly because of the variety.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Open and Open Wooded

1    9/25/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 349  Exp: 6.7 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Even mixture of holes in the open and holes in woods.

Multiple pin positions on about half the holes.

Concrete tees.

Online map made navigation simple.
Cons:
Most holes play somewhat near walking paths and other areas used by other park users.

Lots of barking dogs to distract (cheer you on?) as holes 1-2 run alongside the back of many private properties.

Tired baskets.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set along the edge of treelines and within the woods that form the border of a multi-activity park. The landscape is relatively flat, with very gentle changes in elevation. Grass was low, and the park seemed fairly clean.

About half the holes (1-5, 8, 16-18) play in the "open", i.e. you mostly have air between you and the basket, but the well-placed scattered trees, bushes, and elevation changes add to the challenge.

About half the holes (6-7, 9-15) play in the "woods", i.e. the fairways are surrounded by woods on both sides, but are very broad, mostly straight, typically requiring a bit of turn or fade as the disc nears the basket. Most of these holes are also similar in length, mid-200's to lower 300's.

Overall, a decent course, worth playing. Avoids the extremes, providing some challenge but also the opportunity to score well.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.