Wamego, KS 
Pennyland Park Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #8 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 155ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pennyland...worth about a penny

1    7/1/2004   7/1/2012
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a disc golf course...I guess.
Cons: It is extremely short, which is okay if it is technical, but it really isn't that technical either. Yes, there are trees, but it really isn't that tough. Tires are used for the bottom of the basket?! Terrible. And the chains used are tiny. These baskets don't catch anything, and I was mad at first that we had driven 30 miles to play this course, but we were laughing by the end because it was so comical.
Other Thoughts: Don't make a special trip to go play this course. If you are in Wamego and want to add another course to your list then play, but don't expect much.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Work on your Short Game - No Drivers Needed

1    4/11/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: dekalbdiscfan
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Nice quiet park.
-1st nine holes are set up in a fairly simple to follow circle.
-The course can be enjoyable and challenging if you have the mindset that it's really a "minature disc-golf course". I left my drivers in the car and worked on my short game.
-Plenty of trees as obstacles
Score Cards located on building by the tee on hole #4
Cons:
-Tee for #4 was tough to find at first - It's on top of the retaining wall above hole #3.
-I played in early April and can imagine that the full foilage of trees can make the course difficult.
-I would avoid playing the 2nd nine holes; just too hard to follow.
-The baskets are either homemade or some older design suited for regular frisbees. It looks like they were recently painted but still remain unappealing.
-Need to watch for walkers on the walking trail through the course.
Other Thoughts:
If you do visit the course you need to have the mindset of this being a "pitch-n-putt" course and a chance to work on your short game. You'll be dissappointed if you like throwing your driver. I would not go out of your way to play this course but would recommend it if you are in Wamego and looking to kill some time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Yikes!

1    10/23/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 120  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It had some type of baskets so I can't give it a 0. Quiet little town/park. Baskets have 2 different numbers on them so you can make it 18 if you want. You throw from a different pad to a different basket for the back 9. Map located at the beginning of the course shows both 9 hole routes.
Cons: SHORT holes. Two of the baskets were broke off at their bases. The baskets were made out of tires cut in half so there isn't much there to catch your discs. The chains...what is there...are tiny and only have a single strand in about a foot in diameter so it is hard to get your disc to stop.
Other Thoughts: With such a small park I would recommend putting in 3 or 4 nice baskets and just letting people make up their minds as to what the holes are. Not worth it unless you are on your way through town and want to add another course to your list.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice small semi hard course

2-4    10/4/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: Tryondm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Quite, not over ran by people. The trees make it difficult to throw but that is a pro since it is helping me curve.
Cons: Hasn't been updated in awhile. It is a difficult course to follow if you want to play a full 18.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time at this course. Not the greatest course but it was nice.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Boring, and Overgrown

6/21/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: rlangton
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots required.
Cons: Way too short. Trees have taken over the course where you have to duck under branches while standing on Tee's. Baskets are made out of rubber tires which tend to make discs bounce out. Can be unplayable when not mowed.
Other Thoughts: This course can be decent for practicing your mid-game and putts. It's just very small and cramped space. The short layout holes are rarely over 100 feet and the long layout is pretty ridiculous as you criss-cross the entire park on every hole and have to shoot through way too many overgrown trees that were probably decent obstacles 20 years ago, now they're just annoying.

Worth playing for an occasionally change of pace or if you want a course all by yourself.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.