Disc Golf Store
Ste Genevieve, MO 
Pere Marquette Park Share
Uploaded By: DGfan68 Hole #4 (Taken 11/2012)
4 / 336ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/5/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: This is a nice beginner's course with good layout around a wooded area and pond for the first five holes. The last four holes change to a run along a walking path near a baseball diamond and then near a building.

Since the park and city are located on the bluffs along the Mississippit River, the park has nice elevation change to make it interesting.

None of the shots were difficult or had obstacles to avoid so it was easy for my family to play.

Park is clean and well kept so it was an enjoyable walk as well.
Cons: Baskets were non-standard with non-vertical walls that didn't catch our discs unless we hit the chains. They're shaped more like a pie tin. A few times our discs landed in the baskets, but didn't stay. Despite the odd shape, they were nicely made and looked fairly new.

Hole 1 confused us initially. We threw to the basket we saw but it was for hole 2. Hole 6 was not readily visible, but we followed the map across the road, across the foundation of a removed building and down the grassy slope near the baseball diamond. The rest of the baskets were easy to find from there.
Other Thoughts: No shade trees for those hot days, but it was nice in the spring.

Way More Fun Than I Expected

1    10/4/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 143  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The use of the park's rolling elevation changes to maximize the course's challenge. Hole 1 plays down and left, pin tucked into the treeline. Hole 2 is a pretty strong uphill with pin tucked on the right. 3 throws with the treeline on the right. 4 throws across a small valley, the pin is on a hillock with plenty of rollaway chance. 5 throws uphill toward the road, 6 and 7 cross the road and are behind the pool area. 6 is a downhill run, 7 is uphill with a righthand down slope. 8 is barely uphill in field with the birdhouse mando. You must throw to the right of the birdhouse. Pin is to the left. 9 is behind the building and throws uphill and brings you back to hole 1.
Tee signs: Poles in the ground with hole number and a laminated photo of the hole with basket marked and direction to next tee pointed out.
Tees: white stones mark the end of the teebox.Natural teepad
Mini pavillions throughout, with a picnic table, for shade and a chance to catch a breather.
Cons: Tee signs on a couple holes are right on top of the edge of the tee box, so hitting a pole is a risk when driving. I took a few steps to the side to avoid this.
A couple more trash cans, but it wasn't a problem as its only 9 holes.
I had no problem with homemade baskets. They caught well and added some charm. Some will consider this a con however. The chain array is heavy and narrow, more of a bullseye basket, with a concave basket.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing here! Super fun holes, beautiful environment, well-maintained park. Not the most challenging course, but with all of the elevation, not a throwaway either. I cannot speak to the restroom situation, as I didn't look for one, but there were several buildings around. I am assuming one was a restroom but not certain.
If the previous reviewer is correct, dual tees with better sign placement would really do this course justice. And there is more land that would easily allow 9 more holes. There's a section of land, steeply downhill from the pavilion near hole 1, that would make 3-4 great holes right there alone.
Well worth playing here today!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Changes are coming!

5+    2/19/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: eupher61
Played: 95  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm trying to find a source of funding for new baskets and other upgrades, like signs. Just FYI, the City crews installed the existing signs (as of now) with little prompting, and they aren't always in a good place. So, work around them as you have to. Soon, some existing tee locations will be moved, and second tees on every hole, mostly shorter, will make for 18 holes to 9 baskets. The baskets need work, hopefully we'll at least get new paint on them, but they REALLY need to be replaced. There are pie-in-the-sky plans for 18 holes, but that's not reality for a while.
Cons: We need more people out playing this course, to show the City that it's really worth keeping!
Other Thoughts: A new website which may not be reflected on the course information yet...
www.stegenevievediscgolf.com
Yola is a free website, use it for YOUR local dg course!
Oh, I agree with almost everything in the 1st review. A couple of factual errors, but nothing major. The gunk he mentions on #1 is not new seeding, it's from where the water level dropped. Happens a lot. There usually are more trash cans, too, but they had been rolled when he was there. Walking trail isn't heavily used, but still, be cautious.
Because of a redesign, #1 and 2 have moved. 1 plays to the north/northeast, downhill toward #5 tee and set back into a clearing. #2 is uphill toward #3 tee, and also set back into a clearing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable course in rolling terrain with some water

1    12/28/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Metal signs with Hole # on the sign on tall metal stakes allow for easy navigation of the course, just look for the stake from the basket when you putt out.

2) Awesome elevation changes on this course. Every single hole on this course has some sort of elevation that affects your shots. There are some big downhills, a few severe uphills, and some that play along a sideslope. The elevation changes on this course make it way more challenging and way more fun than if it was flat. It would be simply boring without this incredible rolling terrain on this course. It gives you all sorts of things to consider when throwing around these hills and slopes. Many of the baskets are in dangerous spots (not necessarily protected spots, but spots where rollaways can get you. This can be considered a negative because it is as much luck as it is skill how you miss a basket.

3) The variety on this course is outstanding for a small town course. It not only has the elevation changes but it has two ponds that are most definitely in play (and at the very least in your head). Sure there aren't any wooded holes, but there are a handful of trees to consider when making your throws.

4) This property seemed to be well maintained although he turf is currently dormant. The only areas that were not perfect: #1 where they had apparently done some regarding or at the very least some reseeding. The area was a little wet still and because the turf wasn't fully filled in the mud was visible and it was soft and slippery. Just something to keep in mind but I am sure it will be better next spring when the normal warm season turf kicks in and fills out. The other area that wasn't perfect was on the left of #7 down near the baseball field, but you shouldn't throw down there (I unfortunately did).

5) Baskets although homemade do catch pretty well. The chain is heavy and you want to hit the chains to make sure it stays in. Basically it catches more truly than some of the other baskets because you really have to hit the sweetspot of the chains. Miss low and your disc can go shooting out of the concave baskets, as mine did twice. It doesn't have a vertical wall on the basket it has an angle and I actually threw low once and it went in to the bottom of the basket and shot back out the other side. That isn't like other baskets, but it was a horrible putt and I didn't deserve for it to be in, considering I wanted to hit chains and I missed them altogether and just hit the basket.

6) Distance on these holes is outstanding. They are mostly open so they are still considered par 3's, but the distance is really a factor on the uphill holes, where I think the holes play much harder than the downhill holes. The variety in hole distance is from approximately 250-400', but the effective distance of the holes plays closer to 200-500' because of the uphills and downhills. There were multiple 350' downhillers that can play about 275-300. Then there was #7 that was about 400' but played about 500' because of the uphill sidehill. I normally do not like open long holes, but because of the water and the rolling terrain all of these holes can be appreciated.

7) Course layout does a very good job avoiding other uses of the park. The only area where this is an issue would be on #6, 7, and 8 where there seems to be a sidewalk coming from another area in the park. I don't think it is an exercise track so it is probably seldomly used.

8) Serious risk/reward shots on a few holes. You really have to take the elevation changes into account, and on the downhillers playing a big turning hyzer or anhyzer can get you a lot closer to the basket, but it can also put you hundreds of feet away if you haven't accounted for the wind. The water shot on # 1 is the ultimate risk/reward. I went way right to avoid losing a disc, it looked deep, steep walled and cold so I did not want to go anywhere near the water. #4 although more in your head than in play can catch a big hyzer shot that went much further left than desired, and the slope can get you here too.
Cons: 1) Tee-signs are lacking in that they only have Hole # on them, a simple layout or map would be appreciated by the first timer.

2) Tees leave a little to be desired because they are just grass. Most are at least level, but #5 is horribly placed on the uphill throwing over a hill to a basket on a hill. There are too many things wrong in my opinion on that hole. I don't expect this course gets a lot of play but the tees will eventually wear out especially because of the distance on the holes, you really want to use your full run-up to get the most out of your drive.

3) As I mentioned above, the poor areas on the course are around #1 pond where some seeding work had taken place and down by the baseball field on #7.
Layout in general is pretty good, but finding hole #6 from #5 is tough because the tee is located around the pool area, but also because you cannot see any other baskets from #5. Pay attention when on the 1st tee, the 9th basket is behind you, and that will help you narrow down the area of the park you go to play 6-9.

4) As I said above in the positive the baskets catch surprisingly well. However, because they are not PDGA approved targets (I don't think) and are simply homemade baskets, I consider them negatives. I am all for the standardization of the sport and sticking to designing baskets within the specifications of the PDGA is important to me.

5) No garbage baskets, benches, or directional maps to help you find the next hole. All of these things are important to me, although much less important than design and challenge.
Other Thoughts: All in all I really enjoyed this course. It is one of those courses that some people just won't like. I always like a challenge and can appreciate well designed holes. This course has no throwaway holes and they all have a challenge inherent with them. The shorter holes aren't easy birdies, the downhillers take precision to park the basket for birdie, and the uphillers are long enough to give you a long putt or short approach layup shot. I didn't make a birdie the whole day and had 3 bogeys, 2 of them were 2 putts from about 30' (which I do not normally expect to make) so my score could have been better, but parking any of the baskets for birdie would take some getting used to the course to achieve. The variety on the course is awesome, although no tight wooded holes the water and the elevation changes and baskets tucked on side slopes create enough challenge. What I am saying is this course used the property extremely well. I do however think they could easily add 1 or 2 shorter tightly wooded hole somewhere between 3 and 4. Even if the basket was simply tucked into the woods, it would still create a more diverse course. Hey why not just add two holes here, it isn't like that part of the park is being used by anyone. I do recommend visiting this property if you are in a short distance. I would drive 10-15 miles to play this course on most days but even more so if it was the only course in the area. And when you consider the area between St Louis and Tennessee has only a few courses along I 55. I also highly recommend taking a drive south of the park into the historic part of this small town. Ste. (apparently St. and Ste. Are both correct) Genevieve is a cool historic town. It was established in 1760's and there are some really neat looking buildings. Granted most are setup as shops, but I can appreciate old great architecture too, and not even have to go into the shops.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.