Visalia, CA 
Perry Championship DGC Share
Uploaded By: Blackmon Hole #10 (Taken 2/2010)
4 / 350ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Just Not As Long As The Outback Course!

1    6/21/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: The Perry Championship course is in the same park, Art Mooney, as the longer more difficult Perry Outback DGC. The championship course is a little better marked, thereby a lot easier to navigate and quite a bit shorter than the Outback.

Perry Championship DGC had a course sign at the beginning. It had these great clear plexiglass tee signs. They had all the usual info, Sponsor, Hole #, distance, a simple map and 2-3 basket positions. The only problem was the there was no way of knowing which position the basket was currently in.

The course had a number of holes in the 200-300' range, many requiring low tunnel shots. It also had enough holes in the 350'+ range to make this an intermediate type course.

The course was very forgiving of errant shots. There is no nasty OB to contend with. The parks roads are always played as OB which further adds to the challenge.

With the nice flat grassy areas and low ceiling of trees, this course has some great holes for throwing your roller on.

With this park being so spread out, I don't expect conflicts with other park users would be much of a problem.
Cons: A number of holes were missing the tee signs.

This course's lack of elevation/water/natural beauty/really creative holes left me with kind of bland feeling. Nice enough course but...just not one to get overly excited about.
Other Thoughts: The two courses here are fairly similar. The Outback course presents more challenge while the Championship course is easier to navigate. It's nice to come here and be able to pick between the two, according to your skill level or energy level or whatever level.

I just wish that there was a way to give them both a little more personality. Spice em up a bit!


1    7/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course. Plenty of distance and trees to make birdies fairly difficult. The grounds are in decent shape with several bathrooms and adequate parking that the holes wrap back around to around hole 10. This course will challenge your game. About the only thing missing is elevation and water but that doesn't hurt just how good and fun this course is. I spoke with several locals at length and they were extremely helpful and gave plenty of directions. Not too many holes under 300 and that ones that were had enough trees to make birdies tough. Loved the challenge!

I will definitely be back to play this course...of the three I played in Visalia this was the best with the other course on site a close 2nd. Loved having 2 really good courses at the same location. Whoever designed the course did an excellent job with the space. There was a bit more room to work with but extra length isn't really needed.
Cons: Navigation is a little confusing as 1-4 play right around 9-11 (I think I got that right...difficult having only played it once to remember exactly). So I had to do quite a bit of walking to tees I could see only to walk up to the wrong one. A few tee signs were missing and the ground had a lot of ankle twisting potholes. It would be nice if signage had an arrow to point to next tee. The online map is a must and even then still a little confusing the first time through.
Other Thoughts: This course has some seriously good potential with a few minor upgrades. Replacing missing tee signs, filling potholes, and if there was a way to not have the holes overlap so much that would be great...probably no way to do that last one...somehow I missed seeing that anywhere on the site so I thought I would point it out.

When you enter the park, go left at the split for the Championship course and right for the Outback course.

I didn't realize you had to pay to play. That would have been nice to know.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok park course

1    7/1/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice grassy park with scattered mature trees. There are a few holes with lower ceilings that make you work a low line. A few holes have tighter lines so you will have to have some basic line shaping skills to score well. The course doesn't have too many conflicts between holes or with other park uses. The park is nicely maintained, and the tees and baskets are in nice shape.
Cons: This course is flat and pretty straightforward. There aren't a lot of really tight shots, and most holes are straight ahead. Without a ton of distance variety, things get a little repetitive and there's not a whole lot of different types of challenges. A few holes bring the park road into play, it didn't seem to get much traffic but it's still not something I like to see in course design. The signage is inconsistent, with several missing and others not showing the current pin position when I played. There are some spots where you'll need a map the first time to figure out where to go next.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very approachable. There are enough trees that you have to work a little, but no punishment for errant shots and the lengths are very reasonable. More experienced players won't find much challenge, it's a straightforward quick round that makes a nice warmup for the other course onsite.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good, short whole course

1    3/31/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: mrcrazyscott
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: beautiful park, tough holes because of trees,
Cons: not much to it besides the tree hazards, holes arnt very long either, no course map either
Other Thoughts: not bad, but not great....if youre there id play it, but wouldn't go out of my way for it

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not a championship course but not to shabby

1    7/1/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 96  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Concete pads

2. Good variety of holes.

3. cool basket placements

4. Mowed grass

5. Shady

Cons: 1. Somewhat difficult to navigate.( I believe its after number 9 that ends by parking lot where you have to walk back over passed #1 tee and #18 basket to find the next hole

2. Lots of holes for animals

3.
Other Thoughts: Average course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Shady Course.

5+    9/10/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: rubyrod
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Shady, concrete tee boxes, hole info on every hole, all grass. Usually pretty empty, unless its a tourney week. Also is a great park that you can hang out with family and friends and BBQ and put back some beers. I RECOMMEND!!
Cons: Hole 6 is kind of a jungle, other than that its a pay to play if someone is at the booth. Six dollars is the amount. Also its closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. If it was free I would be out there everyday. Also for more skilled players, there are no hazards or elevation changes However, a challenging course is 2 minutes walk from this course.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play, especially if you want to play it a couple times and BBQ and hang out with family/friends. I go here quite often and have enjoyed it every time.

 Very green very nice!

2-4    9/4/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Billym
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Green grass on every hole makes you feel like you are on a ball golf course.
Signs on every tee.
Concrete tee pads.
Multiple pin placements.
Lots of trees of many varieties.
Creative use of roads as OB to make holes more challenging and risky.
Bathrooms, water ( spigot at bathrooms) and plenty of parking.
Cons: No elevation changes.
The flow from #9 to #10 is a bit odd.
No benches at all.
Visalia is 4 hours from where I live.
It was hot as heck, use a big hat, sunscreen and drink water!!
Other Thoughts: Played the End of Trail Classic, great tournament.
This is a course that would be packed if it was not in the middle of the California Cental Valley south of Fresno. If this course was anywhere closer to LA, SF, SJ or Sac it would be overrun.
If you come to visit Sequoia and Yosemite NPs you need to play this course and its younger sister the Perry Outback.
Great disc golf, roller city!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/7/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: hightide n nerd
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: Beautiful park! Lot's of trees, grass, and technicals. We brought our little grill and took a break to cook up some hotdogs midway through the game. At certain times, there is a river that runs through the park. You know where every "T" is by looking for the blue trash cans.
Cons: The river ate our discs!! Between hole 1 and 4 or 5, I think, the outback is dry! No grass.
Other Thoughts: Great park to play in and spend most of the afternoon at.

 nice course

2-4    9/6/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: TheDrizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with a fun layout, alot of different lines to take, and great helpful local's
Cons: Grass, Grass, and more Grass at will eat your disc alive if you release to low, roller's not an option on 90% of the holes, the Grass is thick and wet(they water it alot), And Tree's, Tree's, Tree's, and just like with the Grass, you release to high and your gobbled up by the Tree's.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course, just remember to bring plenty of socks if you plan on playing in the morning.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 To Cluttered

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: SoCalDg'r
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short distance from pin to next tee pad, Nice baskets. Lots of different lines on each hole. Lots of shade and amenities.
Cons: I wouldnt call this course technical, more like cluttered. Just plain to many trees on some holes, it takes away the skill factor and replaces it with a luck factor. Some signs are missing. Park was poorly kept up, everything from muddy to dusty, tall grass in desperate need of mowing.
Other Thoughts: Nice course overall, championship is probably reaching a bit. Keep the grass trimmed and take out a few trees and it could easily live up to its name. Oh and Please keep the gaurd station stocked with maps, this course will make you dizzy trying to find tees without one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.