Emporia, KS 
Peter Pan Park - Optimist DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course hidden in small-town Kansas!

2-4    7/12/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: spaceguy87
Played: 68  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with lots of shade.

New tee signs and tee pads installed for worlds 2013.

Lots of parking near hole 1.

Park has some interesting architecture (like "monkey island") that is very unique. This park looks like no other disc golf course you have played in some ways. Doubt it feels redundant even if you are a regular.

I like this course a lot. This is a great beginner course because of the length, but also can challenge a better player to play a solid round and shoot for a great score in the mid-40s (par is 55). Trees, water, and OB lines make this course less simple than it may look when you see the the course on a map or read the hole lengths.

Despite the many short holes, there are some unique challenges like hole 4, which is an interesting par 4 that favors accuracy over the long drive. I think hole 4 might be my favorite hole even though I did not score well on it either time that I played it.

This is not the most challenging course in Emporia, but if you have time to only play one round when you are in town, I would tell you to play here.
Cons: A few holes play very near a lake in the center of the park where locals often hang out on weekends fishing or relaxing. The lake makes an excellent hazard for the holes, but having to worry about pedestrians in your way for the drive is no good.

A bit too short. As others have said, the middle of the course features a lot of short holes back to back. I think holes 5-12 are all clear birdie opportunities. It would be nice if the layout mixed up the hole lengths more. This is a minor issue, as these "easy" holes are still fun to play and have some interesting obstacles in play and angles to shoot. I just like my birdie chances to be throughout a round, not all together.

My least favorite part about this course is the layout of holes 17 and 18. The course flows very well until you finish hole 16, at which point you have to cross the fairway of the only par 4 on the course in order to get to the tee of hole 17. Then hole 17 is a short hole that finishes just in front of the middle of the fairway to hole 18, which means long drives on 17 can interact with players walking hole 18. Then to get from 18s basket back to hold 1, you have to walk across hole 17. I think holes 17 and 18 could be reversed (ie, play the other direction) to improve this flow. They are still fun holes to play.
Other Thoughts: I played Peter Pan twice during my trip to Emporia for the PDGA Amateur World Disc Golf Championships in July 2013. Once as a practice round and then a week later on my final round of the tournament. I shot a 53 in that competitive round and felt like it should have been more like 49. Good players should definitely be shooting in the 40s here, but the course has enough OB to challenge the accuracy of your shots. A good player who isn't focused can easily shoot a bad round and lose a few discs to water and OB.

Because of the frequent use of the park and lake by non-golfer locals, I have been told there is a lot of debris in the water (like old fish hooks or even broken bottles) which means it is probably not safe to go in the water looking for a lost disc, at least not without shoes in (keep in mind there is a "no swimming" sign also).

Great course to play in the summer when it is hot because of all the shade!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So much fun!

1    7/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: nat16dick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets: Chainstars are in great condition
-Teepads: Adequately sized, good concrete
-Signs: Excellent signs in place from 2013 Am Worlds
-Design: Great mix of short/long, right/left holes
-Flow: Flows very well for the most part, makes sense
-Accessibility: Easy to get to from anywhere in Emporia
-Enjoyment: Very fun course to play, challenging, yet not too difficult to score
-Maintenance: Park is kept up very well
Cons: -Some long walks: Some holes have long walks between, but are marked for the most part
-Repetitive: The middle of the course is lots of short holes that seem the same, with long holes bracketing them.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, the funnest course in Emporia to play! While it is the easiest to score on, it is certainly not a cakewalk. It rewards accurate drives, and still offers chances to bomb a drive. It does not take a long time to play, and I was left wanting more after it was all said and done. A course you'll want to play over and over again!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

If Only I Had Played Better

1    4/11/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course that has a great mix of short and long, tight and open, and just about every other kind of mix you can think of. Set in a nice park with other things to do. There are things for just about everyone to do with bathrooms near the baseball fields. The tee pads are consistent. The baskets are consistent. There are many memorable holes as the course makes great use of the trees and water features in the park. There are very few holes that feel exactly the same. There is plenty of challenge even on the shorter holes.
Cons: The pond gets deep very quickly and makes it incredibly difficult to find discs that skip into the water. When the ground is wet it is incredibly muddy, as in you will be looking for places to wipe the mud off your feet. There are a couple of tee pads that are a bit of a walk from the previous basket and would be tough to find unless you know where you are going. There are no tee signs. The walk from 16 to 17 crosses 4's fairway so be sure to look out as you are making this walk.
Other Thoughts: This course was really fun to play and set in a very nice park. There are some dangerous areas near water features that could be potential places for injury. Be careful. Hole one is at the far end of the parking lot near the baseball fields. Hole 17 appears to be the basket that most people use to practice their putting before a round, just be sure to watch out for other players playing the hole. I highly recommend finding a map to bring with you on this one to be sure that you know where you are going next. I was not prepared for the challenge that this course would be, particularly in the wind, be prepared and your experience will be that much better.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Emporia Course!

1    3/16/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great park! The park felt very old and was very beautiful. It might have been my favorite park to play disc golf in.
There are great variety in shots. There are shorter, more technical holes, and there are long, more open yet still technical, holes. Every hole was something new and kept me incredibly interested throughout the round. This very course is what made the trip from KC to Emporia worth it for me.
The teepads, while skinny, were plenty long.
The "island shot" on 11 is great. Take a disc you dont care much for, and go for it! I did and got a tap in birdie!
The river provides nice scenery.
The layout flows very well and the course is beautiful!
Cons: I really wish I could give this course a 4.5. However, there are no tee signs, but I do see the ground marked up for tee signs. Each pad has the hole number and distance.
There were only 2 instances in which I was confused on the layout. Between hole 16 and the pad for 17, and from hole 5 to hole 6.
Other Thoughts: This is such a great course, that is on the high end of a 4.0. It is a great course for all levels, and seems to be a course to really develop an all-around player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Peter Pan Park

5+    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: redwrath
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Once the layout is understood, the course flows very naturally through the park. If you're by yourself, it's very easy to finish a round quickly. In fact, when I'm solo, I'll drive 5 & 6 before taking an upshot on either hole because these holes are side by side. I'll park by hole 8 and leisurely play 5-13 and be finished with those 9 holes in less than 45 minutes.

Several of the holes have more than one line that will work well, the course plays well to creativity. 10 & 11 are both short, but they make good use of water and can be nerve wracking.

Overall, the course has a good variety of length and obstacles. Great opportunity to practice shaping various lines. There is plenty of shade here and the course is protected from the KS wind because it is in a low river bottom with plenty of trees. It's a busy park, but I've never had issues with waiting on the teepad.

The park has some excellent historical value as well, there are plenty of interesting things to see. Locals can be found on the baseball fields, fishing in the pond and barbecuing in the shelter houses.
Cons: If you're looking for an abundance of long holes, this is not the park for you. The difficulty is not too extreme in this park.

Locals play soccer a few times a week in the evenings which can cause issues for hole 7, though I have seen large groups of league players throw right over them.
Other Thoughts: This is a neighborhood park which borders an elementary school and a river. Despite living a block from Jones Park, I find myself playing the Pan more frequently.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun park course

1    4/13/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun layout with a variety of holes: some shorter & tighter, some longer & more open
-tighter and more wooded fairways than Jones Park but still semi-open park style
-pond in play on several holes, 11 is especially cool
-concrete tees (a little thin) and baskets in good condition
-navigation is mostly obvious, can play without a map
-really cool and beautiful park, with stone structures and a natural amphitheater, very green
-plenty of parking
-lots of other sports facilities on premises (and i think restrooms?)
Cons: -a few holes don't have concrete tees and those ones get really muddy in wet weather (especially 5 & 6)
-easy to confuse the tees for 5 & 6, they are right next to each other and share part of a fairway together.
-no signs
-multi-use park means lots of pedestrians in some areas, people fishing around the lake, etc
Other Thoughts: This semi-open park style course is lots of fun to play. The front 9 is a bit more wooded with lots of more narrow fairways, low ceilings, and shorter technical shots. The back 9 opens up a bit more and has some longer bombs as well. Altogether there is a nice variety of distances and shot types.

The concrete tees that are on most holes are very narrow but not too difficult to throw from or just step to the side. I really like the hole around the pond. Hole 11 is a great ace run with a basket right on a peninsula on the pond. Too short or long and you are wet!

The front 9 and back 9 compliment each other well. It is nice that you can warm up your arm on the shorter, more technical front and then really crank some drives on the longer back 9. There are not any super difficult holes but you can pick up a lot of extra strokes getting off the fairway or into the drink. The many well-guarded baskets definitely put a premium on accuracy here.

I had the most fun here out of all the Emporia courses and if I were a local then I would probably play here most often. Definitely worth stopping to play here if you are in the area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two nines

5+    11/3/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: SteezeOG
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 12/12/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a thinking man's course. You are rewarded for smart and safe play but can also be rewarded when you gamble and it pays off. The course plays like two courses to me. The front nine has more trees and narrow fairways and the back nine opens up more and has a few longer and open holes. Plenty of water for those who like that element. Less wind than any other Emporia courses so that is a Pro....even if you like wind.
Cons: Not the best tee boxes but they aren't bad. Same with the baskets. The park is a more active family park than Jones park in Emporia. This means you have to be careful of families and dog walkers while you throw. Not a big deal but just remember it's a family park first and disc golf park second. Played this course over the weekend and had a group of travelers ask me about where the course begins. I gave them the basics but then it dawned on me that the signage of this course is really bad. No directional arrows, no marked teepad signs, etc. So basically I'm saying print out a map from this site if you know you'll be playing this course.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. Not as much as Jones Park West but it can be fun on windy days when you want those trees. Plenty of places to lose discs so be prepared for that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Emporia

1    1/17/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: kcplease
Played: 95  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Focuses more on accuracy than distance. just like I like it.
But does have longer holes you can bomb on too.
great baskets
hole 11 is very nice. i could play that all day. Its just there is this bug yellow thing in the way, like metal and stuff, but I think it can be moved. I reccommend moving it, or else you will end up in the lake.
Just an awesome course, with cool buldings and areas.
Rustic feel.
Cons: The lake sneaks up on you at times.
Ice isn't OB, right?
teepads can be verrrry difficult to find with no signage and having a couple inches of snow
Bring swimtrunks
Other Thoughts: Most hole variety of any course in Emporia. You get the 230 foot accuracy shots, and the 600 foot bombs. Every hole is unique, every basket is placed perfectly. Beautiful course, beautiful land. The course is not too terribly difficult, which is always encouraging, but not too easy either. I can't wait to get back and play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Looking Course

2-4    3/1/2008   10/14/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of these holes have nice layouts, using the trees to provide some tricky drives and approach shots. Some are kind of open, while others are kind of narrow. The signature hole for this course is the 11th, which is located on a peninsula in the middle of a big pond. It's a very unique and daunting hole. I like how this course gives you a chance to explore the many different things this large park has to offer, because it's a lot more than just a disc golf course. It has holes near the baseball parks, the playground, the old amphitheater, the woods, the pond, etc. In other words, each hole has a different look, and a fresh feel to it.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes and baskets are hard to find, and they don't provide any signs to let you know where they are. One or two of the holes might be a little too close to the picnic shelter and the playground, which could be an issue for some players if those things are being used. The holes near the pond (especially the 11th) might be a little frustrating for players who don't want to risk losing any discs. The woods can be a little nasty to walk in if your disc goes in there. Some of these holes can flood easily, or at least form large puddles, after a hard rain. Also, there was one time when I was playing there by myself and almost stepped on a copperhead. That's something to keep an eye out for depending on what time of year it is, and you also might have some mosquitoes bothering you.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a good course with a wide variety of obstacles located in a very nice park, though you might have a hard time finding some of the holes and baskets if you're not familiar with the course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Park golf with some technical challenge.

5+    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained neighborhood park with bathrooms available just off Hole 3. Challenging without being overwhelming for rec players. Has a nice variety of holes, many of which have pins cleverly tucked within tree groves on near OB. Rewards accuracy on most holes more than just raw distance. Probably the best hole on the course is #4, which is a long hole which starts open, and then enters a tunnel like stretch going downhill. Miss the "mouth" of the tunnel part and you may be in for extra strokes. Another cool hole is the signature "peninsula" shot on #11 where the pin sits out on a narrow strip of land between two sections of the pond. Too short or too far and you're in the drink, so easy does it. Big gunners will like the open bombs on #7 and #15.
Cons: Park does have issues with flooding as the creek comes up occasionally and some of the holes may not be playable. Sometimes crowded with non-DGers as there is a children's playground and a ballfield which the course winds around as well as some picnic tables in the line of fire. Some flow issues in the layout: Teeboxes for holes 5 and 6 are next to one another, so you pretty much have to backtrack after 5 to play 6, meaning anyone behind you has to wait. After 16, you cross the fairway of Hole 4 to get to 17, and its often hard to tell you're crossing the fairway, or hard to tell on Hole 4 that someone is about to cross. Long walk between 7 and 8.
Other Thoughts: Probably my favorite of the Emporia courses as I don't have the longest arm in the world. They do tweak PPP up for tournaments often adding a couple of unique temporary shots including an island shot where you have to aim for the stage of the parks amphetheatre, and another where you have to negotiate a narrow path along the pond with dense woods on the other side. If you're passing through on I-35 definitely check it out along with the two courses at Jones.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.