Algoma, WI 
Peterson Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #2 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner/Intermediate

1    10/30/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a very diverse park, with hills, forest, and a small creek. It is pretty much clear of most other park activities.
- Some good elevation changes can be found here, with #1 going down the hill, and #2 coming right back up. It is steep enough where you can take a slide down to the fairway! Awesome! A few other holes have some gentle upslopes as well.
- Almost half of the holes are set in a small forest, which helps to force some line shaping. A few straight shots, some right, left and s-hooks, and a nearly impossible shot on #9 around a large tree. Accuracy is a must on these tighter holes; there is minimal shule but plenty of small trees off the fairways.
- A few holes in the field portion of the park use mature trees to make things interesting as well. #4 and #6 have some gaps to hit in order to reach the basket, and #6 has some extremely nasty rough for shots that wander too far right. Decent hole lengths on the wide open holes to add some challenge.
- Small creek is in play on #7, too, although it is pretty easily avoided.
- Good baskets, decent tee signs, not-so-good teepads. Navigation can be a bit tricky too (head right at #11's teepad to get to forested holes, I believe...).
Cons: - On the whole, the course is a pretty short one. A few wide-open holes around 250', and many forested holes under 200'. There is real shot-shaping to perform, but a bad shot is still probably going to end up close to the bucket. A few open holes become no-brainers due to the short length and open terrain.
- Lots of hilly, densely wooded terrain is used only for getting to the next hole. Climbing up and down a nasty slope to get to flat holes is a bit backwards.
Other Thoughts: - Some very interesting shots can be found at this course, which would be legitimate holes at lots of other parks. #6 is a bomber hole with a gap to hit, and nasty rough, and #9 is a line-bending puzzle (roller?). But, overall, the course is not very challenging and is very forgiving. Probably designed more for beginners than veterans, so things are pretty vanilla. Still, if you find yourself in the area, it is definitely worth checking out at least once.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Some fun holes and some boring ones

1    7/3/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small park without too much interference with other park uses. There is some nice elevation in the wooded part of the park, and a couple holes in the beginning of the course that are a little more open and have some fun up and downhill shots (and a fun slide to get down to your disc on the first hole). About half of the course plays in more wooded areas with tight fairways and thick rough to punish errant shots. These holes have a couple nice right and left turning holes to make it a little more balanced.

There are good baskets that catch well and seem to be fairly new. There are basic hole signs that have some information on them and at least make it a little easier to find the tees.
Cons: The open part of the course is pretty boring, especially up on the flat area near the road. More holes in the woods and using the elevation would have made the course a lot more interesting. A couple of the holes in the woods need some branches trimmed to have good lines to the hole and take out some of the luck factor.

The tees are terrible, most are gravel and have spread and rutted out pretty badly. A couple are on slopes, making for even worse footing. Some have some wood that looks like it was intended to frame in the gravel, but now it's just in the way. The signs aren't in good shape, and don't tell you much information any more. There are some pretty long walks that are completely unmarked here, it's easy to skip a hole or get lost in the wooded section of the course with several trails that don't actually go anywhere disc golf related running through the course. There is a nice little stream, but it never comes into play.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty mediocre course, ok for a round if you're in the area but not worth any extra driving to play. There are some interesting holes, but the wooded ones don't have enough length to really present much challenge, and the flat open holes really take away from the fun factor here. Beginners might find some of the rough a little thick, and could be frustrated by the navigation issues. More experienced players will only find a couple holes with any kind of real test.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ever so pleasent Peterson

1    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Shuie
Played: 627  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -the course has some real decent holes.. as harro metioned
- a few open shots too which usually incorperate elevation to them......
- course is quite difficult on a rainy day.
Cons: -mixture of pea gravel tees previously metioned and wooden platforms which were wet and quite slick...
- course layout is confusing after hole 8 as well as 10.
- no bathrooms on site...
Other Thoughts: there is room for improvement the could make it a real nice 18 or even 15 holes for that matter..... with all that said and done it still is a nice 12 hole to come and hit up for a warm or cooldown to winter park...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course using all of the best features . . . need some TLC

1    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course has some very memorable and challenging holes (#1 air it out down the hill and give the slide a chance!!!!, #2 basket is tucked right on top of a large hill making any putt tough!, #4 is a big dogleg to the right throguh some massive White Pines, #7 shoots you across a small ravine and back into the wooded area. Tight gap to shoot between two trees, #8 is another tight hole with a large right to left slope that could easily run your disc away, #9 is a tough uphiller through some tight gaps (almost no clear route to the hole), #10 is an awesome hole although short throwing over a creek to a basket set amongst the Cedars, and #11 is a blind basket out into a prairie area and up a hill to the left.)

2) Nice elevation changes on the first two holes and then they really use the terrain well on #7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12. The middle of the course is flat and fairly open too so the variety is all there. The sidelsopes on the last 5 holes can be a challenge to navigatew without a rollaway or a slideaway.

3) Cedar trees are so underrated. They sure make a great setting for a disc golf hole. The White Pines are also an underrated tree and I think they should be incorporated into more courses. I had to mention these two trees as positives because I think they make great additions to disc golf courses.

4) Water is visible and although it shouldnt be in play an errant drive on #10 could hit a tree and shoot it to the side into the creek. Even if it isn't in play it is cool to walk across two bridges on the course. The setting of #9, and 10 makes the walk of this course worthwhile from a scenery point of view.

5) #9 is the toughest hole out there probably bec ause of the massive slope uphill and the many tree branches that can knock you all over the place. #8 is also prety challenging because of the sideslope. You can easily get a rollaway or your flat disc with no bead could slide down the compact vegetationless ground.
Cons: 1) Pea gravel set inside of a wood frame does not make a good teeing area. You are better off throwing from behind the tee areas because the gravel is loose. The elevated wood framed tees (#2, 4, 6 and I think one more) are also fairly slippery. The wood is just too smooth to get a grip. I hope they don't leave the pea gravel and I hope they don't think they are upgrading to the wood frames! Some of the pea gravel tees are also on some major slopes. #11 is ridiculous, I hope they didn't think that was actually going to hold up, cause that was obvious to me the minute I saw where they put it.

2) Somewhat confusing layout. #1 goes down the hill, #2 goes back up the hill (#12 basket is off to your left). Then you go to #3 and shoot back out to the road on 3 and 4, along the road on 5 and back towards the parking area on 6, #7 and 8 go into the wooded area, 9, 10, 11 are very confusing between holes. and 2 finishes back at the lot.

3) Course signs are very simple and I was unsure if I was throwing the right way on #3, the only thing that made me think to throw the correct way was the sign was always at the back of the teepad. I thought at first I was supposed to throw back into the woods (where #7 is).

4) Course signage is really lacking on #9, 10, 11. We need a directional sign to point you down the hill behind #11 tee to find #9. Because the area is also used for cross country the other trails can mislead you as to where you are supposed to go. #10 is a tough find from #9 because of these paths so another sign would be helpful to direct you to follow the trail down the hill across the creek to find #10 tee. Since you already saw #11 tee you should be able to figue out where to go but another sign would be helpful, in fact I think they could have easily added 1-2 more holes to get you back to that part of the park.

5) #3 is boring and #5 is a simple hyzer over to the trees. They are kindof filler holes to get you from one area to the next. #6 leaves a little to b desired becaus you are more than likely to land on a gravel area on your drive taking some chunks out of your discs. I would like to see some gravel removed and grass planted in that area, but it looks like overflow parking for a baseball game at this park.
Other Thoughts: Boy does this course have potential to be so much better. There obviously would be some more great holes set in those Pines and Cedars and a couple more holes through the hilly prairie area. They use some awesome features on this course but could use a little more maintenance and certainly could use some better teepads. Signage could be improved in a few spots and I would think this course could be ranked a 3+. With that said the issues I encountered need to be considered when i evaluate the course. I do not feel it deserves a single disc rating it had at the time of this review, but a little bit of work would make it a much better course. I feel like the design is great taking advantage of the great features of this park including the creek, the elevation changes. the Massive majestic White Pines on #4, 5, 6, the Cedar trees on #9 and #10, and the prairie and natural areas on 7, 8, 11, and 12.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pea Gravel boxes!

5+    7/14/2008   7/14/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land of the park (a large bowl like depression with a very nice creek running through) is very scenic and beautiful. Lots of potential here and unique features. However the general lack of use of these features falls flat. There is one hole that plays uphill from a creek which is almost picturesque but could still be better. The slide on number 1 is great for sliding down in the winter (you can ROCKET down it!). You get to rip a decent downhill throw on #1.
Cons: PEA GRAVEL TEE BOXES, FULLY FRAMED BY LUMBER! Okay, you slip and slide on the deep pea gravel as it teeing off in deep sand. You cannot stand on any edge of the tee pad, or approach from outside the pad because they are fully boxed in with lumber. You will be smashing your foot or knee on the front lumber board. These tees are probably the worst I have ever expereinced on any course. I hate them even more that concrete pads with highly eroded front edges that you fall off. Greens are tight and cramped but not necessarily risky in the woods. Most holes are far too short even when they utilize neat terrain, and could use redesign to introduce true skill required and risk versus reward opportunity. Holes that add length generally do not require any other specific skill or shot selection. This course could use a drastic redesign imo, and be nearly a 4 or 4.5. THE TEE PADS ARE BAD!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: Given what could be in this park (as a designer I think 18 are easily acheivable too), and how many more of the unique land and terrain features could be used, AND the HORRIFIC tee pads, this one is less than passable (Picnic Hill, Heritage Trails, and Indian Creek all rate better than Algoma). Another factor is that when you are in Algoma, you are SO CLOSE to one of the finest disc golf courses in WI - 27 holes at Winter Park in Kewaunee. Algoma is nothing more than a speed round (with dangerous tee footing) and a check off your list of completed courses.
UPDATE: relative to my other rankings, Algoma is better than the other 1-disc courses. The land itself is so unique that it is worth a try (especially the "back 6"). But those tee boxes are HORRID and they haven't changed. So, it is Passable considering Winter Park is so nearby.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 quality course

2-4    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: #1 is a 300 foot downhill shot; nothing too fancy, but nice enough. However, what is interesting, are stairs with strange spacing between them to traverse the hil, OR, OPTION TWO: an @ 100 foot metal slide. Relive your childhood on a 100 foot slide with dipsy dos to make you get some air time if you're brave enoughI though this was a decent shot makers course. Rough off the fairways. Shortest holes have pretty extreme fall offs and tight lines to pin; elevation involved. Some aces possible; but, 4's also available when off fairly tight fairways. Good signs; didn't find it tough to navigate. Played twice because we enjoyed it. Lake Michigan in distance.
Cons: Loose gravel tees; poorly maintained. A few are not level; not a big concern for me (IMOH, tees slanted up or down are an underused way of making drives more difficult.) But, because they are rutted gravel (why is anyone using gravel any more?), some of these tees are fairly dangerous.
#3 required a drive over cars that may park at edge of lot; which we did by mistake.
Other Thoughts: Less strain than the excellent Kewaunee, Winter Park, course. Winter Park tests you physically and mentally. If you want to enjoy an easier and yet, nice course, play here.There is a nice lake shore drive between Winter Park and Peterson.
I've never seen such a big slide except in a water park. It's not a bad as it looks. Definitely give the slide a try.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Weak

1    8/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: fukinchucker
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The long slide after teeing off at hole 1 is the only good thing about this poorly designed course, with a ridiculous 12 hole layout. I mean what were they thinking, really.
Cons: Short, open, windy.
Other Thoughts: Seems to me that they could have put 18 holes on this same piece of land. For once Kewaunee is better than Algoma. Way, way better.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.