Hillsdale, MI 
Baw Beese Lake/Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: JN9000   (Taken 9/2010)



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bagged

1    3/10/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic/safety- plays through a lakeside park. We played in the winter but from the other reviews, it plays through very popular areas of the park. Safety might be an issue

Teesigns- nice, "standup" DGA signs with diagram and distances of the two pins.

Baskets- nice and in good repair.

Multiple tees- though not immediately apparent in the winter with heavy snow on the ground, this is a nice addition that we did not benefit from.
Cons:
Routing and nav- this place needs a map, seriously bad. Hole 1 is not obvious from the parking lot or kiosk (which has ads for discraft and innova but no other real info)

challenge- Most of the challenge here comes from the lengths of the holes (moderately long for a 9-hole course) and uncontrollables like the wind (very windy). Other than that, it's wide freakin open. no real obstacles.

Teepads- in the winter, non-existant. Dirt otherwise.


 

1    7/10/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: -great signs. they have distances from each tee listed, as well as a picture of the hole.
-well kept park, everything was mowed and I didn't notice any trash
-there was a lady driving around in an ice cream truck. it was good
-locals were very nice and were helpful for finding my way around.
Cons: -very open. most if not all of the holes are wide open. the only challenge is distance (2 500'+ holes and 2 400'+ holes from the long tees)
-was not easy to navigate. if not for help from locals I wouldn't have found holes 1, 2, or 9
-about half the course plays through a very busy part of the park.
-hole 9s fairway is dangerously close to a parking lot.
-tee pads are sand and pretty uneven ground.
Other Thoughts: decent course. it was way too easy for my taste, but beginners might enjoy it from the short tees.

I threw into some water on hole 8. It looked like it was about a foot deep so I went in and found myself standing in nipple high nasty muck. I found the disc though.

 Add it to the map.

2-4    6/4/1892   6/13/2011
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
Pros: This course is well kept and the mph. flags on top of the baskets make it a fun course to play. Even though the course is only 9 holes it is laid out pretty nice. Pin placement was well thought of here. the lake plays a big mental factor on up shots and or long putts. The course is well marked and all the distances are posted on each hole except for number 9.Almost every tee has an alt. tee for longer and more difficult shots. All in all it is fun.
Cons: Only 9 holes...and the tee boxes are worn to loose sand making it a bit nerve racking on drives.Most holes have WIDE open flyways so the technical game is limited to just a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This course was fun and worth the 40 min drive from Ohio to play it. The lake makes for a cool breeze on a hot day. I would suggest stopping to check this park if you are gonna be in the area. It may surprise ya !

 

5+    11/15/2010   3/1/2011
Review By: JN9000
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good 9 hole course. There's no rough on this course, so you don't really have to worry about losing discs, except for in the water. The course is clean and has never been crowded any of the times that I've been there. The holes have good markers that have a picture of the hole layout on them. Overall it's a fun course to play.
Cons: It's only a 9 hole course. Dirt tee pads, but the dirt tees don't bother me. There's only one hole that you can really air it out on. And it's pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: Because it's only a 9 hole course and there's no rough it doesn't take very long to play. I always play it at least twice through when I go there. There are also no other courses within 20 miles. If it was 18 holes it would be a very good course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A short nine hole

5+    12/8/2010   12/8/2010
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: water hazards on a few holes makes a other wise bland course a little harder and less boring .
good mix of long and short holes .
Basket were in good shape
the course was easy to navigate
Cons: Hole 9 your throwing close/over the parking area ,which not only puts cars at risk also people getting in and out .

the first 5 holes uses parts of the park that are mostly unused but when you get to the last few holes theres lots of other activities going on and you have to throw close to picnic areas ,which puts people at risk .

when I visited the course ,there was trash all over the place .

Tees were either in bad shape are missing on several holes .

all hole are rbh friendly and can easily
made with a hyzer shot so shot vary is limited .

lot of filler holes that are just boring .

Course plays mostly in a wide open with little to no obstacles

Only nine holes
Other Thoughts: A decent course ,I wouldn't drive any distance to it ,but it's a ok time if your in the area and have time for a round .


  

5+    12/12/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: hondasaurusrex
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course, generally well kept. Dogs and and alcohol are allowed, though beligerant drunks will be arrested. The local non-disc players are finally figuring out that this is more than a park, its a disc golf course. The city seems to be intertested in improving things, potentially adding concrete tee's if funding was available. I love this course because im a local, its easy enough for beginners to play from the reds or whites, and am2/am1/open players will see a challenge from the blues. Everyone is generally very friendly.
Cons: No concrete tees, red tee for hole 3 is missing. Tee sign for 9 is missing, white tee is designated by big dirt spot, you cant miss it. People park along the fairway for #9, and vehicles get hit quite often, and fights have started because of it.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully more people will come out and play at Owens, as there IS more than just one tee location. With any luck tournaments and leauges will be starting in the Spring of 2010.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/20/2008   4/17/2009
Review By: bcsa360
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun 9 hole course. For the most part, very open but does provide for some skill shot opportunities, especially rollers and some very big trees to navigate around at times. What is unique about this course are the varying water hazards this course presents. Several holes have a backstop water hazard where too much of an arm could result in a wet disk. The other water holes have the hazard on the left side of the fairway. This course has a nice blend of short and long plus it's not very crowded.
Cons: The fact that it's only a nine hole course but one time I played it with a local and we played a make-shift back nine that the locals recognize. Also, cemented tee pads would be welcomed addition.
Other Thoughts: It has a nice core but if this course could be expanded to an 18 hole set up with some added challenges, it would be a great course to travel to and play a few rounds. I say that because it's only a 9 hole course out in the middle of an area where disc golfing is just starting to pick up some steam.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.