Peru, IN
Pieradise DGC Share
Uploaded By: chuckdisc Hole #9 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 ('B' Layout)



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course

2-4    8/27/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -beautiful land, great place to play
-every shot required rhbh, rhfh, hyzer, anny, long, short, island, uphill, woods, open, hanging basket
-multiple layouts/tees, i played the 24 hole Alphabet course
-even the densely wooded holes have at least 1 path to the basket, might be a tough/tight gap, but it's there.
-great baskets, these things catch everything that sniffs the chains
Cons: i've tried to think of some, but I can't. I played it in a tourney, so navigation was simple. I guess the only negative is it's private, which makes it a bit tougher to get on to play.
Other Thoughts: this is a fantastic course to play. If it were closer to me, i would definently play it all the time I could. Private, but they have leagues and a tourney every year that you can get in. Can't wait until next year to play the tourney again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice course

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: cmchavis
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 32.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played in 'A' position which seems to be one of the longer layouts according to the map I have - only 18 holes today. A has a few 500+ holes (560 being the longest) and a few 400s. 6152 being the total footage. Nice long course.

- First rate pro shop, awesome selection.
- Nice maps and scorecards at the first tee
- Well groomed fairways.
- Concrete tees

Allan is great, he greeted us and talked for awhile. He walked us out to the first tee and gave us a rundown of the course.
Like the little touches of poles around various parts of the course for getting discs out of trees.
Cons: Parking seemed limited, it was fairly busy when we were there. That's kind of nit-picking though. Fairly flat - only one elevation change on the property.
Other Thoughts: Drinks available for $0.50 at the Pro shop. It was also very hot - on this layout holes 8-11 and 14-17 are wide open with no shade. Bring sunscreen and a hat.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 PIERADISE

5+    2/18/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: chuckdisc
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-A, B, C, D, and E layouts on all 18 holes.
-Exceptionally clean course with excellent baskets which Allen Pier designed himself.
-A variety of shots, doglegs left or right, mostly wooded with some open shots.
-Good use of the courses few elevation changes.
-Cement tee pads and tee signs with distance at every hole.
-Tables, benches and trash cans at most holes.
Cons:
-You can only play whichever layout is setup when you go. I believe he changes it out about every other week. In all the times I have been there I have only ever played the B and C layout. Still great layouts so not that big of a con.
Other Thoughts:
This is a private course which is very well maintained. You pay $4 per person for all day play. There is a pro shop by Hole 1(which starts off his back porch). Pro shop is well stocked with hundreds of discs for sale. Allen Pier holds some of the best tournaments and events that I have been to. The Ace Race is held here every year.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for EVERYONE

1    9/4/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on private property, so it is completely devoted to disc golf. No conflicts here, other than some holes that play by the entrance road.
- Large number of the holes here are set in forested areas that have numerous trees with lots of jail. A common type is a long shot that has to avoid large and small trees to get the basket, as well as large clumps of trees that are extremely difficult to get out of. There are opportunities to cut some corners, but missing the line can be disasterous. Great variety of lines, with both long and sharp hyzers and anhyzers.
- Other holes are a little more open, with forests on either side of the fairway. A lot of these holes have great character. A blind anhyzer over the OB road, a blind uphill RHBH anny on top of a hill, and a flex shot next to a creek are a couple of these. The lines are much wider to hit on these holes, but there is big punishment in spots with various OB and denser forest.
- Some more wide open holes round everything out, with larger mature trees to avoid. These are bomber holes for nearly everyone; in the long positions it is guaranteed that everyone will be reaching for a driver. #15 in the A position is a long, blind right curve that ends up in the forest, this is a bomber hole with character. Awesome complement to the wooded holes.
- Slight elevation changes here and there are noticable, especially on the longer holes. Those that play a bit uphill make the holes seem that much longer. The basket on top of the hill on #12 is also fun/tricky.
- Good teepads and baskets. LONG benches on holes can seat more than one card, these are huge! Signage doesn't have maps, but are interchangeable based on the pin position, so you know exactly how far the pin is, with no guessing.
Cons: - Overall, the terrain here is very flat. There are no big uphill or downhill shots save #12, and maybe #18, which is one of the few cons I can come up with. Nobody's fault, either, just the available terrain. The elevated teepad on #13 seemed to be off-limits, which is a shame.
- A lot of open space on some of the holes, where distance is the only factor in scoring well. It is a good complement to the wooded holes, of course, but there is a lot of room for error and not much thought needed.
Other Thoughts: - Absolutely great design on this course provides a ton of variety and difficulty, start to finish. The dense wooded holes, carved forested holes, and long open holes will test both accuracy and distance, in different ways. The multiple pin positions seem to greatly change the course up too, I had the pleasure of playing in all A positions and was thoroughly tested.
- With only a few truly hazardous spots, I would think this course is suitable from beginner to expert. Just don't expect to score well if you are just starting out!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So Many Layouts, So Little Time

2-4    7/31/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Alan Pier's Pieradise, a private course open to the public, combines open grassy expanses with moderately wooded areas. The grassy expanses are dotted with mature trees (mostly large pines) while the wooded areas force fairly tight lines through the trees. Although mostly flat, every scrap of elevation is used to its full potential. Multiple hole layouts change the look and feel of the course drastically. Some
layouts add length and technicality, while others shorten the course up a bit.
- The course is well-groomed and maintained. Concrete tees, baskets, signs, tables, benches...everything is in good shape. Tee signs denote which layout the course is in currently (A, B, C, D, or E is listed next to the hole number). The club-house/store area has a great disc selection as well as cheap cans of soda, etc. for sale.
- Alan's out-going and friendly demeanor makes playing Pieradise a fun experience. Expect Alan to talk to you about everything from the current state of disc golf to what courses were on the 1987 pro tour schedule. His welcoming attitude was greatly appreciated!
Cons: - Unfortunately, the major con in my book is the lack of elevation. One hole uses a fairly good sized hill to create a good rollaway risk, but the vast majority of the course is super flat.
- For first timers, the flow isn't necessarily obvious in one or two spots, and the lack of "next tee" signage adds a bit to that; however, the risk of getting lost for more than a minute is minimal.
Other Thoughts: - From the course to the homemade baskets and signs, Pieradise is a DYI poster child for the disc golf scene. With the first hole teeing off of Alan's back porch, it's difficult not to get at least a little caught up in the awesomeness of playing one man's private creation.
- Pay to play fee ($4) is certainly reasonable and helps Alan maintain the course.
- Assigning a rating for this course proved to be one of the most difficult times I've had since I started reviewing courses. I finally, after much consideration, settled on a 3.5 rating until I get the chance to play at least one or two different course setups before I bump it up the 0.5 disc to a 4.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Eddie Money

1    6/11/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 326  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Owner Allen, who spent a good deal of time talking to us about the history of DG and the courses in the local area, and the well-stocked pro shop he has on the site.

Tee areas are top notch - long benches, tables, long-n-wide teepads, and excellent signage which informs you of the distance, and current position. When the course is in the C (short) position, it can be setup in a 27=hole layout.
Cons:
The front part of the course, which contains the walk from tee-10, holes 11-14, and tee-15 are a bit jammed together and can cause interference, delays, and much yelling of "fore!".

Quite flat.
Other Thoughts:
The day seven of us played, the course was set in the 'A' (long) configuration. In this setup, your wood-working skills are immediately put to the test, as the first seven holes, sans #5, has you work your discs around the low canopy formed by a collection of small and mid-sized trees. Holes 8-11 offer you an opportunity to stretch your arm, although there is the odd tree to miss, and OB to avoid - simple enough, unless you griplock. Number-12 has you enter the woods and gain what little elevation the course has. Wooded-13 is followed by right-turning 14. Holes 15-17 have you alternate between entering and exiting the woods at the end/beginning, and wooded-18 requires you to hit a window early.

For the most part, straight off the tee would serve you well - required turns tended to be subtle and near the basket, other than the hard-left needed at the midpoint of number-4. Baskets within the woods would (obviously) have trees nearby, but no "unfair" locations - make quality throws, and have a fair look at the basket.

Looking at all aspects of the course, "quality" is the word that comes to mind - certainly worth a visit if in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great private course

1    9/26/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat private piece of land, meaning absolutely no interference from non-dg activities. There are a few small elevation changes on the property, and they are used as much as possible to add challenge and excitement. The land has a great mix of wooded areas with and without brush, and open grassy areas with a few scattered trees, and the course goes back and forth between these to keep things different and interesting.

I played the 'C' layout, which is a pretty short course. Most holes were reachable with a putter or a mid, making it a great course for an ace race or for newer players. He also mixes things up and has longer/tougher layouts that looked really cool from the course maps in his (well stocked) pro shop. If this weren't the case, I probably wouldn't give such a short course as high a rating, but the variety of layouts he has is awesome. The track we played had a great mix of hole shapes, so it never got repetitive despite similar hole lengths. Though I threw putters and mids off most tees, I still felt like I had to do a lot of different line shaping, and had to make decisions off of many of the tees.

There are tee signs with hole number and distance, and when combined with the hole map the course is easy to follow and navigate. We had no issues figuring out where to go or where to throw, which is pretty impressive for a course that changes layouts so drastically. The tees are concrete, and had a pretty good surface. The baskets are made here by the course owner, and are a great design that catches at least as well as anything else out there. The vibe and atmosphere here is great, from teeing off from the back porch to the benches on most holes, it's a well kept and well loved course that's a lot of fun to play.
Cons: My biggest con is that I only got to play a short layout, I would love to check out some of his other layouts with more distance and challenge. It looked like he changes out his signs based on the layout, so I understand them being pretty basic, but a hole map would be a nice touch on the signs. A few holes played very close to one another in the layout we played, and if there were a lot of people out there could be some real safety issues.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the nicest private courses I've played, both in terms of design and in how impeccably maintained the grounds and equipment are. There are layouts that are great for beginners, with shorter lengths and less punishment, and there are layouts that will test more experienced players to hit lines and stay on the fairway. If you're in the area, this is a must play with a great atmosphere, a fun course, and a very welcoming host.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Livin the dream!

1    3/27/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 4 different layouts (maybe a 5th?) with very well kept baskets, signs, t-pads, benches, trash-cans, maps, even bag tables! Everything is kept in amazing condition.
This course has pretty much everything, finesse holes to longer drives (though I played C, the short layout). Uses trees effectively to create more challenging holes in the open areas.
Privately owned / operated, Allen Pier is very friendly and does an excellent job. Has a crazy good selection at the pro-shop on site.
Cons: Was a little bit confusing as to what to do when I first got there. Had to ask someone where to go to pay and such (4$, for all day, pretty reasonable).
Pro shop only takes cash
Other Thoughts: I was pretty much awe-struck when I first saw this place, amazing course! Coming in was a little bit confusing, didn't know where I should park or go to find out about the course and pay the fee.
-To avoid confusion - pull all the way down the drive to the house and park, then you'll see a door with disc golf stickers on it, go in there!
Once I met Allen it was smooth goin. The course starts right off his back porch (lucky guy!) and winds around the property.
Course C was the "short course" which was kinda a bummer cause I just came from honey bear and wanted to open up, but it had a really good variety of shots and 6 extra holes since there was more space.
Overall great experience and can't wait to get back out there! This is definitely a must play!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Golf Heaven!

1    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: numbernine
Played: 40  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll be honest, I don't see how a "non-pro" course can get any better.
We played the "E" course setup today,a nd it was unreal. Long holes through tight openings. Short, wide open holes that fight the wind. Long, winding, incredibly difficult holes that make you second guess your humanity!
Great pads, and several of them per hole.
Amazing baskets!
A+ pro shop.
And the fact that this is a private course, maintained by someone who had this as his dream is just incredible.
Cons: I played poorly today, so I am sure I missed some great stuff! ha!
Other Thoughts: Tough course with some big boy shots.
Awesome.
THANK YOU for putting this together.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Finally got to play the legendary Pieradise and meet Mr. Pier today. Such a great course that was built and is run by Allen Pier who was excited about people playing his course, especially since he just put together the 'E' version of his course which he is calling the toughest variation of Pieradise. Great tee pads, maps with distance, pro shop with lots of product at killer prices, and without a doubt some of the best baskets out there, he constructs them himself, his design and everything. If you are near the Peru area its a must play.
Cons: nothing, nada, ziltch and I played poorly this afternoon.
Other Thoughts: This course has open holes, wooded holes, combo holes, and it works with limited elevation the land has to offer. If you are close and have the time, please do yourself a favor and check out this course. He has it open from April through December.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.