Appleton, WI 
Pierce Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #3
3 / 339ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun and great mix of elevation

5+    12/2/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: Offconstantly
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and the surrounding area. I really like the baskets. They seem to really like my discs. #6 is one of the best holes around the Appleton area. Fun blind, downhill shot.
Cons: Tees are really close to the previous baskets. Tees are mud/dirt. Lots of people all the time which isn't that big a deal but it can get busy.
Other Thoughts: I was there one day when a family was having a party in the pavilion which is about 75-100ft from the 18th fwy. A discer was walking up to the basket and a group of young guys walked up to the discer and just popped him in the mouth. A brawl erupted and the racial slurs that were thrown toward the discer, white, was incredible. Worst reverse racism I have ever seen/hear. I don't play here when there is any party going on here. Just not worth it. I hope this doesn't turn people off to this place but I thought I should tell people to look out for a little black on white crime.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than you'd expect

1    10/19/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are large wood posts with the hole number on them at each tee pad. I believe 7's sign was missing and 6's sign was at 7's pad. However the flow of the course is very easy and you should have no problem finding the next tee. You'll see the tee pads from a ways away because they are huge grassless patches next to the posts. There's a good amount of distances here. The shortest hole is the uphill shot on #6 at 191 feet. The longest is #4 at 387 feet. Also there are some very fun up and downhill shots. Number 6 is an uphill shot and 5 is a blind downhill shot where staying on the fairway is key. The baskets are in good condition. They're Mach 3's and catch just fine. There are restrooms near hole 8 though they were locked in late October. The course doesn't seem to interfere with other park activities.
Cons: The dirt tees can be pretty slick and I'd imagine they can get swampy and wet after rains. Also they pull the baskets during the winter. This would definitely be a fun course to play in the winter. Hole 6's tee area is right next to hole 5's basket and since 5's basket is blind from the pin this could be a bit dangerous. I don't recall seeing any garbages on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is actually a very fun course. I was surprised how much fun I had here. It's nothing overly amazing but it is a good little course to throw a few quick rounds. There's also a number of other courses nearby to make for a good day of discing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quick but fun

2-4    7/20/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: discochad
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout, easy to navigate. Good variety of length of holes. Park is unkept really well. Not a lot of danger or loosing discs.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Tee boxes are level but not concrete.
Other Thoughts: If you like throwing between trees, a majority of this course will be fun for you. With limited danger areas you can feel free to let loose and still find your errant throws.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

For a quick 9

5+    8/1/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free.
Mach 3 baskets.
Nice use of small terrain.
Cons: Dirt pads.
Park bums on hole 3.
Other Thoughts: Good use of a small parcel of land for a 9 hole course. The only course in the area that you may have to wait to throw a shot due to people not giving a shit that their on a disc golf course. Hole 9.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Warm Up

2-4    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: ledH3ad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tees nicely marked, with the exception of hole 6, which appears to have disappeared, but the ground tee pads give it away.
-Baskets are numbered and correctly faced
-Wooded areas can make for interesting shot angles
Cons: -Dirt Tee Pads
-No directional maps pointing towards the basket can leave you guessing if you haven't played here before.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Underappreciated Appleton Course

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice park setting. There is a huge pavilion to have a picnic between rounds . . . and why not play a bunch fo rounds since it goes so quickly.

2) Mach baskets in good shape witht he number plates facing the tees which is always helpful.

3) Very nice map at the beginning of Hole #1 so you get the general flow of the course from the start. It isn't hard to find your way however because the posts are visible from the previous basket.

4) Nice variety in shot shaping. Not only are the holes balanced but you can throw multiple lines on many of the holes. Pick your spot and execute and you might be in line for a duece.

5) Nice mature oak trees and hardwoods. I love this aspect of so many courses, but this course has more trees and much closer together to force more defined and tighter lines. You better be accurate!

6) Signposts are easy to find from the previous basket even if they arent helpful in figuring out the next hole.

7) Nice use of elevation on #5, 6, and 7. I really enjoyed Hole #5 as it is a shot I have never really had to throw before. It is a slight turnover down a massive hill with scrub right and left. I really enjoyed executing the shot and from where my disc ended up I am sure it was clost to an ace! #6 is a great hole up the hill with a real risky shot with your driver. It is up a big hill, with a really wore out area and a big hill to the left of the basket. #7 has the basket tucked along the edge of a woods that is about 30 feet above the bottom of a hill. You may not roll far in the woods but it still is a well placed basket with the risk of the elevation change short and to the right.

8) Good variety in distances. There is a short one about 190' but it plays uphill so the distance plays longer. There also is a long 350'+ downhill which plays much shorter, but there is even a good range of hole lengths on the flat ones from about 240'-350'. I like having upshots on some holes which forces solid play from all levels.

10) Look down to the Fox River would be nice in the fall. In season though there is plenty of foliage to blook your view. I also got a nice view of a train steaming up the hill.

9) Beginner friendly course because it is faiirly open. The only place you could lose a disc is left of a few holes (1, 2, and 3) or down in the #5 basket area in the woods. Even here the wooded areas are open enough to find your disc however. The rest is open enough to be easy to find your disc.
Cons: 1) Natural teepads are wore out completely. Bare soil, sand, gravel, and exposed roots are the basics of these teepads. When wet they would be horrible. At least they are flat though! Concrete is one of only a few missing things in this park. I would rate it about 1/2 point higher if it had concrete pads!

2) No real sign, just a signpost with a Hole # on it. I would like distance listed and a simple diagram at least.

3) Cross Country trail virtually follows the course. This wouldn't often be a problem, but the lines were freshly painted so right now might be a bad time of year for cross country interference.

4) Road is in play on Holes 1, 2, and 3. I am not sure if it was for maintenance or to get you to another parking area, but it was narrow and probably isn't used that frequently.

5) Signpost is missing for Hole #6 so I wasn't sure where to throw my tee shot from. I assumed it was the wore out area adjacent to #5 basket. The gravel in the ground was supsicious to me in that I assumed that is where the post used to be. Perhaps a recent flood (I saw the mud on the leaves along all of the plants on the edge of the woods on hole #5 and 6) caused a problem with the sign?

6) Dangerous in a couple places. #6 tee is just behind the basket on 5 and it already is a blind hole. The road coming into play could be a problem for walkers and cars. The cross country track could lead to issues on some of the blind holes.

7) No benches or garbage cans throughout this entire course unfortunately. Benches arent a big deal because the course can easily be played in 15-20 minutes alone so you really shouldnt need a seat. There are benches (not intended for the DG tee but still usable) off to the side of holes 1, 2, and 3, but nothing on the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Personally I think this course gets a bad rap. I know the tees arent the greatetst, there isn't any helpful info on the signs, there are a few danger areas, but you know what, I feel it has some solid disc golf holes. There is a nice variety on the course. There is good elevation use where posible (#5, 6, and 7). There is some risk/reward on a few of the baskets because if you hit the hardpan around the baskets you could be looking at a bad bad skip including some rollaways.

Evaluated on just disc golf this course would get a 3.5, but the amenities, teepads, and some safety issues take it down to a 2.5 in my opinion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 9 with some fun holes

1    7/4/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a multi-use park, but stays around the outside of the park so interference with other park users is minimal. A few holes near the end of the course have some fun little elevation changes that add a little more challenge and variety. Most holes play through scattered mature trees with multiple lines to the hole, with a good variety of hole lengths. The baskets are in good shape and catch well. The tees are level and have tall 4x4 posts marking them, making it easy to follow the course.
Cons: There are lots of safety concerns here. Every tee is right next to the previous basket, so you've got to be watching for people behind you if there are other groups on the course. The last hole plays over the park road, and several others play near the road, so you might have to wait on cars at times.

The tees are dirt, and have eroded and spread to the point that you don't know exactly where to throw from anymore. The tee posts don't have much information on them, many have the hole number and distance sharpied on, but that's it. There is some rough on the course, but most of it is on the left side of the holes because you're looping around the outside of the park, so you only have to worry about trouble on that side for the first half of the course. It's too bad there aren't more holes bringing the fun woods and hill into play, those are the best holes on the course. Hole 9 is a disappointing finish, with a wide open shot into the middle of a field.
Other Thoughts: This is a quick round, and not a terrible course. there are some nice holes here, and some good safari options. It's beginner friendly for the most part, though there is some length here. More experienced players will find some nice challenges here, but there are too many safety issues and repetitive holes to keep it interesting for very long.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/4/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pierce park is an easy 9 hole course, that plays along the outer edge of the park. The course is great for those who are just starting out at the game. The course is somewhat wooded, allowing for a multitude of different approaches to the pin.
Cons: Dirt tees. They keep getting bigger every year they are not fixed up. The baskets are also too close to the next tee. So you not only have to wait for the group ahead to finish the hole, you also have to wait for them to tee off to make sure you don't hit anybody.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the park is kept in good condition, and is great for anyone who wants to get into disc golf. It would be a lot better with cement or rubber tees.
If you aren't satisfied with Pierce, Telulah Park is only a couple miles away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    10/15/2008   4/22/2009
Review By: discallday
Played: 112  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation of distance. Lots of trees, providing difficulty and multiple routes to the basket. Ridiculously easy to find the next teepad - if you get lost you have problems
Cons: It's easy to find the next teepad because they are on average about 20 feet from the previous basket. Teepads are dirt. Only two holes with notable elevation change (this one is my main beef).
Other Thoughts: Multitude of trees makes practicing rollers a good option. I used to not like this course because I thought all the trees left the prospect of a good shot up to chance rather than skill. I got better, and now I don't think this. However, the trees can be reasonably frustrating for less experienced players.
I think this course has great potential to add another basket placement per hole, and even a few more holes (though I don't know if I would recommend making the course a full 18). They should add concrete teepads, and make them farther away from the previous baskets.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice nine

5+    9/11/2008   3/12/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 719  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice nine with a scenic hill top view of the Fox River after hole #2. The oldest course in the Fox Cities, although it was an object course for most of it's life. I've played there many times with many players of varying abilities; including pros. It is not as easy to score well on this nine as you would think.
Hole #3 a good hole with o.b. road running the length of it.
Hole #4 nice wooded hole with two tiers of fairway.
Hole #5 blind down hill (not nearly as good as the object original; but not a bad hole except for the potential of hitting someone)
Hole #6: uphilll anheiser finish (rhbh). Fall away green.
Hole #7 decently long, blind anheiser.
Cons: Tee pads are very close to pins. Be aware that groups behind may be throwing on you; and be courteous to groups in front. Tees are dirt and have spread to 15 foot in length and width to both sides of tee sign.
Other Thoughts: Course project conceived, and carried through to completion (even to the extent of designing hot stamp design for initial tourney disc), by a 4th grade class and their teacher, from next door Jefferson School. This is quite unique.
Historically speaking; Steve Trogger, who also designed the original layout of Hatten Park, New London (of which the current 18 hole basket layout is nearly identical), designed Peirce as well.
I have to say that this being one of my nearest courses; I play here as often as any of the "Fox Valley 8". I originally rated it as a 2.5; and have come down .5 twice since then. This is due to poor natural tees and the fact that they are directly behind the targets. Hole #8 is a pure/waste, heiser, ace run for rhbh. #9 is simply an open 350 ft. hole. My arm needs a good drive to get there; but for many; this hole would be considered trivial. So, a poor finish to this course.
This is a fairly heavily used park; for other activities: an annual, huge, vintage car show; and a pavilion rented by many groups, near hole #9. There are times when you need to be careful, or perhaps shouldn't throw this hole....use discretion. However, on more than one occasion; this has added a fun factor bonus; as there have been huge tents set up for one function or another; which very much came into play on #9.
Restatement finale: I still stand behind the fact, that I believe this is a more difficult course overall than most think at first.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.