Appleton, WI 
Pierce Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #3
3 / 339ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than you'd expect

1    10/19/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are large wood posts with the hole number on them at each tee pad. I believe 7's sign was missing and 6's sign was at 7's pad. However the flow of the course is very easy and you should have no problem finding the next tee. You'll see the tee pads from a ways away because they are huge grassless patches next to the posts. There's a good amount of distances here. The shortest hole is the uphill shot on #6 at 191 feet. The longest is #4 at 387 feet. Also there are some very fun up and downhill shots. Number 6 is an uphill shot and 5 is a blind downhill shot where staying on the fairway is key. The baskets are in good condition. They're Mach 3's and catch just fine. There are restrooms near hole 8 though they were locked in late October. The course doesn't seem to interfere with other park activities.
Cons: The dirt tees can be pretty slick and I'd imagine they can get swampy and wet after rains. Also they pull the baskets during the winter. This would definitely be a fun course to play in the winter. Hole 6's tee area is right next to hole 5's basket and since 5's basket is blind from the pin this could be a bit dangerous. I don't recall seeing any garbages on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is actually a very fun course. I was surprised how much fun I had here. It's nothing overly amazing but it is a good little course to throw a few quick rounds. There's also a number of other courses nearby to make for a good day of discing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quick but fun

2-4    7/20/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: discochad
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout, easy to navigate. Good variety of length of holes. Park is unkept really well. Not a lot of danger or loosing discs.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Tee boxes are level but not concrete.
Other Thoughts: If you like throwing between trees, a majority of this course will be fun for you. With limited danger areas you can feel free to let loose and still find your errant throws.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

For a quick 9

5+    8/1/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free.
Mach 3 baskets.
Nice use of small terrain.
Cons: Dirt pads.
Park bums on hole 3.
Other Thoughts: Good use of a small parcel of land for a 9 hole course. The only course in the area that you may have to wait to throw a shot due to people not giving a shit that their on a disc golf course. Hole 9.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Warm Up

2-4    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: ledH3ad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tees nicely marked, with the exception of hole 6, which appears to have disappeared, but the ground tee pads give it away.
-Baskets are numbered and correctly faced
-Wooded areas can make for interesting shot angles
Cons: -Dirt Tee Pads
-No directional maps pointing towards the basket can leave you guessing if you haven't played here before.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Underappreciated Appleton Course

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice park setting. There is a huge pavilion to have a picnic between rounds . . . and why not play a bunch fo rounds since it goes so quickly.

2) Mach baskets in good shape witht he number plates facing the tees which is always helpful.

3) Very nice map at the beginning of Hole #1 so you get the general flow of the course from the start. It isn't hard to find your way however because the posts are visible from the previous basket.

4) Nice variety in shot shaping. Not only are the holes balanced but you can throw multiple lines on many of the holes. Pick your spot and execute and you might be in line for a duece.

5) Nice mature oak trees and hardwoods. I love this aspect of so many courses, but this course has more trees and much closer together to force more defined and tighter lines. You better be accurate!

6) Signposts are easy to find from the previous basket even if they arent helpful in figuring out the next hole.

7) Nice use of elevation on #5, 6, and 7. I really enjoyed Hole #5 as it is a shot I have never really had to throw before. It is a slight turnover down a massive hill with scrub right and left. I really enjoyed executing the shot and from where my disc ended up I am sure it was clost to an ace! #6 is a great hole up the hill with a real risky shot with your driver. It is up a big hill, with a really wore out area and a big hill to the left of the basket. #7 has the basket tucked along the edge of a woods that is about 30 feet above the bottom of a hill. You may not roll far in the woods but it still is a well placed basket with the risk of the elevation change short and to the right.

8) Good variety in distances. There is a short one about 190' but it plays uphill so the distance plays longer. There also is a long 350'+ downhill which plays much shorter, but there is even a good range of hole lengths on the flat ones from about 240'-350'. I like having upshots on some holes which forces solid play from all levels.

10) Look down to the Fox River would be nice in the fall. In season though there is plenty of foliage to blook your view. I also got a nice view of a train steaming up the hill.

9) Beginner friendly course because it is faiirly open. The only place you could lose a disc is left of a few holes (1, 2, and 3) or down in the #5 basket area in the woods. Even here the wooded areas are open enough to find your disc however. The rest is open enough to be easy to find your disc.
Cons: 1) Natural teepads are wore out completely. Bare soil, sand, gravel, and exposed roots are the basics of these teepads. When wet they would be horrible. At least they are flat though! Concrete is one of only a few missing things in this park. I would rate it about 1/2 point higher if it had concrete pads!

2) No real sign, just a signpost with a Hole # on it. I would like distance listed and a simple diagram at least.

3) Cross Country trail virtually follows the course. This wouldn't often be a problem, but the lines were freshly painted so right now might be a bad time of year for cross country interference.

4) Road is in play on Holes 1, 2, and 3. I am not sure if it was for maintenance or to get you to another parking area, but it was narrow and probably isn't used that frequently.

5) Signpost is missing for Hole #6 so I wasn't sure where to throw my tee shot from. I assumed it was the wore out area adjacent to #5 basket. The gravel in the ground was supsicious to me in that I assumed that is where the post used to be. Perhaps a recent flood (I saw the mud on the leaves along all of the plants on the edge of the woods on hole #5 and 6) caused a problem with the sign?

6) Dangerous in a couple places. #6 tee is just behind the basket on 5 and it already is a blind hole. The road coming into play could be a problem for walkers and cars. The cross country track could lead to issues on some of the blind holes.

7) No benches or garbage cans throughout this entire course unfortunately. Benches arent a big deal because the course can easily be played in 15-20 minutes alone so you really shouldnt need a seat. There are benches (not intended for the DG tee but still usable) off to the side of holes 1, 2, and 3, but nothing on the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Personally I think this course gets a bad rap. I know the tees arent the greatetst, there isn't any helpful info on the signs, there are a few danger areas, but you know what, I feel it has some solid disc golf holes. There is a nice variety on the course. There is good elevation use where posible (#5, 6, and 7). There is some risk/reward on a few of the baskets because if you hit the hardpan around the baskets you could be looking at a bad bad skip including some rollaways.

Evaluated on just disc golf this course would get a 3.5, but the amenities, teepads, and some safety issues take it down to a 2.5 in my opinion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    10/15/2008   4/22/2009
Review By: discallday
Played: 112  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation of distance. Lots of trees, providing difficulty and multiple routes to the basket. Ridiculously easy to find the next teepad - if you get lost you have problems
Cons: It's easy to find the next teepad because they are on average about 20 feet from the previous basket. Teepads are dirt. Only two holes with notable elevation change (this one is my main beef).
Other Thoughts: Multitude of trees makes practicing rollers a good option. I used to not like this course because I thought all the trees left the prospect of a good shot up to chance rather than skill. I got better, and now I don't think this. However, the trees can be reasonably frustrating for less experienced players.
I think this course has great potential to add another basket placement per hole, and even a few more holes (though I don't know if I would recommend making the course a full 18). They should add concrete teepads, and make them farther away from the previous baskets.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pierce Park Review

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2008
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice park for the whole family. It only has 9 holes, but it is my favorite 9 hole course. If they shortened some of the holes, they could probably squeeze 18 in the park.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Lots of trees around, you may lose a disc. (If anyone sees a pink Orc on hole 1, let me know ha)

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.