Appleton, WI 
Pierce Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #3
3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 nice nine

5+    9/11/2008   3/12/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice nine with a scenic hill top view of the Fox River after hole #2. The oldest course in the Fox Cities, although it was an object course for most of it's life. I've played there many times with many players of varying abilities; including pros. It is not as easy to score well on this nine as you would think.
Hole #3 a good hole with o.b. road running the length of it.
Hole #4 nice wooded hole with two tiers of fairway.
Hole #5 blind down hill (not nearly as good as the object original; but not a bad hole except for the potential of hitting someone)
Hole #6: uphilll anheiser finish (rhbh). Fall away green.
Hole #7 decently long, blind anheiser.
Cons: Tee pads are very close to pins. Be aware that groups behind may be throwing on you; and be courteous to groups in front. Tees are dirt and have spread to 15 foot in length and width to both sides of tee sign.
Other Thoughts: Course project conceived, and carried through to completion (even to the extent of designing hot stamp design for initial tourney disc), by a 4th grade class and their teacher, from next door Jefferson School. This is quite unique.
Historically speaking; Steve Trogger, who also designed the original layout of Hatten Park, New London (of which the current 18 hole basket layout is nearly identical), designed Peirce as well.
I have to say that this being one of my nearest courses; I play here as often as any of the "Fox Valley 8". I originally rated it as a 2.5; and have come down .5 twice since then. This is due to poor natural tees and the fact that they are directly behind the targets. Hole #8 is a pure/waste, heiser, ace run for rhbh. #9 is simply an open 350 ft. hole. My arm needs a good drive to get there; but for many; this hole would be considered trivial. So, a poor finish to this course.
This is a fairly heavily used park; for other activities: an annual, huge, vintage car show; and a pavilion rented by many groups, near hole #9. There are times when you need to be careful, or perhaps shouldn't throw this hole....use discretion. However, on more than one occasion; this has added a fun factor bonus; as there have been huge tents set up for one function or another; which very much came into play on #9.
Restatement finale: I still stand behind the fact, that I believe this is a more difficult course overall than most think at first.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 pierce pus

1    6/3/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.6 Years
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: real short quick and easy..good for beginners..9 holes..
Cons: grass tee boxes..too short..weak..
Other Thoughts: great pizza place a couple blocks away, if you like a nice thin and crispy pie! dont waste your time with this course..go to Plaman..

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Short 9

5+    9/15/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2008
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It's a short one. Nice for kids and people just starting the game. There is a park included. You can also rent out a good-sized pavilion from the park district, if need be. Doesn't usually get too busy.
Cons: Only nine holes. One pad and one pin per hole. No maps. No trash cans. No benches. Not open in Winter.
Other Thoughts: Nice for practicing with putters and midranges, but leave everything else at home. You just don't need any sort of drivers on this one (unless you have difficulty reaching the last pin). That's not a knock on the course, just a fact.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Pierce Park Review

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2008
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice park for the whole family. It only has 9 holes, but it is my favorite 9 hole course. If they shortened some of the holes, they could probably squeeze 18 in the park.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Lots of trees around, you may lose a disc. (If anyone sees a pink Orc on hole 1, let me know ha)

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center