Howard, WI 
Pinecrest Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 175ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Prairies at Pinecrest

1    5/28/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Painted timber laid in the ground at the front of each tee-box . . . red for the short tee and blue for the long tee.
2) Tee-signs have the basic information for Par, Hole #, and distance. The map is present but not super descriptive, but at least you see the general layout of the hole. They are located by the forward tee mostly, which puts those playing the long tees at a disadvantage.
3) Two sets of tees offer multiple skill levels a chance to play an appropriate distance. The long tees are mostly just additional distance without varying the shot shape or difficulty very much.
4) Mach baskets with number plates . . . some of my favorite baskets out there!
5) Mowed fairways seem to be very fair and I would even say forgiving. Not once did I end up in the tall grass the entire round so I never had to look for my disc at all. The prairie is also very clean of weeds, saplings, etc so it gives a really nice visual appeal to the course.
6) Minor elevation changes mostly with slight rolling fairways. There are a few holes with 10-20' of elevation change on the hole, but most are fairly level with only a few feet of elevation change per hole.
7) Creative use of a big soil mound on one hole. The basket is on the left half of the mound and there are a couple trees on the right side that would block your putt. I threw right behind those trees which is the only place you don't want to be.
8) There are a few garbage cans on the course, and I didn't see much garbage scattered which is nice.
9) Port-o-potty is available at the first tee parking lot area. I was happy to see this after my 2 hour drive!
10) 13-16 are wooded holes which breaks up some of the monotony of the open prairie type holes.
11) Excellent distance variation on this course with some in the 100's, 200's, 300's and even a 400' from both sets of tees. There are more 400's from the longs which makes the good sense.
12) There are a handful of holes that demand a hyzer, some that demand an anhyzer, a few that are pretty straight, and a good bunch of holes where you can choose from a couple routes. I like it when a course shows this variety to really challenge all parts of your game.
13) Course sign with a big map at the first tee.
Cons: 1) Dirt tees are rutted out and will hold water when it rains.
2) A handful of the distances seemed to be way off, not sure if there was a redesign from the original or if someone mis-measured, but some seemed off.
3) Wooded holes seem like these will often be wet and muddy and filled with mosquitoes so you might want to move quickly through these shorter technical holes.
4) #12 basket was missing a ring making it catch differently than others.
5) My opinion the balance of the wooded, open, and tightly wooded is not the best. I like tighter wooded holes better so only 4 tighter holes is less than I like. While the rest of the course is prairie, there are evergreens and some mature trees that create a slightly different shot selection than just a wide open whatever you want to throw.
6) The pond on #15 drains right into the front of the tee on #15 . . . I don't see why they couldn't have taken the pipe in between 14 and 15 instead to save creating a wet muddy mess on one of the tees.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course because it has a decent variety, it didn't look like it would have that variety when I got going but then there were the few holes whci used the treelines and a few scattered trees as obstacles. Then unexpectedly late in the round you dip into the woods for 4 holes. I certainly did not expect the water to be present even from the tee. Fortunately I threw right of the pond.

A few maintenance issues keep this course from being better in my opinion as does the fact the course is more praire dominant than wooded dominant. I feel this is more of a preference than a good or bad thing on the course, but I would more likely come back if there were more of the wooded holes.

It is still a solid course and if I lived nearby I would not avoid this course, it would mix wel with Triangle for the elevation and Pamperin and Perkins for the more wooded mix of holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pinecrest Park DGC

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) has a decent variety of hole shapes, but most are just striaght.
2) front holes are fairly well groomed
3) elevated pin on hole 11 adds some fun into this rather lackluster course
Cons: 1) dirt tee pads, not nesesarily a bad thing, but they were in poor shape
2) the rough is very rough, especially behind hole 3
3) not much elevation
4) front holes are pretty much just like feild work, not much trees or obsicals of any sort. although there are some saplings that could turn into some good obsticals on a few of the holes.
5) wooded holes are not upkept very well, tall grass in the fairways, dead trees laying in the fairways, etc.
6) hole 15 is compleatly gone due to the new parking lot for the softball feilds
7) tee for 16 is gone, i just threw from the temp tee set up for the ace race
8) tee signs lie, distances wayyyyy off on many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: they did a pretty good job with the land they had, the saplings they've planted on some of the holes could add some challenge to the front 12 holes after they grow.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good, then bad

1    7/27/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: simm
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First 12 holes were well groomed and open. The park was well cared for and was pretty easy to navigate for the first 12 holes.
Cons: After hole 12, the course moves into the woods. The holes in the woods were muddy and were NOT well marked. The trails from hole to hole were confusing and were also not very clear. I was really disappointed after the first 12 holes. The deer flies were also out in force today.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Boring and open

1    7/5/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat prairie style park that is devoted only to disc golf so there is no outside interference. There is a good variety of distances with some shorter ace run holes and some longer shots from the back tees. Some of the holes near the end of the course play through the woods and add a few fun technical shots that make you shape some different lines. There are nice baskets in good shape that catch well. The fairways were all recently mowed, and there was no trash or vandalism. The course flows pretty well with no major navigation issues.
Cons: Almost all the holes here are wide open with mowed fairways through tall prairie grass. This means there are no obstacles on many holes, and the only punishment for a poor drive is spending time looking for your disc in the grass. The wooded holes near the end are a nice change, but all are short little ace runs through the woods so they don't add much more difficulty to the course. There are alternate tees, but they don't change the shots at all, they're just slightly longer versions of the short set of tees. The signs look nice, but many are pretty badly wrong in terms of hole shape and length so they're not all that reliable.
Other Thoughts: This is a boring course, with way too much prairie style rough. Too many holes are wide open and don't force any different lines. If you want a place to work on throwing in the wind this is fine, but otherwise there are much more interesting courses around to play. Beginners will find the rough frustrating and will likely have a lot of trouble staying out of the tall grass. More experienced players won't find many different challenges here, and there isn't enough variety to make it very interesting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Immature Course, Wet and Open

5+    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big arms have a few holes on which to really let loose. This makes a good practice course- majority of holes are wide open so any throwing style can find success. Two sets of tees. Holes 13-16 are wooded and curved in both directions to finally put some variety on the course.
Cons: The four wooded holes at the end of the course are so wet and muddy that they are virtually unplayable except July through September. Wooden bridges are poorly implemented; you will find yourself stepping into mud or water before and after bridges. Fairways are seldom maintained to the point that disc searches are often necessary even after shooting into the middle of the fairway. Rough is deceptively thick and long and eats discs frequently. Location of course is seemingly always windy, even when nearby areas are not. Signs have not been updated since course was rearranged and often display incorrect maps and distance measurements. You will find yourself teeing off alongside marked tee areas to find decent footing.
Other Thoughts: This course may mature into something special, but for the present time it is difficult to recommend over any of the other courses within a 30-mile radius.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pinecrest is decent

5+    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 18 holes here, better than 9 at Pamperin, 9 at UWGB, 9 at the new park, and 18 at the whitetrash resort called Baird Creek.
Hole 11 has a basket on a neat elevated mound of a green, but the hole is just wide open.
There is some elevation here, but maybe 25' change at most on any one hole.
The wooded holes are nice and tight, but none are long, just midrange or putter holes.
Multiple tees (red and blue), but the pad area SUCKS!
Left/right/straight balance is okay, but just because most of the course is wide open allowing either route. Only 2-4 of the holes play into or out of the woods which requires a hyzer or anhyzer.
Cons: The tee areas are AWFUL. They are marked by a 4x4 post laying on the ground in the front. They are rutted, bare dirt/mud, and not level at all. They are just plain bad.
Most of the course is just wide open. Fairways may be mowed to highlist a particular route and flight path, but with lack of large trees, you can throw at the basket from any direction. If you end up off the mowed fairway, you'll be searching through some real long and thick grass. Searching happed often because the wind acorss this open meadow can wreak havoc.
The wooded holes had no fill or woodchips brought in. Thus, they are soggy and after a rain can be a swamp. This also creates a bug haven so bring some spray.
Variety lacks severely. While the wooded holes do offer some balance, there are only 4 of them and none are long at all. So, you're mainly throwing around 300' across open fields. You may or may not have a tree border on one side of the fairway, and you may or may not have a bit of elevation from north to south oriented holes.
Typical douches playing in the city parks that vandalize, wreck, and otherwise contribute absolutely nothing useful or worthwhile to anything. Not nearly as bad as Baird though
Other Thoughts: The village is putting a bit more effort into the park. I see some larger trees planted. But if they really want to do something with the place, and give GB area discers something to rave about, they should study Token Creek in Madison. Pinecrest is the only course that could be made outstanding in GB. They could terrace some CONCRETE tees, make some elevated greens, add some more trees, and even install a few small ponds or 'sand' traps for some OB features. I personally love woods and elevation. I don't consider Pinecrest hilly at all, and the wooded holes don't impress me much either.
All in all, GB is a VERY lackluster disc golf area. All the Appleton area courses are better, and just 30 miles away is Winter Park in Kewaunee or Silver Creek in Manitowoc.
I would not recommend this course to a traveller who only had time to play one or two in a day. I would recommend Pinecrest as probably the most solid of all the GB courses.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 arghhh

5+    11/28/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: tomdizzlefizzle
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long course, averaging over 300 ft a hole easily, with a few more then 400. a majority of the holes are open where all you do is bomb it. they really are tougher then you think though, its easy to end up in a tree line and end up with a 5. the holes in the woods are a little tricky but easy enough to birdie.
Cons: Tee pads are horrible, by that i mean they dont have pads and its as though someone went out of their way to make were you throw uneven and rutted. Also water can be a big issue early and late in the season, all the woods holes will flood, making a few of the holes unplayable unless you want to go swimming,
Other Thoughts: Despite being a not so great course, I still like to play it more then any course in greenbay. its as tough as a course gets in Green Bay.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/27/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course map at first hole
Well labeled red and blue pads
Both left and right turn holes
Lost of long holes to really air it out
Course flows well, not much of a chance to get lost (except from 16 to 17)
Well maintained fairways
Cons: High grass can just eat your disc when trying to make a low glide off the fairway
Open field for most of the course can mean lost of wind to play with
No real elevation change, pretty flat.
The wooded holes can be real muddy, so step carfully
Other Thoughts: Nice site next to the sports complex that is devoted to disc golf. I recommend playing 2 rounds, but bring food/water because there isn't much near by to make a quick run to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I think it landed by this bush

5+    9/14/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pinecrest is a nice looking quiet place to disc. Most of the course is in a grassy field with a solid tree line on the north and south, it has low wetlands in the middle and in the wooded area, no swampy water hazards for the most part. Expect some windy conditions, just enough elevation that makes throws more difficult than expected, and wide open fairways that you still cant seem to hit! There is some distance required here, if you can throw close to 350' you should be able to reach almost every hole. There are four wooded holes, all within 250', birdies, but you have to hit lanes cut out of the trees. The signs look good and direct traffic well enough.
Cons: Horrid dirt tee pads, they are rutted and the 4x4 front of tee marker is unacceptable. Poor balance to the course, but the designer didn't have much for fairway defining elements to start with. Several holes are wide open and far. Its easy to get tired just bombing drives not caring about accuracy. The wooded holes are quite soggy in wet months, sometimes unplayable. Sign footage is far off on a few and debateable on the others. Watch out for thorns. The course would have a better feel if not for the line of houses on the east edge.
Other Thoughts: It gets a 3. Of the four Green Bay courses I prefer playing this one the most. The village is giving this course attention. Howard likes to have clean parks. One can hope that new teepads are coming. Good looking teepads would make this course into something that would be worth a drive. Fairways will continue to be defined, trees will get bigger, field grass will get more trampled. Its a placement shot course despite the wide openness, since a RHBH (for me) isn't favored on the holes that end in a right turn, and not landing where you want is probably in tall weeds or a tree line. After landing a drive where you want then comes a wide open putt. Scoring under par is expected but very few birdies are gimmies.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Much "Wow" Factor, But a Good Overall Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good use of terrain. While mostly flat, the designer(s) tried to use as many of the trees and bushes as possible. The wooded holes are definitely technical/finesse ones, and even the really open holes utilize tree lines to make you think twice about bombing a big hyzer.
2. Clean and quiet. A huge difference from Baird Creek in East Green Bay. It's good to play a secluded course where most of the patrons seem to be environmentally conscious and just a decent crowd. I didn't see much litter (there's always SOME), but then again I didn't see a lot of trash cans, so people are mindful of the pack-in/pack-out tradition.
3. Dual tees on most holes. The long tees don't necessarily change the feel of the holes (most of them are just straight back from the shorts, essentially giving you the same hole + 50-80 feet), but it's always a nice option to have some longer tees.
4. Maintenance. I probably would have rated this course an entire disc less if I was basing my rating on the first few times I was out here. The rough at those times was absolutely terrible (we're talking neck-high in a lot of spots), and the wooded holes needed a LOT of work. Fortunately, that work has been put in, and it shows.
5. Nice color tee signs with distances and hole maps. Some of the shorter blind holes in the woods may still require you to scout ahead a bit for a solid visual of the basket, but there's only one pin placement per hole, and the signs accurately reflect whether you're going straight, left, or right.
Cons: 1. Not as balanced as far as shot types required. Most of the shorter holes cater to RHFH/LHBH types.
2. Tee pads. I don't mind dirt, and for the most part they are pretty even, but the tees are marked with red and blue 4x4s that carry a real risk of tripping you up on your follow-through (a few stick up an inch or more!). I shouldn't have to worry about injuring myself on a tee...going exploring for my botched shot in some rugged terrain containing thorns, poison ivy, and holes in the ground maybe, but not on the tee.
3. Tee signs need updating. The one that comes to mind is #6, listed as 310/410, with a basket about 280' in front of you...#7 also is listed as 195/295, yet plays much longer, so maybe these holes have been swapped? Memory fails me here...
4. Pretty bland overall. The only hole out here that's truly unique out here is #11, perched on the left side of a 12-foot-high dirt mound, where most people's second shot will need to be placed accurately or will miss the mound completely or roll away. Everything else is pretty lackluster.
Other Thoughts: Despite my cons making it sound like this course isn't worth it, it's a welcome change from the other GB-area courses. It seems like more work goes into Pinecrest every time I'm out here, so I'm looking forward to seeing more improvements and maybe the addition of some unique landscaping to give the course a much-needed wow factor. My biggest issue is with the tees (I can deal with lefty hole after lefty hole after lefty hole so long as I'm not hitting my ankle on a giant piece of lumber). A manmade water hazard on one of the long bomber holes would be an IMMENSE improvement (there is a "creek," if it qualifies as such, near 16 and 17, but when you smell it you'll realize why the designers opted out of putting this nasty water in play). A solid course overall, and I haven't encountered the crowds of douchebags you'll run into repeatedly at Baird Creek.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.