Howard, WI 
Pinecrest Park Share
Uploaded By: t's kitty Hole #11 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 arghhh

5+    11/28/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: tomdizzlefizzle
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long course, averaging over 300 ft a hole easily, with a few more then 400. a majority of the holes are open where all you do is bomb it. they really are tougher then you think though, its easy to end up in a tree line and end up with a 5. the holes in the woods are a little tricky but easy enough to birdie.
Cons: Tee pads are horrible, by that i mean they dont have pads and its as though someone went out of their way to make were you throw uneven and rutted. Also water can be a big issue early and late in the season, all the woods holes will flood, making a few of the holes unplayable unless you want to go swimming,
Other Thoughts: Despite being a not so great course, I still like to play it more then any course in greenbay. its as tough as a course gets in Green Bay.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I think it landed by this bush

5+    9/14/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pinecrest is a nice looking quiet place to disc. Most of the course is in a grassy field with a solid tree line on the north and south, it has low wetlands in the middle and in the wooded area, no swampy water hazards for the most part. Expect some windy conditions, just enough elevation that makes throws more difficult than expected, and wide open fairways that you still cant seem to hit! There is some distance required here, if you can throw close to 350' you should be able to reach almost every hole. There are four wooded holes, all within 250', birdies, but you have to hit lanes cut out of the trees. The signs look good and direct traffic well enough.
Cons: Horrid dirt tee pads, they are rutted and the 4x4 front of tee marker is unacceptable. Poor balance to the course, but the designer didn't have much for fairway defining elements to start with. Several holes are wide open and far. Its easy to get tired just bombing drives not caring about accuracy. The wooded holes are quite soggy in wet months, sometimes unplayable. Sign footage is far off on a few and debateable on the others. Watch out for thorns. The course would have a better feel if not for the line of houses on the east edge.
Other Thoughts: It gets a 3. Of the four Green Bay courses I prefer playing this one the most. The village is giving this course attention. Howard likes to have clean parks. One can hope that new teepads are coming. Good looking teepads would make this course into something that would be worth a drive. Fairways will continue to be defined, trees will get bigger, field grass will get more trampled. Its a placement shot course despite the wide openness, since a RHBH (for me) isn't favored on the holes that end in a right turn, and not landing where you want is probably in tall weeds or a tree line. After landing a drive where you want then comes a wide open putt. Scoring under par is expected but very few birdies are gimmies.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Much "Wow" Factor, But a Good Overall Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good use of terrain. While mostly flat, the designer(s) tried to use as many of the trees and bushes as possible. The wooded holes are definitely technical/finesse ones, and even the really open holes utilize tree lines to make you think twice about bombing a big hyzer.
2. Clean and quiet. A huge difference from Baird Creek in East Green Bay. It's good to play a secluded course where most of the patrons seem to be environmentally conscious and just a decent crowd. I didn't see much litter (there's always SOME), but then again I didn't see a lot of trash cans, so people are mindful of the pack-in/pack-out tradition.
3. Dual tees on most holes. The long tees don't necessarily change the feel of the holes (most of them are just straight back from the shorts, essentially giving you the same hole + 50-80 feet), but it's always a nice option to have some longer tees.
4. Maintenance. I probably would have rated this course an entire disc less if I was basing my rating on the first few times I was out here. The rough at those times was absolutely terrible (we're talking neck-high in a lot of spots), and the wooded holes needed a LOT of work. Fortunately, that work has been put in, and it shows.
5. Nice color tee signs with distances and hole maps. Some of the shorter blind holes in the woods may still require you to scout ahead a bit for a solid visual of the basket, but there's only one pin placement per hole, and the signs accurately reflect whether you're going straight, left, or right.
Cons: 1. Not as balanced as far as shot types required. Most of the shorter holes cater to RHFH/LHBH types.
2. Tee pads. I don't mind dirt, and for the most part they are pretty even, but the tees are marked with red and blue 4x4s that carry a real risk of tripping you up on your follow-through (a few stick up an inch or more!). I shouldn't have to worry about injuring myself on a tee...going exploring for my botched shot in some rugged terrain containing thorns, poison ivy, and holes in the ground maybe, but not on the tee.
3. Tee signs need updating. The one that comes to mind is #6, listed as 310/410, with a basket about 280' in front of you...#7 also is listed as 195/295, yet plays much longer, so maybe these holes have been swapped? Memory fails me here...
4. Pretty bland overall. The only hole out here that's truly unique out here is #11, perched on the left side of a 12-foot-high dirt mound, where most people's second shot will need to be placed accurately or will miss the mound completely or roll away. Everything else is pretty lackluster.
Other Thoughts: Despite my cons making it sound like this course isn't worth it, it's a welcome change from the other GB-area courses. It seems like more work goes into Pinecrest every time I'm out here, so I'm looking forward to seeing more improvements and maybe the addition of some unique landscaping to give the course a much-needed wow factor. My biggest issue is with the tees (I can deal with lefty hole after lefty hole after lefty hole so long as I'm not hitting my ankle on a giant piece of lumber). A manmade water hazard on one of the long bomber holes would be an IMMENSE improvement (there is a "creek," if it qualifies as such, near 16 and 17, but when you smell it you'll realize why the designers opted out of putting this nasty water in play). A solid course overall, and I haven't encountered the crowds of douchebags you'll run into repeatedly at Baird Creek.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 getting better!

5+    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: truk
Played: 69  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of nice updates going into this course. The woods are in the middle of a major cleanup, all the tees are smoothed out with paint on the 4x4 boards, and the pins are all surrounded by new mulch. Some "next hole" signs are in place. Best of all, there are finally some real bridges up over the creek!

The past several seasons have seen the fairways kept up much better than when it first opened, but even the rough has seen regular trimming lately, which is good for finding errant discs.
Cons: Even with the cleanup in the woods, there's still the problem of low ground, especially around hole 13 and the path to 17 (both near the creek)...maybe that's in the works though.

Tees are nicely packed, but concrete or at least packed gravel would really help, especially in the spring.

Not really the course's fault - I think there's enough barrels, but LOT's of garbage (wrappers, cups,bottles) especially by the tees.
Other Thoughts: More often that not, I'd skip 13-16...that's finally changing. Much thanks to the crew doing the upgrades!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.