Ann Arbor, MI 
Pioneer High School Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude   (Taken 11/2012)



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
what a shame

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: deadheadmon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hmm, the two positives I can come up with for this course are the location and the baskets themselves. The course is right near Michigan stadium and easy to get to. Probably due to a lack of use, the baskets themselves are in decent shape.
Cons: Let's see... No signage, stupidly tight fairways with baskets tucked in so far back that it's comical, knee high grass in the middle of the fairways, swampy woods full of mosquitoes, mud teepads, short holes, very rough rough.
Other Thoughts: Don't bother. I came here just to check this course of the list. It's really a shame though because with a little more opening this could have been a great addition to Ann Arbor's disc golf map. If anyone from the city or Pioneer HS reads this, please open up the fairways or something! This course needs help and we don't want it to wither away...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

to the swamps with ye!

1    3/31/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a back school wood. Course was most certainly "cut from the thorns" as was advertised. Multiple trails criss-cross the course, I'm sure there's potential for meeting people but I'm not holding my breath.

Baskets-- in good repair. but really almost invisible in this wood. I'm not sure what to suggest to increase visibility.

Cons:
Routing/nav-- is there another way to enter this course? the "path" entrance is awful. paths hold water like a retention pond. even with waterproof boots, it was like walking through creeks.

Variety/challenge-- pretty much a rinse and repeat course. not much variety of any kind. Very tight lines mean mind your disc or you're digging through thorns.

Teesigns/teepads--damn near non-existant. the teesigns (where present) were nothing more than a marker. no true teepads.
Other Thoughts:
I'm not sure why this course is here. Obviously very few visitors, very little upkeep, very dense woods, very muddy paths. Very easy to get lost.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ugh...

1    3/21/2013   3/21/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disc golf can be a lot of fun!

9 baskets!
Cons: This course blows as it is right now. A lot of the holes were unplayable because there were so many dead branches/trees in the supposed "fairways".

It's very clear that this course isn't maintained in the slightest. I played this course in the winter and losing a disc wasn't really possible, but in the summer/fall/spring when there are leaves on the trees, it's very likely you'll lose a disc because the tunnel shots are very hard to hit and the thorns are very thick.
Other Thoughts: Don't come here. I promise you it's not worth it and if you come you'll be disappointed. I would barely consider this a course at all because it's so fallen apart.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bring putter, have fun, repeat if necessary

2-4    1/27/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Tight, well wooded fairways make for some nice finesse shots, requiring control. Good place to hone your approach/upshot skills.
• Relatively challenging for holes of these distances: 132' - 189'.
• Decent balance of L/R straight fairways, with a few holes suitable for baby spike hyzer and spike annies.
• Baskets in good shape.
• Very low traffic combined with short, compact layout makes for quick rounds. First round took a while due to navigation, but subsequent rounds only took about 20 minutes.
• Small, very humble tee markers leave much to be desired, but they do let you know where to shoot from.
• Particularly well located for a round before or after U of M football/basketball games.
Cons:
• Holes feel redundant, not much variety. Bring a putter, mids optional, don't bother with drivers.
• Navigation: 1st hole starts in an awkward, hard to find spot. Course is criss-crossed with paths, some of which aren't part of the course, so finding the next tee isn't always obvious - PRINT THE MAP.
• Tee markers are 1"x2" furring strips extending several inches out of the ground top couple of inches painted white with hole # in black marker - hard to spot against white snow in winter (snow covers the unpainted wood) as well as well wooded paths if there's no snow (it's tough to find a specific piece of wood in the woods). Would really help if they used florescent paint instead of white. They aid in navigation, but just barely, as they're hard to spot.
• OK during fall and winter (i.e. football season). Don't even bother during the spring and summer - gets very overgrown during peak season with little routine maintenance.
• Parking - what parking?
Other Thoughts: Pioneer's a one trick pony; the short, controlled finesse shot -but does that fairly well. Every hole on the course is quite aceable (but not easily so), and should be deuced if played well… but you won't deuce them all. Tight fairways leave little room for error: go long, nose up and hyzer out, or just have one get away from you, and what should be a deuce could be a 4 or lost disc. Leave the fairway and the rough gets very thick, very quickly - much more forgiving in fall & winter. I'd rate it a 1/2 disc higher if it were more playable for more of the year.

During the right time of year, it's good for a quick,fun round if you're in the area with time to kill (and up for a round of tunnel/finesse shots with your putter). I played 3 rounds with only a Challenger and a Comet, and had a good time, but wasn't expecting much, and only played because I was in the area with 90 minutes and nothing to do.

Despite navigation issues, course actually flows pretty well from basket to next tee- once you get the hang of it. But the fact that no one's really gonna plan to be here means they're unlikely to print the map before-hand. This only makes the spotty navigation and hard to find tee markers more of an issue for spur of the moment, impromptu rounds.

I had fun, but Pioneer's not worth any sort of trip to play here. Nearby Bandemer is more complete course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worst Course I've Played

1    6/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 81  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set up by a highschool,I wish my highschool would of had a DGC,Discraft baskets
Cons: Not maintained,fairways were almost non existent on many holes had to crouch down to get through overgrown trees,hard to navigate has some small paper arrows for some direction,no parking lot have to park in neighborhood across the street,
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend playing this course it is not worth any drive,

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

why did we make this course again?

5+    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has chainstar baskets. A few tricky fun shots. Convenient to downtown/a high school/U of M tailgaters.
Cons: Muddy. Buggy. Tons of ivy. No map, pointers. No dedicated parking area at all. Closed during school hours. Short, tight and somewhat silly holes sometimes. Dirt tees. Unmaintained.
Other Thoughts: I am thinking of attempting to fix this place up sometimes next year if I still live there. It seems such a wasted effort to have put it in. Almost no one plays it, or knows it exists. It's unmarked, tough, short, hard to get to and find. But right downtown.
I'd like to re-design it or move it to the woods across from 7th street.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.