Denton, TX 
North Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: sgb118 Hole #16 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 242ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Basket is in the shade near the trees ahead.



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun for big arms

5+    9/14/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: Trex530swanson
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my local course now that I have moved to denton.

I like this course cause the front 9 and back 9 are very different. Front 9 plays towards people big arms and not many hazards and back 9 is a little more accuracy based with a few hazards. Most people play the classic tees, which is the pads with the signs buy it. which gives you the best combination of long and short holes.

Every hole has a long and short tee

A few holes are aceable #8 seems to be the one most people run at.

The people are always friendly and will help you out as much as possible.

They have weekly tournaments, every sunday for 5 bucks

There are couple very good locals that have given me many good tips to improve my game.
Cons: The Course is one of the longest in the DFW area for sure. The holes are very spread out they could very easily stick another 9 holes in and around the original holes.

in the summer be ready to sweat very little shade on front 11 and almost no benches to sit down.

weather makes a big difference, usually there is a decent wind from the south. every once in awhile there will be a north wind or no wind at all ( this is usually when you can get a really good score)

signs are beat up or non existent

some of the difference between the long n short pad isn't much (example #16)

Water on #9 I see a lot of people throw their disc in the water from the long tee pad. It is however very shollow water and you can usually find your disc pretty easy.

Watch out for snakes!!!

Grass on hills can get really long between mows, very easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: Most people play as a 54 for par. I would say most people I play with shoot a +7 or higher.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The great wide open in Denton

5+    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: thejake78
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads, with multiple tees per hole
- Course makes use of elevation changes presented by levies around the "lake" (#7 in particular makes use of this, throwing from the top of one across a large field to another)
- Plenty of opportunities to air out some throws
Cons: - Course is is fairly open with very few obstacles, particularly over most of the front eleven holes. Being fairly open, there is little cover from wind, or the Texas sun in summer time
- While navigation/flow is generally not too bad (a better map would be helpful), the walk from #11 to #12 is substantial, about a quarter mile. From #11, walk past the basket, veering laft past the tennis courts to the sidewalk at the street. Follow this past the driving range and batting cages to get to #12.
- Signage ranges from faded to nonexistent as of my writing this
- Difficult to recover discs from murky(nasty) water, both the lake near 6 and especially 9(highest risk for RHBH), and the creek near the last few holes. The lake is marked off-limits by the way
- A few places tend to get pretty muddy at times
- The grasses off the fairways can be very high in the spring and summer between mows
Other Thoughts: Ready for a hike? This is a pretty lengthy course...flat, mostly, except for the handful of trips up and down the levies on holes #4 through #9, plus the long walk from #11 to #12. There are many holes here that are little more than straight shots across a field where the greatest obstacle is the wind. It is not the most exciting course as far as layout or technical variety, but the chance to really air out your drivers, I think, nudges my rating up on this course, and I believe making it worth checking out if in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/1/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a decent course. there are 2 sets of tee pads and when played from the longs you can really bomb it out there. there are several elevation changes which make use of the levees and these are the best holes. the park is for the most part clean. the locals are very nice and dont mind showing you around. the rough is essentially non existent so you shouldnt lose any discs unless they havent mowded. water comes into play on a few holes, but isnt really that big of an issue unless youre dumb and throw your meathooks on number 9. the creek is usually shallow and discs should be easy enough to find. the course flows pretty well and uses the available land well.
Cons: really wide open. the front 12 holes are all out in open fields with little to no obsticals in the way. i prefer a mix of open and wooded holes and thats not the case here. there is a looooong walk from hole 12 to 13. the first few times i played i had no clue where to go, signage would help greatly. playing during the summer is brutal since there isnt much shade, bring lots of water. denton can get quite windy and with the lack of trees its can be tricky. the back 6 holes are decent but seem like filler.
Other Thoughts: decent at best but denton is a great place to visit. its a college town and most bars around have a great selection of craft beer. oak street draft house and lucky lous are both great place to wind down after your round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northlake Park Rundown!!!

1    8/1/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Teepads (long and short)
-Teesigns
-Great flow
-Shot variety (long, short, great elevation chages, trees, water)
-Well kept course and groomed decently. Not much unwanted brush and brambles.
-Long course for you big-armed-drive lovers.
Cons: -On the front side of the course there isn't much shade, so it can get extremely hot out. Bring sunscreen.
-I hear it can get pretty muddy when it's been raining.
-Wind is the major factor out here when it's blowing.

....bout it
Other Thoughts: Great course that I'm pretty sure just got a recent upgrade. I do believe you can thank Mr. Stev-o Storrie for getting all that set up.

Great course worth the travel if you aren't too far away. If you're the northern sector of the metroplex, this course would be worth a stop. Make a trip out of it and play lewisville and the surrounding northern courses.

Great job on this one. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of 2 Nines

1    1/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Metal signs with distance, Hole # and a general layout of the hole. They do the job but aren't all that attractive.

2) Since I was there I guess concrete was put in which is great for this course . . . it was tough teeing off on some of the worse out tees but concrete is always appreciated!!! Not only are they concrete but apparently dual concrete which is even better!

3) Garbage cans available in multiple spots to keep this course clean!

4) Turf is in pretty good condition in most areas on this course. There are a few compacted areas or damaged turf areas but all in all this seems to be a well maintained grounds.

5) The back 9 gets its own positive . . . it is much more fun, slightly more technical, shorter, and simply more fun than the front 9 which is mostly open, minimal obstacles, still fun but not as mcuh as the back 9.

6) Beginner friendly (aside from being long there are only a couple places where losing a disc might happen). It might be frustrating to start out on the really long holes on the front 9 but at least they will quickly learn how the disc flys before they get to the water hole or the elevated holes, or the technical shots.

7) My wife threw her third shot on #3 into the garbage can which was one of the highlights of my round! I laughed and fortunately . . . so did she!

8) Park has batting cages, a driving range, and a rec center also . . . I am sure there were bathrooms on that building somewhere, but I am not 100% sure.

9) Elevation is used to improve a mostly open boring front 9. One hole has you throwing to a basket on the side of the ridge. Then the next you shoot down te ridge of what looks to be a flood prevention dike. Then you play a hole in a narrow area with the berm on your left side and trees on your right creating a sort of tunnel that you need to try and navigate without hitting the hill early or going to the righ tinto the woods. Then you throw back across a dropoff to another basket slightly on a sloped area. Back across again and then you throw down from the top of the berm to a basket tucked just slightly around a pond . . . great hole . . . incoroporating water and elevation on one hole otherwise it would be a really boring hole if the basket was elsewhere.

10) Front 9 challenges you a couple different ways and the back 9 gets a little more diverse in trouble and shot shaping.

11) The length of the holes varies well and the overall length of the course presents a moderate challenge on its own.
Cons: 1) Directionals would be helpful in a couple locations as the course is pretty spread out and you might go the wrong way.

2) Mix of baskets is a negative in my opinion . . . perhaps it is all they have and they dont have money for that upgrade . . . having concrete tees isntalled is more important than baskets anyways so perhaps it will change down the road.

3) The front 9 is pretty boring . . . they did use the elevation and the water as best they could but it just does not compare to the front 9.

4) The front 9 is pretty simple and you have multiple shots possible on most holes.

5) This is not a picturesque course in fact it really isn't pretty at all . . . but at least they have some good disc golf holes. It just seems to be placed in an area where no other activities would be.

6) Long walk in a couple places between holes . . . breaks up the flow ofthe course but there was no way to put holes in between because of other activities or natural transitions in the layout of the course.
Other Thoughts: When I was there there were no concrete tees, the construction along the road was pretty fresh and that affected a couple of the holes and especially your footing as it had not been final graded or seeded yet . . . so I am giving this place the benefit of the doubt that these things have been solved since I was there as I read in someone else's review. The tees along bring this course up half a disc in my opinion because that was one of the biggest detractors when I was there.

Before the concrete I would have given this course a 2.5 or maybe even a 2.0 . . .so I bumped it up to a 3 after the dual concrete went in . . . rumors of signs and new baskets would also help so I rated it slightly higher for the current updates taking place.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long & Open

2-4    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
- Some creative hole layouts
- Good use of elevation
- Forgiving
Cons:
- Long grass
- High winds
- No tee pads (as of now)
- Not many finesse shots required
- Hole 14 is in a giant puddle (we skipped it)
- Long walk to 12
Other Thoughts: The rumored upgrade would help this course a lot. It's challenging, but not in an annoying way.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun. Bring sunscreen

5+    7/2/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A good variety
-Lots of Grip and Rip holes
-Creek near the end makes a few holes technical
-Locals are nice
-If you play the signs, under par is no problem.
-Only one hole where you can lose a disc
-Makes you feel good about yourself
Cons: -Not a lot of shade on the front nine, and a little boring until you get to the trees.
-Long walk without shade....
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Hot. Last couple holes are fun. Play it as all par 3's. Bring some stable discs because the wind blows hard, and those headwinds will really turn over discs. Number 9 is a disc eater, but if you are close to the shore you can get your disc easy. The mud feels good... I am a local here at this course, and I am told they are going to redesign this course in the near future. The city wants to move the holes by the dam. We will see what happens. First hole is by the small parking lot off of bonnie bre.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Long Range Course

5+    8/30/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: HoboMaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots. Long, open shots for the first group, then some closer, precision shots in the last group.
Lots of fun if you like really airing out a disc, plus the lake and the creek in the last area gives some challenging risk/reward shots.
Not usually very crowded, and eve when it is, the people are mostly friendly.
Cons: Few to no trees from hole #2 to about hole #13, gets really hot.
Long walks between most of the holes.
Only mowed on the fairways, the grass outside of that can get REALLY long.
VERY windy, even for Denton, but it doesn't affect you as much as it could, since they're mostly long, straight shots that are pretty forgiving.
Other Thoughts: This course really let me get my drives down.
It's a long ways from hole #11 to #12, but the trip takes you past a place to get drinks as well as a golf pro shop with some decent discs for sale.
Overall a pretty fun course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 hot and windy

5+    5/16/2007   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of wide open shots through the front nine if you want to work on your driving or try out new discs. Very close to UNT for any students wanting to play regularly.
Great course for beginners.
Cons: The middle ten holes, there are not any trees, which means no shade in the summer and lots of wind most of the time. Makes for some very boring holes.
Most of holes are just not challenging enough for a novice or experienced player.

Other Thoughts: If you are in Denton, you are better off taking the drive down to Lake Lewisville or LL woods in Lewisville.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Second Lake

5+    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course with lots of shots. You will need a big arm here to score well because there are many long holes. There is a good mix of shots though with some tight shots, some annys and some hyzers. Good mix of baskets and natural pads. Tee signs are ok but not great. Fun course to practice your wind game out.
Cons: Ruts on some tees suck. Needs trash cans. The walk between 11 and 12 is LONG. The pond will eat discs as will some of the creeks if they are up. Get very hot in the warmer months and its a long walk to your car once you start. Basket 14 is pretty much always under water(make your putt!)!!
Other Thoughts: I see they sell drinks and discs in the shop that breaks up the walk between 11 and 12. There will be some changes in the next couple of months from what the locals tell me, stand by for that.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center